paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
csichiro51 Thursday, March 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
view loader triad, tippmann 98 custom/carbine and A-5, Piranah's, Spyder TL-R
Marker Setup: Ion, Hybrid Feedneck, WGP QEV, ND Roller Trigger, Evil Driver, Evolution II, Pure Energy 72/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
This gun is awesome as it comes
I am going to upgrade the barrel with a freak, feed neck (hard to fit a evolution), trigger, & grips
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Looks Cool
Upgradeable
Durable
Intimidating
Cheap
Eyes
Shoots FAST!
Weaknesses: Currently Not Many Upgrades
Feedneck
Disassembly & Cleaning is complicated
Confusing To Learn How To Work
Review: When i first heard about the Ion I was so excited to hear of a great gun to come out for very cheap. I debated over this one and the A-5, Spyder Fenix, Spyder Imagine and the Icon-E. I am so glad i chose this gun.

It worked awesome! Not one ball chopped and the accuracy was sweet! Not one of the balls curved or veered off target.

I hit it a couple times on the bunkers when i would dive and it was fine.

All the people i played againts thought that gun was the coolest and didn't want to play against me because of the accuracy and speed i was throwin' paint!

I was going up against Cockers that had been upgraded like none other i've seen and the coolest gun i have ever seen, a 98 Custom that had every thing on it upgraded. Even going against these pro guns that costed over $1000 i was managing with a $300 gun and still winning.

Over all, this gun is sweet and a fantastic buy.
Conclusion: My new ion is sweet! It was accurate, fast, and professional material for just $300. Smart Parts could have easily charged this gun for $500 or even more and gotten many buyers but with a deal like this and the gun you get for the awesome deal, you can't go wrong.

I give this gun a 10 because for the accuracy, speed, quality, experience you get from this gun is AWESOME!

This gun is great for all levels of play and i definitely recommend it!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 at 10:43 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Jumpy Friday, April 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Fly, Shocker, Timmys,Karnie's
Marker Setup: '04 vert pewter Cocker, HALO-B, ACI 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
Strengths: Cheap on the $$$
Reputable company
Light
Easy to work on, comes with all the tools.
Weaknesses:

(editted -Caution...many gas flow problems, drop off in FPS, etc.)
Review: I tested this at a field where I ref. A kid had just bought it at the pro-shop and was trying to get used to the trigger (he was upgrading from a Victor II). He had a Empire loader and was shooting 32 degree comp balls.
I ran this marker for about 20-30 minutes. I dumped nearly 1000 balls through it
with just a few broken balls. The marker never was left hungery by the Empire. I engaged targets from 10-140' away quickly and with ease...this thing is so light compared to my cocker. Trading hands while gunfighting is a snap as the wieght and small size of the Ion is so low. I could get so tight into a bunker while being able to still shoot effectivly and with accuracy. The accuracy I think could be improved by a better barrel, but even stock it is pretty sweet. I was hitting hands, loaders, pod packs, etc at about 40-50' away with 1-3 shots. Pretty nice package right out of the box. You may need to adjust the trigger magnetics some. Upkeep is a breeze, all the tools and manuals are there to help.

Editted to add---the marker has some major regulator or valve problems. I'd wait to see if SP can work out the bugs or if as rumor has it they shelve the Ion idea.

Conclusion: This marker has some major air flow problems and setting up the programing can be a huge problem for new players and time consuming on a field. I'm no longer going to buy one for my wife, maybe another Cocker for her.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 5th, 2005 at 5:00 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

WillyW0nka Monday, July 30th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders/Impuls/Timmys/Dm's/Shocker/Cockers/Angels etc. I've used quite a bit of markers...
Marker Setup: Black/Silver Virtue'd Alias
Halo B
68/45 PE

Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Trigger
Barrel
ASA
QEV
Strengths: Cheap
Decent speeds
Upgradability
Ease of use
Weaknesses: Needs Upgrading Out of the Box
Unreliable
Ugly
Plastic parts
Review: I've had 4 Ions so far (Gun Whore, I get em occasionally in trades) and I must say that for the price, they're probably the best guns on the market. I bought one NIB a while back for pretty cheap, and I was fairly impressed but it could have done with some improvement.

