paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
varcoe310 Monday, November 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT tac 5
mr 1
Marker Setup: Stock ion
egg 3
45/3000 trinity tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
bolt
qev
barrel(freak kit)
asa
reg
Strengths: Price
speed
availability
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Reg
Review: This is a very solid marker for the price. I cant compare against better markers i havent tried. But this is in a veiw of a newer baller.
Strengths
Speed 17bps. I can only get to about 10 on semi but ramping is awsome.(called rebound in manual) Accuracy is awsome at 20 feet I can hit a 1.5 by 1.5 ft target 100% dropping by about 4.5% every 15 further out to 60 ft. This gun catches youre eye it is a sharp looking marker. Weight. this gun if a feather weight compared to other markers i have used.
Weaknesses
Changing modes can be tricky for a newer player but once you do it once it is all good.
The only other problem i had with this marker is the speed. My old loader wasnt fast enough to keep up so it would always fire maybe 8 balls then stop because it was not fast enough but with my egg 3 it is blazing fast. The egg3 doesnt fit well in the feed neck it is a tight fit to get it jammed in but once its in it is too loose. so a clamping feedneck is a must. The duckbill asa is terrible. It makes my air tank stick out an extra 1.5 inches making it feel like it is really heavy to the rear but you get used to it. To fix this you could buy a drop forward and a new asa for around 75 bucks.
Conclusion: Some people who have bought this marker say the barrel is powder coated on the inside and i must say it is not but on some i have seen where it is powder coated for the last few inches on the end of the barrel. But i give it a 10 because it is a good marker for a begginer or even a backup marker. Please say if my review was hepful
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fazio00 Saturday, March 31st, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
almost all egos, spyders, dm5, and 06 shocker
Marker Setup: 07 VICIOUS EGO, Halo with v35 board, crossfire 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, feedneck, board, barrel, grips, asa, reg, new shell, bolt, breach, firing can and the list goes on and on.
Strengths: Nothing!!
Weaknesses: Everything!!
Review: I got this gun in 05 and it was by the worst gun you could get for the money... I have shotten spyders that are better than this gun.... but first off, this gun had horible consistancy, at the crono, i was shoting 250 268 255 and 273... so my first impression of this gun was that it was a peice of s***. so i thought, hell, i might as well give it a shot, so i did and i ended up regreting it. it couldent even get 10bps out of the thing, so i played like 15 more games with it and it keeped gitting worse. the acuracy was horible, i amed it at a pole from 10 feet away and it mised... i could not belive my eyes. and this gun was a gas hog. i have a 68ci 45psi tank and i olny got 500 balls out of it... so after all of this, i swiched to my shocker and all was well again.

DO NOT BUY THIS GUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: Dont buy this gun it is a peice!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

Fat Lard Monday, March 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath
Tippmann 98c
Tippmann A-5
MI Orracle
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion (stock)
Revolution 2 egg hopper
48/3000 Compressed Air tank (all i could afford)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Descent hopper
Comp. Air
Better barrel (even though for the price, the stock is descent)
PAINT (not paintball paint, normal paint. Me and a friend painted my black shell a cool Rasta color kind of like the one in the pics and everyone thinks its cool :P)
Strengths: Weight
Speed
Effiecency ( 20x better than my MI Orracle was)
Set-up
Weaknesses: Look (Unless you paint it like I did)
Price (omg $300! Outrageous! jk,,,)
Changing modes
Review: Well, when i first got my Ion right out of the box, I was a tad bit disappointed with the look ( what would you expect for $300.00 though). However, with a little prime and paint, you can annodize your gun however you want without having to pay the $150 cost of annodization. What happens if you mess up? Buy another body kit for a whomping $30.
I liked the efficiency considering that I only got a 48/3000. I do recommend Comp. Air though, since my friend shot about 500 rounds of paint with a 20 oz. C02 , and when he took his gun apart, it looked like the insides were 3 yrs. old.
The barrel isn't too bad, even though my friend thinks its bad. I was able to hit a tree about 7 inches long from 40 feet away in the same spot 11 out of 17 times. (what can i say, I got good aim ;P)
The trigger kinda feels crummy, but you can adjust it to your liking. I can get about 10-13 bps off it in semi-auto. (which is fast people, 17 bps is hard to reach unless in rebound mode)
Changing the gun modes is complicated ( for idiots like me) You get used to it after a while though


NOTE: Two important things you need to do for the Ion:
Make sure the reg is at 0 PSI before putting on tank

