paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Proto 2 Piece Barrel / Proto 2 Piece Barrel / Proto 2 Piece Barrel

Proto 2 Piece Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Proto

Buy Proto 2 Piece Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Proto 2 Piece Barrel
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $80

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Proto barrels are manufactured with premium 6061-T6 high-grade aluminum and honed to .690 and 8 micron finish. Proto barrels are available in two models, single tube construction and two piece configuration. Additionally, straight porting makes the Proto barrel a quiet and most accurate addition to your gun.

Available in black, red, blue and clear. Sizes are 12" and 14" lengths for single tube and 14" and 16" lengths for two piece. Made for most markers.
Product Availability 
The Proto 2 Piece Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
sds780 Monday, May 5th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
most stock barrels
Marker Setup: PMR ul frame, proto backcap, proto 2 piece 14 inch barrel, cp asa
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything fairly large with a bore of .688 or bigger
Strengths: 2 Piece
Price
Weaknesses: Average accuracy
Review: The Proto 2 piece barrel is just a middle of the line barrel. Not near as nice as a dye ultralite. But then again its half the price. What I did was use my Proto front that Came with my pm7 and bought a dye ultralite back. Worked really well for about $35. I wouldn't buy this barrel just to get a barrel. My advice is to save up and get an ultralite.
Conclusion: Its an alright barrel. Nothing special.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tristanot Sunday, April 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye ultralight(Sorry, best barrel)
tippmann 18"
Stock tippy barrel
Marker Setup: PMR
Red Roller Trigger
Dye Ultralite One-piece 14" Barrel
Crossfire 68/3000 Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo Formula 13
Strengths: Shoots like a Dye Ul
Cool colors
Dusted finish
Everything
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great Barrel for any gun. Just is accurate and good looking. Solid 10. I couldn't find anything wrong with this barrel, quiet, accurate, TWO PIECE! Looking for a cheaper Dye UL? Buy one of these babies. I would buy an UL if I hadn't got one with the gun, but price is consideration, so buy a Proto.
Conclusion: All good. Good buy, great quality.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1ntens1ty Wednesday, June 20th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
in order of greatness to least greatness
cp 1 piece (i had 2 of them)-great barrel and great price
all-american-didn't like it and the whole concept of using porting to rifle the barrel is
false (i can go into this whole thing but i'll spare you the argument)
stock spyder imagine barrel- it's not a performer or anything but it looks cooler than a stock ion barrel : )
stock ion barrel-this thing was bad and seemed to have way too small of a bore size for even small bored house paint and couldn't hold up to white box
\
Marker Setup: Limited edition blue PMR
Diamond Blue Reloader B
Pure Energy hpa 68-4500
and a neon yellow tank cover i got for 99cents lol
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything
I used some old white box that was super bad and it shot lasers. I think that says something.
Strengths: Accurate, light, looks good, good fit, same as an ultralite but under a new name
Weaknesses: None really except for there is only one bore size.
Review: OK i got this with my pmr and I got some white box i had laying around for a few months and shot it. There is no other way to put it. It shot laser beams. I had ball on ball accuracy and I was really impressed with it. My old cp barrels were my favorite but this has taken their spot. The only downside to this barrel is the fact that it comes in only one bore size (unless you use ultralite backs in which case you can call it an ultralite). On the other hand it is the same barrel as the ultralite with a lighter price tag and a new name. They are literally made on the same machines in the same factory. The back and front fit very well and help with the accuracy. The anno is very good and the alluminum is high quality. Like I said, this shoots LASER BEAMS.
Conclusion: Buy it if you wanted to get an ultralite. Its the same thing with not as hefty a price tag and instead of saying DYE it says PROTO. I recommend this to anyone looking to mid or back (it might be too long for some front player's taste.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

hatchj Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock intimidator assassins barrel
Marker Setup: Bob Long Alias intimidator
UPs:
Hybrid ram cap
Hybrid verdikt lpr
AKA sidewinder reg
critical trigger
green halo b
proto 2-peice 14"
Pure energy 48 cu tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything unless it is tiny or absolutely huge
Strengths: Good quality
Accepts UL tips
Accurate
What else can i say? It's a barrel.
Weaknesses: Does not shoot through paint well at all
That's it.
Review: I picked this thing up because I wanted something 14 inches, good quality, and accurate. I got all of that with this barrel. It shot perfect untill i broke paint.

I didn't bother using a battleswap while playing because it was just rec ball. The break was at the beginning of a round and I felt the effects the whole round. I put about 400 rounds through the thing and when I used a squeege at the end, it was somewhat clean. I would have figured a squeege would get nothing out after that many rounds though.

