paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic / Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Tippmann Custom Pro Basic Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Custom Pro Basic

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Custom Pro Basic
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 109
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $159

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
If it’s accuracy and deeper strikes you want, this beefed-up version of our 98 Custom™ will surely help you make your mark. The black Custom Pro™ comes standard with upgrades such as an 11-inch high-performance stone-honed barrel for better accuracy, a double-trigger for better control and faster firing and a drop forward. The Custom Pro also has the ability to accept the Flatline™ Barrel System, Sniper barrels, the Response™ Trigger System, E-Trigger, collapsible stock, rear-cocking system, vertical adapter kit, vertical and expansion chamber kit and the low pressure system.

With its all aluminum die cast receiver and new, extra-sturdy black finish, the semi-automatic Custom Pro™ also features a quick-release feeder elbow, removable front grip to accept expansion chamber and vertical kits, and a 200-round hopper. It’s fully-customizable to enhance performance and compatible for CO2, compressed air, or nitrogen.
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Custom Pro Basic is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Custom_Pro Tuesday, March 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Custom 98
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
BT Barrel,Carrying handle/rear sight apperature,folding stock
Strengths: Fast,Good looking,relativly inexpensive,easy to disassemble.not alot of parts to loose
Weaknesses: Some say its heavy but you get used to it real fast
Review: the only reason i bought the custom pre in the beginning was i didnt want to start out with garbage but i didnt want to start out with a pro gun so i opted for the most in between model that was available to me at the time..i never regretted it once.Ionly play woodsball an it performs very well.Has great range and accuracy and mobility.I was playing with buddies and one asked me at the end of the game was that you in the treeline with the tippmann,i said yeah it was,he said wow that gun s friggin intimidating
Conclusion: I would Definatly reccomend this gun to ANYBODY who asked me what their first gun should be.Like i said i have Absolutly no regrets.and you can customize it to endless possibilities
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 28th, 2006 at 5:33 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lkcallen Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix, Spyder Xtra, Spyder Imagine, Spyder Elektra, Spyder Imagine, Spyder Victor II, Spyder Rodeo, Spyder TL, TIppmann Model 98, Piranha Evo 2k4, WGP Trilogy Pro Autococker, WGP Trilogy Sport, Piranha Eforce (multiple years), Piranha STS and R6, Brass Eagle Stingray II, and something from some company called Viewloader? (i think that was it...i have some gravity hoppers that costed four dollars from them).

None of these compare except the cockers and possibly the spyders, if they were upped like my custom pro.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Smart Parts Freak Jr. Barrel
Max Flow Regulator
Halo B w/ v35 Board
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA
Clamp Neck Feed

Back Up:
WGP Trilogy Pro Autococker
CP 14" Barrel
Evolution II w/ Z-board
Pure Energy 72/3000 HPA

More Back Up:
Tippmann Custom Pro
Sanded/smoothed inside (smother bolt action)
Superfly bolt
Flatline Barrel
ViewLoader 200 (gravity) Hopper
20 oz. Pure Energy CO2

For friends:
Spyder Rodeo
ViewLoader 200 (gravity)
14" and 16" J&J Ceramic Barrels
Pure Energy 12 oz. CO2

Coming Soon:

Bob Long Defiant?! (for me)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Smooth out around bolt (VERY rough)
New Bolt
New Reg
Different Barrel (Sniper, Flatline)
Trigger?
Drop Forward
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Stock Clamp Neck
Range (over 300ft with Flatline)
Fast
Consistent (somewhat)
==>RELIABLE<==
Weaknesses: Heavy Pull
Gas hog
Heavy Gun
Long Gun
Loud
Review: As I said, this gun is pretty cheap for the performance. I would have to say that you need to upgrade the barrel as soon as you can. It comes stock with some 11" piece of crap. I think you also need to get a new bolt. Superfly is the one I've got in there (I think). Also, the interior is super rough. If you sand it out, the bolt will be able to slide around much easier and my consistency went up. The thing is a gas hog. In striving for durability and low prices, they forgot to make it efficient. I didn't up this, but I would recommend getting something new on this. I have a cocker and ion, and shot through a bunch of others, so I might be wrong, but it could be more efficient than it is. Additionally, it is super long and heavy. While some people get the stock extension to make it look like some mock-up m16, I dont think this is really gun you can run and dive with. Therefore, get a drop forward (maybe). It also has a long and hard trigger pull. You can fix this by getting a response trigger (RT) which is available on one of the custom pros. It is also relatively loud. One shot will tell everyone where you are. Since I like sniping, or at least a low profile, this kind of gun is not exactly my style.
Conclusion: To conclude, it has its ups and downs like every gun. For beginners and intermediates alike, this gun is excellent to start off. To compete with it, you really do need a couple upgrades though. The feature I especially like (since my first Ion failed here) is that it has a clamp neck, so you can put any kind of hopper on it (from the wide necked halo b to the cheapo viewloader). For the price and features, it is an excellent beginner gun or even an experienced's back up gun. There are so many upgradable options that this gun could easily compare with the Cocker's Trilogy series or a stock A-5 and definitely any Spyder, Piranha, or Brass Eagle gun. Overall, good gun for good price.

