paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel / Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel
[ View Photos (17) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 771
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $150

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Flatline Barrel System is the first barrel to put back spin on paintballs. It not only increases accuracy and distance, but it also has a flat trajectory.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom 98 Flatline Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
ballinboy5 Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: I had a 98 custom with a flatline, an empire on/off tank adapter and a cp rail. But then I bought a Smart Parts impulse cricket board
14 inch dye ultra light
shockthech supa fly delrin bolt
dye sticky grips
new designz magnetic trigger
vertical max flow reg
lapco twisting feed neck
aim on/off vavle
ACI bulldog nitro tank
68 ci/4500 psi , 91ci aci bulldog
dye rihno cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil ,Diablo 13
Strengths: Shoots far.
Weaknesses: Picky with paint,
not accurate,
not worth the price.
Review: I bought this barrel right after I bought my gun because I heard it was good.
It costs me $150 at the local paintball shop. lIt was not worth it at all. It is super picky with paint, it has to have the most expensive paint for it to shoot ok. It's not accurate at all, all the ads say how it shoots so far but if it is not accurate then it doesn't madder if you shoot far.
Conclusion: Don't buy it, costs to much and is just not a good barrel, IU would recommend a Dye Ultra Light for even cheaper.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

vmerc Monday, April 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Carbine Stock
Tippmann 98 Custom Stock
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
None that I used were sufficiently high quality to be used in this barrel. This includes PMI Marbalizers, Big Balls, RPS Premium, and (embarrassingly) i-Ballz
Strengths: Shoots really far
Weaknesses: Long; Expensive; Poor accuracy; Poor ball compatibility; Breaks everything you put in; Unusable dirty performance
Review: Basically I have only fired trough this barrel in practice up until recently. I finally made it to an outdoor game where this barrel should have made me king for the day. The claims that this barrel will tag your opponent before he is even in range to shoot you could be true under certain circumstances, but I don't see what those are.

I played all day, went through over 2000 rounds (RPS Premium and Marbs), and 40 oz of CO2. Performance in the beginning of the day was "ok" I guess I was firing long distance, but it was hard to tell since the shots were not accurate enough to actually avoid the nearby trees and branches that were in the way. At the test range some guys were noting that my rounds were travelling insane distances, and they were concerned that I was firing hot. I assured them that I was not, and that it was just the design of the barrel. In fact I had the CO2 control turned to only 1/4 turn on my Tippmann 98 Custom. This was corroborated later by one of my opponents who was the recipient of a few of my rounds when he said that the rounds just bounced off of him without breaking. Problem was that if I turned up the gas any more all my rounds would fly off into space or the ground or fly like a freakin boomerang on crack.

I was starting to get frustrated after about 2 hours of play when I had my first ball break. After the ball break my accuracy went to absolute trash. I couldn't hit a guy standing 30 feet away. After a few more ball breaks I was firing nothing but shotgun blasts. I cleaned my barrel out over a dozen times that day, and nothing helped. Every game I went out for I ended up with paint dripping from the end of my barrel, and another bruise from getting outgunned. It basically went like this:
Run>Hide>Run>Hide>Sneak>Acquire target>Sneak>>>Find clear LOS>Fire 5-10 rounds at unsuspecting tango in a mad hope that at least one would not break or fly off into oblivion>Have hopes dashed>Feel the pain>Yell "I'm Out"

I still had fun I guess, but my barrel made its last appearance ever that day. I uninstalled it the next day, and am now shopping for something that is more reliable and accurate. Maybe I'll just go back to the stock barrel. It is better than the flatline.

