paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Tippmann Custom Pro Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
If it’s accuracy and deeper strikes you want, this beefed-up version of our 98 Custom™ will surely help you make your mark. The black Custom Pro™ comes standard with upgrades such as an 11-inch high-performance stone-honed barrel for better accuracy, a double-trigger for better control and faster firing and a drop forward. The Custom Pro also has the ability to accept the Flatline™ Barrel System, Sniper barrels, the Response™ Trigger System, E-Trigger, collapsible stock, rear-cocking system, vertical adapter kit, vertical and expansion chamber kit and the low pressure system.

With its all aluminum die cast receiver and new, extra-sturdy black finish, the semi-automatic Custom Pro™ also features a quick-release feeder elbow, removable front grip to accept expansion chamber and vertical kits, and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully-customizable to enhance performance and compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
thepresident022 Tuesday, August 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder e-99 avant, tippmann a-5, some other crappy spyder gun, commando 2
Marker Setup: Custom pro with default 11 in. barrel and drop forward plus boomstick and empire 2 reloader on the way
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a barrel! I accused my friend of cheating and turning his pressure up a hundred times until i tried his barrel and was like, oops...just need a barrel.
Strengths: Tough outsides-hard to scratch
Price
Easy to take apart
Weaknesses: Breaks balls until you get an electronic hopper unlike a-5
Review: Well I've had my baby for 3 months and it still rocks! I love this gun because i can forget to clean it and open this puppy up 2 wks later and it cleans up to brand new condition. The 11 inch barrel that comes with it is nice and drop forward is a nifty starting feature. It runs great on CO2---i would never waste the money to go nitro unless i had a LOT of cash.
However, I shoot paintballs (xball gold) that are 60 bucks a case and i still break balls! I have tried many different and xball is the best...only one break a case on average while others were doing 2 or 3 breaks a case. This can be fixed by getting an electronic hopper (my friend had the problem and now he never breaks balls since he got his halo).
Conclusion: This gun is great, but until you buy an electronic hopper to stop ball breaks (or at least minimize them) and get a longer barrel, it insn't able to keep up with mid-range guns.
However, if you just want it for woods ball every other week, its great. I'll round this up to a...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

robbybhawks15 Saturday, February 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: I use a tippmann custom pro and i installed a response trigger which i installed after i got the gun and i also use a 16 inch barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
respones trigger beacuse if u go to a paintball field that doesnt let u use auto they will never know u are using a respones trigger
Strengths: A strengh of this gun is that u can get some very good upgrades.
Weaknesses: 1Weaknese can be finding the good upgrades in stores.
Review: This is not the best gun in the world but it is a very good begginer gun and once you think u masterd the basic gun itself you can find some good upgrades.If you do not like this paintball marker you can get other kinds of guns. Dont let this review think that tippmann is the only good brand.There are other good brands too.
Conclusion: If you buy this gun for you or a younger child i hope you like it very very much.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 10th, 2007 at 8:34 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann908 Saturday, January 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5
Viewloader Orion ( pretty good, but way worse than the 98)
Brass Eagle Marauder (Dont need to tell, you probably know)
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom pro
Flatline
14" J&J ceramic barrel
Pure energy Remote
TAPCO stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL
But stock barrel is ok
Strengths: accurate
powerful
pretty fast
HOT new paintjob
Weaknesses: NONE, gun to sexy to have weaknesses
Review: Gun is hot, even if ur a noob or a Pro, recommend this gun to anyone!!!
10 STEPS GETTING THIS GUN
1. go to store
2. look at other guns, then buy this gun
2. take it home
3. open the box
4. stare at it for 20 min
5. then postion/pose with it
6. then think about getting some upgrades
7.get co2, hopper, paintballs
8. go outside shoot an animal
9 after killing animals invite some ppl over
10. go into the woods and kick some buns/bangs!!!!
Conclusion: Get this Gun!!
OR GET THE NEW BRASS EAGLE BLADE TURBO!!!!!!!!!!!! (JK)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 at 4:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nbalover_23 Wednesday, July 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Stock Tippmann Custom Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
HPA definately i rented an HPA tank twice now and its is much more efficient than CO2
Strengths: In Review
Weaknesses: In Review
Review: Pros:

