paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel G7 / WDP Angel G7 / WDP Angel G7 / WDP Angel G7

WDP Angel G7 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel G7

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel G7
[ View Photos (30) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 53
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1500

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Angel G7 is the result of 9 years of Angel advancement and technical refinement. After being premiered at the San Diego NPPL event in November 2004, the G7 is due to be fully revealed at the Huntington Beach Super 7 World Series Event #1 on 17th March at the WDP booth.

The G7 has retained the Angels’ classically beautiful form, albeit in a tighter, more athletic package, but that is where most of the similarities end. Read on….

The G7’s internals have been completely redesigned, the basic component layout remains the same as previous low pressure Angels, but the components themselves are radically and conceptually different from Angels that have gone before.

The Angel G7 is even smaller and lighter than the A4 fly, which it replaces as WDP’s flagship marker.

The familiar pull-knob used to open the breach mechanism has been replaced with a sculpted lever-lok on the G7’s back plate, giving a smoother, more symmetrical line which, coupled with the G7s ultra-smooth lines, allows for faster cleaning and wipe downs between games. The new lever-lok also allows the bolt to be positioned further forward into the breech than was previously possible.

The G7’s redesigned ram and bolt incorporate larger porting than previous Angels. The hammer's weight and size has been reduced by over 30%, significantly reducing the kick caused by the hammer's movement on each shot, and producing the most stable firing platform possible. A single locating pin holds the re-designed ram unit in the optimum position, negating ram adjustment and ensuring that the ram is perfectly positioned to maximise performance at all times.

The G7’s exhaust valve guide and stem have also had a radical overhaul. The valve guide porting has been enlarged by 50% and re-designed to direct gas as efficiently and smoothly as possible through the valve and bolt on to the ball with minimum flow distortion.

The valve stem has seen a complete redesign,with a NEW valve stem, NEW spring and NEW spring guide being made as one modular system, offering even better shot to shot consistency. The valve, spring, and guide have also been miniaturised to facilitate a larger gas chamber. This, combined with a larger volume chamber in the mini reg, lowers the operating pressure of the marker to 225psi with no volumizer present, making the G7 the lowest pressure Angel ever, A small volumizer can still be used to lower the pressure even further if required.

The G7’s grip frame and trigger mechanism is identical to the awesome Angel Speed. The trigger is held by two roller bearings so it runs friction free. The trigger incorporates a dual polarity magnet system that uses 4 magnets. Two located in the trigger itself and a further two located in the G7’s vernier adjustment wheels. The magnets work in pairs. The front pair work as an attracting pair, the rear pair as an opposing set. This creates an ultra-smooth, crisp trigger action that has been so popular in the Angel Speed, and provides the perfect interface to deliver the G7’s awesome rate of fire of 31 balls per second at a consistent velocity.

The G7’s moulded grip panels have built in windows revealing the marker's advanced LCD user- interface and the reprogramming sensor. The redesigned panels allow for a slimmer narrower feeling grip. This redesign, coupled with additional tactile panels on the front and rear of the frame, gives four contact points between the hand and the grip frame. You have never been more in control.

The Angel G7's 3 function buttons are situated under a soft rubber membrane.

The 4.8 volt rechargeable metal hydride battery is still used, only this time it is a slim line version that is 1oz (28 grams) lighter than the previous battery, further reducing the guns overall weight.

The LPR in the Angel G7 has also been completely re-designed. The porting has been opened up by 50% and the springs and piston have been remodelled, to increase the gas flow and re-charge rate,. As a result, there has been a massive increase in stability and recovery rate, giving the user unsurpassed shot to shot consistency. Guaranteeing zero drop in range or accuracy even while achieving the G7’s incredible 31bps rate of fire.

The mini reg incorporates a front tactile rubber grip for extra control and stability, whilst inside the porting has been increased 100% to allow for even greater gas supply and increased flow to cope with lower pressure and increased fire power.

The G7’s bolt is still based on the proven soft face bolt, but is now longer, and designed to work in tandem with the new high-flow valving, to ensure smooth turbulence-free travel for the gas blast as it is released to fire the paintball. This increases gas efficiency and shot to shot consistency.