By the way: I paid about 250 for the gun and all my upgrades. Sure, I could have spent a little more and got a different type of gun, but Tippmanns do make the most reliable guns. (One of my friends hasnt even opened up his Model 98. He has had it for 1.5 years)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippmann_31 Friday, January 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98C
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom Pro
Rear velocity adjustor
14 inch smartparts barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Response trigger
electric hopper
Strengths: Fast
nice paint cant scratch
Weaknesses: None known
Review: I had a tippmann 98 C for a long time befor this one i thought that the 98 was a good gun until the first day that i got this. I highly recomend this gun for any one. It will stand up to any bob long or angle. One thing that is a must if you want to go all out is a longer barrel because you will get alot more distance and accuracy with your gun. The Response trigger is another must if you want to preform ass well as you can.
Conclusion: I think if you are thinking about buying a paintball gun i would go out and get a custom Pro!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LinwoodWarrior Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Raider - crappiest gun in the world
Spyder TL-X - not to bad for starting out
Spyder Rodeo - pretty nice gun!
Spyder Pilot ACS - sweet @$$ gun
Marker Setup: Set-up 1
Tippmann Custom Pro
~ Ben Tippmann Apex barrel
~ Crossman Red dot scope
~ Ricochet AK
~ Ben Tippmann Tactical Car stock
~ 32 Degrees remote coil with slide check
~ Maddman Spring upgrade
~ 14 ounce C02

Set-up 2
Tippmann Custom Pro
~Smart parts Teardrop 14'' red
~Dye sticky grips red
~Red drop forward
~Soon to be:
-Halo B red
-electronic trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
~electronic hopper or center feed
~new barrel, but stock is good
~car stock (optional)

