paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO / PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

PMI Piranha 2005 EVO Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI Piranha 2005 EVO

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI Piranha 2005 EVO
[ View Photos (24) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 84
Average Rating: 8.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $270

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
New adjustable clamping feed neck.
Tournament grade electronic with integrated anti-chop eye.
Powered by CO2 or N2.
Interchangeable threaded aluminum barrel with spiral porting.
Made of corrosion-resistant, aerospace grade aluminum with wear-resistant teflon finish on all internal parts.
Threaded removable vertical feed, closed receiver.
Electro-mechanical trigger frame with LCD display, countdown timer, odometer, and anti-chop eye.
Powered by one 9-volt rechargeable battery (battery, car charger and wall charger included).
Custom vertical bottle adapter, DSR inline adjustable regulator with micro gauge.
15 + shots per second capability.
Manufacturer's 1-year limited warranty.
Product Availability 
The PMI Piranha 2005 EVO is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
pope12 Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
pro-e
Marker Setup: EVO, superfly bolt, J&J cermatic barrel, custom trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new regulator, boss trigger or custom made, fast board
Strengths: Good stock barrel
Ok bolt
EYEs
Weaknesses: Regulator can leak
Trigger is oddly shaped
Not as fast as they say
Review: The EVO is a good gun for those starting to play in tournements. The barrel is good and fairly accurate and the EYES really help to stop chopping. Although the regualtor is consistent you need to use anti-siponed co2 or the popet o-ring can break and the regualtor will leak.
Conclusion: This is a good gun and i reconmend it for beginners, its got the speed of any eletro gun and the simple structure and matienence of a spyder
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ChaseMiller Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO- blue/black
Boss Blade Trigger
Halo TSA Frontman Hopper
20 oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Boss Blade Trigger
Electronic Hopper
Barrel
Nitro
Strengths: Looks
Speed
Customer Service
Field Stripping
Anti-chop Eyes
Weaknesses:
Stock Barrel?
22-hour battery charge
Stock trigger weird shape
Review: After getting introduced to paintball with a Tippmann 98 Custom for several years, I was looking to upgrade my gun a bit. I was searching on the internet, and this gun instantly caught my eye. It has great speed (20 bps), looks , and customer service. If you ever have a problem with your PMI gun just call their customer service or drop them and email, with your adress and serial # and your replacement parts are in the mail. FREE PARTS FOR LIFE. I love this gun, just make sure you oil the bolt.
Conclusion: This is a great gun with an exellent price. BUY THIS GUN. FREE PARTS FOR LIFE!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TCA_ELITE_498 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra (stock)
Pirhana SRT (stock)
Tippmann A-5 (stock)
Tippmann Custom Pro (stock)
Tippmann Pro Carbine (stock)
Trilogy Competition Autococker (with upgrades)
Marker Setup: Pirhana Evo 2005
Ricochet Rhino
Pure Energy 12 oz on/off
16" JJ Ceramic Barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
18 Inch All American Barrel
Strengths: Fast
Very Comfortable
Cool Design
Light trigger pull
Anti Chop Eyes
Quiet
Weaknesses: The trigger is plastic. (just get a new one if you want)
Game Timer
Review: I got this gun not too long ago from - www.badlandspaintball.com
It is pretty accurate right out of the box, a new barrel is not needed.
It comes with a 12" spiral ported 2 piece. It is a fast gun with a Rhino hopper and a 12 oz co2 and the eyes sure speed it up.
The Evo is a reliable, accurate, fast gun, it is a perfect gun for the experienced sppedball player and it also works well for in the bush.
Conclusion: I give the Evo a 9 out of 10 because of the game timer which I don't like and the plastic trigger. But you can just get a new trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rchristy121 Thursday, June 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pirahna E-Force GTI
Spyder E-99
Marker Setup: Pirahna Evo
PMI Aftermarket Trigger
AKA Sidewinder Regulator
VL Reloader
68/4500 Tank
Flame Dropforward
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Trigger
New Barrel if you don't like it
Strengths: The stock barrel is very very accurate
Good Air Effeciency
Good rate of fire
Weaknesses: Ball Detent Keeps coming out.
Likes to shred o-rings
Feed neck is huge
Review: This is the second and possibly only gun I will ever buy. I simply love it. I purchased an E-Force GTI 1 week before I sold it and bought this gun. I will break down my review

Weight: Feels like a viking. Since I play back though that added weight has no disadvantage whatsoever.