Honestly maybe I didn't use the right combination of other equipment, or didn't have the right level of gas, but I messed with it more than I should have had to to make it work right. Any barrel that is that much work isn't worth it.
Conclusion: Do not buy this barrel. Do not use this Barrel. If you like to waste your money this might be something to invest in, and maybe one day it will be a collectors item for those that collect ridiculous ideas in paintball history. I'll give it a 2 since it did fire some rounds, and it did go farther sometimes than most other barrels, while most of the time I felt totally helpless out on the field with no real chance of tagging anyone.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, September 10th, 2000
 
2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Its the only backspin barrel, it by far out ranges other barrels
Weaknesses: Backspin on the ball takes force otherwise used to propell the paintball forward, to counter-act gravity. Breaks are hard to accomplish a longer distances because the paintball is "floating" no really projecting throught the air. Due to this effect, the paintball is far more suceptible to turbulence decreasing accuracy greatly.
Conclusion: My personal trials showed the range was incredible.. but the accuracy was horrible. I tried it indoors,using marbalizer, with no wind, and still bad accuracy. ITs a good gimmick, but i do not reccommend it. Too expensive and it doesn't perform for what it costs. If you're someone who has a mommy or daddy who will buy you whatever you want and you buy anything thats new.. go for it.Those who don't waste money, this is not the answer. It isn't a miracle barrel. It goes far, but hits are rare, and if you do hit someone, it is a slim chance it will break. From someone who has actually used one and tested it all day, i do not(in my opinion) recommend you buy this barrel.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Typhren Wednesday, September 27th, 2000
 
2 out of 10 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: The ONLY thing on the marked that will improve range.
Weaknesses: Breaks balls uless you use new marballizers, can't be squeegeed, balls break on target less often, wind and angle screw it up. It's accurace isn't so great at longer ranges, but it does hav a long range. Use it mostly to keep people down at bunkers; just stay out of their range and shoot the bunker. They'll get down. Especially if they know you outrange them.
Conclusion: A fun toy, with a very limited usefullness.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 22nd, 2001
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
 
2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: -Farthest shooting barrel out there
-Good close range accuracy
-Didn't break a ball in 600 rounds of el tigre, rp premium and BE paint
Weaknesses: -requires small bore paint to be accurate
-very poor accuracy at its 120 foot + ranges.
-very long
Conclusion: This is my opinion on the flatline barrel. I own a 2001 cocker with a bigshot as well and a model 98 with a bigshot. Both the bigshots are much more accurate then the flatline barrel. I can lob balls out to where the flatline hits with better accuracy then it shoots.
In the woods you often are need to be very close to get good shots on people, the flatline has range yes, but there are to many branch's in the way plus you have to be VERY lucky to hit a person with its poor long range accuracy.
the other bad is that at those long ranges a person can dodge a paintball, it takes a paintball 1 second to go 100 yards, it takes less they half that to duck under you cover.
Bottom line i can easily move up on a flatline user with my cocker and its superior accuracy until i am in range then nail them.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow23 Saturday, April 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion. Im going to get a empire b with rip drive. And possibly a blackheart or virtue board in it.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big balls.
Stingers.
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance.
Weaknesses: It's not that good with a response trigger.

It's kinda hard to clean.
Review: I used it and I thought it was going to be the greatest and that i would own people. It is very nice but it has its ups and downs. Its not that good with response. It's pretty hard to clean. Because you have to take The barrel off. But then again it is accurate and it has pretty nice distance. Its worth it.
Conclusion: If you are a woodsball player and have a 98 custom it's very useful. If you are a sniper buy this.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