Feedneck: Non-clamping, easily strippable threads. I reccomend you upgrade this first.

Trigger: Plastic and hard to walk , I reccomend you upgrade this second. It'll work ok, but it would be difficult to shoot very fast in semi.

ASA: Standard duckbill, some people only care for on/offs, others don't mind it. If you like to be able to turn your air off without unscrewing the tank, replace it. If you could care less, meh keep it on there.

Barrel: Fairly accurate for a stock (about the level of a cheap Dye Xcel, Progressive, Tear drop etc.). It won't require immediate replacing but if you're looking for excellent accuracy you may want to upgrade to a Dye UL or Redz pepperstick.

Board: Not the fastest settings, but they get the job done. There are no league modes on this board, so technically it is not tourney legal. It has burst, full auto, ramp and semi. Capped at 17 bps, its perfect for begginners but if you're looking to play tournaments with it you may want to look into something with league modes and a higher ROF.

Eye Logic: Not bad, I've only ever had one barrel break, no chops at all. They work pretty well, they don't need replacement. However some virtue laser eyes do look great on the gun!

Ease of use: Pretty easy to use actually. Maintenance is simple, a little lube here and there and the usual o-ring replacements. Its a simple gun, just treat it right. Don't put the pressure over 180 and clean it regularly. A blown noid simply means buying a new stock or aftermarket board. Used stock boards can be found for $15-$30 if you look on the forums. The board programming is pretty simple. I hate the on/off pad though, you can't see it worth a damn at the field. Its barely noticeable and kind of hard to push in. Get a Virtue EZ on to fix that.

Consistency/Efficiency: Consistency w/ stock reg is decent. Pretty nice for the price. I get around +/- 6 with the stock reg. If you take care of it, it will treat you right. The efficiency without a QEV is pretty bad, I usually got 2 pods and half a hopper on a 47/30 (sorry, I didn't ever use one w/ my 68/45, can't tell you what it got on there). I reccomend getting a QEV, it'll increase the ROF and efficiency.

Reliability: Meh, I've had much more reliable guns. I've had some problems with my Ions, but atleast its always either a cheap or simple fix. I've had hoses pop off, banjo fittings just randomly start leaking and a board fry. Replacement parts are dirt cheap though.
Conclusion: Its a decent gun for the price, but it needs some upgrades to be truly field-ready. I reccomend buying a pre-upgraded used Ion for cheap. It'll save you tons of money.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tennisdude13 Thursday, February 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Pirahna
Spyder Electra
Spyder VS3
Marker Setup: Black Ion
virtue board
virtue eye
virtue QEV
14'' ultralight
CP rake trigger
CP feedneck
Dye dropforward
empire grips
68/4500 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Feedneck
dropforward
bolt
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Everyone has parts and upgrades for it
Weaknesses: Trigger has movement
Stock feedneck
Bolt
Plastic parts
Firing modes under grip
Review: I would recommend this gun if you are looking to have your own gun to play a couple of times a year. If you are looking to play once a month or so and looking to compete with big guns. I would tell you to save your money and get something a litte more high end. After the money you put into this gun you could go ahead and buy a shocker or for a little cheaper you could get a Proto Rail. I have not shot one yet but I have held it and it is extremly light and the reviews are looking good. I have put a little over 600 bucks into mine. Don't get me wrong the gun is a great gun its just if you are looking to compete, better to save up for something a little better.
Conclusion: Like I said before its a good starter gun for someone who doesn't play that often or who doesn't have the funds. If you are looking to compete though save up a little more and get a better marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 10th, 2007 at 9:45 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Onslaught_2k4 Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A long list of blow-back markers.
Marker Setup: -Ion-
QEV
Freak / All American Barrels
Orange Unicorn Bolt
Centerflag Regulator
Lapco Feed Neck
RPM Trigger
Empire Fuel 71/4500 HP
HALO V35
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV
Trigger
Feedneck
Strengths: Light
Durable
Upgradability
Weaknesses: Everyone, their Uncle and their Sister's dog has an Ion.
Review: There are hundreds and hundreds of reviews on the Ion. Instead I am going to assume you are in the market for a paintball marker and the Ion caught your eye. I am going to tell you what upgrades you should buy and why, should you choose to purchase the Ion.

