paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
the_timbo Sunday, February 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month45 of 56 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All high ends- shockers, ecockers, timmys, angel, trixs, this gun keeps up wit all.
Marker Setup: Blk Ion, 70/45 crossfire stubby, reloader ( getting halob), freak kit, function unimount on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, some say reg but i havent had problems wit it so up to you
Strengths: Fast, light, affordable.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have had this for a few days now, have put 1000 rounds through it with no problem and only used bout 2k psi to do so.. When i pulled it out of box an aired it up it was shooting 270 fps at 110 psi...awesome no setup needed. One thing i did do to it was take the trigger magnet out, with it in its a somewhat stiff and snappy trigger, once removed the trigger was much lighter and easier to walk i went from around 12-13 bps to maxing it out at 17 bps.
Conclusion: Some people said this gun sucks and isnt better than their high end guns like timmys and angels, well it wasnt mean to be better just compete at a lower price and it does just that. It blows anything in the price range away and is comparable to high end ones. Very similar to a shocker only not as fast being capped at 17 but thats fast enough for me so i love it. If you are like me and dont need the fastest gun out there consider this gun its very good at a great price. I give it a 10 not because its better than anything out there but because it did exactly what it was intended to do.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

egghopperman Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months40 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker, Smart Parts Nerve which are obviously better because they are triple the price
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Redz locking feedneck
Redz Mini Drop on/off ASA
Redz Pepperstick Barrel
Rew Designz Roller Blade Trigger
Smart Parts 360 QEV
Virtue Board
Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
Viewloader EvLution III loader
Air America 68-4500 HPA
NXe Avalanche Tank Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
I would definitely recommend a new trigger, barrel, and feedneck
Strengths: Reliability
Simplicity
Value for Money
Customizable
Light
Weaknesses: Poor Stock Trigger
Bad Feedneck
Needs new QEV
Review: I have been playing paintball for over five years now and have tested and used many guns. I have used expensive guns such as the Shocker, Nerve, and DM6. I want to clearly say that the Ion is no where near the performance levels of those high-end guns, but when you are only paying 200 dollars that is to be expected. The gun itself will work just fine stock and many people are happy with that, but I usually play with people who have more expensive guns. I wasn't willing to spend 700-1000 dollars so I went with the Ion. I imediately purchased a new barrel, the Redz Pepperstick. I have played with both the Freak and the Pepperstick and in my opinion the Pepperstick out performed the Freak. I highly recommend it. A new barrel will greatly increase your accuracy. Many people complain about the Ion's shoot-down, which compared to a DM6, it is considerable, but for the average player it is not noticeable. For 20 dollars I purchased a new Smart Parts 360 QEV from actionvillage.com and the shoot-down problem is completely solved. Combined with the new bolt, I was able to lower my dwell drastically and increase my air efficiency. I have shot over 8,000 paintballs through my gun and have not had a single break, which I find very impressive. The stock trigger is crap and for 30 dollars you can get a new aluminum one which shortens trigger pull and eliminates side-to-side wobble. The stock board is slightly hard to use, but only because the instruction manual does a terrible job explaining its use. Just go to google and search something about its use and you will find all the information you need. The stock feedneck will work for you, but if you have a somewhat expensive loader, I have a Viewloader EvLution III (80 dollars), you will want something a little more powerful to clamp it on your marker. The gun is very light at 2.2 pounds which can make a world of difference when playing. A common criticism of the Ion is that it is made of plastic, which is untrue. The frame is made of carbon composite, which is the same thing Glocks are made from(and the police force uses them with no issues) and the body kit is composite which covers the aluminum inside. The gun is also extremely durable and I have heard stories from the local field about people dropping them from trucks and anything else and they continue to work. There is no point purchasing the Smart Parts Epiphany which uses the same board for 400 dollars. You can spend 200 extra dollars on upgrades for the Ion and you will have a gun that can compete reasonably with anything. After all the player makes the player, it isn't the gun.
Conclusion: A great purchase that you won't be unhappy with. The gun will do everything you ask it to and with some extra money you can have an exceptional gun. If you are looking for a value gun or a gun to upgrade, the Ion is what i recommend.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

