paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
pearjuice Saturday, July 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI blowbacks
Spider blowbacks
Electro Spider blowbacks
Non electro autocockers
Superstock electro autococker
ICD BKO
and and Angel
Marker Setup: Angel G7 (absurdly expensive, but godly)
Superstock 'Cocker (unreliable, but for some daft reason I like it anyway)
Recommended
Upgrades:
A full time Tech to keep it working
Strengths: Low weight , compact package,
many features
Weaknesses: Remarkably poor reliability and build quality, difficut to maintain
Review: Well, my primary impression of this marker was of dissapointment. I quite like small and compact markers, but a marker needs to do it's job. My Ion did not. Out of the box there were no less than three air leaks. The marker had been aired up in the store, but my first use of it was at about 34 degrees celcius. I can only assume that thermal expansion played a role in softening/stretching the air lines of a marginal design. After some fussing I was able to fix all but one of the leaks. Unfortunately, the last leak only occurred when the marker was assembled. When broken down, no leak occurred. This suggested that there was some tiny addidional force on one of the lines that only occurred when installed in the marker. After even more fussing, I was able to avoid the leak provided I didn't torque up the rear trigger frame bolt. These concerns would have been bad enough. To make matters worse, I found that the breach and the barrel were mismatched, such that the barrel was free to vibrate a few millimeters at the tip of the barrel (maybe 120 thou total swing) This was beyond my capacity to repair. I returned the marker to the vendor, and they were able to fix the remaining leak (apparantly this type of leak is very common with the ION, something any and all prospective owners would do well to consider. They also replaced the breach and barrel. Unfortunately the new breach and barrel were still slightly missmatched. The error was far less than it was out of the box, but still significant, and enough to reduce accuracy. There are enough things making a paintball inaccurate. Adding one more is almost criminal.

As a final note, to perform routine maintenance on this marker, you need to almost completely dissasemble some delicate plugs and wires. Just lubing the bolt requires complete dissassembly, and partially dissassembly of the card. The potential to break something while doing this is very real. The potential to misalign the air tubes, causing leaks, is even greater. The potential to cause damage by not cleaning such an unfriencly to clean marker is probably the greatest.

Actually shooting the marker? I didn't use the marker for more than test fires, but I have to say that the package IS very small and light, and the ramping mode IS quite effective, but consider the fact that if you want to hit over 14 on semi, you'll need some amazing fingers, or, more likely, an aftermarket trigger job. Pay particular attention to this last point, because you do NOT want to do anything to this marker that will void the warranty. I think you're going to need it.
Conclusion: I would strongly reccommend that anyone who is considering this marker should consider their other options, particularly if you are at all clumsy with tools, or experience less than complete rapture while performing gun maintenance. I've done some searching, and found an aftermarket body kit for the ION. I think it's made by strange. This supposedly allows for much simpler breakdown and cleaning. In the next year Smart Parts may get a better handle on quality control, and more body kits may proliferate. Until then, try and avoid the temptation of all those features, and get a marker that will perform the most important function of all:

Shooting paint.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

TheOnlySaneOne Friday, July 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month13 of 67 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
My FreeFlow Coocker (2nd hand, isn't even timed and is way better)
Spyders
Tippies
Tons of guns that poor people like myself have shot
Marker Setup: Ebladed Millineum FreeFlow cocker
Boomy
45-45 Crossfire tank
aka Sidewinder
Lighter Backblock and bolt are next
Recommended
Upgrades:
New gun
Strengths: LIGHT-weighs nothing
FAST-shoots 14bps out of box
CHEAP-$284
Weaknesses: CHEAP-sadly your getting what you pay for
UGLY
ITS SMARTPARTS nuff said
Review: Ok so you can buy a high end marker for $280 result your buying a cheap body cheap bolt cheap reg cheap trigger cheap solenoid the list goes on and on. I've shot the gun and accuracy is lacking.
THE TRUTH!!!
In order to actually enjoy this gun your going to have to buy new parts
gun- $280
new barrell- (jj would work i think they have those for ion) $35
reg- $50
asa that doesn't give you the worse positioning ever- $20
Qev- $10
feedneck- $20
Then you still have bad efficency and crapping electronics but atleast it no longer seems like your shotting a spyder
Total $415
My Freeflow cost only $350 shipped off ebay
Conclusion: Incase you like moding gun buy a different gun.
I give it a 2 for be capable of shooting and being light weight
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment

Everlight389 Saturday, March 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Proto Matrix
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Trigger
ASA (stock works, but it's a duckbill)
Strengths: - Cheap ($285)
- Simple, effective operation
- Good internals
- Durability
- Easy assemby/disassembly
- Eyes
- Small and light
Weaknesses: - Peripherals (trigger, feedneck, barrel)
- Eye wire
- Not exactly field strippable
Review: Strengths:

Cheap. For $285 your getting low pressure, 17 balls per second, and good eyes. Sweet.

Simple yet effective operation. Very simple, easy to clean/lube, reliable, and has virtually no kick whatsoever. I've shot a shocker and the ion, and I have to say that they were both almost identical except that the shocker is capable of faster rates of fire stock than the ion is (and is about $400 more).

Good internals. For the money, all the internals are pretty good. Because of the simple operation their tolerances are pretty high. Bolt is very easy to clean/lube and is fairly well made.

Durability. Electronics are well hidden inside the marker, and as seen in plenty of pictures are not effected by water. The only downside of it is that changing the modes/settings is somewhat difficult, but in turn they are well protected.

Easy dis-assembly/re-assembly. Easy to clean, lube, and put back together. 'nuff said.

Eyes. That's right kids, break beam eyes. So no chopping. Ever. It's bolt can also be soft enough to pinch paint, provided that you can get the pressure low enough.

Small and light. With the barrel it weighs 2.2 pounds, and is shorter than practically all other guns on the market.

Weaknesses:

Peripherals. Trigger, feedneck, and barrel all need to be replaced. But, for the price, it's not really a terrible thing. The trigger is too stiff without adjustment, and feels kinda "plasticy" to me. The feedneck actually fits a HaloB fairly well, but a clamping is better than o-rings. And the barrel sometimes is good, sometimes it's not, but replacing them is practically standard now.

Eye wire. The internal eye wire feels really fragile. I have not broken it, but it just feels and looks like it could break if strained very much.

Not field strippable. Because of the shell design you can't exactly pull the bolt out the back to clean/lube it. Normally a swab will do all the cleaning you need at the field, but it would be nice to be able to pull it out the back. Some shells in the future could have this option (as it would be easy enough to do).
Conclusion: For the money, I think it's the best out there as of this moment. Because of the price/performance ratio it makes a good gun no matter where it is in your arsenal. The peripherals aren't the greatest, but they can be used stock. Having shot a proto matrix and this (both spool valve types), I have to say that the extra money is worth it if you have it, but the ion provides very good performance for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 7th, 2005 at 11:43 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

stickmandnb Saturday, February 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
impulse,shocker
Marker Setup: ion , evil pipe kit, halo, 47 3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell, 68/4500 tank, halo or other fast hopper
Strengths: Price, eyes, rof
Weaknesses: Barrel, feed neck
Review: I picked up my ion at our field store this morning and the first thing i did was adjust the trigger. It only took a couple of seconds then I put in the battery put on the airtank and dry fired about a tank through it. I then went to the chrono table and tried to put on my halo. It didn't fit.After it didn't fit I then grabbed another hopper and tried it. Again it wouldn't fit.
Finally I got fed up and grabbed the clamp feed off of my impulse. I filled the hopper and turned on the gun. All I can say is wow. Out of the box my chrono readings were 297, 294, and 295. Since it was good on speed i just let it rip. The stock barrell was nothing special but it was allright. I put on the pipe and it was ball on ball the rest of the day. I had originally bought the ion for my backup but as of now i am going to use it as my primary. The air efficiency isn't the greatest but the ion is definetely worth the 300 dollars that it cost. People may say that it is a "noob gun" but the ion is a great gun and so far have had no problems at all with it.
Conclusion: This gun is well worth the money and i would reccomend it to anyone looking for a good gun at a great price
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