Feedneck: If you have read more than a review or two you know the story, so I will keep it short. The stock one is total crap. Moving on.

Trigger: There may be an odd person out there who likes the Ion trigger, but most don't, so you probably won't either. The stock one is plastic and feels flimsy. It also has an odd feel because the magnet is strong. The one I own is the Critical RPM Trigger, and I HIGHLY recommend it. It is adjustable in all sorts of ways and if you have the time and the effort, you can make the trigger feel EXACTLY the way you want. If money is tight, don't worry about the trigger just yet, because they can be quite expensive.

QEV: This is also a highly recommended upgrade. All you need to know is that it makes the Ion faster. Much faster. and it is a dirt-cheap upgrade. If you are starting to move in the direction of performance upgrades, this is what you will buy first.

Regulator: I'll be honest, I have never used the stock Reg. But I had the money so I bought a Centerflag reg because the pro shop owner told me it had the fastest Recharge-rate. Fast recharge rate = less shootdown. I am extremely satisfied with this regulator and have very little variation in FPS.

Bolt: I only used the stock bolt for one day, but not because it is bad. If you have some money in your pocket, eventually get a bolt. It will reduce kick-back substantially. The one I had is the Unicorn, and I am very happy with it. I would however tell you to get the Tech T L6 or L7. I haven't used them (I got my bolt before they came out) but supposedly they are really light. Thats all I can say, but I would bet that they are definitely worth buying.

HPA Tank: If you are buying a preset tank, buy a High Pressure tank. It is a piece of advice I got from the pro shop owner. A HP tank (mine is preset at 800PSI) will never fall short of supplying enough air to the regulator. If someone KNOWS otherwise, please correct me.

Loader: When buying a loader keep in mind that the stock Ion board limits your ROF to 17bps. So don't go out and buy the most expensive loader you can find. I bought a HALO with a V35 capable of up to 35bps, but only because I am an idiot and like to spend money like no tomorrow (but I eventually want to buy a new board). If you plan getting a new board, I would gladly recommend the V35. It can be set to shell out paint at 6 different speeds, so it will help you from spending all your money on paint, and becoming broke like me.
Conclusion: You cannot go wrong with the Ion. You cannot go wrong with the Ion. YOU CANNOT GO WRONG WITH THE ION. Now that it is drilled into your head, go make an informed decision. Your first marker can make or break your paintballing hopes and dreams.

I gave this a 9 because, even though it is really inexpensive, it comes with some parts that you will almost immediately replace.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

OlUncleGearHead Friday, June 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: SP Ion, Egg II, PE 42/3000 aluminium tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Grips
New power button (see body text)

Strengths: Inexpensive
Good quality
Quick shooter
Modular
Weaknesses: Dropoff
Power button (covered in the body text)
Looks
Programming
Review: I just played my Ion for the first time last night at the local field, after picking it up the day before.

My Ion weighed in at $369 canadian, which for what you get is a freakin' bargain.

A WORD OF WARNING: This marker should be run on HPA only. The manual says it can run CO2 as long as you have a bottle with an anti-siphon tube, but I've heard horror stories about Ions running AST'ed CO2 bottles and melting down. Spend the extra cash and get an air bottle. Besides not wrecking you marker, your shots are more consistent, and you won't freeze up your marker like your marker when rapid firing. (What's the point in having it if you're not going to rapid fire it?).
The Ion is a solid entry-level e-marker, with all the functionality a recball player (like me) could need. It's not an Angel, or an Ego, but you can throw a lot more paint with an Ion than a rental or your average mechanical. And if the present gameplay lends itself to anything, it's throwing paint.

