paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Tippmann Custom Pro Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
If it’s accuracy and deeper strikes you want, this beefed-up version of our 98 Custom™ will surely help you make your mark. The black Custom Pro™ comes standard with upgrades such as an 11-inch high-performance stone-honed barrel for better accuracy, a double-trigger for better control and faster firing and a drop forward. The Custom Pro also has the ability to accept the Flatline™ Barrel System, Sniper barrels, the Response™ Trigger System, E-Trigger, collapsible stock, rear-cocking system, vertical adapter kit, vertical and expansion chamber kit and the low pressure system.

With its all aluminum die cast receiver and new, extra-sturdy black finish, the semi-automatic Custom Pro™ also features a quick-release feeder elbow, removable front grip to accept expansion chamber and vertical kits, and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully-customizable to enhance performance and compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
piggypoopoo1 Thursday, December 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months37 of 46 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Custom Pro , Empire Reloader2 , Smart Parts progresssive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: Durable,afforodable,and lots of upgrades.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I bought this gun a few months ago, it is a really good gun for the mony.It can be a gun for begineers or for more advanced players ,if you get good upgades.There are lots of cool upgrades for this gun , One cool upgrade is the E-grip, its one upgrade that you can't get for a 98 custom.
Conclusion: If you are just starting out, this would be a good gun to buy ,its cheap durable , and dependable. Trust me on this, it is worth every penny!

Please rate this review
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 1st, 2005 at 5:00 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

OrangeBatman Sunday, May 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months30 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Tl Plus
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Strengths: In Review
Weaknesses: In Review
Review: Pros:
Fast
Looks Great
Accurate
Short With the New Drop Forward
Double Trigger Makes Shooting Better, Can Shoot With One Or 2 Fingers
New Paintjob On The Gun Is Impossible To scratch!!!!

Cons:
New Barrel Scratches Easy
Doenst Like Any Brass Eagle Paint (Or Maybe Its Just the Crappy Paint)
Conclusion: I Would 100% Get This Gun, if Your Thinking About A Custom, Get This gun Fo Only $20 More, It Is Well Worth It, Perfect Beginner Or Intermidiate Gun!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

dyeordie Thursday, May 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months21 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Tippmann A5
Tippmann Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro Basic soon to be Electronic....with a 14" progressive barrel ( :
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel (you dont need one stock barrel is great but for increased accuracy)
Electronic loader
Strengths: Double Finger trigger
Drop Forward
Great stock barrel
somewhat fast (15 bps)
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is almost a replica of the model 98 or 98 custom but with some slight changes it can come electronic in response or basic, comes witha drop forward and a 11" inch barrel also a double finger trigger works great in bushball not to bad in speedball so this is my type of gun its great for stepping up a level and a pretty good starters gun!! I would Reccomend you buy this and im sure everyone else agrees with me.
Conclusion: I reccomend it explained above ^^^^^^^^^^^^ have fun with it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pmipaintballer Thursday, May 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years21 of 26 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: Tippman Pro Custom, Empire Reloader 2 hopper, 20 oz. Co2 tank, 14'' Smart Parts Teardrop Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A 14'' barrel
Strengths: -Looks
-New paint job
-Speed (10-12 bps)
-Really quiet
-Price
Weaknesses: Nothing that I have found
Review: This is an awesome gun. It was only $159!!! It has a double trigger and a drop forwoard! I was very pleased with the results that I got. This gun looks cool, shoots fast and accurate and is quiet. What more can you ask for? The paint is was using sucked, but it shot it well anyway. I've found that this gun works great with Zap Spank paintballs. I havent had a single break and I've played 6 games already. I can't ask any more from it.
Conclusion: Overall, this is one heck of a gun. You can get it form Action Village for only $159, so get it...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 17th, 2006 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment

THEMENACE2224 Sunday, October 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Pro-am, Brass Eagle Raptor ( I own both), and a plethura of other guns.
Marker Setup: 14 in. rifled barrel, red dot swiss arms scope.
Recommended
Upgrades:
what i have got already on there. And definantly a stock. The Spec Ops commando stock looks good.
Strengths: Has a durable reciever, and other 98c strengths.
Weaknesses: Far to cool looking. someone may try to steal it because of it's awsomeness.
Review: WOW. WOW. And again, WOW. -pause for dramatic effect-


This gun is absolutly phenominal. Right out of the box, it shot very straight and long. All of the great things about a 98 custom, with a little extra nice. The stock barrel is pretty good, as far as a stock barrel can go. The double trigger is an absolute MUST, which lets you shot fast, but also with a very short trigger pull. the drop forward is something that you could live without, but when you put a stock on, it becomes very crucial to a balanced gun. As for upgrades, you should put on what ever you feel comfortal with. But you should deffenantly consider a stock, (maybe a spec ops commando stock).
Conclusion: Good for new players. Old players can upgrade this gun to whatever they need.

