paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion / Smart Parts Ion

Smart Parts Ion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion
[ View Photos (936) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 1694
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Our most affordable marker ever. We're proud to have produced a paintball marker like no other. The Ion was built to be the marker for anyone who loves the game: simple to maintain, easy to use, designed for winning. It takes abuse like a rental gun, but throws paint with the best of them. You'll get the accuracy, range and rate of fire the Pro's enjoy for just a little more money than an entry level marker. The days of having to spend tons of cash to get what you want are over.

Our Features Presentation

� 17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, 10 bps full auto and our Rebound firing mode.

� Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).

� A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.

� Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.

� Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.

� Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications.

� Accuracy & Range The trademarks you expect from Smart Parts.

� Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...

� Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.

� Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.

� Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Planamento Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulses,shockers,nerves,timmys matrixs,angels
MOSTLY EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Red with 68/4500 nitro,evo 2, full freak,protouch grips,no-rise silver
Smart Parts Shocker Blue With vision,rip trigger,dynasty board,Halo b with rip drive,full freak ,maxflo with 68/4500 nitro and red SP regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
More when ready to be upgadeable
(heard their making a dynasty board for it)
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Accuracy
Price*****
Looks
Weaknesses: Air efficiency(like most SP guns)
Review: I got my gun 2days ago in the mail.I opened it up and it looked even nicer than it did online.I grabbed my nitro and then gassed it up.WOW.I couldnt believe.IT was nice and light,and it was FAST(for the price-300).The next day i went to my local field(paintball Madness) and took it to the chronograph.It was amazing.Out of the box it shot 276,279,281,277,275,276.Then i shot some paint through it and the chrono read 15bps.
Wow thats sure great for the price(max rof for board 17bps).After this i played a few games and it performed great. I was riping paint every where and it was accurate as ****.I play snake and it was really performing great for my postition.The eyes are especially great.I shot about 3 cases of paint through this gun at about 15-16bps and there was not 1chop/brake. I was thinking this gun is a mini shocker. I mostly bought this for recball ball(my baby the shocker is my tourny gun) but i m thinking of using it for some tournys. Something thats also kewl about this is that you can change the body of it.
Conclusion: The best gun on the market for the money. If your a true pballer go get 1.
THIS GUN ROCKS!
IM TELLING YOU!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

1337 h4x0r Monday, March 20th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
diablo wrath
Marker Setup: 05" angel speed
12" dye ultralite
68ci 4500 crossfire tank
empire reloader b
black profiler
black magic jersey
Recommended
Upgrades:
a completely new gun
Strengths: Very light, good price
Weaknesses: The barrel, chops, its plastic, not a locking feedneck etc.
Review: I realise that i will probably be flamed to hell by giving the ion a bad review, well i dont care. I bought this gun as a back up for my angel, let me tell you it sucks. The barrel is very innacurate, i was shotting at a guy about twenty feet away and the balls were going everywhere. I do have to give the gun one thing, it's one of the lightest guns ive held( still not as light as my angel though). The asa is not an on/off which sucks. The reg is crap the consistency was jumping from 230->250. The trigger is the part i hate the most, it feels so cheap, im worried it might break if i press too hard. the feedneck isnt locking so i had to sand my reloader like crazy. During a game i was firing at someone behind a dorito and the ion chopped. It looked like it had a bad case of diareaha, it took forever for me to clean it. Whats with this no screen crap, having to decypher blinks of light is not something i want to do. the second i got the chance, i sold it, ridding myself of the crapitude that is the ion.
Conclusion: Whetever you do dont buy this gun, buy something else like a wrath or a promaster.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 4:40 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

RapidTransit Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None I have never used anything so crappy.
Marker Setup: Dust Red to Black Fade X-Mag and 2 Devil Mags
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buy another gun seriously, this thing was made for you to spend more money on upgrades.
Strengths: -Paperweight
Weaknesses: -So much plastic it makes a bad paperweight
-Please read below
Review: From the company that brought you such "great" mods as the black box, 6 hole mod, and rifled barrels comes a new wave of crap. Lets look at the basics shall we?

All the talk about eye logic etc, comeon the balls either there are not all you need is an infared break beam not this infared sensor laser dual spectrum they claim on upgrade boards etc.

Body kits- stock they are cheap plastic

The entire settup was meant to be subpar so you could upgrade it with all sorts of custom parts and styles. You end up spending alot of money and its still just the Ion.

Its an open bolt electro pneumatic single tube spool valve what is this bolt made out of? Delrin, Plastic? Who designed the bolt? Why is there a Venturi all that does in a paintball gun is impede airflow. A venturi speeds up incoming air while dropping he pressure at the same time! The face is cupped to make it look like it cradles the ball. This only causes chops as it allows the ball to rollback a little causing the next ball to be lower in the ball stack causing possible breaks from the bolt nicking it.

It seems to be cast from subpar aluminum then gets a little touch up machining and is powdercoated looks like crap.

The regulator is crap very inconsitent flow and performance.