Otherwise, it was awesome. I got a ton of people out with this barrel.
Conclusion: I reccomend it to anyone that doesn't care if their barrel shoots through paint at all.
I'll give it a low 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rocker292003 Monday, January 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stiffi, UL switch kits, slayer kit, karner kit
Marker Setup: '05'd shocktech timmy, NME le
Recommended
Paintballs:
mid bore paint
Strengths: Light compatible with UL accurate
Weaknesses: Plain
Review: A good overall barrel accurate about the same as 12in stiffi's, UL and the karner kit. weighs the same as the UL and less than the karner kit but is much heavier than the stiffi's
its a pretty quiet barrel and stays consistent throughout temperature changes
nice pattern in all conditions
Conclusion: Good barrel and fits most paints but not as good as the stiffi or the switch kit
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lotten454 Friday, December 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye aluminum, aci zero gravity, cp classic, terminator, whisper, others
Marker Setup: 05 trilogy comp, new designs drop, proto 2 piece barrel, dye sticky 3, ans hinge trigger frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
at least premiums, marbs shoot good. try to get premiums or better. .69 barrel bore so get paint matched up.
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, looks
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy
Review: I have only used this barrel in a few games so far but i really like it and its alot better than the stock one. i have shot through it marbs, premiums, and stingers and they all shot ok, as long as u get undimpled ones. the barrel is 16 inches so for that length on a cocker it is really nice, doesnt slow the ball down at all and i really like it.
Conclusion: Ireally like this barrel but if u have the money to get it get a pipe kit, i should have done that but this barrel is really good too.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acballa Sunday, October 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pipe kit, pmi razor barrel, progressive, all american
Marker Setup: red pmr, halo b, 48/3000 tank, 14" proto two piece, metal back cap
Recommended
Paintballs:
ive only used dxs bronze, and severe
Strengths: Light, somewhat accurate, kinda quiet, built strong
Weaknesses: Not that accurate, only comes in .90, average sound, price
Review: When i first bought this barrel i was impressed on the construction. It was very well put together and was still extremely light for its heavy dutyness, unlike my old pipe kit which was very fragile even with the ultra tip.
The accuracy is not too impressive at all using dxs bronze and severe (crap). At only about 50 feet it shoots a spread of about a foot.
It is quite loud compared to other barrels.
In my experience, i know people will argue with me on this, but i think that having an .93 barrel is the best way to go. When i had my pipes that is all i used, so i bought this barrel thinking that it won't make that much difference, but it does. When you have not perfect paintballs and you have a "perfect" bore match then the not so round ones are not gonna land in the same spot as the ones that go perfectly through the barrel. This makes it inconsistent. Now im not saying that a bigger bore will fix this completely but it does help. If you dont believe me go try it, maybe you can prove me wrong, but in my 5 years or so that is what i have found. So what my point is (lol) having a .89 imo is not so great, and i think proto should offer different bore size options.
You can buy a lot better barrels for less or not much more money.
Conclusion: Don't buy this barrel, buy a cp, all american (quieter, more accurate, cheaper), ultralight (duh, if you have the money). A barrel kit is always best unless you are like me and only use the big bore anyway, but they are more expensive.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bad_Company1 Thursday, July 30th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto 1 piece
Galaxy V 2 piece barrel
Marker Setup: 09 Proto SLG
Halo V35 w/rip drive
68/4500 Pure Energy Carbon Fiber
Empire tank cover
Empire on/off ASA
Proto 2 piece barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Tarnage Tear
PMI Premium
Strengths: 2 piece
UL tips
Light
Perfect anno match for SLG
Weaknesses: Too small bore for me.
Review: I just bought this barrel on ebay for $40 used and as soon as it got here I tried it out with 7 month old Karnage Tear paint with dimples dirt and all in very humid weather and it did suprisingly well for the condition i was in. Then the next weekend i went to the BT Big Game and used some PMI Premium and it shot great. Very quiet. I was able to put a ball right where i wanted too. The only bad thing about it is that once you shoot about a pod or 2 the barrel starts to unscrew a little but no big deal.

Edit: I also have a Dye Ultra light tip on it so that might change performance a little.
Conclusion: Great barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 8th, 2009 at 10:35 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GreenIon10 Friday, November 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mongoose stock
Dye Ultralight
Smart Parts Freak
Marker Setup: Mongoose Reincarnation II
Apache hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
THis barrel requires some pretty good paint like Premium, Marballizer, X Balls, some PMI paint
Strengths: Great acurracy
Very quiet
Great colors
Weaknesses: A little heavy for a barrel
Review: This is a great barrel. I have used less than a month and I am already in love with it. The Proto barrel has awesome accuracy and you can get a lot of distance with it. When I went to Skyline I was shooting all the way across the field without barely any tilt to the barrel. It comes in 14in and 16in so you can fit it to your needs. Also it comes in four great colors, (blue, red, clear and black). The only problem I have is I still think it is too heavy. I would rather have an Ultralight or a Freak. They are much lighter. It is still a very good deal for it price.
Conclusion: My conclusion is that it is a very good barrel, but if I were you I would buy an Ultralight or a Freak.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

uber NooB Tuesday, November 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto one piece on a proto rail but only tested that (its a really nice gun)
Marker Setup: ion
freak frront all american back
cp rake trigger
virtue board
halo b
Recommended
Paintballs:
I usually use evil
Strengths: Quiet accurate got it for free!!!!
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is a really Quiet barrel and the best part is i got it for free!!!! My friend has a pm6 n he got a dye ultralite so he gave me it for my trilogy pro cocker and its really accurate on a cocker. Its a good barrel and its worth the $$ if u gotta buy it.
Conclusion: Its a good Quiet accurate barrel
I gave it a 10 cause i got it for free!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media