paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05 / Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05 / Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05 / Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05

Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05
[ View Photos (64) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 284
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $330

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features:
* CAMD 3.0 (Color Access Mode Display)
* Firing modes includes Semi-Auto (30 bps), 3-Shot Burst, 6-Shot Burst, and Full Auto
* Rocking Trigger Frame V. 2.0 with Regulation Trigger Guard
* Sleek, Custom Milled Receiver
* Matte Fade Anodizing
* Delrin ACS (Anti-Chop System)
* Venturi Bolt
* Dual CO2 C/A Adapters (Angle C/A Adapter and Vertical Adapter)
* 12" Aero Twist Accuracy Barrel
* Double Ball Detent
* Reactive Response Trigger, Up to 30 Shots per/sec (Semi Mode)
* Tournament Lock Switch
* Tournament Velocity Adjuster
* Anti-Double Feed
* Gas Thru Chamber with Fore Grip
* Adjustable Clamp Feed
* Drop Forward
* Low Pressure Chamber
* Bottom-Line Set-Up with Stainless Steel Hose
* Top Cocking Bolt
* Deluxe Quick Disconnect Pins
* Electronic Safety Mode
* Battery Indicator
* Operates on co2 or compressed air
* Includes Battery and charger
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (29):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
evilballs20 Friday, March 3rd, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Icon, ion, 98, Xtra, many other spyders
Marker Setup: Black Halo B
Smart Parts 20oz. anti-siphon C02
stock electra
Recommended
Upgrades:
a trash can
Strengths: None!!!!!
Weaknesses: barrel, cycling rate, ACS bolt, reg, on and on and on
Review: I went paintballing for my first time a little over a year ago, I went woodsballing with a Tippmann then, soon after I went to a speedball feild and was pleasenty spurised that a game of paintball didn't take 15min-1hour. I saved my money for a gun and was headed toward the ion but, didn't have enough to get nitro. I saw Spyder's newest flop the Electra and figured it would be a good no nitro gun, boy was I wrong!!!!!!!!!
The Electra with the Halo B on it looked great and I couldn't wait to go use it, first try was a woodsball outing and the gun worked o.k. but, I was fairly new to trigger walking. The next time I went was speed ball and towards the end of the day the gun began to chop. I took it home and cleaned everything as well as anybody could do. The gun hasn't been able to hadle me walking the trigger ever since. I shoot three or less paintballs and then the rest chop. I cleaned the hopper perfectly and in my back-yard less than 1/2 an hour ago i chopped 35 paintballs out of 40! The paint is new midnight and pmi premium that aren't larger bored then the barrel which at best has a three foot radius of where the paintball is going to where you aim. The gun no longer works and I'm now saving for a RPM if, it isn't so crappy either.
Conclusion: Don't buy it, an Ion, Wrath, and RPM all have eyes and are same price range.
A tippmann, and Xtra work and an Icon can be a great speedball intro gun.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

freehand Monday, May 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix, Spyder Imagine, Dragun T.E.S
Some kids spimmy.
Marker Setup: Black/Cobalt Dm5
Pure energy 68/4500
Halo with Victory Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo b, shorter feed neck, unimount.
Strengths: Cheap, Looks sick, fairly light for a spyder,
Weaknesses: It's a spyder, for the same price u could get an ion.
Review: I currently shoot a dm5 so i'm not going to say that this is the best gun ever like some of the noobs do...
However i did like it alot.
I went down to my pro shop to check it out and it was pretty sick.
The rocking trigger takes getting used to but when you do it's pretty nice.
The body looks like an old 2k2 timmy body with dm5 milling.
The barrel looks like a freak barrel with a teardrop tip.

i'd say spyder has alawsuit coming from the three biggest companies in paintball...
O_o