The Angels advanced electronics have always been the industry benchmark. The G7’s board incorporates all the technical features loved by Angel users the world over. The Angel G7 now incorporates the 'switch ON and GO' feature as proven in the Angel Speed. Vibrating alarms and game timers that can be set in 30 second increments, shot counters, temperature read out, Infrared communication, trigger de-bounce settings, and the usual array of modes that one would expect from the Worlds most advanced Paintball Marker.

Due to the diversification of tournament rules, extra modes have been added to the G7’s arsenal, including the introduction of 15 bps capped modes. These new modes allow G7 users to out-shoot their opponents no matter what tournament restrictions are in place.

The loader speed settings have also been increased. The standard, medium, fast and S-fast settings seen on the fly are replaced with settings that run from 1 to 16 with the familiar S-fast setting actually equating to a number 8 setting. This further increases the users opportunity of achieving the Angel's incredible maximum rate of fire when used in conjunction with a fully functional, high performance loader.

The G7 is available in the following colours
Black Gloss Polish
Graphite Gloss Polish
Red Gloss Polish
Deep Blue Gloss Polish
Black Dust
Graphite Dust

• NEW smaller, lighter rechargeable battery unit.
• NEW Breech release system
• NEW redesigned Zero Kick Ram Unit
• NEW modular Exhaust system
• NEW smaller 14 way valve
• NEW Larger Volume chambers and sculpted gas porting
• for even lower pressure
• NEW longer, remodelled Soft Face Bolt.
• NEW modes of fire
• NEW Gripper Panels
• 45 frame or 90 frame Grip Options
• Hi-Gloss ‘Liquid finish’
Product Availability 
The WDP Angel G7 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
drummerguy791 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego 06
impulse
shocker
Marker Setup: Black dust Angel g7 w/ a "14 dye ultralite barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mabe a barrel if thats ur style
Strengths: Very fast
accurate (ball on ball)
sexy
quiet
Weaknesses: Price is high
A lot of bells n whistles
a little bit heavy for me
Review: I got my g7 for my birth day n the very first time i shot it i wouldnt let go. many people say angels suk but i say the older ones do but the new speeds, flys, n g7s are amazing!! i was playing bak man on air ball n i was shooting ball on ball every shot! i could one ball n still rape every one. the next game i played front n i was shocked at how fast i could make this thing could rip. the gun is perfect for run throughs which im kinda known for n the thing was so quiet that they had no idea i was comin through the snake. 1 time i did a run through the middle n ripped like 3 guys to hell. i play at a field where there isnt one person without a really nice gun n this baby was turnin heads all over. My first tourny with it when i was under pressure, i was able to snap out n rip since the trigger frame is so deep n the trigger is so long. id say one of my favorite features is the fact that u can adjust the trigger easily to fit ur style. its almost impossible to not love a g7.
Conclusion: I say if u have a lot of money then definetely get this puppy. u wont regret n u wont b takin those frusturating weekly repair trips. ive had mine for a year and not one problem wut so ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xXpbguruXx Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing, this thing is a beast
Marker Setup: Blue to Black Fade Angel G7
Halo B
45/3000 hp
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tado Board
Strengths: -Fast as ****
-Light
-Reliable
-Incredible sculpted body
-User friendly
Weaknesses: Price
Review: The Angel G7 IMO is the best Angel to hit the shelves in years. While still managing to uphold the Angel tradition of quality, the G7 makes its own mark with newer features that blow away the competition. The smaller gun profile of the G7 makes its smaller and more aerodynamic than previous Angel models. With the capability to cycle 31 times a second this gun will shoot as fast as your finger can pull the trigger. With a user friendly LCD screen you can adjust every aspect of your gun with ease. This is one of the few markers out there that will own straight out of the box. If you want a gun to match your skills this is the one for you. The only flaw is that its price is not for those with a thin wallet, but if you can find the cash you will not be dissapointed.
Conclusion: Not recommended for those afraid to bring themselves to the peak of their ability. Play with caution, marker may make you a marked man for the day.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 9th, 2006 at 6:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbweapon Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ego,karni,angel speed 06
Marker Setup: angel G7 stainless steel freak empire B with rip drive angel air warped sprotz grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
Strengths: Fast,accurate,light,worth the money
Weaknesses: Everone compaines about how good ur gun is,its from europe
Review: i got this gun from my friend who gave me a major discount.i got it for about 900$ and the next day i went out and played at a local field we got 1st with the help of this gun.......not saying that u get skill from a gun but this thing rocks like no other.i love how light it is.I have it shooting about 24-26 bps and it hits about a 6 inch radus from about 40 ft using draxxus hellfire in 60 degree weather.
Conclusion: I would get this gun for full price and then some its a great gun and is hands down one of the best markers out there so far its never chopped a ball and it fast as he*#
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hooper Monday, February 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I currently use a viking, a WAS'd impulse, a sniper II, and an IR3 as well. The viking is still my favorite, but mostly out of nostalgia. It is not nearly as fast or as nice as the G7.