-accurate
-co2, hpa, nitrogen compatible
-simple construction
-not much maintanence required
-with the right upgrades you can go speedball or woodsball

Cons:

-no type of field strip
-disassembly is simple yet stupid, gun splits in 2 halves unlike the spyder field strip where the bolt just slides out
-some people will make fun of you because you own a tippmann, so just shoot them and prove them wrong

Conclusion: all in all this is a good gun for its available upgrades and it is a reasonable gun stock give it a try but later on you should upgrade to an Electric gun
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SmartPart1191 Friday, December 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Silver ION
Q-Lock Feed Neck
Smart Parts Grips
Mini Drop w/ Twist On/Off Valve
14" Freak Front/Back
ViewLoader eVLution III
ANS 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel and New Trigger or Trigger Spring and maybe a new bolt for added volume reduction.
Strengths: Very Durable
Entry Level Gun
Affordable Compared to Others
Very Customizable
Weaknesses: Slow RoF
Loud Especially w/ Stock Barrel
Loud Bolt (Kinda)
Review: Like the strengths say it's a very durable and customizable gun. I played a few rounds with one and it's very slow compared to my ION, but it's not a electronic marker, nor is it a $500 - $1000 marker. If you're tight on cash I would definitely suggest getting one of these because of the price, and the fact that it's very upgrade-able. Only thing I don't like about the stock barrel is that it's very loud. The marker I used had a 14" Custom Products Classic and that was a big improvement over the stock barrel, in accuracy and noise amount. Another thing that is somewhat deceiving about the gun is the double trigger, it's not like the one you would see on a pro gun, because it's a very tought spring. The stock double trigger is really just for comfort, so don't expect to be walking the trigger too fast.
Conclusion: All in all this is a great gun to buy if you're tight on cash, and if you like a more customizable marker. It's also great for woodsball because of it's durability. If you have the money though I would suggest getting the one with the E-Grip if not a different and better gun like the ION.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thekid Monday, December 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Mongoose 2 lcd w/ eyes, Spyder Pilot ACS
Marker Setup: All Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger that you can walk (if they do make such one)
Regulater/Expansion Chamber
Barrel (a later upgrade)
Strengths: -Durability
-Price
-Very Easy to Use and Take Care of
-Instructions
-Velocity Adjuster
Weaknesses: -Weight
-Speed
-Feedneck and Not Electronic (mostly preference)
Review: Pros:
~Durability: This gun is by far the most durable I have ever used. It can take a harsh beating and still work fine. It doesn't scratch as easy as other guns and I guess you can say it has a nice paint job. (rating 9.5)

~Price: It is relativity cheap and goes for I believe $140-$150 new. (rating 8.5)

~Maintenance: Is very easy to care for and use. Disassembling is quick and the cleaning is very easy. I also like the feature of how the feedneck just pops off. (rating 9)

~Velocity: Easy to adjust with Allen wrench however the velocity does tend to spike, especially with CO2. (rating 8)

~Instructions: Clear and tell you almost everything you need to know to use the gun. Only wish they gave you a better diagram. (rating 8)

Cons:
~Weight: The gun is heavier than most other markers. (rating 5.5)

~Speed: With the stock trigger you will be lucky to pull off 8bps since it is so hard to pull and I don't believe that with the stock trigger you will be able to do 15bps, because the trigger is so hard to pull! (rating 6)

Average rating: 7.79 = 8 rounded
Conclusion: If you are into woods-ball I would recommend this gun because of all the pros it has (see above) but don't get it if speed-ball is more your type. Some other things you might want to look into are electronic guns such as: promaster, diablo mongoose's, wrath ltd and guns such as those. But this gun is great for a starter and is very reliable for a 1st gun.
Also please be sure to rate this helpful or not helpful.

