paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Tippmann Custom Pro Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
If it’s accuracy and deeper strikes you want, this beefed-up version of our 98 Custom™ will surely help you make your mark. The black Custom Pro™ comes standard with upgrades such as an 11-inch high-performance stone-honed barrel for better accuracy, a double-trigger for better control and faster firing and a drop forward. The Custom Pro also has the ability to accept the Flatline™ Barrel System, Sniper barrels, the Response™ Trigger System, E-Trigger, collapsible stock, rear-cocking system, vertical adapter kit, vertical and expansion chamber kit and the low pressure system.

With its all aluminum die cast receiver and new, extra-sturdy black finish, the semi-automatic Custom Pro™ also features a quick-release feeder elbow, removable front grip to accept expansion chamber and vertical kits, and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully-customizable to enhance performance and compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
kadetkorn Thursday, April 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Marker Setup: - Tippmann 98
- Response Trigger
- Cyclone Feed
- 14" J&J Ceramic barrel
- Tippmann Drop Forward
- 5000 psi Pure Energy tank
Strengths: -12" Barrel
Weaknesses: Mine was recalled and had tons of problems!
Review: Ok, so I got this as my first gun and boy was I dissapointed. Now, I LOVE Tippmanns and I have a 98 now, but I got this gun and it had all kinds of problems. First time I shot it in my backyard, it shot fine. Accurate and comfortable. But the next time I shot it (which was at a scenario game) I was so mad. It was all the sudded breaking balls and being EXTREMELY unaccurate. The balls were literally going every direction except where I was pointing it. I ended up having to rent the rest of the day. When I got home I decided maybe my barrel had a burr in it. So I got a 32º Whisper barrel. It didnt change at all. Then, the bolts holding my powertube in fell out and the gun wouldn't recock its self. I was getting so mad I finally called Tippmann and orderd a new powertube, sear, and rear bolt hoping that it might fix it. But sure enough, it didnt do anything. After alot of head scracthing I decided once again to send my entire gun into Tippmann. Their tech support is good and they said they fixed my gun and sent it back all for free. But it stil was having the same trouble. It now was double firing and chopping. I finally sold my gun for $50 bucks and got a 98. Later, I found out that there had been a recal all some Custom Pros and mine had been one of them. Apparently, something was up with the sear and stuff. In heinssight, i probably would have bought the gun againg because it really was a good gun (when it worked the one time) and I love Tippmann. I am only giving it a bad rating because it was recalled and gave me a lot of trouble. I know this is rare for Tippmann's and that is mainly why I bought a 98 and didnt switch to a different company.
Conclusion: My gun was recalled and gave me lots of trouble, but it is a good gun when it works properly. Make sure if you have any problems with your gun double firing or anything, call Tippmann and see if your gun's serial number falls into the recall catergory. Remember, I am not rating Tippmann, this is a rating for the Custom Pro that I got and nothing more!
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 15th, 2007 at 4:32 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

whispershadow Friday, March 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None, sorry.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Homemade stock (I'm not rich so I made my own stock for it out of wood. It was quite easy really, I reccomend it for those short on funds.
No upgrades, but I took off the drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Flatline barrel or 16" tippmann sniper barrel
Collapsable stock
Remote & harness
Strengths: Accuracy, Durable, Price, Good out of Box, upgradeable.
Weaknesses: Easily surpassed in firepower
Review: I bought this Marker in a rush because I wanted to go out and play with my friends. I have never regretted it. I have found it to be a very reliable, well working marker. I also experienced extreme accuracy. Each shot was exactly like the next. I was able to hit someone's hopper at 150+ ft with just a few trial-and-error shots. I eliminated this person twice because their hopper stood up.

I was also extremely pleased at its immediate workability. I took it out of the box, put a co2 tank on, loaded the hopper, and I was ready to go. It worked perfectly the first time. The only thing I found was that the safety didn't quite work. I took it back to the store where I bought it and they replaced the marker because they couldn't fix the safety. The new safety is so strong I can hold the marker by the trigger and It won't fire.