Conclusion: Awesome looking gun, pretty cool.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pbfreak246 Sunday, July 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra, Evlution 3 hopper, rocking trigger, 20 oz. co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper
Strengths: Fast, durable, easily upgradeable, accurate, runs on co2 or compressed air
Weaknesses: Unreliable "Spyder" brand.
Review: This gun is so fast. It shoots up to thirty balls per second. I am fairly new to paintball and didn't want to get a very expensive gun, but didn't want to get a bad gun. i looked into the reviews for this and most were positive saying that spyder had taken a step into the right direction. I am very pleased with this gun and plan to make it my main and final gun.
Conclusion: I say that if you want a cheap, but well built gun with speed, then this is definately the gun for you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 15th, 2007 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xXBloodLustACXx Sunday, May 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix
Diablo Wrath
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Alias Intimidator - CP reg, CP trigger Stiffi, Frenzy 127.4, Hybrid parts (feedneck, ram cap, LPR, grips, rail, etc) and more upgrades... Halo B, 68/4500 Crossfire HP tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel
-On/Off
-LP setup (will explain later)
Strengths: -High board cap
-Fast trigger
-Works on co2
-Cool-looking
Weaknesses: -Barrel
-Gas thru
-Lack of eyes
Review: Alright everyone, you may recognize my name and think hey, where did his old review dissappear to? Well the types of guns out there right now have changed drastically from the time I wrote my original review, so I deleted it in order to write this one up-to-date with regard to newer markers. Since my Electra is long gone, I'll be doing this from memory, but I remeber the gun pretty well.

I started out paintballing with a Fenix I bought from a friend for $100. The gun itself wasn't bad, but at the time I didn't realize that only a few upgrades would've made it decent enough to keep for a while longer. Regardless, when I saw the Electra come out with the new Rocking Trigger Kingman was advertising, I knew I had to have it! Not the best choice looking back on it, considering the gun retailed for $265 at the time. However, the Ion was out for $285, and there really weren't many other choices, so I took a chance.

I loved the gun right away - the trigger was insanely fun to walk and noid click around the house, and pretty easy too. With bounce I could manage like 23 bps, and without about 15. I strongly advise that you try the rocking trigger before you buy a gun with one, though (either Electra or VS3), because many people tend to like traditional double triggers better. The rocker does deprive you of learning to really walk a standard trigger, which made it a pain for me to adjust to future guns.

The stock feedneck is alright, nothing fancy, just like a metal version of one of those plastic elbows you use on low-ends. Drop and ASA aren't very good, but for a Kingman it's nice to get a drop at all (and they actually consider that to be more of a luxury!)

The big selling point of the gun, other than the frame, was the ACS bolt. Now, I've heard many mixed reviews on the bolt as far as chopping goes - but here's my experience with it. In general, the bolt was pretty good at preventing chops, though I was using a Halo at the time and thus didn't really have to worry too much. However, when the gun *would* chop, the bolt (which is made of delrin and high-flowing) will instead uncock to prevent the chop. This did get annoying at times, because the uncocking required me to manually recock the gun again, often at pivotal points mid-game. Based on my experience I can't really say if the bolt is a pro or con, but in general it worked decently for me (whereas my Fenix bolt probably would've chopped a whole lot going that fast).

The barrel wasn't great, but for stock I didn't expect it to be. Kingman claimed that it was "rifled" with spiral porting or something like that, basically intended to put a spin on the ball to make for a more accurate shot. However, as the physics of this concept work very differently on a gelatin-filled ball than a metal bullet, the barrel wasn't any good. Even still, I later bought a Freak Jr. and didn't such much of an accuracy difference, so either the stock barrel wasn't too bad, the Freak wasn't too good, or the poor accuracy was just because I was running co2 (extremely inconsitent!)

Branching off this idea, many people tend to buy upgrades that make their Spyders low-pressure guns. This is the best way to improve any older (pre-VS) Spyder, and I'll briefly detail what is needed to do this. You'll need: A high flow bolt (ACS should work decently), light striker (SPPS Dragunfly, for example), High-flow valve (like the NDZ), high-flow vertical adapter (or you can drill out the hole on the stock one), and a good regulator. This is a pricey process, though, and it's more-or-less not worth it anymore to make a Spyder LP becuase they can now be bought this way.

