paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
lvroolla99 Saturday, May 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested and demo'ed various Angels, Intimidators, Shockers, and Wraths.
Marker Setup: Out of the box stock except for a 3 year old Benchmark Rail drop-forward and short pull trigger mod. Four year old Revvy 9v.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on level of play. For me, none.

*Edit May 21, 2005: Maybe a new, proven accurate barrel and more consistant regulator.
Strengths: Lightweight
Simplistic appearance
Easy to aim
Quiet
Minimal Kick
Pricing
*Edit: IS NOT PLASTIC!
Weaknesses: No external interfacing
*Edit:May21,2005:
Tricky Hoses
Quality control
Frame screws in awkward positions
Review: Edit: May 21, 2005.

After playing with the Ion on six different game nights, I now have a better idea about the marker. Here is an edit of my review after some more experience with the Ion.

Last night, I noticed the trigger frame was a tiny bit loose from the body of the gun which allowed some paint to sneak in between the frame and body and sit there. I decided to go ahead and completely disassemble the marker to clean it out and to check it out. Removing and reapplying the two frame screws was a pain in the a**. The screws are in fairly awkward positions so you don't have full rotation on the screws. Rather, you get maybe 1/3 of a turn and must readjust. When first inspecting the separation of the body and frame, i noticed the banjo bolts and air lines are held into place with NO wiggle room. Which means your air hoses will be stressed as you slightly move the body of the Ion to reach the banjo bolts for removal. I managed to create a leak in one of the air hose connections by moving around the hoses to make room for an allen wrench. Leak was quickly diagnoised and fixed.

After watching a disassembly video tutorial of the Ion, I noticed I was missing a part! I was missing a set screw used to hold the body to the frame that is located inside the body below the barrel. How could Smart Parts send out a product without counting all the damn screws on it first?? Although it is not a very important part (the two main screws already hold the body to the frame), it was still rather annoying that they forgot it. Quality control DEFINITELY dropped that ball in my book.

Tonight, I was able to shoot many other markers and compare it directly to my stock Ion running on HPA. There was another new Ion with a fancy regulator and barrel... Didn't shoot any better than mine. Played with a DYE DM4 and found that it only outperformed the Ion in terms of it's silence and more consistent shooting which is not enough reason for the price increase. I played with a stock Spyder Fenix ACS on HPA and found that it was *much* more accurate than my Ion although louder and heavier. I was very surprised and gave it the proper respect that was due. Finally, I played with my 5 year old stock Bob Long Millenium (Spyder clone). It was sad to say that this was the most accurate marker out of all that I tried with the Ion being 3rd on the list behind the Fenix. Playing with these variety of markers today gave me a better idea of where the Ion stood in the scheme of things. I ended up prefering my Bob Long Millenium due to the light weight and extremely thin body profile. It's sleak and simple body profile made me realize the Ion's fat plastic body cover really interfered with that would have been a skinnier marker. The Ion just wasn't as easy to aim as the Bob Long Millenium and it didn't feel as natural either.

Overall, I still like the Ion. I'm considering a proven barrel for it. The ROF in semi mode is plenty for me and I find that it is helpful in certain situations. The reliability and peace of mind of knowing that it will shoot and will not jam is also excellent to have. I still recommend this marker as a cheap and reliable marker which doesn it's job... but it is not without it's flaws. Even so, those flaws can be overlooked and I'm still happy with my purchase. I am downgrading the Product Rating from a 9 to an 8.

Original Review:

Returning to paintball after having played for two years with three years off proved to be a difficult ride. I found that my trusty Bob Long Millenium that I've been shooting before didn't have the reliability I once remembered so I opted to buy another marker and retire the Spyder clone to backup. I looked at and shot quite a few guns before finally deciding on an ION.

Coming back to the game, I never could see myself as an electro user spraying down the field in ropes and ropes of paint. It just isn't my style. I shoot only when it counts and a 200 round hopper full of paint will usually last me 3-5 indoor rec games. So I automatically ruled out buying any electro marker because I assumed they were only good for laying down paint like a garden hose sprays water. I looked at the autocockers mainly because they were a great performing mechanical marker having used them before. Right before settling on one, I posted for recomendations for markers in the 300-400 dollar range and one of which recommended was the ION.