I did not receive a barrel condom or plug with the marker and I didn't get any allan wrenches. Those two things lacking made me feel a little cheated. HOWEVER, the custom pro is a far cry from the 98 custom for a much less price.

upgrade wise, now that I am a little better, I am feeling the need for a better marker and I want to upgrade this one, but I am finding that the upgrades necessary to make it even touch some of my friend's markers are so expensive that I might as well buy a new marker.
Conclusion: I would give it, as an entry-level marker a 9. Its Ideal for a starting player, but a little pricey.
As a mid- to higher level marker I give it a 4. It is expensive to upgrade and a new marker about the same price. Overall I will give it a 7, as an average of the two ratings.

BOTTOM LINE: Newcomers, this is for you. When you get better, you will WANT something better.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

napoleon555 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann a-5
Tippmann 98c
Marker Setup: (i dont own the gun)
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
stock
remote
Strengths: This gun is very accurate and fired pretty far.
not picky about paint
Weaknesses: Not the easiest gun to take apart
Review: Several of my Friends have this gun and i have used it in many games as well. my first time paintball i was up in a tower with a rental gun and i just couldn't reach the guy i wanted so i asked my friend(who was out of the game) if i could use his gun and when i took the shot i hit my opponent dead in the face from about 30 yards. i very much recommend this gun.
Conclusion: This is a great, cheap gun that i recommend to all new and experienced players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Silent Force Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Pure Energy 3000 PSI
Quite Riot Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Rocket Cock 2
Response Trigger
Strengths: Strong
Never Breaks
Works in all weather
Weaknesses: The barrel sucks and the bolt is exposed. Gas hog(not really important)
Review: For its price it is a great marker if not one of the best it can take all type of weather and you will stop working before it does. There are so many upgrades for this and its mostly metal, wont have any broken plastic peices. Just make sure no dirt gets in the internals but a rocket cock2 will fix that.
Conclusion: Buy it for its price you get amazing quality and so many upgrades.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Masspaintball84 Thursday, November 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Low end spyder i just tested it
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a better barrel
if you want more get a different gun it is to heavy to use as a fast tourny gun
Strengths: Check review.
Weaknesses: Check review.
Review: PROS:
a great woods ball gun
works great right out of the box does not require any up grades right away but if you have the money get a better barrel Maybe a smart parts pogressive?
It DOES NOT BREAK i have had mine for 2 years and it has NEVER broken the worst thing that has happened it Jammed once but all i had to do was shove the bolt foward and recock it (yea i know crude but it works)
easy to clean & lube

CONS:
Not a good speedball gun.
A little on the heavy side after a little while if you have a 20oz. CO2
It is a little load but i feel that could be improved with a better barrel.



if you want to get into woodsball buy this or an A-5 if you want to get in to speedball
get an Electra, Ion, or any other faster Tourney gun spend extra money now it will save you money down the road. Personally i am going to gat an electra or a wrath but i am still going to keep my custom pro because it will work when i need it if you clean it after puting it away i will almost definately work when you take it out.


A special thanks to that one person who graded my reveiw
Conclusion: I feel this is a great gun for beginners or for any avid woods ball er.
I gave it a 9 because it is a good gun in its class
i have resently drop its rateing because after some thought it is so heavy (5.5) i can only give it an 8

please grade and leave comments if you have questions about the gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 17th, 2007 at 5:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