Best.

Gun.

Ever.

Period.


please rate this review.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 4th, 2006 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

TheMedievalMan Sunday, October 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom, just as good as the Custom Pro. Just without the extra upgrades. The stock barrel sucks horribly though. But the Custom Pro barrel is decent at least.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with J&J Edge Barrel Kit, Response Trigger, Cyclone Feeder, Double Trigger, Clear Dye Sticky Grips, Rocket Cock II, Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster, Skull Drop Forward, Lapco Raised Sight Rail and Dead On X-Core Expansion Chamber.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger, new barrel (I suggest J&J ceramic), if you do get response trigger, get an electric hopper or the new cyclone feeder.
Strengths: Very reliable and upgradable like its predecessors. Extra upgrades than the original 98 custom.
Weaknesses: Barrel, although better than the 98 Custom version, its still not that accurate.
Review: Let me just say that the Model 98 Custom in all of its makes and versions, is an amazing yet simple paintball gun. I have used and owned many paintball guns including electro-pneumatics, autocockers, spyders (clones as well) and many more. Out of the many paintball guns I have used the 98 Custom is by far my favorite of them all. I have upgraded my 98 Custom to nearly everything I want. And I have made my set up not only effecient, but fast in shooting and loading out of completely mechanical parts as well. That is the beauty of its customization. I especially love the paintjob and extra upgrades the gun came with at such a good price. Although I do own and use the Model 98 Custom as my gun of choice. I have purchased the Custom Pro and I am holding on to it until Christmas when I will be giving it to someone as a gift. Until the mean time, the gun will be used and closely examined during its use with me.

1. Performance- The Custom Pro shoots very well out of the box. Its simple, you just gas it up and it just shoots. No need for timing, or adjustments. Just like many other paintball guns its league, the simple design can be understood by a child. The trigger pull is very light for a mechanical. When you pull the trigger you dont have to put strain on it at all, just a gentle squeeze is enough to give it a shot. Unlike many other guns out there, there is no trigger wobble, and there is no excess trigger pull like you might find in Spyders. Every bit of the trigger is exactly what you need to make the shot from the moment you pull it, to the moment you let it go. Kick on the gun is controllable, and not as strong as other blow backs. The sight is adjustable and allows you to make adjustments for near or far shots when the ball begins to arc. The accuracy is better than the previous Model 98's, but its still lacking. An after market barrel would be a good start in upgrade selection. But it is good that its not horrible like the two previous Model 98. So at least you will have decent accuracy for your stock set up at least. One of the things I appreciated in its design was the fact that the new double trigger for the Custom Pro is redesigned with a trigger guard that allows your middle finger to be placed behind the guard for a one finger operation when you want it. The other trigger guards of many double triggers out there for the 98 Custom had a shape that did not allow you to place your middle finger comfortably around the grip when you werent using it because the guard was in the way, or some required you to cut out a piece of the grip to place the guard into the handle. This new design is definately much better in terms of comfort, and convenience.

2. Upgradability- The Custom Pro comes stock with some useful upgrades. A drop forward, a double trigger and an eleven inch barrel. The price of the Custom Pro versus the price for the 98 Custom makes the Custom Pro with its improvements worth the extra investment. For those that would buy the 98 Custom and plan on purchasing similiar upgrades in the future, I would suggest to go with the Pro version because it will save you money in the end. Another great feature of the Custom Pro is the ability to place an e-grip in it. Although it is true you can place the e-grip in the 98 Custom, there will be some modification involved. The Custom Pro has a slightly redesigned internals in the handle that allows it to accept an e-grip as a drop in upgrade. Of course the Custom Pro just like the 98 Custom before it can accept many upgrades out there, making it very easy to customize to the owners taste. Pretty much anything you can think of in a paintball gun, can be bought and installed into the 98 Custom and Custom Pro. Making the 98 Custom and Pro the most upgradable marker out there.