Thekid
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 11th, 2006 at 5:36 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

JIMJIM_TIPPMANN Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro, Cyclone Feed, E trigger, 14" New 06 Progessive, 72/3000psi tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Cyclone feed, E trigger, Smart Parts Barrel
Strengths: Every durable Gun. Its bullet prof. Very Strong.
Weaknesses: Might spuder with bad paint ( if they break). Other than that nothing!!!
Review: This gun is so great. Ive not had a problem with from the day i got it till now. Tippmann has just come so far. If you are starting up and you want a great gun, this is the gun to get. After a while get a better barrel. The stock barrel is good but there is better out there. If you are a woodsball player this is a super great gun to smoke people with. But if you are a tourney player than you might not like it was much. Just so great i love my gun and you will love it to when you buy one.
Conclusion: Great gun. Must buy!!!!!!!! GET ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 8:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hurtcow Tuesday, June 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Standard M98C
Many other 'high end' guns, including Palmers, WGP, ATS, all kinds of stuff. I'm open-minded and like 'weird' guns.
Marker Setup: My 98CP is set up with:
E-trigger
Flatline barrel
Vert adapter w/ reg
Cyclone feed
Lightened hammer
Rocket Cock
Recommended
Upgrades:
See above. This gun is marketed as a 'beginner gun' but is very upgradeable. I seriously feel no shame leaving my cocker/AT-10/Palmer/Vector/etc on the bench in lieu of this.
Strengths: E-trigger kit and cyclone feed should fit the bill.
Weaknesses: If you worry about such things, the stigma of using a 'beginner gun' .
Review: Well I have a lot of paintball guns. Last count I had 28. However I'd have a difficult time coming up with a more versatile gun than my M98CP. I played a 24-hr scenario recently and really enjoyed my customized Punsher's Vector, Palmer's Stroker, and ATS AT-10, but found myself defaulting to my E-trigger M98CP.
Conclusion: Give it a try, see what the fuss is about.. Yes it's classified as a 'beginner gun' but it has lots more to offer.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Blackdog455 Sunday, June 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann A5 (i dont own it, my friend does)
A5 is better, but the custom pro is great for starters
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
j&j ceramic 14" barrel
rocket cock 2
vertical adapter
x core 8 stage expansion chamber
pen spring mod
pro seal aluminum power tube
toxic performance aluminum double trigger


Recommended
Upgrades:
j&j ceramic barrel 12 or 14 inch
lapco bigshot 12 or 14 inch
aluminum power tube
pen spring mod
Strengths: Very durible, it can a beating
very easy to clean out
light weight
Weaknesses: Stock barrel, alittle inaccurate
Gas hog
Review: This gun is my second gun and i love it. After firing my friends A5, i was going to get the A5. Well after very carefully thinking about it, i decided to get the custom pro. And it was the best choice i could have ever made. Its a very durible gun, it can date a beating. My gun has been hitt against stumps and trees, and theres not even one scratch on it yet.
There are also some downsides to it to, its a huge gas hog, and it will eat up a 9 ounce tank very fast. But thats really the only problem with it. Just like all tippmanns the stock barrel isnt the best, so get a different barrel if you can.
Conclusion: great gun for the money, well worth it. Though there are some downsides to it, its still very good for the begginner and player thats played even for more then 2 years. Forget the 98 custom, just get the custom pro.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

footballgrzfan Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
autococker trilogy, tippmann a-5
Marker Setup: tippmann custom pro,flatline,20 ounce aluminum tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
you dont really need anything else but i put a flat line on, which made quite a difference in accuracy and distance!
Strengths: All around gun, lots of upgrades, shoots fast and reliably, and durable
Weaknesses: I havent ran into any problems
Review: well i got this gun around december, right when i got it i took it out and had to try it out, i was immediatly impressed by the performance of the gun. i was shooting very consistently, the only problems i have ever had with this gun it is inaccurate during semi windy days, but then again i have never seen a paintball gun that is accurate on windy days. The 11" werks barrel that comes with it isnt bad and you could get away with it but it does help to upgrade to a longer barrel for accuracy but then again it depends on what you play. I play with a kid that has a 1,000 autococker and mine keeps up with it.
Conclusion: best you can buy for the price,great gun, sturdy, keeps up with even autocockers,all around gun, if i ever had to buy another gun i would by this or another tippman. Tippmann is the best!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media