Take out magnet (if you want to). You will shoot twice as fast.
Conclusion: In conclusion, the Smart Parts Ion is a great gun, but I am giving it a 9 because a 10 would be something like a Shocker or Timmy. An Ion is not exactly a Shocker, but can you blame it considering the price? Oh, and about the whole Ion vs. Wrath thing, I actually like both guns equally. The Wrath is faster and looks like the Timmy's little brother, but the Ion is lighter and looks like the Shocker's little brother. So either one will be a good choice (please don't flame at me, i'm being un-biased). Peace out, hommes.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cchanote Monday, June 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
B2K4, Impulse, Spyer rodeo, Spyer E99 Avent, Spyder Imagine select, Dragun TES, and Mangoose Diablo
Marker Setup: CP drop forward with on/off
3000psi 50ci Worrgame N2 Tank
Everything else is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New regulator
Barrel system
Strengths: Shoot fast
Cheap
Best gun for the price range ($250-$275)
Eyes
Weaknesses: See review
Review: My ion experience

When we (2 of my friends and I) got the markers (total of 3 ions), we were impressed with the packaging. The box for ion is nice and everything is in it places; however, after installing drop forward, it is almost impossible to fit the gun back into the box.

First day at the field: everything went smoothly as the markers shoot flawlessly.

Second day at the field: one of the guns was having problem with velocity; my friend was not able to lower the velocity to under 300 fps. After 10 minutes of trying to adjusting the regulator, it finally shoots under 280 fps. I said to myself, it must be the hot sunny day and the cheap nitro tank that causes the regulator to go nuts (not realized that there was more to that). Another wise, the guns worked perfectly. After we got home, and we were cleaning the gun, my friend noticed that his gun was missing a grip screw, so I tighten the other two screws and told him to keep eyes on them and not to lose those screws.

Third day at the field: I did not use the ion that day; however, two of the friend did. One of the ions was leaking air from the solenoid area right after gassed up, but it was not a bad leak, so my friend ignored the leak and continued playing. The second ion then started leaking air from under the regulator, and it was a big leak. After a quick look, I noticed that the air was leaking from the micro-line hose and connector. My friend told me that the micro-line must have got lose when he was adjusting the velocity, so an easy fix was made. Back in the game, the same ion was giving my friend a bad drop off, and I mean really bad. The ion would shoot pew peew and peeewwwww and at the forth shoot the paint just rolled off the barrel. I noticed that the pressure gauge dropped to 0 psi; and after looking at the gauge and wondering wtf happed, the pressure is back at 130 psi (regulator must has been recharged). I was laughing my butt off to my friend, and told him that I will look at it after the game. After the game, my friend and I were trying to find out what would cause the problems and without proper tools and clean area to strip the ion, my friend have to finish his game early (but only 30 minutes left for that session anyways). So end of day 3, one leaking gun and one mess up gun; however, that was an inspiration for naming our team, we named our team the broken gun.

Back at home after the third day:
With good tools and clean area, I started striping the ion that was leaking air from solenoid area to find any lose micro-hoses or bad connectors. Then I realized that the micro-hoses was over lapping each other and would cause the air to leak out when screws the grip too tight. No big dial, an easy adjustment was made, and it did not leak air anymore. I was would have to give a negative to Smartparts QC people for that.

After finishing fixing the leak from the first ion, it was time to look at the ion what was giving bad drop off. The conclusion that we had at first was that the micro-line must have been bad somehow. A new micro-line was installed; however, that did not fix the problem. Another conclusion came to mind, the drop off must have been from the bad regulator. So, I replaced the regulator with the regulator from another ion, and the problem was fixed. We decided to open up the regulator (I would have to say the manual was helpful). Once I got the regulator opened up, I found that the brass hex was lose. A quick tighten of the brass hex, the ion was able to shoot without any problems. Another bad mark to Smartparts QC people.

Until now after 2 months or 12 games: I never had any problems with my ion (I only used it 3 times). As for my friends ions, I have not heard thing regarding the ions so far except that one of them installed drop forward and got the freak kit for it.

Added:
None of the gun has been taken apart without me knowing it.
It was an easy fix because I have been in the paintball for sometime; another wise, those guns would have to be return to the Smart Part for repair. (I did not said I am an expert; do not get me wrong.)
Conclusion: These are my experiences to the ions so far. I did not rated the gun on its shooting performance (because I was using stock barrel and cheap paint); I can only give you my personal experience with the ions (3 ions), and hope that you would not have to go thru what my friends and I went thru.