Air Effeciency: Once I replaced the regulator since I had to replace o-rings almost every weekend on the stock regulator, I went ahead and got the Sidewinder Regulator. Now I fire between 1500-1700 shots a fill. I haven't really counted but I know I go through 3/4's a case of paint before refilling.

Accuracy: The gun is extremely accurate with the stockbarrel. I wouldn't suggest changing it unless you want to silence the shotgun blast a bit. I fired it right out of the box at my shed from about 10 yards out and hit a padlock 3 out of 5 shots.

Anti-Chop Technology: I've played with this gun for about 3 months and never really had a ball chop. The only time it did was when I somehow managed to blow apart the crappy rubber ball detent. I replaced those with heavy duty sypder detents and worked like a charm

Rate of Fire: 17 shots a second plain and simple. Not the greatest but still pretty good. You can lane, walk the trigger, and throw ropes. A few possible upgrades can cure that when PMI or some other company decides to work on them.

Conclusion: I love this gun. I can't wait for my first tourney with the gun. If you're looking at it, look no further. Open your wallet, Grab your cash, or credit card. And get ready to have the final laugh when people see you with a PMI Gun and try to give you crap about it. I usually walk off the field having the last laugh while they're wiping the paint off their masks.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DANNN Wednesday, August 31st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Zap electronic something or another...
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo 2005
VL Revvy
Smartparts Progressive 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
-New trigger
-Nitro (If you don't have it)
Strengths: -Good design
-Eye works well
-Gun works well
-Great stock barrel
Weaknesses: -Eye covers suck
-Decals fall off easily
-Not the best on CO2
Review: A good gun, a great gun actauly, just it forces you to get Nitro because it doesn't work very good with CO2. Pain in the ass but rather then that the only problem is some screws fall out sometimes, easily fixable just a pain if you don't notice them fall out.
Conclusion: A great gun, a few flaws, but every gun has flaws.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

treehunter Tuesday, July 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none really (maby the ion but i only tested that)
Marker Setup: Piranah EVO
torpedo expansion chamber
Kapp kxs barrel (or something like that)
Revi loader
pure energy fiberwrapped 4500 air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
defidently a new barrel, a new expansion chamber and a new bolt (stock one feels like lead)
Strengths: Okay speed
Field stripping
Low maintence
semi gass effecient
Weaknesses: ACURACY
speed
Review: when i bought this Marker i was not expecting much from it seeing as it was a piranah and i had played with impulses before ( friends) and they said fishes suck.WELL were they ever wrong. first off let me say that you get what you paid for. the gun is acceptional in most areas except for acuraccy. this thing couldn't hit a guy at thirty feet which is ok as i play front but for you longballers you may concider it a drawback. Another major problem with the marker is the battery connectors. I replaced the reachargable battery as you only get 6 hours of play out of 10 hours of charging which is a huge concern for you senario players so be prepared to have three or four 9volt batteries handy at all times (also keep fresh batteries in your marker because if you dont use a fully charged or fresh one the marker's hammer wont be triggered by the gripps hammer thus not allowing it to fire). Any way about the battert connectors....THEY RIPPED RIGHT OFF. Like the whole bracket just fell off whick pissed me off too. Although the electronics were a weak point this marker was an over all great marker as you only spend 350$ canadian for a gun that has near perfect eyes, has the abality to shoot 15 bps, and is super easy to strip clean.
Conclusion: Buy this if you are a rich beginner or if you are an intermediat player (semi good) and you will be happy with the results (Although as your skills develope you may outgrow this marker)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Trock55 Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, The EVO is a definite upgrade. For about 3 weeks I compared the Wrath, ION and the EVO. Although it's a huge debate, for the options, the EVO came out ahead for me. In MY opinion.
Marker Setup: Piranha EVO, SP Progressive Barrel, BOSS Bolt/Blade Trigger, HPA 88/4500, TSA Halo Frontman LED

Tippmann 98c with R/T,14" Teardrop,Halo Frontman,Tippmann X-Chamber,Tippmann Double Trigger,Shocktech Delrin Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Standard stuff, barrel, trigger..But not necessary
Strengths: Regulator works great
Stock Barrel is GREAT!
Spyder Barrel Threads
Weaknesses: None really
Review: Used my new EVO for he first time today. I have to say that I was extremely impressed. From using a Tippmann 98 and Spyder Imagine, the EVO is an awesome upgrade. After 2000 rounds, I had no breaks (Rampage, JT Freedom pballs) and no problems at all.

