paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
sniperassassinx Saturday, June 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None are like this!
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, flatline, and ballistic sports e-bolt.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS premium or diablo
Strengths: Extreme distance!
Extreme accuracy!
Almost no ball breaking!
Flat path!
Weaknesses: None at all!
Review: This barrel doubled my accuracy and range. Even if I have my velocity turned down it still shoots farther. There was almost no chance of missing and I rarely clean my barrel. It is great if you would like to hit people from afar and it is also good up close. It can even shoot around corners if you tilt it! Get this barrel as soon as possible!!!!
Conclusion: If you have the money then buy it. If not then save up. This barrel will greatly improve your chances of hitting people before they hit you. I will never trade guns because I have this barrel. Couldn't imagine playing without it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cruisemissle141 Wednesday, June 4th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none ........its special
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom w/ responce trigger,flatline ,lazer ,20 oz co2 cylinder....and a spyder compact deluxe java
Recommended
Paintballs:
any paintball except brass eagle ....i shot about 150 dbx balls out of it and only chopped 1
Strengths: shoots HELLA far ,accurate as a mother
Weaknesses: i dont like that the top is plastic
Review: .........THIS BARREL IS SWEET i just got mine from the ups guy today put it together and shot it ....with the first shot the words out of my mouth were mother of god ...i aimed at a tree from 200 ft away ...never thinking i would hit it .....pretty skinny tree too .well needless to say as soon as the ball came out of the gun i saw it ...it looked as it was flying to the spot that i aimed it to then ....splat .....i used the responce trigger with it on that tree alot and hit about 5 shots then i jerked and missed ........i love this thing i cant wait till my next game .....it shoots sooo far soo accurate soo great i only shot about 200 out of it but its just .....their
Conclusion: get it ....if you like shooting and hiting your target .....this is by far the best thing ive bought for my tippmann yet.........only thing is its long if you work around corners .might not be soo great.........BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, September 21st, 2004 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MidnightSpecial Thursday, July 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI Phantom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 ACT
Flatline barrel
Adjustable stock
NcStar red dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Always go with higher end paint if you can afford it, even if the barrel doesn't tear up the paint, better paint = better accuracy.
Strengths: -Range
-Accuracy
-Rifle-like style
Weaknesses: -Price
-You do have to put time in
Review: I was pretty excited to get this gun, since it seemed to be the next step up from my Phantom. Installing the barrel took about 30 minutes (15 of that was me taking it off and putting it back on once I installed the stock). I spent another 15 minutes and about 25 paintballs making sure the barrel was lined up correctly and not shooting the paintballs consistently to one side or another. However, this was hard to do once I ran out of good paint (more below). Also, the velocity on this barrel matters ALOT. The people at the store told me it would take about 2000 rounds before the bolt on a new gun was completely broken in. Until then, they wouldn't even bother trying to chrono. So, I went to Wally World and got a case of "monster balls." 1900 rounds into the testing, I was pretty dissappointed because my flatline couldn't consistently put paint on a cardboard box from less than 40 feet away. But, I went and got the gun chronoed and bought some decent, tournament grade paint for it. With the gun chronoed correctly, I was able to hit a wooden sign (6' by 5') that was about 500 feet away (according to the guy who owned the land/paintball field). What really surprised me was that I didn't have to aim up hardly at all to hit at that range. Just compensating for the sideways force of the wind put my ball right on it. It might not break if it hit a person instead of a piece of wood, but making someone keep their head down is just as good as shooting it off.