I gave it a serious research review and found that everyone raved on and on about how many BPS it could handle for being a under 300 dollar marker. I wasn't interested in BPS so I passed it up... until I shot one.

Things have changed since my Bob Long Millenium. The ION blew me away and convinced me electro markers were not just for spraying paint. Upon first trying it, i found them to be accurate, reliable, small and compact, lightweight, and very very "tidy" with the right drop. Perfect for that agressive front player... me. My Spyder clone just wasn't reliable enough for me to play front effectively.

Afterwards, I got my hands on a Wrath and Shocker to test out and demo as potential markers. The Wrath just wasn't as "simple" and "plain jane" as the ION was. I like a minimalist design that effectively does the job. I don't like anodizing, shiny metals, or a ton of contraptions on my markers to make it look "cool". The Wrath seemed heavier and just didn't seem to lay down accurate shots and bursts like the ION would. Next, the Shocker performed great. No real complaints except the fact that the ION would and could do everything the Shocker could. I'm shooting 3 round bursts at the maximum and never play in full auto or rebound modes... so the extras of the Shocker wasn't worth the money to me. Not to mention they're not as small as the ION.

Autococker vs. ION... ION. Cheaper, simpler, more compact, lighter, electro mouse clicking trigger.

Using the ION at the field tonight felt very natural. With a 68/45 tank, the set up was a bit back heavy which was perfect for pulling up the light ION for snap shooting. Just rolled the tank butt right up the shoulder and lined up the shots. The front grip is in a comfortable position for use. Aiming down the sides of the marker was easy as there was nothing blocking the view. Well, except on the left of the marker... pressure guage. Not much considering all the garbage do-dads on other "fancy" markers. Snap shooting was a breeze.

Accuracy down the field was good, not excellent. It could have been the field paint. I haven't used other barrels to see any difference in accuracy. The stock barrel is very effective for range and accuracy, however. three out of three balls per burst would land where it was intended. Not intending to bonusball, but I was hitting people with 2-3 balls average per elimination at a distance bursting. The was virtually no kick in firing and the ION is quiet! Big bonus for me as it really feels like I have a quality designed piece of equipment on my hands.

Ease of use. Turn the power on, turn the power off. Simple. I'm not sure what everyone is saying about the difficulty of using the power button, but it was pretty da,m easy for me. It has no feedback feel to let you know you've pressed the button, but just use light pressure and be patient. The button is pressed. No need to try to push on it with all your might and damage the board. I used very light pressure with full finegred gloves on and never had a problem. However, I must point out that the power button is just a rubberized plastic disc placed over a LED membrane and that my power button was not aligned properly. A little to the left. Poor quality control or poor customer satisfaction policy to let something this stupid out the door.

Efficiency? my PMI 68/45 had 2.5x1000 psi left on the guage and after five games and 500 rounds later, my guage showed 1000 psi. Also, I mistakenly shot in Vision Mode Off settings the entire game thinking I had the eyes on. 500 rounds later and not a single break from playing with the eyes off and not even knowing it.

Adjusting between modes, 3 round burst, semi, full auto, rebound, seemed to be a waste of time. You have to remove one side of the grips to expose the board to make adjustments. This pretty much means a good five minutes. I'd like to have an external way of adjusment. The current design says, "cutting production costs" all over it. The again, it doesn't bother me that much. I don't use anything except semi mode. I'm not a paintball garden hose and most likely never will be.

The trigger allows adjustment for return tension and post travel distance. I made a ten cent mod to the trigger guard to nearly eliminate all return travel on the trigger. This gave the trigger the feel of clicking a mouse button. The good thing was that I didn't ruin my aim from messy pulls of the long trigger. The negative thing was that I kept discharging the gun by accident shifting the marker between left and right shooting positions. My first game, I must have accidentally shot the marker 10 times.

I will update this review as I put more game hours into the ION. I'm sure more positives and negatives alike will creep up.
Conclusion: Again, I am a minimalist. It looks like a simple, no-frills marker and that's exactly what I was looking for. I wanted something simple that would shoot well straight out of the box and was reliable enough for me to not worry about it up past mid field. The rubber design elements do not bother me but I wouldn't mind it if they weren't there at all. I would probably prefer that. The ION will meet the demands of those who go through half a case of paint per game reliably as demonstrated by so many others on the forums. It will also meet the demands of people like me who want an accurate, consistant, marker that is light weight and does it's job without the fuss. I never use the high ROF options on the marker so I could care less about it. My 9v Revvy kept up with the ION just fine. Shooting semi is bliss and the ION delivers.