The trigger feels a little loose, but I had no problems shooting ropes of paint. The EVO is ALOT of fun to shoot.

I used HPA and a Halo Frontman loader and found that the stock barrel is very accurate. Most of the time though I used a barrel that I had on my Imagine (SP Progressive).

I truly fell in love with this gun and had several people comment on how well it performed and looked. We played an hour long woodsball game and a couple of speedball games. My EVO did awesome in every game.
Conclusion: Found mine for 235.00 (hope I'm allowed to say that), came with a free mask. This gun performs like a 500.00 gun for half the price. Wanna up your game from a Tippmann or Spyder...this is the ONE!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 23rd, 2005 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

4G. Tuesday, July 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
E99 Avent, Evlution II (Egg) w/ Z-board, Bulldog 47 c.i. 3000k.
Marker Setup: DM4
With lots of Stuff
Recommended
Upgrades:
Clamping Feedneck
New Drop
Macroline
Boss
Strengths: Speed 15+
Eyes
Pressure
Easy to use
Style
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Feed Neck
Hosing
Co2
Review: I have been eyeing this marker for a bit. I was hesitant to buy it, not sure why, figured it wouldn’t be that great I guess. Was I wrong! This marker is impressive.. When I first got it, I put over 3000 balls through it before I chopped one! Considering the balls that chopped were from wall-mart (tub in bulk) it didn’t mean too much. Stock, it has great accuracy,easy trigger pull, quite able to put some balls on some kids face. Easy as pie to clean and maintain. The double eyes make it perfect using any hopper out there. Its able to keep up with other high end markers and for the price, this gun is amazing. It feels and performs just like a high end marker. Besides personal opinions, it does have its problems. Firstly, Co2, this gun hates it! I highly recommend that you don’t come within 5 feet of it. Secondly the feed neck, I didn’t like it at all. It was too tall and was too tight fitting for my Egg. I suggest you get a clamping feed neck anyway. (Has impulse threading) Come to think of it, as mentioned before, the hosing is a pain sometimes. But just get some macroline and you’ll be set. I won’t complain about the trigger, only because “I“ think it sucks. Personally, I hate it. I cant walk on it, and its just awkward. Ill give it a 9.5, but since their is no such thing...

From what I hear, the Boss is a great upgrade for it, so ill get that, and follow up on this review.
Conclusion: This gun rocks. I highly, with all the bells and whistles, recommend it. For the price, just buy it. It’s awesome!! You wont be disappointed with it at all. Put some upgrades in it, and it will beat the crap out of some high end markers! You wont believe how satisfied you’ll be with this marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 12th, 2006 at 4:33 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sasquatch13 Sunday, May 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electras (all of them), Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: Hammerhead Barrel, clamping feedneck, liked the rest stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Everyone says this, but a new barrel is a must, and having a clamping feedneck is great.
Strengths: Reg is good, super light trigger pull, reliable, fast for an entry marker, easy maintenance.
Weaknesses: Simple body design, loud, stock barrel, not super efficient, plastic grip frame.
Review: Had a LOT of fun with this marker. It was fast, reliable, was cheap and easy to maintain, and the reg kept the velocity pretty decently consistent for a blow back marker. I was impressed overall with the gun, which doesn't usually happen. It did eat gas, but since i make sure to air up after every few games, I was ok with that. Great gun for someone starting to get into electros.
Conclusion: Great for a back-up gun, or for those people looking to move from a mech spyder or piranha into a electro blowback. I give it an eight because it is only good if you are just getting used to the sport. for you people who have shockers, angels, e-cockers, or other high-end stuff, i would not recommend getting this gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

itsachucknorris Sunday, June 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Piranha evo, stock barrle,stock trigger, really small n2 tank 47 3000, vlocity revolution force
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger and bolt
Strengths: Cheap, accurate and it comes with an eye
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I got this gun 3 months ago and its worked out nice but the trigger is really weird and is plastic so i would get a new trigger and the bolt. its nice that it comes with the eye tho cause it helps with not braking balls. It eats Co2 bad though but I havnt had any problems with using N2 on it and it has the gaauge on the side wich saves some time when you think you are low on air you can check faster...
Conclusion: Good gun for the price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (9):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media