As for paint, the flatline didn't break a single Brass Eagle paintball out of the 2000 I put through it. However, even chronoed and tested as being accurate, the Brass Eagle paint went all over the place. I dont think it would have done better in ANY gun, but the fact remains that bad paint can ruin a good setup. From 50 feet away, I was constantly putting paintballs within about 6-8 inches of each other with the flatline and some of the tourney grade paint. And that was all snapshot kind of work. If you were to throw an expansion chamber on this thing, I'm sure you could improve that more.
Conclusion: This barrel will make your woodsball game go a hell of a lot better, since you can slip shots between branches instead of aiming above them. I'd recommend this barrel to anyone who doesn't play speedball very often, and who is willing to put in the time and effort to make sure it's installed correctly. Anyone who rags on this for being inconsistent and inaccurate, probably was using it on a brand new gun like I was. Shoot some rounds, get it chronoed (265-285 is a good speed from what I've heard), and then try again.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Killens84 Friday, June 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
response trigger system
double trigger
cyclone feed system
expansion & verticle chamber kit
Dye Ultralite 2-piece barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Use high-end paintballs. Don't use cheap ones or soft ones.
Strengths: Strong/durable
easy to clean
long range
Weaknesses: Accuracy
Balls fly straight for about 50-60 ft., then curve up
Review: I didn't like this barrel too much. I started with this barrel on my gun, then purchased the Dye Ultralite 2-piece barrel. The Flatline barrel performed poorly for me. Everytime I shot, the ball would fly straight for about 50-60 feet, but then it would curve upward. Maybe it was the paintballs I was using that was causing this, because I was playing at a course that required you to use their paintballs. They were JT Evolve paintballs, and they are VERY soft. You can easily squeeze them with your fingers, so maybe the balls were to blame for the upward curve.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommend this barrel. Perhaps it works great for some people, but it didn't for me. I was disappointed with it, especially after all the hype I had heard about the barrel. It certainly didn't live up to the hype, in my case.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adrianshaw Monday, March 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
32 degrees nite stick
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 w/ flatline system, M16 stock and pure energy coiled remote system w/ slide check.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Better paint, it is pretty picky
Id go with tourney stuff, w/ the dimples in such for best spin
Strengths: Distance
Some accuracy
Cool looking
Weaknesses: Installation
Constant tuning
Picky on paint
Expensive
Review: I got the flatline for christmas this year and I was all kinds of excited. BUt my first game with it, it misfired almost every shot, the paint either blew in the barrel or spun out of control. The next weekend I fidgeted with it for a long time and made sure I used better paint, and I dorked around with the velocity for a while, and the next time I played it showed much improvement. The barrel does give greater distance and from what I can tell it also adds accuracy
Conclusion: I don't know if it is worth the money is my only deal with this gun, but I think its a great choice if your willing to tune it alot.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintedd Thursday, December 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No similar Products, I have used stock, 32 Degrees Ice Cold Barrel, and Empire Twister Barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 Custom. Flatline Barrel. Response Trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer, PMI Premuim.
Strengths: Distance.
Weaknesses: Consistency i guess?
Review: GREAT BARREL, a few flaws, but GOOD. I would recomment not a Co2 tank because it can really affect your firing. But, co2 is ok, just not as consistent. You can still hit your Target after firing about 3 rounds.Wind can affect it a bit because with the straightness it can can be caught by the wind easily. A little heavy, so i wouldn't recommend to someone under age 11. Be at least 5 feet. Get this barrel. Once it is on and adjusted with modifications right it shoots like you would never believe. I can put it in a 1 foot square hole at 70 feet 19 out of 20 times. My record is 37/38. A nitrogen or comp. air tank may be in order; With co2 it changes around with its distance because the change with every shot with co2( about 5-7 Velocity) Can really Affect the Flatline's Distance.
Conclusion: Get it. DO NOT BELIEVE THOSE RATINGS OF ANYTHING UNDER 7. I had trouble at the beginning and almost gave it a 1. I then uninstalled it then installed it again and it worked great( I still dont know why.) So buy it.. $110 is WORTH IT.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hesinthere Tuesday, December 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
note: for the period of use, I've only used the barrel about 15 games, but owned it for 3 years

none like it
Marker Setup: m98 custom
18 inch dye boomstick
CAR 15 stock
Bipod
EZ sling
12v revvy
Remote to 4+1 harness
Rifle Rag

SIDEARM
Zues w/ holster
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS
Strengths: DISTANCE AND APPEARANCE (Especially for all those who want a realistic look for your marker)
Weaknesses: ACCURACY
PRICE
Review: STRENGTHS

I feel that the distance is defintly what sells this product. It seems that when the ball is shot it is going to keep on going forever until it hits something. Your shots never have an arch they just make a straight line. Some people say that the ball "floats" and isnt traveling as fast as other shots from different markers. Thats not true. Its also important though to use quality paint or you're going to be screwed. When i first started playing i didnt understand the concept of bore sizes and quality balls so i just figured brass eagle would do the trick....about 2 out of 5 balls would break which totally screwed me over. Defintly shoot the right kind of paint with this barrel, you wont regret it. I recommend RPS brand paint. Another key strength of this product is its appearance. When your marker is equipt with this barrel you are given a certain respect on the feild as a dangerous player. The look you obtain gives off an aura of fear which is respected by all opponents.