I recommend one if you like small and tight set-ups that perform.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, May 22nd, 2005 at 12:34 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

LandonBlake Monday, January 30th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested17 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I currently wield, proudly, a WGP E2-blade autococker and overall is a much better product that is much easier to customize to your own needs and style.
Marker Setup: One (1) DYE Ultralight barrel, One (1) 1.10 model E2-blade, One (1) KAPP front block (excluding the three-way ofcourse), One (1) custom body, One (1) HALO-B Loader, One (1) Gen-X Regulator.
Recommended
Upgrades:
On the Ion, everything. Its a cheap gun. Go ahead and invest a little more in something worthwhile. Go to the Smart Parts website and they even provide a list of upgrades it needs.
Strengths: Its cheap? Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Weaknesses: Its cheap. Shoddy quality. Check out the review for more. Too many words apparently...
Review: Strengths: I realize that this is a major selling point for the marker, but after all the repairs and upgrade parts you're going to have to pay for, its going to be as much as just buying a decent marker.

Weaknesses: The parts are of shoddy quality, that need replacing, and if not, will need repairs often. Yes it is electronic, but the marker itself just isn't equipped for those rates of fire (17 balls a second? Not today) and trying to fire it that fast just may make the marker explode. Also it's a very loud marker with notable kick. I realize in tournament play decibel level isn't too much of a downfall, but after playing with an Autococker for so long, it tends to stand out in a bad way, and the kick just makes it hard to walk-the-trigger effectively.



What can I say that already hasn't been said dozens of times by obviously more knowing patrons to the sport? Go to the show dropdown list and select "Lowest Rating First," and read unbiased opinions of the marker. I'm also very aware that many of you will argue that these opinions, are indeed, biased, but first consider this: why should/would they be? If I was feeling malicious, and wanted to ruin someone's day, I could think of a lot better things to do than giving a random marker a bad review. There's a VERY good reason that this marker was only priced at $300. You get what you pay for gentlemen.
Conclusion: Don't buy it. Its a cheap gun that's going to cost at least twice what it's worth to fix. Go ahead and invest a little more into something good. You can do it. I believe in you. Normally I would rate this marker at least a 3, but because it is being paraded/masqueraded as a tournament marker capable of 17 balls a second, I'm forced to give it a 1. Sorry guys.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 22nd, 2006 at 9:48 pm PST
I found this review  
85 Comments - Add Comment

ChaChuShady Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
dragun tes upped to the max,tippmann98c
Marker Setup: SP ion
all stock except unimount and 12v revvyX
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel(if u feel like it although stock is good)on/off is a must,
Strengths: Feedneck
Barrel
Ion maxflo
Shells
Weaknesses: Needs an on/off
Hard to dissassemble
Review: The ion isnt seen as a high end marker but it sure shoots like one!The eyes are very outstanding,didnt chop once shooting 10-11 bps with a revvy.The gun is lightweight and small.There will be a lot more aftermarket parts later on so its alllll good.
Make sure you turn ur psi to 0 before u gas it up.
Conclusion: Conclusion-buy one,the price is very good for the marker

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

teamthundercats Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra and a few Autocockers (only tested). I prefer the Ion to all of these.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion with Halo B Rip Drive Loader and Freak Jr. System (comming soon)
Tippmann 98 Custom with Qloader System and J+J 16" Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgraded Feed Neck, Halo B w/ Rip Drive or Empire Reloader B (both are plenty fast and seem identical to me, just a matter of eye vs. sound activation). I also recommend the Blackheart board if you do some serious tourament play (only a 3 BPS upgrade but tourney features are nice.)
Strengths: Reliability, Speed, Consistency, Upgradability, Playability, and Cost
Weaknesses: Problems with Standard Feed Neck (very Minor)
Review: Background: I have had a 98 Custom for three years, always preferring woodball over speedball, modding my gun for use as a sniper front/middle man, using stealth and accuracy to get over the slow ROF of the Tippmann. I would play speedball as well, but my woodball gun couldn't keep up. After days of research, I decided on the Ion.

