paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

PMI Piranha 2005 EVO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha 2005 EVO
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $270

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New adjustable clamping feed neck.
Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye.
Powered by CO2 or N2.
Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting.
Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts.
Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver.
Electro-mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye.
Powered by one 9-volt rechargeable battery (battery, car charger and wall charger included).
Custom vertical bottle adapter, DSR inline adjustable regulator with micro gauge.
15 + shots per second capability.
Manufacturer's 1-year limited warranty.
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha 2005 EVO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
2fast4u101 Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Piranha GTI, Spyder Cyclone
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo, Halo B loader, Pure Energy 14oz C02 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Loader(like mine), fair amount of C02, Scope
Strengths: Accuracy
Power
Speed
Quality
Little Cleaning
Rate Of Fire
Price
Weaknesses: Lengthy Battery Charge Time
Nowone Respects Piranha's
Bolt Scratches Easily
Review: The Piranha Evo has done me very good these past few weeks. I used to always lose cause the rental markers didnt match up the the bought markers of other players. I tried my friends tippmann98 custom pro but it didnt seem right...I NEEDED MORE POWER! Then I tried my cousins Spyder Cyclone.It was better then the 98 custom prop but not what i was looking for. I tried the BT-4 Combat for fun and the rentals were better! Then I went to a tournament game near my local paintball field and I got to try one of the players EVO's... IT FELT SOOO GOOD! it was exactly what i was looking for. I asked him how much it cost and he said it is very cheap, but its the best gun he have had in years! He even had An Evil Minion! Almost Triple the price! I saved up for months and I finally had enough! I raced down to the store and got it right away. And right after I got it i used it right away against the usual crowd of pro's. It was 4on4 and it was capture the flag. As soon as the whistle blew, I quickly attacked and ran for the falg(like I always do) but this time with an amazing gun. All four popped up and started shooting. I took cover and started shooting. In a matter of seconds, I have eliminated their whole team! The Accuracy on this gun was astounding! I hit all players right imbetween the eyes!(i dont have the best shot either!) I also cracked 3out of 4 players masks! Nothing was hurt but their pride. Ever since that day, I have never lost a game! The Piranha EVO is one of the best Piranhas ever made in my opinion and in many others. The power of this gun is simply awesome, th accuracy is stupendous and the speed was a flash! ball after ball i shot and it was faster then anything i had ever seen!

P.S. The masks were rentals!
Conclusion: Overall, this gun has top power, speed and accuracy. It also looks good and requires cleaning very rarely. Anyone who is just starting, who has a ton of experience or anybody imbetween. 10/10 for sure
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 19th, 2007 at 6:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

IronCorps Monday, January 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Most everything.
Marker Setup: -currently between markers-
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, reg.
Strengths: No chopping, fast, uber light trigger pull.
Weaknesses: Still uses the fatty striker, which causes kick. And first shot drop off.
Review: I used this gun for one whole day of woodsball. The field owner happens to be a good friend of mine, and loaned it to me. The gun was FAST, it never chopped, only got 2 barrel busts out of 2,000, and it was very accurate with the paint i was shooting - nelsplat-.

My complaints, first shot drop off. o noes.!1 lolz. Deal with it.

And because PMI still uses the fatty strikers, it kicks more than a spyder. Not enough to mess with you for woodsplay though.
Conclusion: I really enjoyed shooting this gun. For a hundred bucks, it's a tank.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CHPaintball Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom with upgraded barrel and double trigger (with Nitro not quite as fast as the EVO but is reliable and built like a tank, overall the EVO is a bit better in my opinion)
Marker Setup: 2005 Piranha Evo Pewter
Empire Reloader B with Rip Drive (smoke)
CP Regulator with Macroline kit
14" Smart Parts Barrel
Shocktech Delrin Bolt
Shocktech Clamping Feedneck
Fireball Mountain 3 way adjustable trigger


Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs:
Nitro (can work with C02 but HPA MUCH better and more consistant, better for the marker too)
Clamping Feedneck (stock one sucks and you will have to sand down most hoppers.
Recommended:
Bolt (not neccesary but helps)
Barrel (Almost any gun you want a better barrel, especially in this price range.)
Trigger (some like it, some don't)
Electronic hopper capable of 15 BPS+
Sometimes the stock regulator, though mine is ok (+/- 8-10 on the Chrono once broken in) EDIT: Stock Reg blew up on me, but sucks anyhow! CP Reg is not cheap but incredible much better than stock
Strengths: 20 BPS Potential, LCD screen, Cheap electronic gun, Eyes, and ease of use/upgrades
Weaknesses: Heavy, Kick, LOUD! Trigger, Feedneck, and Regulator
Review: This is PMI's first "Tournament ready" gun, maybe not the first but considered THE Piranha to get at the moment. I just purchased this gun, and it's a GREAT gun for the price. I got mine for only 130 and you can find it for as low as 99.99 now.

