paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Tippmann Custom Pro Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
If it’s accuracy and deeper strikes you want, this beefed-up version of our 98 Custom™ will surely help you make your mark. The black Custom Pro™ comes standard with upgrades such as an 11-inch high-performance stone-honed barrel for better accuracy, a double-trigger for better control and faster firing and a drop forward. The Custom Pro also has the ability to accept the Flatline™ Barrel System, Sniper barrels, the Response™ Trigger System, E-Trigger, collapsible stock, rear-cocking system, vertical adapter kit, vertical and expansion chamber kit and the low pressure system.

With its all aluminum die cast receiver and new, extra-sturdy black finish, the semi-automatic Custom Pro™ also features a quick-release feeder elbow, removable front grip to accept expansion chamber and vertical kits, and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully-customizable to enhance performance and compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Gunchicken Thursday, June 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5, Spyder TLX, Ion, and Epiphany.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro, Lapco Bigshot barrel, Dead on X-core 8 stage expansion chamber, vertical adaptor.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, perferably the Lapco Bigshot.
Strengths: Accurate
Balls almost never break
Durable
Awsome finish
Fast
Weaknesses: For the whine babys, its a little loud
Review: Ok, i have used this gun for 3 years, hasnt broke or gotten scrached. I did accidently strip the screws to the power tube because i didnt know when to stop. Its very simple to take apart and put back togeather, it can get very anoying sometimes because of the front site spring. Its an awsome gun for woodsballing because of the accuracy for you snipers. you dont have to pull the trigger far at all so its use full in speed ball, and for senerio its probly one of the best guns you can use.
Conclusion: If you dont want to spend to much money on the A-5 then, GET THIS GUN!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintedDonk Monday, April 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro w/ e-grip
Lapco Bigshot, Stock Barrel,
Cyclone Feed
remote coil (sometimes)
Recommended
Upgrades:
DOP Pro Seal, 14" Barrel, remote line, stock
Strengths: Reliability, maintainability, simplicity og design, durability, well suited for upgrades.
Weaknesses: Loud firing...
Review: I spent approx. a month reading reviews on markers (that appear more for woods-ball use) & found that the Custom Pro had all qualities of the previous C98 w/ market necessitated upgrades & might be exactly what I'd need.
I haven't been disappointed with the results in woods-ball. We play on a field with annual temps from -5 Cel upto +25 cel. My Cpro performed sufficiently under conditions where others failed consistently (e.g. the younger bro. A5)
The Stock barrel has Not 'til now been picky on paint even at low temps. (ball breaks do occur but are easily manageable.)
Conclusion: I recommend this marker as a starter to any beginner or woods-ball/recreational player. If you can afford it, buy the Custom Pro w/ e-grip & from there upgrade your barrel! That's probably all you need to become a foe to be reckoned w/ on the field!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 8th, 2006 at 4:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tyler Myers Tuesday, November 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: custom pro basic, 14 " teardrop barrel, Mach 404 electronic hopper, 20 oz co2 with coiled remote

soon to come (Response trigger, and cyclone feed)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger, better barrel
Strengths: Drop forward, and double trigger
Weaknesses: Bad stock barrel, a little loud
Review: I wanted to buy a 98 custom, but when i got to the store i had to have the custom pro. It was the first time i had seen the drop forward and double trigger. I also bought the custom pro becuase i heard tippmanns are very reliable guns. So i went home and tested it. I couldnt believe how much better it was then the 98 custom. It is expecially good for woodsball becuase of the realtree camo, and with the duracoat paint i dont have to worry about it chipping when i drop it. The custom pro can also take flatline, reponse trigger, and any other upgrade that is made for the 98 custom. I have used this gun many times and i have never chopped a ball even with cheep paint!
Conclusion: This is a great gun for begginers and advanced player. It is a little loud and needs a better barrel so i give it a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Harrie Bunyuon Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
98
A5

Marker Setup: Crossfire 72 4500
Halo electric hopper
14 inch J&J
Recommended
Upgrades:
Performance wise get
- An electric hopper ,cyclone feed upgrade, or Q-Loader.