Added:
I am giving this marker a 7 because of the initial problems. I was hoping that the gun would just shoot flawlessly right of the box (need better QC); in the end, this marker is desiged for new entry level paintballers, they might not have skills in repairing the marker.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 2nd, 2005 at 7:30 am PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Michaelchamb Monday, March 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: sp ion 3a 47ci 3000 viewloader revelution with x-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
a new gun
Strengths: Shoots fast
Weaknesses: Mine came defective
Manual is horible
Review: First thing when i open the box i take out my ion the rubber grip over the ion is loose when i hold on to it it slides all around. I look at the manuel to see how to take it off to try to clean the inside or something. It says that a filter will come out and one did. But it dosnt say in the reasembly section wear the filter goes and what side goes up. So i just put it wear i thought it went. I screwed the regulator back on and the grip was still loose so i unscrewed the regulator again and the filter comes out all mangaled. Im not blaming this on the marker im blaming it on the manuel.

*edit*
Ok i will admit that stuf was my fault but when i aired it up the first time it leaked. I called smart parts and they said to replace the green o-ring. The kit that came with it only had a couple o-rings and the green was not one of them. So they said replace the ones you have so i did and it still leaked. I called them again they still wouldnt agree to fix it so they told me the sizes of o-rings to buy. one of them was wrong so i had to go get a different one. When i got all my new o-rings on and was puting it back together one of the banjo fitings threads snaped off inside teh bolt. Trust me i was being careful because of what happend with the filter. I probubly got a lemon but there customer servise sucks so im still giving it a 1.
Conclusion: I would not recomend it to anyone unless you want to buy the tech dvd with it.
*edit*
Probubly a good gun but i got a lemon and there customer servise sucks.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, April 21st, 2006 at 5:29 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

mastastealth Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
BKO
Marker Setup: ION, 45/45 crossfire nitro tank, egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel(definately need new barrel a must), drop, nitro tank, and an electronic hopper
Strengths: Fast
Light
Small
Weaknesses: Accuracy kinda sux (stock barrel)
Back of gun feels plastic
Review: Overall i think this gun is worth every penny that it cost. I like the gun i can shoot pretty fast with it althought it needs a new barrel because right outta the box it is kinda inaccurate. I would give the gun a 9 but because of the price i will give it a 10 i think it is worth more than 300 dollars EZ.
Conclusion: I think that u should go out and buy an Ion there is no gun out there around that price range that can compete with it. For 300 dollars an Ion is a steal.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 7:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Swiftshooter04 Friday, February 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Planet Eclipse EGO
DYE DM4
Smartparts Shocker
Smartparts Nerve
Marker Setup: Smartparts ION
NDZ Clippard QEV
NDZ Clamping Feedneck
Custom Products Regulator (long)
Violent Products Scythe Trigger
Dead On Paintball Bullet Drop W/ On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing really. See review.
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Price
Weaknesses: Breaks easily in the hands of Newbies. (see review)
Review: *Looks and Feel*
OK, So here's the deal. For Christmas I got an 05 ION. The packaging was nice and brought a very professional look to the marker itself. Just looking at it brought excitement of play. The feel of this marker is actually quite balanced and weighting in at 2.2lbs isn't bad in no way. I cant say much for looks since that's really personal preference. However I think the ION has a very nice and professional design. So what about the ION jewel everyone hates on? Its nice actually(to some its very stiff) , hold it down for three seconds and you good to go. If you want to dry-fire press it again(not hold). Then press it again to enter back into vision mode. The grips are abit wide, but such a relief on my hands compared to my A-5. Now the outer shell is made from a plastic polymer(some of the hardest substances known to man are plastics!!) and the body frame is anodized aluminum along with the trigger frame. The only plastic on the gun is the body shell, trigger and foregrip.

*Up's*
Ok lets tap into the world of up's for the ION. Now almost anyone will tell you that it needs a new feedneck, trigger and reg. However even though these aren't the best stock parts they aren't necessarily horrible. The o-rings can be taken out of the feedneck to accommodate any hopper. The trigger can be adjusted and then mod'. Since most say the stock trigger magnets are way to snappy you can mod it. Take out the trigger magnet and put it over a flame for a few seconds. The heat will make the magnet loose strength becoming not as powerful. However don't keep the magnet over the flame too long or you'll ruin the magnet.*Im in no way responsible for you ruining your own marker!!* The next up is the reg. The reg is fine, however its no CP or AKA. So don't expect the same performance. However don't expect below par performance. Now if you keep the reg clean and properly lubed you wont expect problems. That's pretty much it on the "up's" section of this marker, That people deem necessary. So lets go into something else. A QEV(Quick Exhaust Valve). What this does is allow air to vent out instead of going back down into the solenoid. This up allows for better air consumption and a lower dwell setting(from 46 clicks to 12 clicks!) Since the ION has been up for awhile there's alot of ups available. You just have to see for yourself.