3. Reliability- Out of the many paintball guns out there, with the exception of maybe the automag, none can match the 98 Customs reputation for extreme reliability, and the Pro version is no exception. Other than oiling every now and then, the gun hardly needs any maintanance. There are some people who are so lazy, they dont even oil the thing. Which I do not suggest you do. But for those who do not properly maintain oil their 98's, the guns just keep on going. I have owned my 98 Custom for about a year now, and I have yet to need to change a single part, not even an o-ring. All I do is apply a few drops of oil in the sear, bolt and rear striker and thats it. As for the new Custom Pro, the same applies for it. My 98 Custom has not need any repairs, and has not failed on me in the middle of any game, or between games for that matter. I definately expect to see the same kind of reliability from the Custom Pro. The Custom Pro even has a much better paintjob than the previous versions. The 98 Custom was known to have a paintjob that would peel over time, which is why some people choose to have theirs repainted. But whatever the paintjob Tippmann put on the Custom Pro, it looks and feels much stronger than that of the 98 Customs.
Conclusion: Well, I have been impressed again by Tippmanns ideas. And coming up with ways to improve the 98 Custom even better is another good step for them. I am glad to see that they have decided to place a more decent barrel onto the Custom Pro seeing as how the stock barrel of the previous versions was horrible and unworthy to come in the same box with the Model 98s. The double trigger guard is redesigned for the better, and the drop forward makes the long shaped gun more compact. However, one feature they should have improved was a way to more easily field strip the gun. That is the one feature they should have added that would have definately made the Custom Pro a true improvement over the 98 Custom, rather than just a 98 Custom with a good paint job and three already placed upgrades. The need for a quick field strip on the 98 is most needed, and it is dissapointing that Tippmann failed to realize this need. However, the reliability of the Tippmann line of guns makes up for the lack of this feature.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 17th, 2005 at 12:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippyprouser Saturday, June 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98
Marker Setup: Custom Pro
14" Tear Drop
GTA Inline Expansion Chamber Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
14" Barrel (A tear drop is a good choice)
Expansion Chamber or Regulator
Strengths: dbl trigger, better stock barrel, drop foreward, better than C98!!!
Weaknesses: Barrel is good but you should get a new one.
Review: I went to the store a couple of months ago with my brother. I was going to buy the Custom 98 Power pack. But then my brother talked me into the custom pro. So when i got home i started firing off. Oh my god. I couldn't believe how better it was than the C98. (I have shot one just stock parts) Also this gun was very durable. I have only dropped it once. I was panicking of course but I just picked it up and shot a shot and it still worked. Oh ya it also has a cool paint job then the Custom 98.
Conclusion: I recommend this product fully. For either beginners, or even Experts. It is an awsome gun. and it costs less than the Custom 98 power pack. (Even though you have to buy a tank and mask seperate. But the mask in the pack is a cheap one anyways) Go people right now and buy!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment

Angdvl089 Friday, May 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month10 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom, 98, spyders, gt 2000
Marker Setup: *stock*
11" honed werks barrel by TIPPMANN
drop forward
double trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: Seee Review
Review: Pros:
*very accurate in good conditions
*shoots faster than regular custom
*polished internals

Cons:
*recoil
*somewhat loud

ive only been playing for 2-3 weeks and ive only shot 98's and spyders but i know for a fact that this is a good quality gun. this gun is deadly accurate, shoots fast, and its a TIPPMANN so its durable. the drop forward helps you tuck in a lot and it doesnt make the gun look so long. The trigger is really nice because you can shoot so much faster. Another thing is the barrel, although it chips fairly easily, its accurate. Ive only played one day (6 matches) and when i played i only broke 3 balls and i played for the entire day.
Conclusion: this is an awesome beginner gun and is great for woods play. some people will say tippmanns suck and but that is because most of this sport is speedball and tippmanns aren't known very well for shooting 20+ (except maybe the A-5). If you are a newbie like me check out this gun before you buy anything.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