WEAKNESSES

The biggest problem with this barrel is the accuracy. Now i know that sounds really bad and it makes it sound like this barrel sucks. It doesnt suck at all its just a weakness. Some examples that brought me to this conclusion is at like approximately 150 ft i would hit a tree about 7 inches wide, 1 out of 2 times. Now that isnt bad at all, most people are not 7 inches wide so you basically would tag them out with a shot like that. But barrels such as the boomstick would not miss that tree. I feel more confident when i know that i am going to hit what i am aiming for 99% of the time vs. the 50% chance using the flatline.
I also noticed that if you do not correctly place this barrel in straight that it is going to throw your whole shot off by a foot or so about 150ft out. It is a bit of a hassle to get it lined up correctly even a milimeter or two will mess up your shot at the farther distances. Also when you shot nears the end of its distance and begins loosing speed, it tends to swurve upward and then drop, loosing much of its accuracy on those long range shots. Its also a MUST to keep this barrel well cleaned and free from any dirt, debris or paint anything at all times. Something like that will defintly throw your shot off as well.
Another thing that really ticked me off was when i first got my barrel, the plastic outer casing was bent down the sight rail. Now this might not seem like much of a problem, but when you are looking down the sight of your gun and you see that the plastic thing is bent to the right, it throws off your shot a bit. Im sure this isnt a common flaw, i was just unlucky.
Now considering that i purchased my flatline 3 years ago tippmann may have also made some minor changes to the interiors of the barrel or what not which could make all the difference in the accuracy that everyone is raving about. SO PLEASE TAKE MY WEAKNESSES INTO CONSIDERATION WHEN PURCHASING YOUR FLATLINE, BUT PLEASE DO NOT DWELL ON THEM AND THINK THAT THE FLATLINE IS 100% INACCURATE ALL THE TIME. What i have provided you with are opinions based on personal experiences, not facts.
Conclusion: I found this marker to be overpriced and overrated, but thats just me. I think for $100-$115 you can defintly invest in a better barrel. But that all depends on what "good" is to you. I think a barrel that gives a respectable range of 125ft-150ft with dead on accuracy a "good" barrel. If this is what you are looking for then i suggest a dye boomstick, they're $100 bucks, the same you would be paying for a flatline. But if distance is what you are going for than the flatline is THE barrel for you.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 17th, 2001
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I don't know why you people are trashing the flatlines. They are awesome. I'm pretty damn technically inclined to find out how this works, and to me it was a brilliant idea. The range IS unbelievable. It may not be 200 feet or whatever they say it is, but it's better than any other barrel I've seen before. The accuracy is good. All of you people who say the accuracy is bad, you probably just don't know how to use it. It takes some getting used to. Great barrel.
Weaknesses: Expensive, and hard to install. I'm technically inclined like I said, and it was still a bit tricky. Tweaking the alignment may be time consuming, but once you get it, you dont need to do it again. I don't know about the expensive paint, I use sheridan in this thing in 60-70 degree weather and it works. No lie.
Conclusion: Awesome barrel. It works. Trust me. Not as accurate as some may think, not as bad as others might. The paint I dunno about. I use Sheridan, I've also shot some Hellfire, All Stars, Marbs, and even some Brass Eagle paint. Brass Eagle broke a lot, but what do you expect? I'm not sure its worth $110, I think that's just because it's a revolutionary technology. Better range than any other barrel. I'd recommend it for back players.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunky65 Wednesday, August 16th, 2000
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The range and accuracy of the barrel is unbelievable. And you get some stares when the shroud is off. One of the best sniping barrels I've seen.
Weaknesses: If a ball breaks or anything gets in the barrel it's bad. The back spin makes the ball float which doesn't always mean your going to break a ball on someone. Can't run and shoot well.
Conclusion: It's a good buy for anyone with a M98 that plays a sniping role.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pballer992 Sunday, May 13th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite
Empire twister
All American
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Halo V35 w/ rip drive
14" Dye Ultralite w/ gold tip
Steel 47/3000psi tank
XSV clamping feed neck
New Designz Pro Bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
I really wouldn't know.
Strengths: Looks pretty cool
Weaknesses: A real huge pain to install
Doesn't really add range
Review: Don't even get me started on this barrel. . .what a piece! I really would not recommend this barrel to anybody. It does look pretty fancy, but it doesn't work like they say. Trying to install this thing was a total pain and it didn't hold much reward. I took it out to my fence after it was finally installed and shot 5 rounds. Only 3 broke! And it was Xball Silver!
Conclusion: Do not buy! A huge waste of money. Buy an Ultralite.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media