*Performance*
Let me just say for a gun that's under 300$ its worth every penny. Now to most a 17bps(Balls Per Second) isn't all that much. However considering a person cant run through a string of 15bps it becomes frivolous. The ION has great consistency for a stock marker. This marker indeed boasts one of the best bolt designs to date. Its bolt design is comparable to your DM line of markers. The only difference is the ION is a blow forward while the DM is a Spool valve. Id say 7 pods on a 68/30. Not too shabby at all. IF your stay on your marker (cleaning and lubing) you'll never experience any problems. Unless you cause them yourself. I say with great confidence that 98% of all problems are user related! Now how about that stock barrel? Id say quite decent and not as horrible as everyone thinks. To be truthful Id rate this a rather well for a stock barrel for a mid-level marker. Now battery consumption surprised me actually. A good seven cases before it died. That's roughly 14,000 shots. Again not bad. The board is not bad, but not great. Ramping is fun to play with, I suggest this however in conjunction with the stock trigger, due to the pulls on the trigger. The performance from this marker is up-there and shouldn't be dismissed easily.

*Up-Keep*
Cleaning your ION is a breeze. No springs that pop out on you, nothing stupid. Simply
1.remove the two screws on the grip frame (on the gauged side) and remove the battery.
2.Then remove the two screws bottom of the grip frame.
3.Then the one in the breech.
4.After that push up on the boards bottom. Create enough clearance to unscrew the front banjo fitting.
5.Then unscrew the other two banjo fittings attached to the body frame.
6.Disconnect the Eye Wire(from the body frame).
7.Slide the body frame out of the outer shell.
8.Unscrew the two halves of the body frame.
9.Lube the 3-rings on the bolt, the two on the bolt stop, then on the breech.
10.Finally put some lube on the bolt face. That's basic up-keep. To put the marker back together just do the process backwards.

A good lube is DOW 33. Also known as Evil Puss, Shocker lube or Dow Corning Molykote 33.

*Warnings!!*
Ok remember when I said this gun breaks easily in the hands of newbies? There's a reason. Newbies tend to just put the air on their marker and go at it. They don't bother to read the manual. So ill make this very clear.
WHEN YOU FIRST GAS UP YOUR MARKER MAKE SURE THE REGULATOR ALLOWS NO AIR FLOW!! What happens is the Noid will blow if the input PSI is above 200. Almost all tanks (except adjustable N2 tanks) will exceed this pressure. What happens is a newbie screws in the tank without reading the manual and blows the noid, and yes the manual does talk about this.
So in a nutshell READ YOUR MANUAL.
Also if you run co2 I suggest an anti-siphoned tank and a Palmers Stabilizer. So please take my warnings and advice seriously. They will save you problems in the long run.

*Some ups you "may" want*
Now I said this marker has fine stock parts, but that doesn't mean you cant change them. If you want this marker to really perform id start with a QEV. A cheap drop in mod, that makes your consistency and cycle speed better.
A good reg should be next. Some say the AKA 2litre, CP Reg, Torpedo...etc... However find a reputable reg and get it. Then have fun
After Those 2 id change the ASA, to something with an on/off.
Next you can get your feedneck, then your board, body kit....etc.
Now you don't have to follow this list. Just use it as a guideline and make your decisions from there.

*Closing*
I do hope this review helps some people make their decision. However remember that when choosing a marker its a personal preference. From this point all I can say is that you have a nice marker and having fun playing is all that's left to do. So enjoy, I sure know I am. Take care
~Swiftshooter04~


Conclusion: My final verdict is that this is one nice marker. Easily comparable to DM's and the other countless guns out there. This marker, overall, performs and looks well. Its easily up'd as well. Id say its the runner up to the Tippmann line of markers in the ups department.
With boards like the M7 and the body kits that are plain eye candy make this marker something to have. The good definitely outweighs the bad. That's why I give the SP ION a 10/10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 18th, 2006 at 9:54 am PST
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

killerprodigy Saturday, August 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath- almost the same, slightly less accurate, smaller trig frame has different advantages and disadvantages than the ion but about the same in numbers.