And the Ion throws paint, albeit with mixed results. I walked the trigger between and during games while playing the back, and after prolonged firing, the pressure drops way off, to the point where balls are flying not even half of their proper distance. The Ion also fires only fires accurately at 1/3-1/2 field ranges with the stock barrel. Anything beyond that is a matter of 'spray and pray'. Balls develop quiet a curl or drop at these distances. This is probably correctable with a decent barrel like a Pipe, Teardrop, Boomstick or Freak. The up side is I probably went through 1000 balls, and not a single chop. The eye system works like a charm,. You also have the option of turning off the eyes to de-gas when removing your bottle.

I don't know what all the fuss about the trigger has been about. I really didn't mind it. It has a bit of side to side play, It's a really sensitive trigger too with adjustable travel. After playing mechanical markers, I wasn't prepared for just how sensitive, and shot the floor by accident a couple of times during pre-game (thank god for the barrel cover that comes with it).

I wish the strengths section looked a bit longer than it is, because all in all, it's a really well put together marker for the pricepoint. With that, I give you:

THE BEEFS

The first major problem I've had is the power 'button', which is actually a sticker. I don't know what the folks at SP were thinking, byt making a power button out of a freakin' sticker was not a wise move. They also got the dimensions of it wrong, so the button face doesn't sit properly on the LED/contact surface, making switching modes a right pain in the backside. It's easily correctable by trimming off a few millimeters/fraction of an ince from the back of the sticker so it lines up right, and calling SP Customer Service for some spares. You'll need them, because I got hit square in the power button with a ball last night, and it wasn't long before it was starting to slide all over the place.

<<EDIT: I'm trying to keep in mind that most of the headaches caused by all of this is the fault of the shop I took it to, and then lost my contact info, so I was was without a marker an additional month and a half after it was fixed. Badlands Painball Toronto, I hate you.

The second game I played, there was an internal air leak, small at first, ut as the night went on, it got worse and worse. Turns out with the initial design, they didn't machine the body properly, so the banjo fitting became compressed and leaked if the shell was screwed on just so. I'm sure the folks at Smart Parts have taken steps to remedy this, but keep it in the back of your mind.>>

Now for the small stuff.

The grips that come stock are not good. Considering Smart Parts also makes the Sticky Grips, you'd think they'd go so far as to slap a set on. Instead they come with a grip that cosmetically looks like the SGs, but it not nearly as grippy.

Programming it can be a bit of a challenge, since there's only one input, and you rely on the less than stellar power button to do it.

The look of the marker is alright, but the composite shell doesn't have the nicest look about it once it's in your hands. Minor issue. There are aftermarket bodies you can replace it with, and some are anodized aluminium which look really sharp. You'll still get the odd sneer from the 'gun snob' vet, but $%^# 'em. You paid less than half as much he did for his Ego...
Conclusion: This is a spectacularly upgradeable marker. After market companies are piecing together some really sweet upgrades for the Ion. The problem is, you might not want to. You can end up spending what you paid for the marker itself in new boards, triggers, regulator, drops, et al. If you're happy with the way it is after you put a new barrel and grips on, that's all I'd really put into it. If you want to go nuts and upgrade like crazy, I'd say just wait and buy a better marker. That's not a knock against the Ion, but why turn what's essentially an entry level marker into a high end marker, which I'm not convinced it can be.

If you play front or mid on a high level, this would be an outstanding backup to keep in your bag. If you're a back player at any level, give this marker some considerable thought before you pick it up.