The Gun: I went to the proshop and bought the stock Ion for $290, along with a cheap 47/3000 tank for $80, and a Halo B with Rip Drive for $125 (also excellent BTW). I convinced the guy behind the counter to gas my tank for free and took it all home. When I opened up the box, I turned down the output pressure (just to be safe), screwed on the barrel, and gassed it up. The gun instantly cocked and became ready. It was easy to turn on and even easier to deactivate the eye (same button does it all) and I dry fired the gun on semi. It was very quiet and very fast. The tank did make it back heavy, so I would recommend a drop forward or remote line. I then took off the trigger guard and tried to switch it to ramping to test it out. I click it onto ramping easily, but couldn't figure out how to save settings. Just pull the trigger. Any changes are saved and you can now fire the gun. The gun responds beautifully on ramping mode. Even without trigger adjustments the gun is a dream. I then adjusted my trigger to give it about a millimeter of pull. When walking, I do not notice the movement of the trigger at all. The only downside to the gun is the feed neck. The stock feed neck is so tight that the loader I got (Halo B) wouldn't even fit in. By removing the two larger O-rings inside the neck, the loader fits in fully, but still very, very snug. If you do this and are using a Halo B, it will never fall out, and is actually difficult to remove, making it safe for even the roughest play. I recommend buying the upgraded feed neck because it fixes the size issue and lowers your hopper to prevent hopper shots.

The Field: The next day, I took it to the local speedball field, using the POS white box paint offered at the pro shop for $35 bucks a case. The gun was amazing. The accuracy on the stock barrel is the best for a stock barrel I've ever seen, even with the sucky paint. With only a two foot spread down the length of the field, and under a foot spread across the field's width, a barrel upgrade can definitely wait if you're short on cash. The first game I played with it was two on three with me on the team of two. I left my partner behind at break and got two kills in fifteen seconds, one was using another Ion and the other using an E99. My partner got the third. Throughout the day I shot a little over a case of paint, never breaking once. This pumps out paint fast and is a sure way to prevent the other team from moving up while allowing you to do so yourself. Definitely bring pods! The only problem I had was shooting in my barrel condom due to either forgetting to turn off my gun or hitting the trigger accidentally (I have it really light). The regulator eventually breaks in and goes from 6 fps 2 fps at chrono. Great gun.
Conclusion: The Ion is one of the best guns I have ever used, and it's certainly the best deal. With the speed, reliability, and features of many $1000 guns, there's nothing to lose buy getting the Ion. I would never buy anything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

corndog007 Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year15 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS, Tippmann A-5, I touched a Minion
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion, Freak Jr. Barrel Kit, Dye mini drop foward, Dye ASA, Ion silver body kit, Trinity Clamping Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definately a clamping feed neck, and maybe a new trigger because the standard trigger has some sway left to right, but mine doesn't sway so its not on my need list just my want, New Barrel although the standard one isn't half bad.
Strengths: Standard 18+bps, Light weight(2.2pounds), Looks great, Highly Upgradeable, Low price
Weaknesses: Trigger sways
Horrible Feed neck
Review: Well I will break my review into 5 basic sections that are the most important parts of a review:
1. A short story
2. Construction
3. Performance
4. Pros and Cons
5. Overall

A Short Story
This story basically gets me started on the review and makes me feel like I have actually accomplished something. So get ready here we go on a very long review.
Back in the day when I first got my ion I was running all standard equipment and looked like a noob ready to get owned but my ion pulled me through. On the first game of the day(by the way I play scenario) all hell broke loose for the other team that is. About seventy five on each team charging each other. Me and my friend Troy(his name is protected for legal purposes) and a few others guys were given the task of holding the right flank while the rest of our team would lead the main assault. When we got to our bunker we hunkered down and prepared for the inevitable attack which we expected about 30 guys. The problem was that most of the enemy team came our way. We soon found out that this was going to be an useless struggle. My friend sticks his head up and comes back down covered in paint and says Im hit and Im like no kidding. With one ion down all we had left was a couple of guys with Victor IIs, and Rodeo and one with an Evil Omen and me with an all stock Ion. I must have been shooting 15-16bps cause I was on fire. I had hit 7 guys 2 of them being within ten feet, I felt great, then I got shot. We lost the game, but held the enemy force off much longer than expected about 15 minutes. Overall my survival was due to my ion which helped us gain some amount of fire superiority during those fifteen minutes. I kind of reminded me of the Alamo except with faster shooting.