Kingman's newest series, the VS line of markers, come low pressure stock, so all of the upgrades you need to get the gun down to ~230 psi are included. Plus, they have eyes! This is a major advantage over the Electra ACS, and the VS2 (double trigger, VS3 is the same with rocking trigger) is only about $190. (VS3 is about $230 I think) In short, they're much better deals than the Electra, so if you're looking for a Spyder go get one of those. They can only be used on HPA, though, so if you have co2 you might want the Electra after all. However, the new VS1 is out now and works on co2 - has eyes but not low pressure, double trigger (not rocking), and a low price of $150. Either way, though, nitro is always best for your gun.

I've spent a good amount of time on the gun itself, but I hafta talk about some other competitors briefly. First off, the Wrath. Takes co2 or HPA I believe, recommended on HPA. It's capped at 20 bps from what I remember, and it has an LCD with game timer, shot counter, etc. The LTD is an improved version, solves some of the problems Wraths have with external hoses. My friend had a Wrath and liked it, but honestly there are better guns out there. I'd take a VS2 over the Wrath myself.

Ion - this was the main competitor to the ACS back in 2005. I had one for a while, and for the price of $200 it was a pretty good marker - high end performance for a low price. However, the thing is just unbearable stock: it needs at least a feedneck, trigger, and on/off (depending on what you dislike about the gun) and probably more. You'll end up dumping about $400 into your Ion just to get it shooting nicely, and then when you try to sell you'll find that they have TERRIBLE resale, and maybe you can get $200 back out of it. In other words, it's not a bad gun, but I would stay away from buying one new - if anything, get a used one. In comparison to the Electra, I would take the Spyder just because it's simpler, more reliable, and cheaper. VS2 over both though for sure.


Conclusion: In conclusion, if you plan to buy this gun for $250 or something, STOP! At most, I'd pay $100 or a little over if it's stock or basically stock. The reason for this is because the VS series, priced from $150-230, is just far superior. If you're looking to get a Spyder, that's where you should really be looking nowadays. However, if you can get a good deal on the Electra and you like the trigger and all, go for it! I did like the gun while I had it, but really regret paying so much and ending up selling for like $150 in the end. I'm gonna give it a 7/10, because at the time it was pretty awesome... however, times have changed and the gun can't compete as well with it's newer brothers in the VS series. It's still a solid and reliable gun, though, and if you get it cheap you won't be dissappointed.

If you have any questions, PM me or get me on AIM at BloodLustAC. Have fun playing!

Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Wilytiger Saturday, October 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
I've used the tippmann 98, smart parts Ion but none of them compare to this gun.
Marker Setup: i use the tippmann 98 c with a 16" smart parts barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
i reccomend a new barrel (if you're rich unlike me), a halo b loader even though it's like 160$ and nothing much else it's just such a perfect gun
Strengths: -It's unbelievably fast
-A very good barrel
-Many modes
-Pretty light
Weaknesses: -You'll need to get a halo b loader
-Pretty loud
Review: when i went down to my local paintball shop they let me try out the Kingman Spyder Electra ACS '05 cuz i told them i was thinking of buying it and my god was i impressed so they did let me try it with a halo b loader which i probably won't be able to get it was amazing i can't even think of a gun for thaty prive out there that can own that badly but you may waste alot of balls in the process :P
Conclusion: I recommend this to ne one who is just starting and wants to join with his friends it will probably make them jealous if there just staring 2 Cruz its better then anything they could get unless if there rich and they buy an angel or something loll but hey this really is an amazing gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ICU117 Sunday, September 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion, Tippmann A5 and 98c.
Marker Setup: SP Ion Pro, Halo B w/rip drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper, expansion chamber, barrel. In that order.
Strengths: Easy to walk stock. Runs on CO2
Weaknesses: You either love the Trigger or you dont
Battery sticks out
Review: I picked this up after selling my A5. The first thing that you notice when taking it out of the box, is that it looks beautiful. The finish on it is very nicely done. A blue Halo B looks excellent on it. The stock barrel is a two piece rifled barrel. Its pretty accurate for a stock barrel. The rocking trigger is the greatest thing on this marker. A 6 year old could walk this thing 10 bps. When you install the battery in the grip, the panel doesn't completely cover the battery, but it isn't bad. Now, I did sell mine in conjunction with my A5 to buy an Ion. Its all about feel. I just didn't like how it felt in my hand when I shot it. Sure I could shoot it fast, but it seemed a little too, big for me. And don't get me wrong, I'm a big guy, it wasn't the weight, it was the ergonomics. I recommend trying one out at a field/store before you actually buy one. Just to make sure you like it. I sold this after I shot only 300 rounds through it, but it was still a sweet little spyder stock.
Conclusion: Great marker if you want to easily break the 10bps mark. Make sure you get a fast hopper for it though. Also check it out in person before you go and impulse buy it online. Safe is better then sorry folks. I'm still giving it a 9 because it was a nice spyder.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Benjy1719 Friday, February 24th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor - Ugh
SP Ion - Decent, but still plastic.
Impulse - Slow and Bulky
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra 2005 ACS W/Rocking Trigger + J&J Ceramic Edge Elite + PB Long Drop + Macroline + Scenario Dreams T Board + Ramping Upgrade + Victory Halo B W/Rip Drive
Recommended
Upgrades:
Depends on what of type of paintball you are shooting for.
Strengths: Fast.
Durable.
Sleek.
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side.
Stock barrel induces vomiting.
Review: First of all, I'd like to say that this review is just that; a review. I'm not trying to bash other markers or anything, just explaining my experience with this marker and it's performance.

Most people say that the ACS is worthless. It's not. We'll get back to that.

You'll defenitely want to upgrade the stock barrel. When I got this gun stock, I took it out for a small accuraccy test and found about a 2 foot spread at about 45-50 feet. Not the best odds when you need your shots to count. After an upgrade to a 14" J&J Ceramic I got 1 ft grouping at about 65 ft. Lastly, I slapped on a J&J Edge Elite barrel kit, and i've got this baby ball on ball at 65-70 ft. I can get the balls to break at about 135 ft with a 3ft 4inch spread. Of course, this is shooting at a wood surface, so you may not get the same breakage on a player. Also, keep in mind that at this range there was some arcing involved.

Speed. Speed. Speed. Stock, the speed of the elctra wasn't very impressive. I got the rocking trigger to about 14-16 bps on a good walk. I find you can get the rocker to go a lot faster if you don't walk at all. Place one finger on each side of the trigger and vibrate your hand. In this manner, i got the electra to go about 18-19 bps. Shooting for 30, and still not impressed with my Halo not screaming for more, I resorted to a SD T-Board upgrade for the electra. With default settings, i was getting anywhere from 19-24bps. On a good day, my Halo was chugging to keep up, and i'd get a few airy shots.

And then there was ramping. Before I go into insane speeds, let me say that i have never, on my honor, ever had a chop in my electra. Ever. I've gotten it to approx 27bps with ramping and it still breathes paint like a champ. For people who discredit the ACS, it probably because they don't clean and oil their gun before they set out to the field every time. Soon after getting my ramping chip, I realized my Halo was going to need a Victory board. I keep my Halo on Setting 6 - 35 bps when I use ramping, and setting 4 - I think 26 bps when not using ramping.

Before you guys claim that my information isn't true, throw away your CO2. You'll never get speeds even close to 20+ bps with Co2. Try it, and watch your delrin bolt break into two clean pieces.

I've taken plenty of my friends to go paintballing with me, and they always want to trade guns with me for a few games. Several people have said my electra sounds like the SMG from Halo. Here's a few of the markers I used in trades and my opinion of them.

Ion - It's a decent gun. The one I used wasn't as accurate as my electra. It had a Evil Pipe .688 shooting Evil paint. I got the Ion to maybe.. 12-14 bps.

Impulse - This gun was big and bulky compared to others. It feels like your gonna get hit in the gun everytime you snap. I didn't like it at all.

BKO - Sucks.