-[USB]Mr.Slow Saturday, June 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cap Guns
Other dollar store ''guns''
Water guns
Marker Setup: Dm6
Yellow Parts Kit
Virtue Board
Yellow Macroline
Yellow 14'' Ultralite Tip
Orange SAM Bolt
Yellow Dye Sticky Grips
Halo B W Rip Drive, victory board, Suicide Shell
Angel Air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Body, Internals, Grips, Board, Bolt, Feedneck, Reg, ASA, Barrel, Solenoid, Trigger, New Macro, Maybe A New Gun, Ball Detents, Valves, Buttons, New Eyes, Maybe A New Gun, New O-Rings, New QEV, New LPR, Less Plastic Parts, More Metal Parts, Maybe A New Gun, Get The Hint Yet??
Strengths: This thing has strengths?!?!?
If it came with steroids maybe.
Weaknesses: If you look in the dictionary under weak, it'll have a picture of this.
Review: So I went to the paintball store, and my team captain bought a new trigger frame and I felt that I needed a new Marker, they had just gotten in shipment of the new Ion pros, WAIT, does ''ion'' deserve a capital letter? Anyway I decided to try one I get home gas it up, and right away, I hear the bolt make a THUNK sound, and slide into forward position while this is happening I hear a leak out of the LPR. I degas it take it apart and the LPR was cracked, I took it to the proshop the next day, they could not fix it, so I sent it to SP, they sent me a new ion, so I gas it up, take it outside and using brand new marballizers I put them in the brand new VLocity, turn the gun on, go to pull the trigger, and by the way the trigger feels like a plastic fork, so I fire the ion and it goes PLUFF and green paint and shell go everywhere, I dry fire it to clear it, I point the barrel at the ground and all of a sudden marballizers go flying out the VLocity is working like mad, I turn it off, degas it, take it apart, the ball detents were missing, so I buy new ones, take the ion out AGAIN I go to start ripping, (and I have fast fingers I've hit 24 with an Ego) and after about a second into shooting the gun burps and the next few balls just barely make it out the end of the barrel, and I look at the gauge it slipped and now reads negative 600 psi so I try again. The same thing happens so I look at the Gauge again the DAMN THING FLYS OFF AND HITS ME IN THE FACE!! Seems funny now, but believe me I was mad.

Because this made me so mad I actually thought of a final solution for all ions, we have a conference held in a large arena (Superdome etc...) and then we give all ion owners exclusive invitations and when they're all inside, we lock them in, and put in big heaters until all of their ions melt. then hold a tradeshow aside with REAL markers and let them be fully rehabilitated into the paintball world.
Conclusion: Buy something Metal, don't let anyone tell you that an ion is anything near a 1000$ marker, my DM6 eats ions for breakfast, and shoots the noobs who uses them, this thing deserves a negative but they don't let you do that so this would be my rating
Rating: Negative 10.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

auto12 Wednesday, March 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse
Shocker
Timmy
DM4
Ive tried almost every high end gun.
Marker Setup: Impulse
sp vision
nd internals
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger
Strengths: Light
Fast
Accurate
Cheap
Quiet
Weaknesses: "Plastic" feel - strong but didnt care for the feel
Review: The Ion is an amazing gun, for its price nothing compares, in fact i cant think of anything less then about $800 that could come close to the performance of the ion. it truly lives up to its name as $300 high end gun.

I currently shoot an impulse with all new designz internals and its a nice gun after putting another $300-400 into it, the ion shoots like my imp stock, and weighs and cost less, both big pluses

I shot one at atomix (MI) while the owner of smart parts was there, he and i talked a bit and you can expect some pro teams to be using the ions in the future, so that pretty much ends any argument about the ion not being able to compete.

Thinks i liked were:
Light and Easy to use
Accurate, really surprised me how nice it was shooting with just the stock barrel
Fast, i don't care what anyone says, 17bps is fast and not just for a $300 gun.
Cost - Finlay a gun i can buy and still be able to play.

Thinks i didn't like:
Plastic trigger felt cheap and magnet made it a little stiff.
Plastic looking body also give the gun a cheap look. Although it is very strong and solid.
Conclusion: This is an excellent marker to start with, the price could be double and i wouldn't be disappointed with how it shot - but its not, its $300. which is insanely good price for a gun of this level. In fact my team are all changing to Ions, this is a team with: DM4, Timmy, Shocker, 2 IMP's and we are all changing over to ions for there reliability and ease along with performance.