TEAMFLNASTY Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months37 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, viking
Marker Setup: AKA viking halo b, the goods, 68 peanut tank
nasty shocker ( team marker ) all the goods
ion..yes ion. Goes to show how good of a marker it is (dye sticky grips, evoII, 68 peanut tank, kane barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Next year, smart parts will be revealing some sweeeeeet upgrades to the ION. Although they have not been talking much, its most likely going to be new board, reg., maybe new trigger frame. I would recommend a new barrel kit FREAK, SWITCH, but kane would be the best also dye sticky grips
Strengths: Quiet, fast, light, easy to use
Weaknesses: Hard to take apart.
Review: Overall....awesome freaking gun....this made me look at we players who but $1000 dollar guns is pretty much not worth it. Smart parts has seta new standard with good, affordable guns. THIS IS NOT A BEGINER GUN. For anyone that has said that this compared to a spyder or tippamn...their wrong. This gun can out play any angel, shocke, viking or bob long. Paintball is almost 95% player and 5% gun. Just goes to show...although i use my nasty in most tourneys, our team is going to be swtiching like i said. Were going to start a new revoulution of good affordable guns..i can't wait until we beat those rich daddys boys that can afford to spend money on a bob long fro everyday of the year.

PS: For the guy who gave this marker a 2 out of 10. His only purpose for his review was to discourage players from buying this marker. This marker would get a 9.3 without his review
Conclusion: I truly think this gun is the best gun for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

npk8927 Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 39 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've never used a gun similar to this other then firing a hopper's worth on a Mini-Mag.
Marker Setup: SP Ion(Black)
64/3000 PMI Nitro tank
CP Regulator (long)
16" SP All-American Standard AA Front
18" SP All-American Freak Front
WGP ASA drop-forward
VL Egg II
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Fast Hopper
Aftermarket Regulator
Strengths: - Cheap
- Light & rugged
- Very quiet
- High rate of fire
- Easy maintenance
- Accurate & consistent
Weaknesses: - Pain to switch between modes on the fly
Review: Alright, I started playing paintball back in the fall of 1997. My first and only marker is the good ole' Spyder Compact A. It's the only marker I've ever used and to this day it still serves me well, but it's starting to see the end of its days. I did what every person with a Spyder does, buy a ton of aftermarket mods for it. Expansion chamer, new barrel, bolt, double trigger, you name it. Unfortunately after years of use I've got problems getting a proper seal inside the chamber now due to the bolt having eaten away at the housing. So I finally decided it was high time to purchase another gun.

Now I randomly jump back into paintball here and there, still don't get to play as often as I'd prefer, but I get chances to play heavily for a few months out of the year. I've been thinking about purchasing a new gun for a while now. For the past few years I'll check out what new equipment is on the market, maybe do a bit of research, and think I've settled on my next upgrade, but for some reason I'd always get cold feet. I've always wanted something that peforms better then my trusty Spyder, but most of the guns that do that just cost way too damned much.

So I guess I bided my time in a rather unintentional way until a really stellar marker was finally created that ended up suiting my needs. Low and behold I hit one of my seasonal time frames where I jump back into the sport with a group of buddies that have all decided to purchase Spyders. Well the temptation to acquire a new mark reared its ugly head once again. So as I've done before, I began to scour the internet and magazines searching for a potential candidate to satisfy my new gun cravings.

At first I thought, maybe and A-5, but the price was a little much versus what I considered to me an alright performance. I got to try one out at the local field, it was neat, but I felt my Spyder served me as well as the A-5 could have. Well the notion of getting a new Spyder came up (since all my buddies were getting totally new, completely supped up versions of my first gun). I had actually set my mind on exactly what Spyder I wanted to purchase, when browsing through some retailer's website, I stumble across a Smart Parts section. I thought to myself, I wonder if they still sell the old shocker (the big black beast) because I had always dreamed of owning one back in the day. Well I find out they've been extinct for a long while and have been replaced with some thousand dollar job. Then I see the Ion. Hmmm, whats that? So I check it out. Three hundred bucks, not too shabby. High-end marker for an unbeatable price you say, not bad at all, But would it be everything it's cracked up to be? Well after conducting alot of research (articles, reviews, videos) I got really excited. I finally decided that this may be the gun I'm looking for.

So I got my funds in order, found a retailer that had them instock, and placed my order. Now after having read through tons of reviews, I realized there might be a couple of upgrades that I should purchase right off the bat. With the gun, I ordered a new barrel (good ole' All-American), a new regulator (hearing that CP was probably the best on the market), a fancy hopper (Egg 2 was a good deal), and a nitro tank (felt good to finally move up from CO2, being an upgrade to me).