The board is not even held in place by a screw a slot is machined on both sides, the trigger and the noid are soldered in place not to mention the noid itself is a small piece of junk. Because of the way a shot is activated there is little adjustability.
Conclusion: People starting out buy a Tippmann or a Spyder.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 27th, 2006 at 9:44 am PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

AirSin2000 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested5 of 24 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath
Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath
14 inch CP 1piece/Pipe Kit

P.E 72/3000 Hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pretty much the basics. Barrel, reg, feedneck. New boards are a preference. A new noid will be needed though. Oh and a trigger.
Strengths: Small, Light, Compact, Cheap
Weaknesses: Composite shell, tigger, barrel, Reg-decent but not great enough

Review: I got to test one of these despite me not liking them I wanted to try it and see how it feels. It may have changed my mind.

It is a decent marker, fast and light but it is it's bugs and the reason it is cheap is due to the parts it is made out of. The solenoid is poor. In order to shoot faster with a new board, a new noid is needed, about 40-50 dollars for a good one. The barrel was crap. Honestly, 285 dollars or not, a Pmi Evo has a hella good stock barrel and it is 60 bux cheaper. The Reg is decent, consistent but not to my liking. The Feedneck, oh man it sucks.

After testing out a better Ion, this marker has greatly changed my mind. It is a buttry smooth marker and is one of the best for the price.
Conclusion: Good marker for a price, just get the upgrades and it'll rock the field.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 1st, 2006 at 11:02 am PST
I found this review  
24 Comments - Add Comment

mikeyk Monday, February 23rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really,
had a stock autococker w/ freak barrel
spyder xtra?
Marker Setup: stock smart parts ion
cp clamping feed neck
pure energy 45/4500
halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck
good on/off

Strengths: Light
Cheap in price
Extremely upgradeable
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Stock barrel
Stock asa
Trigger magnet
Review: ok, got the original ion for christmas and my pure energy tank, i was excited to see how different it would be from the xtra and autococker i've used in the past. after gassing up and buying a halo b hopper i was kind of annoyed that the feed neck isn't made for good hoppers, its almost impossible to get a halo hopper in without taking the o-rings out and jamming it in. so i went back out to pick up a cp clamping feedneck. after putting that on the hopper fit great and the gun was ready to be tested.

ACCURACY: 9
cheap paint is what i had to work with for testing, and for a gun that was only $160 it shot great, the stock barrel shot decent so its not too much of a weakness but upgrading it will make it shoot more accurate. Its no cocker but it was still great for accuracy

CHOPPING: 10
the vision kept it from chopping any balls, which is good with the paint i was using! i heard that with gun that have vision as soon as a ball chops in messes up the vision and your screwed until you clean it. But with this gun i don't think i'll ever find out. i shot atleast 2000 rounds (filled tank up twice) and none of the balls chopped.

SPEED: 9
the speed of the gun was good from what i saw, i mean going from a stock cocker and an xtra it was awesome. the gun is no angel but for the price its great, plus upgrades easily make it fire faster. for woods this gun is more than enough stock, for faster games its a good gun to start with and upgrade

WEIGHT: 9
not to much to say about weight, i mean its lighter than an autococker and felt lighter than the xtra, but i don't have any numbers to prove it.

OVERALL: 9
the gun came with a horrible feed neck i thought, easily upgraded to a new one. a good on/off would be good for it to prevent any thread mending with compressed air tanks (i've seen it done). for the price of gun, the stock barrel isn't bad, im going to upgrade it when i get the money for a freak barrel. the stock board that comes with it is easy to use, you have to take off the grips to mess with settings but fields tend to like this feature to you don't turn on full auto on the field.

** The reason i put the trigger magnet as a weakness is because i personally think it is a little strong, but minor adjustments and some getting use to it solves the problem
Conclusion: Overall this gun is a great gun for people who are just getting into paintball and don't want to drop $300 into a stock gun then upgrade it. It is also a great gun for people who love to upgrade because there is nothing on this gun you can't change. So buy the gun, you'll like it as much as i do
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 25th, 2009 at 6:57 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bunker_boy27 Wednesday, January 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
bko,spyder vs2
Marker Setup: sp ion
freak jr
cp asa and rail
qlock feed neck
firebolt
swivel qev
rake trigger
pulse loader
pure energy 48 3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck!!!
asa
and if you want to barrel and trigger
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light
Looks
Good on air
Weaknesses: Feed neck
Asa
Review: i opend it up and screwed in my air tank and i didnt have to do any adjustments. the velocity was at 300 so i turned it dow to 250 and started shooting. WOW its fast accurate
and fairly good on air.i get about 500-600 shots with a 48/300.

pros
this gun is fast even tho its capped at 17 bps its still seems fast.
accuracy- this gun is really accurate i was about 100 feet away and i only hade about a 12'' spread.

cons
feed neck- i hate it nothing fits. well my pulse does bit it was a pain in the ass to get in so i took the orings out and then my hopper wouldnt stay in so for a little while i was stuck with putting tape arround my pulse.