Construction
Overall this marker is ingeniously designed for every single player alike. For noobs who want firepower, for pros who want to upgrade it to have even more firepower, or for posers who have never gone paintballing in their life but want to be cool. The marker is made of a full metal design with a plastic shell over the upper breech which gives the ion the uncannily ability to change its body and its look almost instantly, well it takes a few minutes but you get the idea. No ion is alike well unless its out of the box. The ion also contains a universal feed neck which fits every hopper RIGHT. This thing must be replaced immediately. It doesnt fit anything and if not replaced can possibly break and ruin your upper breech which cost $90 to replace. The board comes out of the box ready to fire at 18+bps. If that is not enough to satisfy you go buy a virtue board which fires really fast I dont know how fast I just know Troy has one. The break beam eyes in the gun are very sensitive and work very good and need to be cleaned regularly. No mater how hard you try it is impossible to chop paint when using the break beam eyes. The marker is also very easy to take apart and clean, not A-5 easy but easy enough. Regular maintenance includes cleaning the bolt and oiling it, cleaning the eyes, and checking over all the o-rings in the marker to see if any leaks are developing, I learned this the hard way when the o-ring in my regulator broke. It sort of caused a chain reaction which blew my gauge off and stripped the threads. Now I have to purchase a new frame which is a costly repair, around $100 to $150, which can easily be avoided by regularly checking your o-rings. The only other problem with the marker is its on/off button. Easy, right? Not really. The button is very hard to push down to turn on/off especially with gloves on. Not only is it hard to push down, it is hard to hold it down for the required 2-3 seconds to turn on. If that really bothers you then buy a virtue with its easy on which really is easy. Other wise this marker is very easy to operate and maintain.

Performance
18+bps standard! WOW! No other marker at this price can do that out of the box. Besides from the firepower it is very accurate. Most scenario players say the Tippmann A-5 is the most accurate gun on the market. As an A-5 owner I have to disagree. I would agree with most speedballers who claim the Autococker is Supreme Being in accuracy. Well the ion matches autocockers. The marker also doesnt drain battery power like some electos. I have been playing off the same 9volt battery for the last three times I have went, but always have a spare just in case. Now back to the 18+bps. Most people dont realize how fast 18 Ball Per Second is. Count 1 Mississippi. Now think, every second your spitting out 18 balls for 10 seconds and you realize your Halo B is empty. 1 Mississippi, 2 Mississippi, 3 Mississippi, 4 Mississippi, 5 Mississippi, 6 Mississippi, 7 Mississippi, 8 Mississippi, 9 Mississippi, 10 Mississippi. Thats fast. Overall this marker performs above and beyond a $200 marker and into the range of a $500 marker.

Pros and Cons
PROS
o 18+bps standard
o Cool Looking
o Highly Upgradeable
o Still performs great without upgrades
o Lightweight and Compact
o Doesnt take a huge chunk out of your wallet
o Requires little maintenance
o The lightest trigger pull on earth
o Highly dependable
o Shoots a lot of paint real fast

CONS
o Needs a new feed neck
o Shoots a lot of paint real fast
Overall
Overall this marker will satisfy your need to shoot someone at high velocity with a most satisfying comfort. It wont ruin your credit score and definitely will not ruin your day paintballing, whether you go once a week or once a year. It keeps racking up kills while you sit back and pull the trigger with ease.