- A new barrel.. 16 inch Barrel (maximum) I like J&J's, Apex, or Flatline. Plan on buying good paint also.. Especially for Flatlines. If you go with the flatline never oil it. If you want something more simple get an Apex ( less tinkering, easier to clean, less paint picky)

- HPA. CO2 is way to inconsistant. In the long run buying yourself a nice HPA tank beats buying an expansion chamber.

- For quiet firing.. a quiet barrel (of course) and a rocket cock.. The rocket cock covers the side of your gun where the cocking mechanism is.. it keeps sound in and dirt out.. a cheap upgrade that might be worth the money.. I'll be getting one soon probably and will have more info for that later.
Strengths: -Durability
-Reliability
-Firing
-Accurate
- ACT (Mine has it)
Weaknesses: -Not for tourny/speedball.
-Mildy Loud
Review: This gun is perfect if you play nothing but woodsball and scenario, I highly suggest this as more of a backup or starting gun until you can afford something with higher upgradablilty. If your looking for a longterm and more modable gun .. look into the A5, or soon to come X7.

Expect good play from this gun. If you want to be shooting balls instead of air deffinately get a better hopper. If you put a flatline barrel on it make sure you [don't] oil the barrel, and buy good paint. Or you can get an Apex .. and save yourself the hastle..

Even though the gun is farely loud, most people will be intimidated



Conclusion: I give it a 9 out of 10. I highly suggest it for woodsballers and scenario players but really for newer players or just as a backup.

Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 13th, 2006 at 5:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jesterh Friday, September 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Genesis surge 2
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro basic, red dot
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, it is fine by itself although some say barrel
Strengths: Accuracy,price easy on co2 and easy to maintain and clean
Weaknesses: I haven't found any weaknesses yet
Review: This is the best choice I have ever made. I am so glad that I bought the tippmann custom pro basic. This gun is excellent for the price. Don't get me wrong just because it's only 200 dolars canadian doesn't mean it isn't good. The accuracy is phenominal. I can hit pop cans at 30 yards away.It has improved my game a lot. It is an excellent choice for woodsball. It even won me a game. It was a 6 vs 6 and my five other friends on my team had gotten. Also there was only 1 guy left on the opposing team. It was my brother and unfortunatley for him he was using my old genesis surge 2.He was fifty feet away and we both spotted each other and fired a single shot( I know it sounds weird that we would only shoot once but we did) and he missed and I hit him right in the mask. The tippmann had won me the game. I have only chopped on paintball in my 20 rounds of using it and I was using shabby zap paint. This gun is also easy to clean and maintain. This gun shouldn't break unless you are a complete plug and drop your gun every round.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone begginner or intermediate who plays woods ball. You will not be disappointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

aussiek2000 Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Stock Custom Pro
power pack
20 oz. crome-moly tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast
Looks
Price
Barrel
Weaknesses: None
Review: I am a beginner and I found that this was a very good gun. I was using using junk $30 Zap balls and didn't break any. I would say that if you are a beginner looking for a gun buy this one. No matter what people say this barrel shoots good and it is fast even when it is stock.
Conclusion: Buy it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MorphiNoMan Monday, July 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
All stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel (Tippmann werks for example), a car stock then a good expansion chamber and / or remote line and a better hopper. For hardcore players then an E-grip would be a good investment.
Strengths: - Accurate
- Sight
- Indestructible
- Reliable
- Easy to strip
- Really cheap
- Upgradable to tournament level
Weaknesses: - Loud (maybe not a weakness depending on what style you play)
- Upgrades somewhat pricey
Review: From the moment I held this gun I knew it was made tough. I had heard of tippmann's reputation for undying paintball markers and I think it is justly justified. I had no difficulty stripping the gun and oiling everything that needed to be. Just watch out for the springs that might jump out if you're not careful when removing one side.

As far as accuracy goes, it's pretty good even though I only had the chance to use smaller bore paintballs for the stock barrel since the website which I ordered from sent me the wrong paintballs. I'll update this section when I get the chance to use medium sized bore paintball.

On the chopping part, I've only chopped one ball in approximately 1200 as of yet but it's bound to happen as long as you don't get a good electric hopper.