Angel - I like it. But it's not worth the price. Last time I went rec-balling i got stuck with 4 rentals against two ions, two angels and a shocker. Rolled em in 3 minutes. The gun doesn't make the player. This game also involved my favorite hits. The last guy with the shocker was in the snake, and got his marker painted pretty pink for free.

If anyone is interested in seeing a video of my electra drop me a line and i'll see what I can do.
Conclusion: Well worth the money, i'll never upgrade from this. This marker gets the wins.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

williamsq Sunday, January 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
04 angel speed, 98 costum with about 500 dollars spent in the gun. This gun was a hek of alot cheaper and possibly out shoots both of them. The tippman shot farther with the flatline barrel though
Marker Setup: 05 electra acs, halo b hopper, psycho ballistics drop forward, madman springs
Recommended
Upgrades:
this marker is great from the box, but if you want a little more fps, buy yourselve a spring kit. Another must have is a Halo B hopper or anything faster
Strengths: Extremely fast trigger, and good looks.
Weaknesses: The trigger display is hard to see in sunlight
Review: I just recently bought the 05 electra ACS not because i wanted to, but because i was forced to. I had an 04 speed and a 98 costum stolen from the trunk of my car. The angel in my eyes was the best gun for speed ball, and the tippman was the only gun for woods playing thats worth mentioning. When i went to the paintball shop, i was pondering what to buy. But then it hit me---if i buy another expensive gun and get it stolen again, its realllyyyyy gonna suck. So i opted for the newest spyder they had since it was relatively inexpensive. The 2005 spyder electra acs.

This gun is everything that spyder claimed and more. The acs bolt is true to its name. In all of the game time that ive gotten in recently, I havent "chopped" a single ball. If speed is what your looking for you dont have to look to far. Ive shot faster with this spyder than i ever shot with my angel. The rocking trigger is very responsive and sensitive as hell. Another great thing that ive gotten from this gun is response. Not from the marker but from people. People are always curious to know what type of gun it is. Especially after ive played them with their cockers and timmys and tore them a new one.

My wife says im so in love with this gun that i have started to completely ignore her. My response to her is---well none cause i just ignore her when she says that.
Conclusion: buy it. This gun will outshoot most markers out there right out of the box. And for anything in that price range you are not going to get any better. No chopping and a super fast trigger for under 300 dollars. Plus this gun has enough sex appeal to get you lucky from here till the next time Spyder comes out with something revolutionary.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

yeshi Monday, August 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder imagine,pmi pirhana
Marker Setup: Spyder electra acs,VL evo 2,14 oz pure energy.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new board,better barrel(dye boomstick?),**electric loader** a must.
Strengths: Fast firing,neat barrel,light trigger pull.
Weaknesses: A gap between the frame and the cover allows dirt and dust to get in.
Review: i love this marker to death because even a noob could get it and kicks butt with it. anyone can walk it, even my girlfriend.some people say that it chops a lot but i think thats crazy.i was walking it at 12 bps with a crappy VL 200(not electric) and not one ball broke.sure there was gaps but thats expected.i love the marker.
Conclusion: Once again this marker kicks butt and if you don't already have one, then go and get one, they're tons of fun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Vinie5121 Friday, July 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None like it baby!
Marker Setup: Electra 05 ACS, Halo B, 22 inch Blitz barrel, CO2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Fast hopper, and new barrel if you want to snipe
Strengths: Fast, fairly accurate, looks, ACS, well everything
Weaknesses: No gauge, gerr
Review: Beginners and pros alike can enjoy this marker till they grow old and die. This is the best paintball marker on the market under $500. All the people in viewing distance can't take their eyes off it. This marker is fast, looks good, and it shoots very well. I'm having a hard time believing that any other marker can even come close to it's mighty powers. So far I haven't had a single chop, even though I out shooting my Halo B. This marker can seriously make the biggest noob the best player on the field.
Conclusion: If you are a regular player or just new to the sport of paintballing and you want the competitive edge this gun is for you!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 31st, 2005 at 5:11 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (29):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media