Strengths: ~ quick rate of fire
~ doesn't chop unless you use crappy Zap paint
~ easily upgraded
Weaknesses: ~ Little heavy, but nothing too serious
~long
Review: When I had this gun for about a month I took it out and played in the rain. I took it home and left it in my backpack until the next day. I had chopped one paintball in the last round so I took it apart and cleaned it. I had noticed that the sear spring had some rust on it so I took it out to clean it. When I took it out it broke at the end, at the time I didn't take it too serious but the weekend after I took it out and played a few games in my friends course and it kept uncocking because there wasn't enough pressure ion the sear. I got a spring kit and solved the problem.
That was the only problem I had with my tippmann and probably be the only problem I will ever have.
Conclusion: Buy the Tippmann Custom Pro its awesome and highly upgradeable
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 12th, 2006 at 5:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blitzz123456 Monday, December 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Custom 98
A-5
PMI Pirhana
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Smart Parts 14 " progressive barrel
Tippmann vertical expansion chamber
20oz Pure energy aluminum Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
I new barrel is a must if you are thinking about keeping this gun for a long time. I would also reccomend a on/off if you are using Co2.
Strengths: Durable
Easy to Maintain
Looks Awsome
Many Upgrades
Works very well on Co2
Weaknesses: Box Packaging
Review: I opened up the box to this marker and was amazed on how nice it looked. The packaging wasn't the best and you could hear parts hitting when i moved the box before I Opened it. But because of the very durable paint on this marker the gun was still unharmed. This gun is perfect for anyone wanting to get into the sport and for advanced players that play woods ball. I have shot 4000 paintballs through this gun with a gravity feed hopper and I am yet to have on chop or one break in the barrel. I shoot at a fast pace sometimes too. I Love playing with this gun because I know when i pull the trigger there will be a ball shot where I want it to go. The stock barrel that comes on this gun is better then the 98 Custom barrel but I would still recommend a new barrel. I wouldn't go over 14" because that is long enough. So if you are thinking about getting this gun and are unsure you should look a lot more towards this gun instead of a Spyder knock-off or even a spyder.
Conclusion: So if you want a very durable and reliable gun on the Field I would highly recommend this gun to you and I am sure that anyone with this gun would say the same about it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 4th, 2007 at 5:15 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheJudge Saturday, November 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker Trilogy Pro, Tippmann A-5, Numerous Spyders.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro, Response Trigger, Cyclone feed, BT Designs 6 Position Stock, BT Designs Sight Rail, Sweeet custom wooden grips.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Basically, these are MADE for upgrades. One of my first recommendations is a new barrel. The new barrels the Custom Pros come with are a very nice improvement over the M-98's stock barrel, but still leave something to be desired. A good place to look for a desirable replacement are Dye and Smartparts. Another good add-on is one of the various styles of stocks available for these markers. The RT system is a nice mechanical upgrade for easy-automatic, but i recommend the Cyclone Feed if you get that because you'll need fast ball feed with auto, and its a lot better and cheaper than an E-hopper with the same functionality.
Strengths: VERY durable and low-maintainance. EXCELLENT woods-gun.
Weaknesses: Weak in pro/tourney.
Review: I've had this gun for about a year and despite my Autococker and Spyder, i'll still always using this one for woods games. Love it for any kind of realism upgrades that you only really find in this kind of gun. Works well with just about any grade of paint. Thanks to Tippmann, you'll have plenty of cheaper, more efficient ways of getting necessary upgrades, like powered feed and automatic fire.
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for anyone looking for a highly upgradable beginner to intermediate marker. Also basically NO maintainance involved. A little rag-and-oil every few games is sufficient.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Slasher_99 Thursday, November 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom basic camo
smart parts proggresive 14 inch
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
response trigger
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Bps 10 per second max
-Durability
-No chops
Weaknesses: -None
Review: this is a great gun i have used it about 15 times. If you raise the speed up to like 350 fps
it can easily shoot pop cans from like 50 feet. if you line it up with the sight rail it is very accurate. looks very good in camo. Not very loud. doesn't usually chop any balls. overall great gun. If you play indoor or outdoor this is a great gun very accurate. Not that good for speed ball unless upgraded more.
Conclusion: Buy it best gun for price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Nate_H_2005 Tuesday, October 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Custom 98-worse than the Custom Pro
Stock Model 98-worse than the Custom Pro
Marker Setup: Stock for now
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Regulator or Expansion Chamber
Strengths: not too heavy
good looks
Shoots great and straight
Weaknesses: none that I found yet
Review: This is a great gun I haven't had any trouble with it yet and they guys that I play said it's a great beginner gun. It's also my first gun and I haven't really done anything to it. I would recommend getting to know how to use the double trigger and walk it before playing though. It's not too bad on CO2 consumption either. It fires straight and I've gone threw almost 4000 balls with it and haven't had one break in the barrel or coming out of the barrel. The guy that said it don't like Brass Eagle paint must have gotten a bad box because that's about all I shoot...too cheap for anything better...and it's working good so far.
Conclusion: it's a great gun I'd recommend it for anybody to get from a newbie like me to an experienced PB vet
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 20th, 2005 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pro_Tippy13 Saturday, October 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder xtra, tippmann 98 custom,model 98, A-5
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom pro
camo finish
CAR stock
cyclone feed
pen spring mod
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
e-trigger
electro hopper or cyclone
Strengths: In review....
Weaknesses: In review....
Review: pros it looks awesome .accurate,fast,,double trigger,upgradablity,drop foward, extra internal milling(or the e-trigger), unscachable finish (camo,black.or silver)
can shoot with one or 2 fingers.
doesn't chop
simple for newbies
balances out nice with paint and C02


cons stock barrel scraches easily
doesn't like cheap paint
Conclusion: The tippmann 98 custom pro is a very nice gun. Good for begginers. Very customizible.
With a couple upgrades aldready installed. IF you have the money get this gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 21st, 2005 at 2:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SgtSped Thursday, October 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom, Tippmann Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro - Polished Internals - Pen Spring Mod - Daisy Electronic Point Sight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Pen Spring Mod
New Barrel
Strengths: Lightweight
Better Barrel
Drop Forward
Double Trigger
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: The Tippmann Custom Pro is the basically an upgraded version of the 98 Custom with a different internal layout with a Drop Forward, and a Better Barrel

I got the Custom Pro for its Reliablity and Reputation as a great Paintball Marker and its hardcore beatings it can take.

The Drop Forward allows repositions the tank so that it is comfier and shortens the length a few inches

The New barrel is a HUGE improvement compared to the stock ones on the Carbine and 98 Custom. 11 Inches this barrel is very accurate to begin with compared to the 8.5 inch stock on the others. I reccomend Gameface - Scorch paint to go with it, works great

The Guns downside basically is, you have to upgrade it to shot faster and better, I'll be honest, this gun wont be shooting 15 - 20 balls a second out of the box unless you got an RT or E-Grip or mod the heck out of it.

This gun is Great for the Beginner wanted to play, and its price is well worth it, You actually save money buying the custom pro vs the 98 custom
Conclusion: This is a Gun to get as you start out. Dont buy the 98 Custom since all the external mods will work on it

98 Custom - 140
Drop Forward - 20
Barrel - 20 - 40 (decent)
180 - 200 bucks buying what the Custom Pro has, except the Custom Pro is only 150 bucks or so

This gun is THE gun to get for anyone who plays paintball, easially maintainable, durable, and its got a pretty sweet look.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 at 6:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (11):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media