The sight really helps when you're shooting your first ball, you don't need to adjust your shooting at all (unless you're aiming 100 feet away of course). The removable elbow is also a nice feature for a quick cleaning when a ball gets chopped.

The double trigger is pretty good even though it's made of plastic; the wobble is minimal and it does not feel like the trigger's going to break easily. Walking is really tough and it's almost impossible to get good speed (8 bps +) with the stock spring; installing a modified pen spring might be the solution for you.

I don't know why, but where we play half the players have spyders and a few of us got tippmann; weirdly everyone says that tippmanns are better. I know this is biaised and that a lot of people would tell you the opposite, but it's like that where I play. Maybe those spyder owners don't take care of their guns at all and that's why, since spyders are known to go bad when they're not maintained properly.

I tried the A-5 where I play, and I can't notice any difference in performance except that you already get a good hopper from the start and that chops are impossible as long as you don't shoot over 15 balls / second.
Conclusion: Definitely a great gun, would recommend it to any player, new or experienced. You can upgrade it to be as good as a high level gun so it's worth the buy.

I also highly recommend to anyone thinking of getting a custom 98 to get the custom pro instead since you get a lot more bang for your buck and you can get the e-grip later (not available on the custom 98).

It's not perfect, like 9.9 or 9.8 but since a lot of people give 9 for that same score I feel the need to balance everything out with a perfect score.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 14th, 2005 at 5:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdog123 Saturday, June 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann custom 98
Spyder Imagine
etc, most blowback markers
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Dye Boomstick
20 oz co2 w/ on off valve and anti-siphon

Soon to Come
View Loader Evlution II
Tippmann Response Trigger
Dye Sticky 3 Grip
BT Rocket Cock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well if you want to shoot fast, get the response trigger, but remember get a moterized loader so you dont chop as much. A new barrel is a must, even tho this one is "ok", its still not that good. If you want maximum comfort, get a sticky grip too
Strengths: Drop forward
If you want to upgrade to electric, its not as expensive as 98customs
Weaknesses: Well, the grip i find to be bad, but its ok
Review: Well, i had a tippmann 98 custom be4 this that i got from my bro. He went to college and gave it to me, but i wanted a slightly better gun. So, i sold the custom and bought a custom pro for like 50$ plus what i sold it for. This gun is good for a begginner and like a lower class intermediate. If you are a pro, why are you even looking at this???? Anyway, this gun is awesome for woodsball or outlaw ball players but bad for speedball. Its kinda big so its an easy target for speedball, but liek i said good for woodsball. I would recomend this gun to any new players or intermediate
Conclusion: If your new to the sport or started like a year ago, get it. You want a new barrel tho, I spent 120$ on a boomy, but u can spend like 30-40$ for a j&j ceramic, those are good too. I would rate this a 10, but nothings perfect, so its a 9. If i could choose, it would be a 9.9
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 28th, 2005 at 3:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartpartsion09 Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Defiant
Marker Setup: Everything is stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: Basic
Simple
Weaknesses: Very Loud
Bolt Problems
Bad stock Barrel
Review: The Tippmann Custom Pro is an ok gun. It isn't anything amazing. I would reccomend getting an ion. The bolt usually has some problems. It is a bad gun stock and overall its performance isn;t that great. It doesn't even have an expansion chamber. I just think that this gun is a little below average. Some might disagree, but it is my opinion.
Conclusion: I would get a Smart Parts Ion
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 16th, 2006 at 3:09 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

thoughtcriminal Thursday, May 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro
j+J ceramic barrel
tapco folding stock
psycho ballistics 6 inch drop
polished internals
pen spring mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
polished internals
replace sear spring with pen spring
Strengths: Effective range
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Low rof
Review: Good balance of range and speed my friend had a custom hybrid spyder sonix that can shoot about 25 bps. That gun has a 30 inch grouping at 20 yards. My tippmann has a grouping of about 10 inches at the same range. Its slow and you can't walk it, but thats ok for woodsball.
Conclusion: Good if you play woodsball. No good for speedball
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 16th, 2007 at 10:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media