I'm really happy with my purchase, but some might not be, earning it an 8 with the caveat that this score represent s the Ion straight out of the box. A couple of tweaks takes it up to a solid 9, which is what I'll give it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, October 18th, 2005 at 3:21 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Spyd3rFr3ak Friday, June 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wrath-ION blows it out of the water

B2K2/BKO-Closer competition than a Wrath, but I still prefer ION
Marker Setup: Blue ION
Blue Shocktech Clamping No-Rise
Blue New Dezigns Aluminum Blade Trigger
Blue SP ProTouch Grips
WGP Torpedo Drop
Clippard QEV w/ Quick Disconnect
New Internal Hoses
DM4/5 Membrane Pad
Evlution II

ANS GX-3 Cocker-Red to Black Fade
WGP Hinge Frame
Custom Drop
CP On/Off
SP Teardrop Barrel
Empire Revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
QEV
New ASA
Feedneck
Barrel

You know, the basics.
Strengths: Price
Speed
Upgradeability
Availability
Weaknesses: Plastic Trigger
Tall Feedneck

Other than that, none.
Review: Wow, SP did a good job on this one. It is cheap and readily available everywhere. Stock board being capped at 17, it is fast. It also has ramp mode, fullauto, and 3-round burst. I cannot think of words to describe the value of this marker...


A few things that are NOT true about the ION:

Mechanically capped at 17-Wrong, a stock ION can hit up to 28 CPS with a new board

Plastic-No, just the shell and trigger

Horrible stock reg- Mine is +/- 5 FPS. Not the best, but by no means horrible

Horrible stock barrel- Shot as good as my pal's Teardrop.

Breaks easily-Not really, most is operator error
Conclusion: Very nice gun. If you buy it, you will not regret your decision.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ethan McDonald Saturday, July 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Semi auto Blow backs, E-99, E-Force SRT Piranha, Diablo Wraith - All low/mid range electros

2005 Empire Intimidator, 2005 Angel GAT, AGD E-Mag/Micro E-Mag, Smart parts pre 2002 shocker and Impulse. High end guns
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ion
Q-Lock feed neck
smart parts 20 oz on/off co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Q-lock
Drop
barrel kit
Strengths: Light
Compact
Fast
Weaknesses: Duckbill ASA
Feed Neck
Barrel powdercoating on inside wtf?
Review: Well i bought my smart parts Ion today, went to ProAdvantage Paintball and hobbies in Belleville with questions and left with an new marker, 1 year warranty and free shop maintenance FOREVER.

I received it for $254 plus 14% tax, hahah canada! I had read many reviews on the Ion and came to the conclusion that a clamping feedneck was a must before i shot it. So i got the Q lock in black, and it was quite over priced. But Performance is before Cosmetics. I read the whole manual, which i had on my pc and had studied before buying it. Changing fire modes is easy enough and so is adjusting the trigger.

I went out to shoot it, with a CO2 cylinder without antisyphon, ( i had brought two of my cylinders there to get antisyphon tubes and an on/off valve, i didn't know the cylinders had to wait there over night for the locktite to set, should have looked up on that oh well)
So shooting any Electro Pneumatic gun with Co2 non antisyphon is a bad idea. I turned the pressure on my reg all the way down and then screwed in my cylinder turned the pressure up to 160 and shot it, WOW, from a guy who only owned spring Blow backs this is like Gods gun! I even prefer it to shooting my friends Angel GAT.

i will fully review this marker when i have shot more paint through it and taken it all apart

I shot my ion today with my smart parts 20oz on/off antisyphon. The marker functioned flawlessly. I turned on my egg and then turned it off with the 5 rounds in the neck i wanted to see how well the eyes worked. no problem there, no chops and the eyes kicked in and prevented the marker from dry firing. Shooting Monster Ball that has been in the sun from the day before through the stock barrel, i was not so impressed. the grouping was poor @ 50 feet, with a spread of a foot. the balls seemed to curve up @ 25 feet, making aiming difficult along with the low profile of the qlock. It led me to believe that the paint was just so poor it went against the laws of physics? However the ROF made up for the accuracy issue. ( I am going to shyster my friends Freak off him and shoot a good paint/bore match and then edit)

Conclusion: The ion is easily the best bang for your buck at around $300 with minor ups, i would recomend this to people as a reliable backup gun or a primary rec gun. I do not think that the Smart Parts Ion is a high level electronic marker, more in the mid range but way above sear tippers.