Squirrelking Wednesday, October 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot ACS
Tons of different rental guns on playing fields
Spyder Fenix
Marker Setup: Custom Pro Basic (drop forward, double trigger, 11" barrel)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Front Grip (the stock one is cheap plastic and WILL break at some point)
E-trigger (for flexibilty, i.e. firing modes)
Cyclone feeder (for maximum feeding and less chops)
Longer barrel or Flatline (the stock 11" barrel is fine, but there are better barrels out there...)
Strengths: Durability, sturdiness, look, comfort, precision, incredible price value, customization
Weaknesses: Weight, right handed design (more in review), loose feeder elbow
Review: Ok, first off, you must know that I have always loved Tippmann products and it's now a dream come true to finally have one! I am fully aware that it's not the best marker out there, but the look and reputation kept me hooked. If you are like me before I bought this marker, than this review is for you. If you are just looking at various products and happen to fall on this one, than this review is also for you!

PROS

Comfort factor: I love the way you can hold this marker. It just feels right. Both grips are well thought of in their design and fit the hand like a dream. You can shoot the double trigger with one or two fingers and your comfort will not be affected.

Overall design: The space between the front grip and the main one is perfect for me. Although I'm aware not every one is made like me, I think that the grip placement is adequate for most people. They really give you a great two-hand control over the marker. I like the fact that the feeder elbow comes out the side of the marker and not the top. This gives me a clear line of site to where I'm shooting at.

Durability: this gun is tough! just holding it in your hands makes you feel what this gun can take. You've probably heard stories about markers being run over by cars and such but all stories aside, this gun can take some punishment! Heck, it's made for it!

Look: I'm not a fan of those futuristic looking markers, that's why the Custom Pro is for me. All black, it has a mean look to it that just makes you feel like you are holding a real rifle. Of course, it could never be mistaken for one, but just the same, it still feels good!

Precision: I was very impressed with this marker. At about forty feet, it had a nice spread pattern about the width of a man's chest. What more would you want? I have played with some markers that literally could not hit the side of a barn at twenty feet so this is a welcome improvement. Now is this the most accurate marker out there? Of course not. But it shoots perfect for what I want.

Price value: You want to spend a fortune? Go for an Angel marker. You want to spend the best cash for quality ratio? Go for the Custom Pro.

Customization: One of the main reasons I got this marker is that I can customize it to hell and back. There isn't much I can't change to my liking. You want automatic firing? E-trigger. You want a better trigger but no electronics? Response trigger. You want more range and accuracy? Flatline barrel. Feeder not up to your specs? Cyclone Feeder system. Honestly, whatever you want, this marker can have it.

CONS

weight: this marker is a bit heavier than every other marker I have ever played with. Shooting it one handed is a waste of ammo. But I guess you gotta take the weight if you want a sturdy marker!

Right handed design: Here's the problem. If you are left handed, then you will not like this marker. The feeder elbow comes out the right side of the marker so the hopper will be right in your face, sure you can have a straight line of sight by aiming with the sights, but this will still leave you with a blind spot, a big one... Cocking the bolt will also be a problem as you will have to reach over your marker to do so. It's not much, but it's inconvenient. P.S. I'm right handed.

Loose feeder elbow: Now, I don't think the elbow will fall off during a game but I wouldn't stake my life on it. It's not air tight and this makes me wonder if it affects performance. I don't know if the Cyclone feeder solves this problem though...

Conclusion: For beginners or veterans, this marker can do whatever you want. It comes great out of the box and can become greater with a wide range of upgrades.

P.S. By what I've seen in videos and on the net, I would not recommend this marker for Fastball tournaments. I think this marker is made for Woodsball and that is where it shines!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

wpballer Sunday, November 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Spyder Imagine
Spyder TLX
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, Lapco Twist Lock Feed, ACS Delrin Bolt, Shocktech Shim and Spring Kits
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really, It is good how it is. I mean you could get a e-grip or response trigger but you dont really need it
Strengths: -Strong and Durable
-Shorter due to drop
-More confortable
-Stock Barrel
Weaknesses: ..............Maybe the barrel but even the barrel is pretty good for stock
Review: This is a pretty good beginner or intermediate marker. It is way better than any of the spyder listed about and it is a little better than the 98 custom. The 98 custom isnt as accurate stock because the pro has a better , longer barrel. The drop makes it very confortable to shoot and the double ifnger trigger is nice. Also, the new finish is nice too .
Conclusion: A great gun for almost any skill level. I would recommend this as a first gun for any player.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media