Shocker- the ion is its little brother. the shocker is more balanced, and has a better trigger and feel. then again it is 850 with vision and it doesnt have duel break beams like the wrath and ion.

spyder e-99- that thing is like an M-60, useful in full automatic only, large, heavy, unweildy with my 14 inch barrel. the opposite of the ion lolol

spyder electra rocking trigger- god it rips...but its a blow-back...it cant cycle the bolt as fast as the gun can shoot. ion is more accurate, and smaller

Tippmann A5- EXTREMELY accurate if u fire slowly...it has no reg so its inconsistant. cant keep up with ion

68 automag- the great grand-daddy of the blowforwards. its heavier, but about the same size as the ion.

tippmann 98- no.

autocockers- slow, short-stroking sucks balls.
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder E99 w/ 14 inch 32 degrees whisper barrel, ricochet 2k hopper. Tippmann A-5, Smart Parts Ion w/ shocktech clamping feedneck, redz rail and on/off asa, all-american barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel- pay top dollar for a smart parts or dye barrel you cheapos!

clamping feedneck- its a must my hoppers ripped the o-rings off the stock feedneck

asa that makes the gun shorter
Strengths: Fast, accurate, cheap, customizable, low profile, light, tough.
Weaknesses: trigger leaves room for improvement, though u CAN reach 17 bps with it
Review: the great debate

Whine r#1: Wrath is better then Ion!

whiner #2: ion is better then wrath!

fact: THEY ARE ALMOST THE SAME. the ion is a wee bit more accurate (sft bolt) but the wrath is damn accurate.

they both shoot around 17 bps. you just cant get that wrath trigger going 20 if u can ur lying, dont tell me you can cuz i'll find u, and eat ur brains.

whiner #3: the magnet is too strong!

no, ur just pathetic. all the new smart parts guns have the magnet...no one in the shocker reviews complains.

listen you jack@sses! the ion is a great gun stop bashing it just because it slaughterd the emtire Impulse market overnight! smart parts doesnt care! they make more money from the ion and shocker to give an @ss! why do you people! and as for deciding which is better the wrath or ion. its simple. which do u like better: Intimidators? or Shockers?

answer that and you'll have ur answer to this debate.

idiots.
Conclusion: its a great marker that's just itching to be customized. the wrath needs less customization but the trigger frame, while making it more compact stock, kills its rate of fire. the ion is rather long stock but with a rail it is VERY comfortable, even more so than the very very comfortable wrath. but frankly the gun comes down to the player, a gun have amazing performance but if the player doesnt like its feel it will suck to the player. its a quality gun. every big name magazine has given it rave reviews, and guess what.

THEY HAVE MORE EXPERIENCE THAN YOU DO!

i give it an 8 bc it requires some tweaking to make feel right to the individual player...but so do most guns out there.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

glacierspyder Tuesday, March 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Upgraded e-cocker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts red Ion, Hybrid Hedlok, CP Reg, New Designz on/off w/ bleed, All American barrel.
Blood red Nightkast, Eclipse Nexus kit, Worrblade, Worrblade bolt, Bob Long gauge on front block, Scepter barrel kit.
Evo2, 12v Revy X-board, Halo B w/ rip drive, and a Crossfire 92ci x 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping feed neck, new reg, new barrel.
Strengths: Fast, light, price
Weaknesses: Stock regulator, Complete disassembly for cleaning.
Review: Ok, first off Id just like to say that anyone that buys this gun read the manual. I dont know how many different threads Ive read on different forums about how to adjust the Ion, its simple to set the programming on it, like I said read the manual. Yeah it may not be top grade aluminum and it not being heat treated or anodized it's still aluminum and is a very soft metal to begin with. So, dont be an ape in taking things apart and reassembling and blaming it on the marker because you cross threaded something or screwed it up some how. Also, get some anti-seize and put a little on the regulator threads and on the barrel threads you can also use a little teflon tape it you dont want to use anti-seize. This will help stop the regulator and barrel from seizing when the powdercoat wears and aluminum shows.

I was a little apprehensive about buying this gun because of all the problems people were having with it. Well, I was in need of a good backup for my current gun and you cant beat $285 for a backup. So, I just ignored all the complaints and decided to get one. My local proshop is a Smart Parts outlet so if I did have problems then I could get it serviced. That was a plus for me in getting the gun. Now, I cant leave anything stock if I dont like it. So, I had a clamping feed, on/off, and a new cp regulator installed on it.