All around great gun and i plan on replacing my imp with one soon.
Performance alone gets this gun a 9, however for this unbeatable price i give it a 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 16th, 2005 at 6:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IRULE Saturday, March 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
No comparison, my blade would beat it anyday
Recommended
Upgrades:
You're already out $300, stop while you're ahead
Strengths: I guess it beats throwing paint. or does it...
Weaknesses: In order to be concise and for accuracy's sake: Everything
Review: Wow. Thank you Smart Parts. Way to drop the ball on that one. Seriously. Was making it out of plastic the only criteria you were trying to meet? If so, maybe I have this review all wrong, but I think not. I want to put a sticker on this mother that says Osterizer. It does a better job of pureeing than my blender. (hint, that wasnt a diss on my blender). and the barrel. This is the company that makes the Freak and All American and what do they put on it? Some half-of-a-sorry-excuse for a barrel. tisk tisk. The trigger. crap. so buy the upgraded one you say. alright. now im out another $30 for the same piece i had before. well. Now that im all amped up to go play with my paint grinder, i mean paint slinger i go out there and try to use a little co2. After all, being a lower end gun, they have it so it can run co2. EHHHH! WRONG. (yeah it was A/S) Well now that i have my Ion-sicle frozen up i have time to reflect on what a wonderful 'marker' i have purchased. I wonder why SP didnt send a comment card along with it... Well. im going to go clean it up and try to sell it and get myself a real gun. maybe ill get a Triad or an Orion.
Conclusion: Well, seeing as i have to at least give it one star i will. After all it did occupy some of my time i might have otherwise wasted playing paintball. I have another question, why is this under high-end electros? food for thought...
I dont think i really need to summarize my above in much more than this: remember those little mr yuck stickers they use to put on poison and medicine? well if i could get my hands on some of those...
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 20th, 2006 at 2:08 pm PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

enza621 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
wrath ltd WAYYY BETTER!
Marker Setup: Wrath LTD
Recommended
Upgrades:
none get a different gun
Strengths: It has ramping.
Weaknesses: Cheaply made plastic, leaks air, cheaply made gun alltogether.
Review: The air leaks a lot and plastic shell cracked. Also the board was fried after ONE game. Not my gun its my friend but i hate smart parts. There only good gun is the shocker from smart parts. I would say get a wrath or save your money for a promaster or something along those lines. I am never going to trust smart parts again. The morale of the story is that ions are bad.
Conclusion: The gun is horrible, dont get it.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
20 Comments - Add Comment

runningw235 Sunday, September 10th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months10 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot, and it is about the same as the ion
Marker Setup: diablo wrath ltd. Halo B crossfire steel 3000psi tank. . j&j full tilt ceramic 12"
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new marker all together
Strengths: Inepensive.
Weaknesses: Unreliable, trigger, accuracy, feedneck, shootdown, very unreliable.
Review: The first time I used this marker it worked all right. But i was really dissapointed in the trigger and the accuracy, but mostly the trigger because it really is not any better than the trigger on a spyder pilot. The feedneck is a nightmare, because you have to twist and twist the hopper for a long time to get it in. And when you upgrade this marker at all, besides maybe a body kit, it totally voids the warranty. By the time you can make this marker as good as everybody says it is you could have bought a shocker with the money that you spent. These might be some of the most unreliable markers out there. The second time that it was used, the red button started to peel of, and there was terrible shootdown. Also on the third time I used it the ASA was loose from the trigger frame. The regulator is really bad. Oh, I almost forgot, there is only one button for all of the controls, it makes me go insane.
Conclusion: Do not buy this marker. Especially now when you can get a promaster for $225
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 10th, 2006 at 6:29 am PST
I found this review  
33 Comments - Add Comment

pbweapon Friday, November 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested10 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
a turd
Marker Setup: angel G7 stainless steel freak empire B with rip drive angel air warped sprotz grip
Strengths: It sucks
Weaknesses: Everything
Review: This is quit possibly the most overrated peice of crap on earth u would b better off buying a slingshot this gun is worthless and everyone says its so great but it really sucks its ugly and plastic the trigger wobbles and breaks the body is crap the stock board sucks the stock barrel sucks.........everyone buys this gun and upgrades the crap out of it because it sucks stock and if u were smart u would just buy a better gun
Conclusion: Dont buy this gun it sucks and blows at the same time

i would give it a 0 but u cant
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media