Marker Setup: G7, usually the stock barrel, unimount, angel air and either a halo b or Vlocity loader.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None, really. Obviously if you don't have a fast hopper you should buy one, and a barrel kit is also a good idea.
Strengths: Speed, appearance, and weight.
Weaknesses: Cost is really the only weakness.
Review: Angels have incredibly high retail prices only matched by their incredibly low resale prices. A decent used G7 can be had on Ebay for <700 dollars, while a new one is around a thousand or above. Mine was purchased used from a friend with only 18k shots on it for this price.

When I first aired it up, I took note that this angel is the lightest one yet. It is lighter than all my other guns, while at the same time having a solid, compact feel to it. The grip frame is the now-standard 90 degree, however it is somewhat thinner in comparison to the earlier angels (a4 and ir3 for instance) that also featured this 90 degree trigger frame.

The electronic menu layout appears to be the same as the one in the A4, albeit the buttons are no longer exposed. Instead, there is a thick layer of rubber on top of them that you press in order to activate them. This can be annoying, as it takes a decent amount of force applied in a very direct location in order to activate the button.

The breech system is different as well. You no longer have to adjust the ram; however, now when it is de-gassed you have to either push the bolt all the way back with your finger or use a pencil to push the ram back slightly in order to close the breech.

The eyes work excellently, however the "red glow" is overrated. My "red glow" is barely noticeable. The eyes are a vast improvement over the previous "COPS" and "SENSI" system employed by WDP, and are in fact a "break-beam" system.

The trigger is a love-it-or-hate-it situation. It can be very finicky and difficult to adjust, and the weight of the trigger is rather heavy from the factory. Thankfully, another friend set it up for me beforehand with his own triggerjob, so it is much lighter and snappier than a stock one.

Performance wise, it is accurate, has no kick, and is very fast. I consistently shoot at 20-22bps with a halo B. Moreover, the addition of a very high trigger offset gives the user the effect of a ramping shot mode. The gun is also light and compact, and with an air tank and fully loaded halo B it is still light and well-balanced. This gun gives one a feeling of security, given that you have a lot of firepower in a small package. My only gripe is that the regulator & trigger frame are annoed black. On my gun this is not a problem, since it is a black-blue fade. However, some of the earlier ones & most or all of the speeds were cursed with a plasticy-black trigger frame that contrasted sharply with their red or blue annoed bodies.
Conclusion: This gun is the best gun that can be bought. Out of all the high-end guns, it offers the best balance of speed, reliablity, and usability. I would not recommend it to a newcomer though, unless they are patient and willing to read the manual several times.

Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pajapcs Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm5
Marker Setup: G7 halo b rip drive and nothing else really needed
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast
Acurrate
Gas doesnt go quick
Easy to change modes
Weaknesses: None
Review: it is a very good gun and i would reccomend it to every one because my friends it was their like first time walking a trigger and they got it to like 10-15 because the trigger i like a feather. I love it even though i got it for x-mas.
Conclusion: Buy it is consistant and you can save a lot of money on gas
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frokester Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye, Timmy, older Angels
Marker Setup: Angel G7 PMI Air Empire Reloader B Empire Barrel Kit
WGP Outkast PMI Air Redz Pepperstickz Kit
CCI Phantom
PMI 1 SC
Sheridan KP3
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (optional)
Strengths: Milling
Speed
Quality
Weaknesses: Settings can be confusing
Review: I got my G7 six months ago and wanted to break it in before I wrote a review. I love this gun, the finish is just beautiful, the trigger is fast and your friends will all want one.
I will start with the obvious, this thing is fast, very fast and smooth. Not much kick and not too loud. The stock barrel is great as long as your paint matches, I only got a kit because of a great price on Ebay. Air efficiency has improved over time as the internals are broken in. The electronics are easy to use but the amount of adjustments and settings can be a bit much but with a little patience you will get everything you need.
The manual can be a bit vague and makes certain assumptions as to your knowledge of the product. Any additional questions can always be answered on any of the Angel forums.
The only problem I have had with it was after 25k shots or so I started getting a lot of velocity fluxuation +/- 30 per shot, so I cleaned out the reg and it was kinda dirty, problem solved.