triggapull Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All Tippmanns
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with
flatline barrel and stock
viewloader quantum
daisy red dot sight
12 and 20oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
R/T
Cyclone feed or a electronic hopper
Regulator
Expansion chamber
Anti-chop Technology
New internal parts
Grip
Low pressure Kit
Bi-pod
Strengths: Accuracy, reliability, durability.
Weaknesses: needs ACT
Review: This gun is nice. It is more of a woods-ball gun than a speed-ball gun. The feel to it is very comfortable(even better with a new grip). On the inside the parts are strong but you will eventually need new parts. Tippmann is known for ther reliable products, and this does not change at all. It is just as reliable as the other products. You can leave it on your porch and it will stil work good.
Conclusion: This is durable, it can take one hell of a beating so why are you waiting
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann pb Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
model 98
Spyder X-Tra =(
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
14" faded black to silver EVIL DRIVER
Recommended
Upgrades:
GET A NEW BARREL!!!
Strengths: Nice gun for beginners and intermediate
very durable and hard to scratch
Lasts forever
Weaknesses: The barrel has too much kickback and is not accurate
Hard to put back together.
Review: The only problem with Tippmanns is that they come with very bad barrels. I'll admit that the flatline barrel is good, but all of the other Tippmann barrels are pretty terrible. The Tippmann 98 custom pro is excelent for new paintballers, and it will last forever. They are super durable. The custom pro comes with an 11" barrel, a drop foreward, double trigger, and a nice black finish. You save a ton of money with all these accesories for only $169.99, or $219.00 for the power pack. Well worth the money. The gun is very hard to put back together. The instructions are only helpful for telling you which screws go where, but once inside the gun, you're on your own. If one thing is out of place, you have to open it up again, fix it, and make sure everything is in place. There are some very tiny pins that go in tiny slots, so have tweezers ready when you field strip you're marker. I suggest putting the marker in a cardboard box so that none of the 1 thousand springs go flying everywhere.
Conclusion: Great for playing in the woods, its a nice durable marker. You can give it a beating and it will still shoot. I am giving it an 9 because the barrel is bad, but besides that, the marker is great. The inside of the barrel is next to rough, which makes it pretty inaccurate. I have shot over 1000 paintballs and havent any broken paint. (If your gonna get the custom pro, get the A.C.T-anti chop technology. Its worth paying $20.00 extra for.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 6th, 2006 at 3:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sick21 Tuesday, January 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
none to start with
Strengths: Durable
All great gun
Good up grades
Don't brake paint
Nice finish on gun
Weaknesses: Nothing that I could find
Review: When I was getting a new gun resiliently I came to this web sight and I was looking for a great gun at a great price and I saw the tippmann 98, and I was thinking about getting that but then a friend told me about the custom pro. so I looked it up and when I saw it I fell in love. the only problem was finding it. I called a bunch of places and couldn't find it but when I was looking around I was going to buy the 98, but on the way to the store I saw a shop that I never saw before so I stop in as a last resort at the least likely place to carry any pb stuff. and when I have gave up all hope there it was. so I bought it very quickly and shot it the very same day. it works like a charm. the right gun for beginners or intermediates.
Conclusion: I wound recommend this to anyone
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 10th, 2006 at 5:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guitarkid1767 Saturday, May 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro with stock 11inch barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel but the stock is pretty good.
Strengths: Durability
Accuracy
Doesn't chop even with crappy paint
Weaknesses: It's a little loud
Review: Overall this is a good woods ball gun and good for beginners and amateurs.
It is pretty accurate and is very reliable. Make sure u buy this gun you wont be sorry. i know i have only been playing for a while but this gun is amazing.. u should definately get it.
Conclusion: Buy this gun because it is very reliable.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ninja Wallaby Sunday, August 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 pro with apex
Co2 20 oz
gravity feed hopper
remote line to special ops recon vest
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dont put any money into this gun its a waste
Strengths: Can't be broken
Doesn't need to be cleaned often
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I was looking into a new gun when i found out 98s suck. To clean it you have to split it in half. No eyes, no regulator. Bad gun for the price. If you say it's worse because its a woodsball gun you better look at some other guns. They shoot faster weigh less and some cost about the same as this. Just because your noob friends like this gun look around this one sucks, i was suckered out of $150 this is a warning to all new players. Just telling you to look at the other options. Even if you're a noob don't get this gun most places have it as a rental because its unbreakable. Save up for a faster, better, easier to maintain gun. Like the Smart Parts Vibe(i mention the vibe because its not to much more expensive than the 98 and a lot better, look into the Azodin products too they are good for the price)
Conclusion: Gave it a two on reliability and because it's durable
Rating:
2 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 3rd, 2009 at 12:37 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media