So I get my initial batch of new toys in, slap it all together (after having read the manual, which sucks, and remembering other screw-up stories of new Ion owners), and head out to the local field to test her out.

Well, after firing about 1000 rounds through the gun on the firing range, all I can say is I was in an utter state of awe and amazement. It was quiet, it consistent, it was fast as hell, and its was totally accurate. Now mind you, I've been playing with a Spyder for eight years now, and it never shot like this gun.

So I then jump in few a few games, and for the first time in a long while, I felt like I was unstoppable. Anywhere I wanted to hit , the gun would hit there. If I needed to lay down covering fire, I'd burn through a hopper in less then a 45 secs (which is fast enough for me). The gun was simply a godsend.

After a full days play and a little over a case of paint, I chronoed her in once more for a consistency check, and found I was shooting roughly +/-5-7 BPS. This is leaps and bounds ahead of my Spyder. Since I've been using it, not once have I ever chopped a ball, which is amazing to me.

I always play woods-ball and a requirement for this type of environment is a rugged gun that can take a beating. The Ion seems to me to be very durable. I'm not scared of damaging it in the slightest. Good maintenance habits are a must, but they are with any gun, but I'm pretty confident that if it gets banged a bit, you won't have any problems dusting her off and getting back into the fight. If you're into speed-ball, the rate of fire is fast enough that you can lay down a decent volume of paint, enough to compete with more expensive guns. ROF isn't a huge issue for me, however, since I try to play relatively conservatively. But I warn you, you will find yourself laying down more paint then usual ( so be prepaired to by more paint then you normally would).

Now having gotten to play a couple more times with it, I do realize that there are a couple of problems, but they can be overlooked if you are pretty easy going about these sorts of things. First off, the access to mode changing. This is my biggest beef. I've seen other guns with buttons that allow you to change the mode of fire on the fly. The Ion does not allow this (have to open the trigger frame). Maybe an after-market handle will provide this comfort later on, and if so, I'll be first in line. Second, doesn't bother me, but it bothers some people, the look of the gun isn't fancy enough for them. Now I've always played woods ball, and to be running around with some neon blue or hot pink marker is simply retarded in my eyes. Black has always been my choice and frankly performance is more important. If you care about a gun that catches the eye, it may not be for you, but if not, then this shouldn't be an issue.

I did end up also buying a drop-forward and an asa with an on/off valve. The stock duck-bill forces a clunky nitro tank to far into your forearm and shouldering with it creates a much larger profile then you'd want. Also, with the gun being as light as it is (2.2lbs) it felt poorly balanced with the duck-bill. A decent drop-forward purchase totally solved all these problems. Now the gun feels much better when loaded up, the damned tank is no longer in the way, and shouldering is much easier. The on/offf valve I really recommend, as well, to save O-rings.

Conclusion: After having played with what some consider (including myself) to be an average rec gun for 8 years, the Ion was a vast improvement to my paintball arsenal. I've felt I've really achieved the most bang for my buck with this marker. I realize that some of the hardcore players out there may think that it'll never live up to some 1000 dollar marker, and they're probably right, but in my eyes, the Ion fits the bill. If you're a casual player (especially into woodsball - with a need for a rugged marker) with your eyes on a serious upgrade, there is not a better gun on the market for you. Pick one up, go out and play for a day, and I'll guarantee you'll leave the field with a feeling that every dollar was well spent.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

BottleRocket Tuesday, February 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested34 of 105 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k3 Mech Cocker - Slower, more accurate
2k2 Worrbladed Black Magic - Faster, more accurate, slightly heavier, more efficient
Lasoya Timmy - Faster, equally efficient, less accurate
2k3 Matrix - Faster, equally efficient, heavier, more accurate, LESS KICK
Rat Impulse - Equal speed, less efficient, less accurate
Marker Setup: Stock
Strengths: Size, price, shells
Weaknesses: Sock parts, upgradability
Review: Recballers, this is for you. I know how it felt to go out there with a rental gun back in the day and be next to a guy with a timmy and see 6 or 7 balls of his fly for every one of mine. it is depressing. dont waste your time on spyder clones, give this a shot.