barrel- the barrels ok its accurate but it doesnt rope good

asa- smart parts recomends and on/off asa but they dont put one on wats with that.
Conclusion: I really like this gun its alright. i would recomend it to anyone really unless the wanna buy a ego or dm but i like my ion.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ShowStopper Sunday, August 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Shocker (stock)
SP Impusle (stock)
Marker Setup: SP Ion
Sith Frame (Polished Red)
CP Reg Short (Black)
ND Blade Trigger (Black)
Q-Lock Feedneck (Black)
Virtue Board
Virtue QEV
Virtue Eyes (Red)
Virtue Membrane Kit
16" All American Barrel (Black)
16" Dye Ultralight Barrel (Red)
L6 Tech Bolt
Deadly Wind Foehn Body (bolt out back) ((Black))
CP On/Off
Bob Long Guage
68/45 Crossfire Carbon Fibre Tank
Dye Rihno Tank Cover (Red)
Halo B w/ Rip Drive (Red)
Eggy w/ Y Board (Clear)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Reg
Trigger
Strengths: Speed
Weight
Accurate
Consistant
Compact
Cheap $$$
Quiet
Changeable Bodies
Weaknesses: The o ring feedneck
Stock trigger
Reg
Review: The Pros And Cons Of SP ION

Pros
- out of the box the gun will shoot 17bps
- you can get an ion for just over $200 CAN
- So many different bodies to change and make your ion your own
- Well finished metal parts
- Small, light and very compact
- Uses hardly and kick at all
- Eye logic works wounders
- Stock grips and reg grips and pretty comfortable

Cons
- Stock trigger was very uncomforable and not the best choice for this gun
- Stock feedneck isnt a clamping feedneck and a lot of effort used to get most hoppers in the feedneck
- The membrance button on the gun is a toughy to get on and off when wearing gloves
- LED lights are hard to see in the sun
- Stock reg drops of at a high rate of fire
Conclusion: Overall this gun is worth every penny you spend on it. This gun is never going to let you down and for the price you can't beat it. Customize it and make it your own or leave it stock and you'll still melt kids faces off on the field. IF your looking for a gun this is the gun to get and for the price that there at and all the upgrades they have out there that will turn heads on the field as well as melt face.......well why are you still reading this review get out there and grab one and you'll never regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntballmidplay Tuesday, June 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
icon pilots electra's and many more with simalair rates of fire
Marker Setup: my black ion on a remote to a 20oz tank 14inch j&j emepire reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell, tank magnet removed by choice and maybe a blackheart
Strengths: Price, speed accuraccy, the price, the eyes and oh yeah the price
Weaknesses: None
Review: I took mine out of the box read the manual(dads orders) and turned the pressure all the way down withe you must do or you might blow the cyclniod. Went out and shot some rounds and was amazed. The trigger is so lite it floats on a cloud. The shots stayed consistent since it has nooooooo kick. Ever since i had i have had no chops the eyes are awesome i have only had 2 barrel bust with old paint and that is out of about 5 cases.
Conclusion: This gun is great the price eyes kick of the gun speed and the price is so gooooooooooodd
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

eggnog Sunday, April 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker!!!! w00t!
Marker Setup: stock ion, 3000 psi evoloution
Recommended
Upgrades:
haha..NEW GUN..........
Strengths: Its quiet.
Weaknesses: Plastic, air hog, feed neck is crap(doesnt fit ) trigger= 99 cent store
Review: Well i had my ion for 3 days now and the first day i got it the power button broke, to lazy to ship it back spent 30 on a new one broke the next day my feed neck doesnt fit any hopper( i have evloution 2 egg) shoots nice had some chop(about 3-4 of them in a day of playing AND YES THE EYES WERE ON) buttons are cheap quality sucks.
Conclusion: BUY A NEW FEED NECK, NEW BOARD, NEW REGULATOR, NEW ASA, NEW GRIPS, NEW BARREL, NEW BOLT, NEW TRIGGER. and at the end the gun should be decent
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 16th, 2006 at 9:18 pm PST
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

Fusion.Soldat Friday, December 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon Z 20oZ co2
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion- Stock Barrel
47ci/300psi Pure Energy
Eggy II
Redz clamp feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEEDNECK!!
Hopper (fast one)
Barrel (if you have the cash)
Reg
Strengths: -accurate
-light
-small
-FAST
Weaknesses: None
Review: I was very happy when I opened up my Ion but I found out that my Eggy II would not fit into the feedneck! what to do? sand it? NO.. dont do that rather just get yourself a decent clamping feedneck. The stock barrels bore size can be unforgiving as different paint or the wrong size bore paint could give you intense shootdowns.

This marker really is the best marker for value $280 for this awesome marker.
its fast, reliable, light, durable BRILLIANT!!!
Conclusion: This marker is a must have great value for money. THIS MARKER IS A MUST HAVE!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (170):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media