corndog007

P.S. Its as real as it gets
Conclusion: Get this gun because it is cool.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

superrocker Friday, February 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys,Angles, Mech Cockers, E-Cockers, Shockers, Imps...Ect.
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, reg
Strengths: Light
Accurate
fast
price
Weaknesses: People think it sucks...Really doesn't thouggh
No upgrades yet
Review: This Marker is one of the better i have seen in a while. For its price it is pretty wicked. I am in turnys and i think i would use this in the game, not just rec. ball. People think it is plastic but it really isn't doesn't look it in real life either. Also people think it is a shocker clone... i Agree.. a really, really good clone though. I don't really like shockers they feel weird but this feels nicer than one. Not like a cheap spyder or a mongoose. It Has a nice trigger frame. Reminds me of the e2 kind of. Great gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this marker to anyone who wants a $300 gun that works.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Kyle1129 Wednesday, February 8th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months15 of 34 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
autococker trilogy, evil omen, impulse, tippman a-5, pirannah evo
Marker Setup: halo tsa lcd, all american12 inch, pure energy 68-3k, 32 degree drop forward, CP blade trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
TRIGGER, BARREL,FEEDNECK, Mostly REGULATOR!!!!
Strengths: Accurate as can be with all american, sorta fast, thats it
Weaknesses: REGULATOR
leaks alot
inconsistent
feedneck
trigger
Review: Well, i have used the ION twice and the first time it was ok except for the internal leak. The second timeiused it, it washorrible. First, the i had another leak which i had tofixby replacing a internal hose ( which is a pain in the ass) Then, when i put the air in it wouldnt cock, i have no idea how i fixed it but that finaly worked. Lastly, after i finally got it to shoot, i went to chrono. 350fps, so i adjusted it down, 320 fps, i adjusted it more until the cameout and leaked everywhere. Now i cant change my velocity without the reg coming out. People say a great gun for the money! but, overall i spent over about $410 on upgrades and it still sucked. ALSO smart parts customer service is about the worst you can get, the guy told me to just pull the internal parts out after i had the screwes out, which resulted in ripping the hose, you have to push up from the trigger frame! This is definately smart parts worst gun.
Conclusion: DO NOT buy this gun, jus get an impulse or omen
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

dang - disorder Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2K4 Pirahna EVO - Easy to clean, fires well with trigger upgrade, heavy
Marker Setup: Stock Smarts Part Ion
68/3000 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Strengths: Cost
Quiet
No kick
Very Small profile
Weaknesses: Possible Air Effecency Issue
May be too small of finger space under the trigger guard
Review: Wellllllll.... let's just say I was lucky and won mine in a online contest. It arrived last night.

Out of the box I have to say, not a bad looking gun. A very low profile, much like the Shocker (not making any more comparisons from there though).

That "plastic" body that some talk trash about is damn blasted hard and looks like it will be pretty sturdy. Time will tell there. The rest of the gun is a dusted aluminum that is no wear as flimsy as a Spyder. It is way lighter then my Piranha EVO, and even seems more rugged.

The barrel is nothing to talk too much about, just a straight 12" barrel. I am going to test some other barrels on it on Saturday.

Trigger is very light, and out of the box for me needed some adjustments. Was very simple to do that though and I am getting my rate up pretty high. The trigger guard allows for alot of fingerplay. The grip is pretty sticky and I think it works really good, but people with bigger fingers may find it a tight fit under the guard and the in-line.

Some may need a drop down or drop forward but it works for me as is, though I think I will someday upgrade to an on/off.

Sadly I did not see how much air was in my bottle before hooking it up but it did blast through what was on my 68ci/3000 pretty fast, so I am a bit concerned about air efficency. I will know more once I have my bottle filled. I am hoping that this is not the sign of the same issues I have heard that the Shocker has in the reg.

Taking it apart to clean is no where as easy as my EVO, but the instruction book spells everything out really good. It is sweet that there is only one moving part in the body.

The shell comes off easy only during an almost complete dismantle, so there is no fear of it slipping off.

My only other thing I would have to say about issues with this marker is that the one screw holding the trigger frame to the body is not easy to get to and some patience is needed to get the frame off and away from the body.

I will say this gun flies, and is very quiet... well at least compared to my blowback EVO. By the way this marker is a blowforward.

Tomorrow I am going to run some paint through it and Saturday I will be practicing with the marker. Overall though I am pretty impressed, but time will if this gun has real field power.

Hope this helps some and I will update this as I use it.
Conclusion: I think this gun may set a new standard for lower end markers and as many of the reviews have said only time will tell for sure.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

midguy Wednesday, April 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker, Impulse, and Dye Matrix
Marker Setup: SP Shocker, Halo B, PMI Pure Energy 46/4500 nitro tank, Freak Barrel Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
All American Barrel
Max Flo
Blade Trigger
maybe a new reg, even thought the stock ones pretty good
Strengths: Speed
Light
Maneuverable
Reliable
Durable
accurate
Weaknesses: Kinda sucks to clean, having to take the whole gun apart.
Review: Like many of you, I was kinda skeptical about the Ion. We all know the huge mistake WGP made with the Trilogy series of cockers. But, SP managed to pull it out with this one.