xonelastsalute Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
11" custom pro stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann M98CP, flatline barrel w/shroud, VL Revolution tripod loader, PMI 48/3000 HPA, GTA E-trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I shot about 1000 shots today in 85 degree weather with Diablo Nightmares, and only chopped 1 ball. If you can afford Marballizers, they probably are a little better, but I'll never spend 55 on paint. Nightmares are like 40 for a 2000 case and they're accurate and break on your target, not in the barrel.
Strengths: Increased effective firing range, flat trajectory
Weaknesses: Gas hog, and difficult to remove from the marker.
Review: I think a flatline is the most valuable addition you can add to your M98. It's advantages far outweigh it's disadvantages, and it's easily the most innovative and effective barrel on the market right now. As for what it'll help you with: You wont have to play up front to be able to get hits. In fact, in the last game of speedball I played today, from the very back of the field I hit two guys hanging out behind a small bunker thinking they were out of range from even the front players. In addition, it's easier to guide shots to your target when they travel in a flat line, rather than a lob shot. The downsides of this barrel are that it uses more gas and its difficult to remove from the market and clean. The reason it uses more gas is because unlike a normal barrel with seals with an o-ring, the flatline is held in place by a clamp that tightens with a screw. Bad design on Tippmann's part, in my opinion. There should be a quick release clamp that seals better. Anyway, because there will be a slight gap between the clamp's open end and the tip of the barrel, air will be able to escape, causing pressure to decrease as the ball travels from the chamber to the barrel. You'll notice this as you feel air blow against your lead hand every time you take a shot. This causes you to have to turn up your air to get to around 280 fps (best velocity to operate at) and in turn makes you use more gas. With a 20 oz CO2 tank you'll need to fill up after about 4 or so games to make sure you dont lose pressure on the field due to a near-empty tank, because when you lose pressure you have to lob shots again and your flatline is useless. In addition, if it is not installed properly, it will chop nearly every ball you shoot and not break 140 fps. You have to make sure you hammer (literally) the barrel as far as you can into the clamp, as the instructions tell you to do, otherwise the ball will hit the edge of the barrel as it leaves the chamber and will chop. DO NOT try to remove the barrel to squeegee it, like you would any other barrel. Instead, loosen the top screw (next to the front quick release feeder/sight) and push the top botton, which will open the quick release feeder and allow you to feed your squeegee in through the chamber. If you notice that you chopped a ball, immediately squeegee, because the flatline is useless once the barrel's inside is lubricated: the sandblasting can no longer give the ball backspin, and the curve of the barrel will cause the ball to curve every which way imaginable. Useless.
Conclusion: The bottom line is that for this barrel to be effective, it must be treated well. It WILL take a lot of work to maintain, and its likely that you will chop a few balls before you install it perfect. Once you understand it though, it makes you one of the most dangerous guys on the field. nobody can even enter your sight without becoming a target, and it's a huge advantage in paintball to not have to worry about the range of your target. the only downside is that it needs a quick release clamp instead of the screw-tightening one, so its easier to clean and remove, and increase air efficiency. -1 for bad clamp, otherwise it's the best upgrade you can add to your M98.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Smock Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: 98 custom w/
gas through grip
flatline
remote
double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use JT woodsballs, which seem to work fairly well
Strengths: Very accurate
Gives you more distance than anyone else
Sexy looking
Weaknesses: I have a problem w/ breaking balls, may be paintballs I use
Review: Installation
It took me about 5 minutes to install this barrel the first time. If you know how to screw in a normal barrel, and you know how to use a screw driver, you should be fine. I fiddled around a little with the velocity, and found that around 280 is best.

Strengths
distance- After playing with this barrel on my local woodsball course, i was immensely satisfied. I could literally stand straight up off the break, and send balls into them w/ out fear of them hitting me back. The flatline gives me so much distance that i can sit back 20 feet from other's farthest range, not even worrying about them hitting me, and send balls shooting right to them.
Accuracy- Other people complain that the flatline gives distance but no accuracy. After playing with this barrel about 10 times, i can truthfully say they they don't know what they are talking about. I have snipped countless people from halfway across the field. Tell me another barrel that can hit someone at that range, and ill willingly try that out.

Weaknesses
Breaking Balls
the only weakness iv noticed is that the barrels breaks a couple more balls than normal. What i mean is that i break about 3 balls per 1000 rounds. it might just be the balls im using, but 3 balls out of 1000 rounds is not terribly bad. i push a squeegee and a battle swab through it a couple times, and its ready to go again.

Sexiness
it is possibly the best looking functioning barrel i have ever seen. what more can i say?



Conclusion: I am not a fanatic when it comes to paintballing. ill go every week or so when i can. The 98 custom i use is reliable, easy to maintain, and inexpensive. using the normal stock barrel doesn't really cut it though, even on a local woodsball field. After i started using the flatline, im getting way more kills. almost every game, ill get at least 2 or 3 kills. Even the refs had started recognizing me. I wouldn't really suggest it for an air ball tourney, but for woodsball, there is no barrel better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nebulazator Thursday, December 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98C stock barrel (dose'nt compare)
Marker Setup: 98 Custom A.C.T
Flatline Barrel
Commando Stock
Cyclone Feeder
APP coiled remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
Freedom, Marbelizer, Evil, Diablo Dusk