This marker will enable people to get into paintball and level the playing field among other rec players. For woodsball I still would recomend an A5 before this gun, but for all around recball, this is a great marker. its better then most markers in it's price range, and better then all of them at what it does. It is fairly light and easy to handle, big advantages for beginners. This marker will allow new players to have a fast marker to help them keep up with the big guns for cheap. It might not be as nice, as fast or as consistent, but its a hell of alot better then spyder clones, impys and other low end electros.

As for tourney play, I dont recomend this as a primary gun. Go for something that has an established aftermarket and reputation. The ion is a good marker, but just not cut out for Novice or higher level playing. It would be ok to use to try out tourney style play, but not if you want to stick with it. Invest in a DM4/5 or a Proto.

However, there is not enough of an aftermarket. it is cheap feeling compared to other markers i have used. stock parts arent the best. I'd compare it to the WGP Trilogy in that it is somewhat like a stripped down Shocker like a Trilogy is a bottom of the line cocker.
Conclusion: I'd recomend this marker to anyone looking for a start in the sport without spending too much money. Sure you can go out a buy a used angel for $400, but that is older, worn out and has no warranty. The Ion is a great marker for what it is built to do. As for SP's claim that it is a "high end marker for $300", i have to disagree. I say it is among the upper of the low end electros with the impys.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
51 Comments - Add Comment

xenochimera Monday, February 21st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month28 of 106 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shockers-very similar to ion but better in everything except price.
vikings-way better than most guns i've used but heavy and expensive as hell.
ecockers-similar to ion in terms of speed, but not reliability, or price, equally annoying to clean.
Marker Setup: blue ion
45/45 x-fire tank
halo v-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, feedneck, trigger, board.
Strengths: Cheap. Looks cool. Loads of upgrades on the way.
Weaknesses: You basically have to upgrade everything. Seriously.
Review: alrite i at first thought this gun was crap, but after seeing such good reviews i decided to order one, now that gun is on its way back for a full refund.
Strenghts:
-sure this gun is cheap, but really, you do get what you paid for.
-17bps is pretty good for a gun of this price.
-i can already see the new wave of upgrades avaliable for this, especially the removely polymer.
-the polymer is quite strong, protects the body well.
- decent reg
Weaknesses:
- the board cycles at 17bps, most ppl are not cool with that, and wants a better a board.
- its a pain in the butt to clean, you gota take it apart.
- powder coating is kinda coming off on my gun already.
- the board is apparently ramping, and can not be used in tournies, guess you gota spend $100 on a new board.
- barrel sux, feedneck sux as well, there goes at least $60.
- wow wuts up with the threads??? i cant screw in my reg after i took it off, x-ing threads are not cool.
Conclusion: I really expected a better product based on all the reviews here and on pbnation.com. But after i got mines, i was disappointed. The basic system of this gun works very much like a shocker, but if you want a $300 to perform like a $650, you are in for some serious upgrades, the shocker is better than this. For this gun to be tourny ready, another $200 is going to be spent, which bascially kills the point of this gun. There is a reason it only costs $300, and the reason is that it works like a $300 guns, even the diablo wrath works better than this.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

lax.hardcore Sunday, March 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months25 of 71 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, Pimp, Omen, Low-end Timmies... ect.
Marker Setup: Black Vision Shocker w/ stainless freak kit.
Halo B loader
68/4500 Fiber wrapped
Dye Invisions
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator, Board, QEVs and any other barrel.
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Weaknesses: Looks
Efficiency (sort of)
Consistency
Accuracy
Quality of Stock Parts
Review: Ok so I was really excited about getting an Ion, A great gun for the price right? I heard they were really good. Just as good as Shockers if not better. But from my experiences they're definitely not. I ordered mine for 285, a great price. I opened the box and it looked pretty good, everything was there. I put a battery in and started walking it. Hard to walk at first but nothing a little adjusting couldn’t change right? One thing I noticed is the magnetic pull, I was never a fan of magnetic pulls, I prefer spring tension. This gun is a lot like my shocker in a lot of ways, just not as good in any of the ways. I gassed it up and walked it in Semi. I was surprised how difficult it was to walk fast, it was like shooting a spyder, really frustrating and not consistent speed at all - a lot of skipping. I mean its a plastic trigger, it's bound to get shot of or something.

The stock barrel is definitely trash; it's not accurate at all. I wish smart parts had thrown a progressive on it or maybe a freak stock (if they have so many impulse threads laying around).
Barrel threads make it harder to find an upgrade barrel online for a good price (exactly the one you want)

Another thing, the pics online made this marker look decent, but when I took it out of the box the regulator looked fat, kind of odd. And on the back end the tray ends; its really flat and square, doesn’t look too good.