The Ace antichop system (eyes) work great, as I have never chopped a ball in 2 cases of paint so far. It is pretty fast, though I can't even get near it's max of 20 bps, but not many people can without ramping or bouncing the trigger. It is fairly heavy with a metal body, and the metal HPA Tank (getting carbon fiber soon), but not too bad.

I have this and a Tippmann Custom 98, and either gun would be a nice starter gun. I would recommend the EVO over the Tippmann only because it's electronic, a lot faster, and has eyes so you won't chop paint. Plus it makes you more familiar with setups like the more expensive guns you'll most likely want to purchase once you outgrow this....BUT with the right upgrades this gun rips! Mine has held it's own against Ions, shockers, and twice I shot a guy that had a DM6 so you can hang in there with just about anybody and not feel outgunned, but to really use this gun you will need a faster hopper, though I think the Empire is a bit overkill for it.

I would more recommend a frontman/backman or an Egg (cheaper), but if you feel a Halo or Empire is the only way to go, mine works great with the Empire. The trigger does hold back the gun's potential for high BPS, and it's kind of weird, but it works and is reliable. I would recommend this gun anytime, and you might be surprised by how good it is. First game I took out 7 people with various skill/markers, including a Evil Pimp. Pretty tough frame too, as it's made of metal and quick strip pin makes oiling and cleaning the gun so easy, even for a newer player like myself. I like the looks as well.

EDIT: After using this, I have still found this to be a good gun, but needs essential upgrades to be competent and by the time you add in the cost, you could have had a better gun!
Conclusion: With a few upgrades, this gun can be nasty and hang in there with the expensive guns. Probably best overall beginner/intermediate marker. At 100 it's a steal, even as a back up gun. Get it now!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, November 25th, 2006 at 12:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ryland52586 Thursday, August 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix, Tippman 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo
16" Custom Products Classic Barrel
Boss Bolt
Boss Blade
Boss Turbo Valve
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 92/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger, Bolt, Valve, eVlution, HPA , barrel
Strengths: Easy to use, easy to take apart, cheap for an e-marker
Weaknesses: Reg, Trigger Board
Review: This gun is a great starter gun for anyone interested in playing speedball because it not only allows you to learn the basics of blowback electronic-trigger marker workings, but it also give you a fairly good gun that you can learn how to walk the trigger on. The colors that come with it arent bad at all, in fact, they look pretty sweet.

Lets talk about whats good and bad, all at once. The stock trigger looks like a tapeworm and feels like one when you shoot it. Between it and the board, it gets very hard to walk the trigger any faster than maybe 12 bps. Upgrading the trigger to a Boss Blade adds about 5 bps if you can run it fast enough, but if you plan on playing speedball at all, you are probably going to want to get a t-board+ultra chip. The Boss Bolt makes the gun just a bit lighter and also makes it less of a gas hog. Upgrading the valve to a Boss Turbo Valve allows you to turn down the PSI to around 200-250 with the white spring in and still get around 300 fps nicely.

The stock barrel is nice, but a bit too short for my taste. A nice 14" barrel would be perfect for it,; however if you want the ability to manipulate inflatable bunkers, get a bit longer one.

Also, this gun works great with HPA or CO2, but HPA is my preference.

Conclusion: All and all, a great gun for someone starting out and looking for something other than an Ion.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 25th, 2006 at 3:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntgod1 Wednesday, July 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha GTI
spyder rodeo
Marker Setup: Piranha evo
14" proto 1 piece barrel
evolution II hopper
45/4500 compressed air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
trigger
Strengths: Fast
Quiet
Light
Accurate (new barrel)
Efficient
Low maintenance
Kick
LCD
Weaknesses: Trigger (plastic)
Stock barrel
Consictency
Review: This gun is one of the best low end markers. It is cheap but preforms very well.