I give it a 9 because of the poor feed neck design and the long setup that comes with duckbill ASA.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 10:59 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jibby8590 Saturday, May 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmenn custom fro e
Marker Setup: ion
cp roller trigger
dye ultralite,
dye air port
dye drop
q-lock
fire bolt
qev
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, new feedneck, bolt, and qev, some good barrel highly recommend dye ultralite
Strengths: To many to list shoot it and you will be addicted
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Review: I used to be the kid that laughed at the kids who owned these guns, until the day i had shot one is when i realized i was a big idiot for flaming them. this gun has gotta be one of the best i have shot in my life its so amazing and it shoots ropes on the field, with the qev and the fire bolt it ripped the 2 best upgrades other then my ultralite, this might be the only gun i shoot for the next few years and even beyond that. props to sp for making this gun. dont waste your money on an other gun just buy this gun and use the money left over to upgrade.
Conclusion: Buy this gun dont listen to the people that flame them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

lostazncause Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ttrilogy pro, imagine, tippys, timmys, shockers, impulses, nerves, e2 cockers, egos.
The low end guns are naturally lower end than the ion.
The high end guns are naturally higer end than the ion.
Ion vs impuse is a tossup. Some will say one, some the other. You're the one buying the marker, not them.
Marker Setup: black ion
cp razor drop/asa
cp reg
egg2 (revvy backup)
nitro duck 68/300 carbon fiber
dye sticky3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (kit), reg, feedneck, trigger if you want, drop or unimount if you want (probably).
Strengths: Cheap, fast, simple design, light, looks, small, customizability.
Weaknesses: Cant be field stripped. some dropoff (not alot). Many upgrades needed.
Review: Well you all know much about the ion by now. Theres about 300 something reviews here so this is just another pindrop in the pool.

Light: Duh
Small: yeah
Customizability: do-it-yourself bodies, lotsa aftermarket parts.
cheap: got mine for 260 local
fast: Took the trigger magnet out, kept it on semi and ppl still think I ramp.
Simple design: despite the fact that it may take a while to clean, the design behind the ion is infact quite simple. KISS. Keep It Simple Stupid. Less to go wrong.
looks: Dont like the stock look? buy an aftermarket body or make your own.

My ion has a cp reg, cp drop/asa, qlock feedneck. My brother's is stock reg with an all american and smartparts drop, function feedneck. the cp reg gives awesome recharge for high speed situations and looks great on ions. The normal reg gets some dropoff at distances if firing at speed so upgrade if you can. The stock duckbill asa isnt too comfy so swap for a unimount or drop if you want. Trigger is ok, not awesome; although 25 bucks for another trigger could get you another day to play. Stock barrel is decent, but upgrade if you must. swap that feedneck out asap. Wastes hella lot of paint when shooting fast. 17bps ramping is for egotistical macho men or little kids scared of other players. if you can walk higher than 13bps on the ion (not hard to do) keep it on semi. No one will run through your lanes. Me? Im on semi and walk 15bps bursts stock trigger no magnet. Plus, saves you some extra paint and you dont need to pod up as much.

BIGGEST CON: truth is, you look at the price tag and see 250 thinking its cheap. But then you buy yourself a unimount, grip, trigger, reg, barrel, feedneck. Suddenly your 'pimp gat' got a lot more expensive. The ion is more expensive than it seems.

I own a trilogy pro. I then bought the ion. just goes to show you. Both guns competely stock? trilogy pro was actually more accurate. BUT id still take the ion.
Coverted my trilogy to a pump, hehe.

Note: all you people who think the power button is extremely hard to press. you dont need heavy pressure on the button to activate, just time. I can tap and hold the button for 2 sec and it turns on. No finger jamming or digging your nail in. Just wait. Be patient. No, my ion is not special. every ion ive touched does this (6 different ones).
Conclusion: Its the ion. Anyone looking for the next step up has come to the right place.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 7th, 2005 at 11:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media