First day at the field I chronoed in. Simple, just adjust from HPR right? The field limit is 265 and once I got it below 270 I paid attention to the consistency: it read like this- 256, 259, 263, 250,247, 240 - as I started to shoot faster the consistency dropped like a rock and I was hitting 225 FPS. The stock barrel caused my paint to curve side to side, I wasn't pleased because the field paint fits the stock barrel pretty good.

The duckbill wasn’t too great either, maybe if you had a 45/45 tank it would feel right but with a 68/45 it makes your setup too long, you need to upgrade to a on/off rail or drop.

The feed neck was a little loose on my hopper but I fixed that with some tape.

Later that day after some games my balls were having some serious arc, I checked my tank gauge and I was nearly empty and all I had shotten was a hopper and 4 pods. On my shocker with the bolt kit I at least get a hopper and 9 pods. Owell maybe it has a longer break in period.

When I got home to clean it I aired it up and discovered a small leak down the barrel and a lot of burping/farting whenever I shot over 12 BPS. I'm going to try to find out what the problem is and call smart parts, they've helped me with my shocker before.
Conclusion: Overall, I wasn't very satisfied - I thought it was going to be something else; but it wasn’t. There was a lot of hype to it and a lot of people were telling me it was as good as DM4's and any gun past 1000 dollars but it definitely isn’t. The gun is acting funny right now so I give it a 3. Maybe smart parts can help me work out some of my problems until then its a 3. I may raise it If the performance increases.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
23 Comments - Add Comment

robdamanii Monday, April 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months24 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker
Marker Setup: Ion, Crossfire 68/45 High Output, Stock barrel & Freak Kit, Evolution II hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, Feedneck, Barrel, Regulator
Strengths: Cheap, fast, ACED, fully electropneumatic.
Weaknesses: Trigger adjustment is rather poor
Review: Post shooting impressions:
I finished my final pod and checked my tank pressure to find it at approximately 2750 PSI. A quick moment of mathematical genius tells me that the total gas consumption for 4 pods is about 1550 PSI of tank pressure. 4x140= approximately 560 balls, so youre on par for 1100 balls at 3100 PSI of pressure, and youll be at about 1535 balls at 4250 PSI. Realistically, you should be getting about 1400 balls off a 68/45 fill. The Ion certainly lives up to its reputation in this respect. ***Please note that I only used 4 pods for testing purposes, but have put nearly 2 cases through this marker thus far in testing.***
As I stated in the dry-firing section, there was very little if any kick with this marker. This may be adjustable and you may be able to dial it out by playing with the dwell settings, which I didnt do to any huge extent. The marker was a bit on the back-heavy side with an Eggo and 68/45 tank on a duckbill, but this can certainly be remedied. Once again, when turning on and off the eyes, the LED/membrane button proved to be a bit of a pain, but it is tolerable, at least without gloves. The trigger leaves quite a bit to be desired, but Im also coming from shooting a Joy Division Fly prior to this marker. Thats a huge difference to take note of. The composite and rubber cover over the regulator was actually quite comfortable in my hands, despite looking hard and uninviting. The grips are surprisingly comfortable as well, but people with small hands (younger players, Im talking about you) may find the grips a bit bulky and a little too large to be comfortable. This could be remedied with panel grips such as Hybrid or the like, but since I dont happen to have them handy, I cant comment on it. The trigger guard is a little on the small side, but it works for bouncing your walking fingers off of if you walk with your fingers straight. If youre using your fingertips, youll have a little bit of a problem getting your fingers in there, but youll do ok. The entire marker was just a little bit too long for me to get into a proper shooting position with (and I have fairly long arms) but screwing a 45ci tank into the duckbill brought it into a good position to shoot from. Id recommend adding a rail and on/off to this marker to bring it a little more into balance if youre using a 68ci tank, or even a 45ci tank, but thats personal preference.