PROS:
fast: it is pretty fast at 17bps with my egg. Its enough to keep ppl behind bunkers
light: ppl say this gun is heavy...i dont think so and im not strong. feels nice and you can shoot with 1 hand with no problems.
quiet/accurate: i got a 1 piece proto barrel and it helps the accuracy. This gun is also pretty quiet, i had to get an egg cause my relaoder wasnt feeding.
efficient: i have a 45/4500 tank and i got a full hopper and 6 pods from a 3500psi fill.
kick: this gun has a nice flush cocking system with very little kick and the rear cocking doesnt hit your mask like the GTI.
low and easy maintinence: quick bolt strip pin makes taking the bolt out a snap.
just take it out lube it sguegee all the paint off and your done.



CON
bad stock trigger: the trigger is mad of thin cheap plastic. not a necessary upgrade but is nice.
stock barrel is not accurate: from like 25' away i could barely hit like a 4x4 board
consictency: very bad out of the box, needs to be broken in and low out of the box velocity too. My first chrono readings were: 184, 200, 180, 189.... very bad
Conclusion: overall this is a good gun. get a new barrel and possibly a trigger and kick some a$$ =)
GET IT!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4j48 Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
electronic spiders/piranhas, autocockers, 98 customs, A5's
Marker Setup: my evo set up was
blue/black evo
20 c02 tank
richeshet 2k lcd
14" proggressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
new shorter feed neck
Strengths: Fast enough(20+)
Reliability
Good eye
Weaknesses: not very accurate with stock barrel,
trigger
people don't respect Pirahna name
Review: i think the evo is a awesome gun especially if it is your first electo. its not the best for tournaments but if you are playing rec ball this gun is awesome. you don't need to worry about breaking balls the anti chop eye works awesome i have had mine for almost a year and a half and have only broken probably about 7 rounds it operates on anything(co2 or n2) it shoots fast enough at 20+ ball per second. the trigger is kinda weird but it is fine when you get use to it, people don't respect Piranha but this gun deserves respect in my opinion
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to any rec players that in joy the game or if you are a beginner tournament player over all it is a awesome gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frontman55 Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
All kind of electro spyders, phyco balistic silver bullet lcd, mongoosde recanation lcd
Marker Setup: halo tsa hopper
evo
blade trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
fast hopper
some ppl say regulator (but i say its fine)
Strengths: fast
accurate
17+ bps
looks
EYES!!
surprisingly light 4 wat it looks like
PRICE
Weaknesses: Mabie the kick
Review: Ok first of all i love this gun, ive used electric spyders, phyco balistic silver bullet lcd - good when its woorking, mongoose recarnation - same deal as the silver bullet but doesnt work well off low pressure
Pros:
very fast - can get up 17 bps, and shoots fairly consistantly at 280 - 300 fps
accuracy - shoots amizingly accurate even with the stock barrel and shoots fairly far
looks - the paint fades look sweet and the marker its self
price- ive found it for $130 online
for the look of its boxyness its surprissingly light
EYES!! ive gone through 2000 already and no breaks, ive heard of 10000 with no breaks!!
Cons:
it doesnt bother me but mabie the kick if it bothers you
Conclusion: This is the best gun for the price out there (130) dollars, no joke. go buy this gun you wont be dissapionted i promis, it can run with the ions and the cheap autocockers so go buy it EYES!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 17th, 2006 at 1:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