Anyway, I bought the Ion at my local paintball supplier in J-Town. If any of you have played at Underground Paintball, you know who Im talkin about. When I first took it out of the box, I noticed that the grip was open, and the board was exposed and the battery was already in, well at least i dont have to worry about battery installation. I picked it up, put the grip back together and picked it up. It felt almost exactly like the Shocker. The only difference i could feel is that it was a little lighter.

The next day I went to the Bunker to play, took it to the chrono and it shot 275, 277, 279. Not bad out of the box. So, anyway I set it down and almost immediately came a crowd of 11 and 12 year old newbies. They all wanted to look at it, shoot it, touch it, ahhhhhh. I dont know about the rest of you, but i am very picky about that sorta stuff. I didnt mind them looking at it, but i was not about to let a 12 year old that was using a Brass Eagle POS pick it up.

Ok, on to the playing part. I was on a team with another kid with an awesome BKO. Shot almost as fast as my Ion;) The other team was all the noobs with Brass Eagles and rental Piranhas. On the break, I started rippin em apart. I caught about three of them on the break just shootin ropes to the other side. They were pretty shocked. Theyve never played against a high performance marker before. I got two others out before bein splattered by a lucky shot to the shoulder. Went over my bunker.

Overall, I love my new SP Ion. Anyone who says it sucks, you have no idea what youre talkin about. Later
Conclusion: I recommend this gun to more experienced players. It will definitely make you smarter at the technical side of a marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 6th, 2006 at 6:50 am PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

DeViL Monday, February 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ironmen timmy, aced angels, e-class cockers, visioned shockers, ..any high end visioned gat.
Marker Setup: Ironmen Intimidator
pbk stick trig, dual regs, was 2.8, check it clamp, hi-flow barbs, ect.
Recommended
Upgrades:
uni-mount/rail system (any on/off system)
feedneck
barrel (but the stock traces lines)
Strengths: Simple
Cheap
Breakbeams
Ramping board
Lightweight and small profile
great out of box
Weaknesses: Full dissassembly to maintain
Capped at 17 bps (feels really slow)
The worst trigger ever
Review: i was one of the most skeptical people when reading ont his marker. i figured it would be crap out of box and at most be used as a backup....at worst for 300 bucks id shoot marbles and rocks out of it. let me say one thing: this thing delivers.

i brought it to outlaw paintball, in so-cal, to try it out with various teams and friends. everyone loved it, novice to pro. even one of my more skeptical friends, my old team captain of dpb factory west admitted to despising the fact taht he liked it. He was actually pissed off while fireing it because he wanted it to be crap.

there was probably half a case shot through it with out of box parts (bottom line asa, feedneck, barrel) and still performed up there with my other guns. the barrel inside of the barrel is still clean as though it never left the box, shiney and sticky. thats half a case of paintballs in live games with no breaks or chops... (played as a back position gun while used yesterday). constanty fires ropes.


cons:
the worst part of the gun is the fact that you have to disassemble it to do something as simple as take out the bolt.
Worst trigger EVER. i mean, it was crappy out of box... and even when tinkered with by myself and professionals, still crap. they really need to come out with an aftrermarket trigger
the 17bps cap ,which doesnt seem worth mentioning, is sluggish. 17 bps really is slow and i feel as if i cant rip on the gun cause of missed trigger pulls.
Conclusion: Tournament grade gun. i will be playing with it as an equal to my ironmen timmy once some aftermarket parts come (board, trigger, ect).

Most people are saying its a rec ball gun, its not. heres why:
1) you will go through far too much paint now that your gun fires straight and doesnt chop
2) i doubt youll be able to dig holes with it as you would a tippman
3) it takes full dissassembly to maintain. rec ballers dont know what to do

This is seriously a tournament grade gun... its the ford escort of paintball.

I'm giving it a 9 because of the low bps cap and the fact that it needs to be dissassembled to maintain.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media