Tech impressions:
Following the shooting tests and about another case and of just fun shooting and passing it back and forth, I brought the Ion back to the shop and took it to my workbench to strip down and check out the internals and the construction. With manual in hand, I followed the instructions for stripping down the marker, and the only word of caution I have for you here is to make sure you remove both sides of the grip frame to ensure that the board doesnt hang up on the screws. You may also need to slide the board out with your finger from the bottom to help it out if it doesnt slide out readily. Follow the directions very carefully the first time through and youll be just fine.
My impressions were that the internals (solenoid and air fittings) are of decent quality construction, not the greatest out there, but not too shabby either. As is known, the solenoid is not a Humphrey style solenoid, but a new style design which appears to be very high flow and quite robust. The eye ribbon, on the other hand, appears VERY brittle, and I recommend using a pick along with a gentle tug to get it out of the eye socket on the body. The air hoses are cocker style, but are nice and large for high flow, and the barbs seemed satisfactory, if a little bit brittle, even though I did not remove any barbs and test their durability. I followed by removing all the fittings from the body itself and sliding off the composite cover to expose the firing tube. The breakbeam eye board is a simple removal at this point; just pull it out of its recessed slot and set it aside. A quick look at the tube revealed the swivel donut, held on by a circlip. Removing the circlip and the donut revealed the rear o-rings of the firing chamber, and a generous helping of DOW 33. This also confirms that the Ion is indeed a spool valve style marker. The body is an interesting screw together design which makes accessing the bolt a fairly simple affair. The bolt, upon removal, is somewhat cheap in construction, but I dont see it breaking any time soon. The bolt was also generously lubed with DOW 33, and is an 8 hole venturi design. We can most likely expect to see some open faced designs of this same bolt, and most likely in delrin or nylatron which will increase cycling times.
When examining the ASA where the regulator screws in, I noticed that there was a fine screen in the ASA, which Im guessing is in place to screen CO2 for debris. This was a bit of a moot point, however, because upon removal of the screen and inspection, there was a fair amount of debris in the ASA already, and beyond the screen to boot. However poor in construction this is, it does attest to the reliability of the solenoid to continue working in adverse conditions (in this case, debris in the air lines).
During reassembly, a few things are of note. First off, once the air fittings have been rethreaded, the board is back in place, and the grip frame screws have been started in their holes, I would advise lining up the body, cover, and grip frame and installing the front screw FIRST, then tightening down the grip frame screws. Other than that, reassembly is the opposite of disassembly.

The bottom line:
Ok, so after all the tech talk and the shooting talk and all that.whats the bottom line? Ill list this sequentially:

Cons:
Trigger is very unforgiving
Stock barrel leaves something to be desired
Feedneck is not a clamping feed
The membrane button is hard to work with gloves on, and is stiff in general
LED is difficult to see in bright light
Modes of fire are difficult to change, can be confusing until you get it down
3 LEDs make it somewhat confusing to change modes
Composite parts may not appeal to some
Duckbill makes for a horribly long setup
Stock reg drops off at high rate of fire

Pros:
Good quality, well finished metal parts
Composite parts are of good quality with nice rubber trim
Comfortable grips and comfy regulator grip
Small, light, and compact
Hardly any kick
High flowing internals (minus the bolt)
Customizability (new shells remove in a matter of minutes)
Consistency with the stock regulator
Eye logic works well
Efficiency was very good for a marker of this design
Feedneck securely held a Halo despite being a non-clamping feed

When you consider the price of this marker, and what you get for your money, Id say this marker is about an 8 of 10. If you want me to tell you what to upgrade first, then heres my opinion:
Barrel
Reg
Bottomline
Feedneck
New trigger (when available)

Overall, for what you get, once youve had your hands on one and shot a few pods through it, youll be very happy. I usually shoot an Angel Fly, and Im impressed enough with the potential of this marker to consider adding one to my bag of tricks. A few well chosen upgrades and this marker could be a serious performer. So I guess the bottom line comes down to this: shoot it and see how you like it. Ive found no bugs in 2 cases through it so far, and no real problems other than whats listed above.

If you want a copy of the manual to peruse, the address of the manual is: http://www.wppseries.com/ion/Ion_Manual.pdf
Conclusion: Worth every penny of it's price. Smart Parts shines through with this fantastic offering.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

moss84 Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month23 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have tested havent had a tipman a-5...
A spyder rodeo with electric trigger ( gun isnt good at all )
And my finreds shocker ( very accuate and fast liked it )
Marker Setup: I own a ion with the follwing....
Max-flo
47ci-3000psi look in review i have more about it
Freak barrel
I also use a shocker feed neck it does fit
Orange ion bolt
Im goint to get a qev soon...
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Hopper (have more info on it in review very important)
Bigger than a 47ci 3000psi tank (belive me )
Qev
Strengths: Consistancy
Speed
Ramping (amazing)
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Air hog
Review:

Ok i use a vl tripod hopper says it feeds 15 bps well doesnt work for the ion if you want to use ramping you must use a evolution2 or a halo becuase it will not feed fast enought to ramp i just got my gun and i figured that out yesterday. make sure to get a fast hopper that fires over 17bps..