User Name 17 Saturday, May 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Marker Setup: Evo Special Edition, evil detonator, delrin bolt, extreme rage feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
delrin bolt
Strengths: Price
reliability
stock barrel
eyes
Weaknesses: Little on the heavy side
Review: let me start off with saying this gun is extremely easy to operate and maintain. if you take the time to clean the gun after playing which only takes 10 to 15 minutes you will have extremely good results. you need to run N2 through this gun CO2 isn't an option if you want the gun to last . also use mid to high grade paint for best results, the gun has a good stock barrel so you don't have to worry about that right away.
Conclusion: This gun is good for players of any grade, the gun is reliable and easy to work. unless you chose not to clean and take care of your gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snopro176 Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Venom,game face e rex,32 degrees btb
Marker Setup: pmi evo
c5 47/3000
modified cmi drop
vl xboard hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger!
maybe a 14"barrel
x board hopper or better
Strengths: Very easy to clean
Accurate
Cheap
Fast
Weaknesses: A lil heavy
Not diggin the plastic grip frame
Review: I got this gun in blue and black,new in box for $100 on ebay. When i got it I loved it except for i thought it was a little on the heavy side. I then got a new c5 47ci/3000 tank for $27 on ebay!!!!!!! THAT IS NOT A LIGHT TANK BY ANY MEANS. Topped it off with a revy hopper that i got for $27 on EBAY. After it was all said and done i had a badass gun for dirt cheap, BUT weighs a ton. I was shooting it today and for a stocker,its accuracy is amazing. DIDNT cop a single ball,even when i was railing the hell out of it. I did take the trigger out and shaved it down way thin with a grinding wheel. Helped alot,took out that pointless bend in the middle,at least untill i buy a fbm delrin trigger! The one thing that kept it from getting a 10 was the fact that it leaked in the reg out of the box. I took it appart and checked the o rings and oiled her up. Gave her some air and it cleared up. Nothing broken,just wasnt assembled tightly? Whatever,when i get a diff trigger,ill be doting the eyes of ollie lang with this beast.LOVE IT

UPDATE: Used it the other day and got a massive air leak in the reg. No problem,WRONG,the aluminum set screw in the reg is the worst metal ive ever seen. It was in their so tight that it stripped and is now in their for good. IM NOT to happy with the regulator probs. Im just gonna get a new reg and sell it for an ion. I like the gun alot,just needs better reg.
Conclusion: It is a very solid gun. Great warranty,and out of box performance. I would recommend for anyone who can get it for as cheap as i did. Could you honestly pass that up for $100?
Id say get it,and if it just isn't good enough,t board it and and shoot 30 bps for all i care!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 10th, 2006 at 2:42 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cam-I-Am Tuesday, May 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder extra, tipmann 98c
Marker Setup: Evo, 20oz CO2 tank, Empire reloader, 16in freak back all american front
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
Strengths: Flush cocking is nice
Eyes
Not bad stock barrel
Quiet
Tight profile
Weaknesses: Nothing much, the trigger is a bit odd
Review: I bought this gun hoping for a decent upgrade from my extra, and let me tell you i was not disappointed, here we go:

Speed: Its quite quick, the electronic trigger frame provides a sensually light trigger pull and can pump out a good 15bps if u got the fingers for it, the only downside is the trigger, its a weird shaped plastic thing that's kinda hard to walk but that's a pretty cheap and easy upgrade anyways. Stock trigger is still pretty quick. There is also very little kick with this gun, also with the drop forward your tank gets nice and snuggled up with the rest of the gun rather than sticking way out back. My model also came with a clamping feedneck wich is excellent for securing the hopper so you dont have to worry about it falling off while running around.

Choppage: NONE, i have never chopped a ball yet. I took the gun into my back yard and put 250 paintballs (stingers) through it and chopped nothing! The first day i took it for a test run at my local paintball feild i put 600 rounds through it and still had ZERO CHOPS! as a matter of fact to this day i have never chopped a ball! The eyes definitely work their magic. I've heard alot about how this gun chops harsh on CO2 but i have yet to have a problem with that.

Barrel / Accuracy: The stock barrel is not bad. 12" Spiral ported, it looks cool and it is not too loud. Not super accurate at longer distances but whatever, i was still getting my shots on target. Definitely one of the better low end stock barrels out there. Who doesn't upgrade their barrel eventually anyways? I bought a cheap 16" Smart Parts Linear barrel and let me tell yah, the gun is quite and accurate as hell now.

EDIT:
I now have a 16inch freak back/all american front on it, i could not be happier

Cleanage: Simple, to say the least. A ball blew up inside my hopper and leaked down all over the eyes and the bolt (after ruining the rest of my intact paint in the hopper ARG!). I had it all cleaned out in no time. All yah gotta do it remover the nice big strip pin and voila, the internals are outta there. Ran a swab through the body in a breeze, eyes and bolt free of paint again!
Conclusion: Buy it, its a great upgrade from mechanical markers and at such a low price now its hard to find a gun that comes close to comparing to this beast. i could not be happier with my purchace. 9 because nothing is perfect, it can be faster with a better trigger but thats just a tiny issue
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 7th, 2006 at 5:22 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media