9
Conclusion: Overall I am very happy with this marker and would recommend it to anyone who wants a high end gun. They are pricey but you get what you pay for. Keep it clean and properly lubed and it will serve you well.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

racindemon Friday, September 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix with TMC eyes, Evolve bolt, anderson board, evil pipe kit barrel.
Marker Setup: Angel G7
Halo with v35 and rip drive
lp tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
No upgrades recommended do recommend proper break in and proper settings
Strengths: Speed Speed Speed Looks and back to speed again accuracy
Weaknesses: None
Review: Just set the gun up. Did the trigger job and shot a case of paint through it yesterday. This gun is very fast. Accuracy was ok compared to my Matrix but the speed was amazing. Once I got use to the trigger (which is very easy to do) the gun got faster. I cant wait to break the gun in to then really set it up. Looks are awesome. The body is really easy to clean (just wipe down). Another amazing feature is the air consumption. It doesnt consume any. If you get a chance try one that has been properly tuned and has had a trigger job done to give the gun a fair review. Anyone can walk this gun. You will love this marker....
Conclusion: Would recommed this gun to anyone who does not like to tinker with there paintball gun. (I hated lubing my matrix bolt and finding bad rings). Love the fact u just turn the gun on and it rips. Also forgot to fill up and the gun went all day with one air fill. This gun is a keeper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

CalGuardArsenal Monday, July 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed, Angel Fly, Angel IR3
Marker Setup: Liquid Black G7
VL Egg w Z board
Pure NRG 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel as it will increase accuracy
Strengths: Fast, reliable, efficient
Weaknesses: None
Review: Fantastic!!!!! Out of the box 289/291/290. That was out of the box seriously. It is simple to use and higly accurate. There is a reason Arsenal, Joy Division and Avalanche use this marker. You can never go wrong with a WDP product. The different firing modes are simple and easy to configure, but it true power is in its trigger set up and how fast you can rip in semi mode. The new internals are a true work of art, the kick is almost nil. You can rip large volumes and have almost no walk, plus for snap shooting, its a dream.
Conclusion: If you havve the money, well worth it. Even if you don't ...SAVE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

new storm Friday, July 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmies, Shockers, Eblades, everything.
Marker Setup: Black to Red fade Angel G7, Cp Direct mount asa, Reloader B, 45/4500 Center flag lp tank, 16" Dye UL.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, but first a reloader B fo sho!
Strengths: Disgustingly fast. Will run circles around any Tadaod Marker Guarenteed.
Weaknesses: None
Review: At first i was die hard set on Intimidators. Even after shooting the G7 I wouldnt put my Timmy down. Then little by little I began to notice the Quality of the G7, and how it outperforms, outshoots, and kicks the crap out of any other marker, hands down. After playing with a few secret settings(pm me for fast as hell settings) I let her rip. Holy crap...fast. I checked the rof, hopper after hopper. This thing was blazin 28bps consistently. Believe it. My Tadaod Timmy on uncapped ramping looked like a peashooter compared to this thing. Angel has developed a gun that can CYCLE AND SHOOT 30+ bps, and they're not kidding. Buy one and see for yourself.
Conclusion: Buy it. Search online for great deals. I got mine for $1250 w/ a free tank. Bargains are out there... FIND THEM! Super quality, Obnoxiuosly fast, great customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 1st, 2005 at 3:23 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

shortbus4u Sunday, October 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder imagine Viewloader/14' bombstick
Stock G7/ Trinity clamping feed neck, CP on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck
G7 "Manual for dummies"
Strengths: Sexy styling
Weaknesses: Over kill on the settings
Review: Just bought my G7 and i like the gun. There is no doubt in my mind i will get more kills on the field with it. The manual is frustrating, WDP just asssumes you know everything about marker set up and really doesn't explain it real well. It is a bit louder than i expected it to be but from what i have read it just needs some adustments made. Over all i think i will love it but is not for beginers at all!
Conclusion: Great gun but not for beginers at all!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (6):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media