On the feedneck now its a big mistake for smartparts the neck is too tall in my oppinion i dont like it and it is so small i couldnt fit a halo b on it or egg2 just the vl and it wouldnt feed fast enough. so right now im using a shocker stock feed neck fits them all so its working fine for now. ( And yes it does fit i know smartparts says only impulse and ion go together but so will shocker mabey not barrel threads but with feed neck threading)

Reg... This reg is OK its not horrible but gets the job done with Qev its makes it much better i was shooting +-3 that isnt that bad and its didnt give me a problem..

This is the defintion of a air hog i barley get any shoots out of a 47ci 3000 psi tank i mean barley any mabey around 400 if im lucky and less if you have over a 12 inch barrel so i really recamend and 4500psi tank. or you will be wasteing alot of money on refills.. gets a little agervating after awhile.

After shooting for a while i started to get a bunch of balls stuck in the barrel and i couldnt shoot ... many people will get this if you try to put it on ramping you might turn up or down the dwelling making it not shoot this will make you very mad lol i hated it . after i asked a guy for help and he worked with the dwelling it working fine and i have the best mode...
Ramping i love this mode i can shoot extreamly fast where it ropes this is awsome i didnt think this gun could go so fast but i was wrong i love the speed of it worked great.,

I have never used the stock barrel because i got the 300 with the freak on it but i hear that it is very accuate with stock i just have to say the freak barrel is very good i didnt have the right bore size and i has still shooting great it was big. 6.93 and the paintballs were alot smaller that were just rolling out and still great accuracy..


Conclusion: In my conclusion i would say that this is a terific gun for the money .. some might say a mini shocker i sure do after shooting both . shocker still lighter but both very good guns i am goin to give it a 10 because even with a few problems its a great gun and i would tell anyone of my finreds to go get it very nive great job smartparts.. ... IF YOU FIND THIS REVIEW HELPFULL PLEASE SAY SO TY OR IF YOU GOT ANY QUESTIONS POST THEM I WILL ANSWER
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Amon_RA Monday, February 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month21 of 23 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imp , E-Bladed Cockers
Marker Setup: Nerve feed neck
AKA 2 liter reg
Smart parts drop with kapp botton line on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nerve feedneck
Get decent reg , cp , aka
Strengths: Price , Efficiency , Low Profile , Impulse feedneck and barrel treaded , and Price
Weaknesses: Feed neck not claping .
Stock Barrel
Stock regulator
Review: I never tried the stock reg i went right to my AKA 2 liter , although my team mate used the stock reg and it really did not differ that much at chrono.
First off i see some people have chosen to bash this gun and i can only assume they have not tried it . they paid $1000.00 for it , or they work for another gun company because the ION shoots very well , It is the best value in paintball hands down.
Is it perfect out of the box? Hell no , the stock barrel is weak , clamping feedneck would have been nice .
In all honesty i have yet to buy a marker that came with a decent barrel , and if your serious about paintball your going to get a kit no matter how good the stock barrel is so barrel quality is a non issue for review purposes.
4 cases of paint have gone through the gun without a single problem and is without a doubt the best $300.00 out there and will hold its own with most $500-700 guns to boot.
I like this gun better than my impulse , but not as much as my e2 cocker.
Dont use the regulator , i swiched mine to the AKA 2 liter but a cp or palmer will make this excellent gun rock solid
Conclusion: For the money its the best deal in paintball , no matter what gun you buy no one ever leaves it stock and the ION is a solid gun , add a nerve feedneck for $30 and a decent barrel system and you will be able to keep up with people who paid allot more.
Upgrade the reg as soon as possible , the stock one is not that great and the adjustment stinks and can be changed by mistake too easily.
With the nerve feed neck and the AKA 2 liter the ION shoots awesome , better than by vision imp at a fraction of the cost .
After my upgrades i would give this gun a 10
And for the people that complained about paint braking....stop buying your paint at wall-mart
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 9th, 2005 at 12:02 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media