Cheap Paint works but the accuracy is inconsistant.
Strengths: Added distance is amazing
Noticably Increased Accuracy
Looks
Weaknesses: Plastic Shroud
Trajectory of ball affected by paint quality/weather.
Review: Okay.....The 98 Flatline Barrel is a very good barrel and it its farily easy to install if you can read directions...one tip though is that when you are installing the adapter bolt take one of the wrench things and stick it through where the screw goes in and it will be easier to tighten into the barrel slot.
The Flatline barrel does add at least 100ft of distance too your shot and it does noticabully increase accuracy....I could shot a target that was at least 150ft away multiple times in a row that was a 1 inch wide tree trunk. I used freedom paint and did not have any brakeages. The barrel is actually more of a pain to uninstall than it is to install so make sure that you have everything you want on ur gun before u install it. (the cyclone feed will fit but you may have to do some cutting on the shroud to make it fit..no big deal...Same for the commando stock..both very easy)
The bad thing about the barrel is that the shroud is cheap plastic but it is very durable and easy to cut if you have certian modifications that just need to get a little bit of room on the gun its easy to cut the shroud with a pocket knife.

Rumors:Chops so much paint
Not very accurate

Both those rumors are untrue.....it is more accurate than 90% of other barrels and even when i didnt have the cyclone feed i hardly chopped any balls...now with the feed ive actually chopped none.

Now for those of you that are thinking about buy an apex barrel...here are my 2 cents on that barrel and i have used my friends many times......

The apex barrel is very accurate and i can shoot very far...it can shoot farther that the flatline but the accuracy will be awful and even if you do hit at 250 feet the paint WILL NOT BREAK TRUST ME. Also the apex does not do what it is said to do, there are very few times the "curved trajectory" works as its supposed to and even if it does...are you honestly gonna be able to sit in a game and test out the curve of the ball..then someone charges you and you have your scope right on them..pull the trigger and right before it hits them the ball curves (although i must say the divebomb does work awsome) also the apex barrel can go furthur but in my opinion (im a woodsballer) it is not as accurate as the flatline if you are using somewhat decent paint in the faltline and the weather is up to par....yes the flatline is picky but when the conditions are up to par it is just simply an amazing barrel, now even if you did get the curve of an apex down do you know how G** you sound... I mean im soo pus** that i have to sit 250 feet away from you curving my ball behind the tree ur behind *cough* NO SKILL *cough cough*
Conclusion: I would HIGHLY reccommend the flatline barrel...if you will take the time to tune it, it will treat you well for woodsball and takes much more skill to use that the apex barrel which is for the ulti-noob....I givve it a 9/10 only because the barrel shroud is plastic but that is good because it allows me to put my stock and feeder on it but it does dissappoint me that you loose the capability of a weaver rail for your sights....thats why its a 9...but u still can use lasers...HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BARREL FOR ANY 98C OWNERS....DO NOT BUY THE APEX it's a 140$ peice of plastic that has a huge end in it...YOU MAY THINK THAT IM A BIASED FLATLINE OWNER....IM NOT I HAVE DONE MY HOMEWORK!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Steelmesh Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro E-grip running CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have only shot fireball through it.
Strengths: - Flat tragectory
- Increased Range
- Decent accuracy
Weaknesses: - Ball Breakage causes major deficency to accuracy
- Not quiet
- Long
Review: I have played paintball for about 6 years total. This barrel is amazing and I will continue to use it. The flat trajectory makes it easyer to aim and lock on to your target (you eliminate the need to arc the ball). At about maximum effective range, 1 in 3 shots will be where you are aiming (I utilize the 3-shot burst). I broke 2 balls out of about 2000 rounds (as I was shooting at 14 bps, it happens). I lost all accuracy, although I have a nice 6 disc pull through squeegie and I use a swab right after I squeegie, this returns the accuracy very well.

It is by no means quiet, but I wouldn't say its loud, I guess its normal or just above normal. It is also kinda long at 14in, but only because I was use to my 8" and 12".
Conclusion: I think the function overcomes any weaknesses. Just purchase a nice pull through squeegie (keeping the barrel on and using the stock elbow access) and a swab to get the lighter stuff out. Other then that, you are the one with the advantage.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (78):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media