I got home; grabbed some marbz, handheld crono, Halo B, and my Evo2 w/ y-board went out in my garage to test it. I did test the original feed neck for fit on my revy and evo (sanded feed) both fit great with the o-rings in it. I did have to take the o-rings out for my halo to fit. Ive read that people have had problems with their Halos sticking in the feed necks and not being able to remove them with the o-rings in. I did have to sand my halo a little bit for it to fit in the Hybrid Hedlok I got with out having to force it off and still get a good clamp on it, no big deal.

I aired it up, no leaks. Turned on everything and shot a couple balls out over my crono. I had the reg at 140 and was getting mid 280s range. I shot a full Halo and noticed it was a little bit heavy on gas usage so I turned down the dwell to 40. With it at 40 I didnt have any drastic shoot down. I also tested my Evo2 with the Ion. I did turn my rate of fire down to around 14pbs just so I wouldnt have and major problems with it feeding. The Evo2 with the Ion preformed great at 14pbs. I do have a cut feed neck on my Evo and have had people say that it would cause problems having cut. The Hedlok is a little taller then the Q-lock or a no-rise and this may be a factor in it but I didnt have any problems with it.

The stock barrel is a decent one. Not the worlds greatest but I have shot way worse so thats what Im comparing it to.

The trigger isnt the greatest but you can get a good snappy feel to it with adjustment, kind of hard to walk it though. Needs a blade style trigger.

I did test the stock reg and it wasnt too bad. It had a little bit slower recharge rate then my cp, but all in all it wasnt bad. Shot about +/-6 over the crono and its not broke in yet. So, its my back up reg for my cp.

Edit:

I just got another upgrade for my Ion, a New Designz roller trigger. Ok, this thing makes the Ion shoot like it should. The stock doesn't do the gun justice. With this is stalled I was hitting rebound like nothing. The stock you could tell when rebound kicked in with this there is no difference. I had to check to make sure that I had it on rebound when I first tested it. Now there are three point of adjustment for this trigger. I found one the upper pre-travel I think it is isnt needed at all. Plus if you over adjust it, it will rub on the internal hoses, so I just backed it out so the tip is just past the tray in the trigger frame. I turned off the rebound and put it back on semi and fine tuned my trigger. You can get this trigger set so all you have to do is vibrate a finger on the bottom and it will let the Ion rip. Also, I dont have any bounce issues with this trigger.
Conclusion: All in all this is a great gun for under $300.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 21st, 2005 at 7:00 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

pumpaction4life Sunday, June 12th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Impulse, Shocker, Timmy, Matrix, Cocker
Marker Setup: 2004 Impulse Vision w/vert reg black, blade trigger, tapeworm, freak barrel. 68/3000 crossfire nitro tank, revvy, S-Rail
2005 Ion red, x Flow Reg., Freak Kit, Hybrid Lady Grips, Shockteck Clamping feedneck, Eggy2 with z board 68/300 PMI compressed tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
Freak Barrel Kit, rail, on-off, CLAMPING FEED NECK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Strengths: COST extremely cheap, Durable, Accurate, Quiet.
Weaknesses: Feed Neck, Disassembly
Review: Okay I bought this marker to use for a back up/ fun gun, and I would say I wouldnt have any problem using it as my primary marker. It is very light almost as light as a Shocker, it is pretty quiet, not matrix quiet but its up there. The stock barrel is okay but I would recomend a Freak Kit, I took mine off my Impy and love it on the ION. A New Feed neck is an absolute must, I have a Shockteck Clamping feed neck on mine and it works great gives the gun a super low profile. The regulator is fine little inconsistant when ramping but what the heck its only $270 gun. Disasembly is a pain in the butt, it takes a while but you get used to it as you do it more. A roller trigger is a good upgrade to, It really does allow you to shoot faster and is easier to walk on. Acuracy is pretty descentI had no problem shooting players out from cross court on a regulation style Xball field. It groups balls descently at 50 feet and has a little kick but not much.

UPDATE: This gun is horrible and is causing me problems, The feed neck threads are all screwed up and wont be fixed by SP + the air hoses break everytime I take it apart to clean and yes I am very gentle with it.
Conclusion: I would suggest this Marker to an Experienced player looking for a back up/ fun gun. or an intermidiate player looking to make the jump from spyder/tippman to mid-high end range I would not suggest this to a begginer because It is a little complicated to clean and disasemble. All in all a great Marker for the price, you cant beat it I love mine and use it more than my primary marker. + the ramping board is very fun to play around with.
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Friday, September 23rd, 2005 at 5:32 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media