paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2

Bob Long Defiant 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Defiant 2

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Defiant 2
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $795

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Finally, Bob Long's version of the FAMOUS ICD Defiant paintball marker reincarnated for 2005. This gun has all the features you would expect from a Bob Long marker at a very reasonable price. These guns even come with a Low Pressure Regulator adjustment/diagnostic tool for FREE!

~Beam Break Eye System
~LED Operation
~Extremely Light Weight
~14" Micro Honed Barrel
~Accepts Autococker/Intimidator Threads
~Air Ram design which means this gun is FAST!
~And More!
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Defiant 2 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
dstone454 Thursday, December 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
angel 1: around the same size maybe a little bigger, better board, barrel kit stock, on/off stock, better but not for the price

alias timmy: a little heavier but a little morre balanced so it evens out, a little more efficient, comes with little extras, better looking imo

nerve: less kick but neither have much, a tiny bit more accurate but seemed harder to rip on, less efficient

ion: much harder to walk, much slower, a little less accurate, not as efficient

wrath ltd: less accurate, less efficient, not as good
Marker Setup: grey bob long defiant 2 w/ black accents
pb inverted bolt
trinity clamping feed neck
cp direct mount on/off
cp sling trigger
cp adjustable ram cap
cp reg adapter
cp shorty reg
redz pepperstick kit



With a Reloader B and a 68/3000 carbon fiber tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
get for sure:
feed neck
asa
bolt

good to get but not mandatory
barrel kit
trigger
reg and adapter
adjustable ram cap
Strengths: Accurate
Fast
Easy to walk
Small
Light
if tuned right VERY LITTLE KICK
Weaknesses: Bolt
feed neck
no asa



Review: okay i was thinking about buying an ion but was still open minded when i walked into the shop, I saw this gun and wasn't sure what it was, i hadn't heard of any Bob Longs besides Timmys so i was curious, decided to take it after the guys at the shop vouched for it

bolt: the bolt is low flow, no detent slots, and no orings. The only thing it has going for it is its delrin, pbinverted makes a bolt that is currently the only bolt out there and it is a great bolt. I have heard that Acid Customs makes a bolt for it but i have no idea how to get it and i don't know if its any good

feed neck: It does not clamp and isn't the right size for any hopper i have tried and i didn't want to sand down a halo so i spent thirty bucks on a new one

on/off: Doesn't come with one and there are tons out there, my on/off of choice is the CP direct mount, it is so easy to turn and looks awesome

trigger: The alias trigger is nice but its a comfort thing, i don't really like it so i ordered a cp sling

Board: The frenzy board is fast but a lot of people have trouble getting rid of bounce, honestly i cant detect bounce for crap but i turned debounce on full and the ref said he couldn't find any, but if u want a new board i would recommend the Virtue

Barrel: Its alright but i bought a redz peppersticks and i'm happy with it

Kick: I'm a guy who doesn't really believe in kick with paintball guns but thats just me, i did a one finger test and it wasn't that bad, i tuned my gun to max out efficiency and reduce kick and now i have very little u only notice if u try

efficiency: off of a 68/3000 fill i get around 1000 shots maybe a little more, very nice, planning on turning my dwell to 6 stead of 10 so that should help

maintanence: very easy, if u have a new bolt lube that, lube the ram. In the manual it says to remover the e-clip and like pretty much take it apart but you can just put some lube on the metal and slide it inside and that works, maintanence is very simple and easy

reliability: I have used this gun for six months now and have never had any problems except when i turned my dwell too high and it made the board ramp until i turned it down, very reliable

sound: its pretty loud dryfiring but i never notice in the heat of the game, with paint it is much quieter and compares to an ion

weight: with everything on that comes with the gun (barrel but not asa) it weighs in at a tiny 2 pounds one ounce, very pleased. The Ion is similar in weight but this is so much more balanced. With my cp upgrades it is much lighter so its really light now.

looks: I don't like my guns color as much as the black or blue but its a nice greyish graphite but it was on sale in this color so i saved the 50 bucks. Might get custom anno and maybe milling but i doubt it

regs: The design of the reg is that the asa threads into the reg, so u need a reg adapter to slap on something new, i have a cp reg adapter and a cp shorty reg and am very happy. Make sure u use the lpr adjusting tool when changing pressure one time i went over 100 psi for a day and the manual says in BIG CAPITAL LETTERS NOT TO DO THAT, but i turned it down, no problems

update:
make sure u use your lpr adjustment tool (the gauge thing) and make sure ur lpr is set right because mine at least likes to lower itself. i have it set at 70 and its awesome


here are the upgrades in order of needing upgraded and some reccomendations:

on/off: cp direct mount, ndz, hyrbrid, whatever you prefer
feed neck: anything that clamps and clamps well
bolt: only one out there is the pb inverted and its really good
barrel: I recommend a kit anything that is good quality will work
reg and reg adapter: cp reg adapter or violent products, cp grip reg, dye hyper inline 2, aka sidewinder
trigger:cp sling or rake
board: tadao infamous or virtue they are both awesome
adjustable ram cap: cp or hybrid


and that wraps it up, you will notice that I have cp upgrades for a lot because from what I have seen they have yet to make a bad product (feedneck is questionable though) and The only non cp upgrades i have on my gun are the bolt and feedneck but i'm not biased, i have experiented with many different companys and their products and i find cp to be my favorite


ok, all my cp upgrrades came in and the thing that really stood out was the trigger, it was amazing, so smooth and no side to side movement, awesome

Conclusion: Fast, light, tight, efficient, reliable, accurate, awesomeness
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 29th, 2007 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shock135 Thursday, September 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
pm5,pm6 dm6 Shockers and all that crap
Marker Setup: Virtue board and a bolt and feedneck the kid i bought it from already had on it.
Recommended
Upgrades:
VIRTUE BOARD
Strengths: Speed, Price, Size and Weight
Weaknesses: The stock feedneck and bolt other than that nothing really.
Review: I bought this gun from my friend for 400 bucks. The second i saw i knew i wanted it. When i finally had it i went one day to play with it. This was before i had a virtue board on it. I had my egg cuz my empire was broken. I couldnt stop chopping because it was so fast. At the end of the day i fixed my empire and got a few rounds with it in. It was AMAZING. Right off the break i was shooting people like crazy. I went to the snake and was lighting people up like crazy from the back and side. I bunkered some kids on the other knuckles. At the end of the round i basically got everyone out by myself. Then when i got my Virtue i couldn't wait to see how fast i could walk on it. I got home set up my gun and loaded my hopper. I started shooting and it seemed like the second i started i shooting i was out of paint becuase it was shooting so fast.
Conclusion: Get a Virtue board and a new bolt and feedneck and you will own everyone. This gun is amazing. If i had a choice of a Ego and this gun i would defiantly take this i love this gun and will be using it for a long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

frontmanmike Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ha, similar products i'v used have been spyders and spyder clones. None have come even close to as good as a defiant 2.
Marker Setup: Silver Defiant 2
Empire B
Crossfire 45/4500 w/ Empire 06 Tank cover
14'' Dye Ultralite
Cp rail & asa
CCM Low Rise feed neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Lightness
Size
Easily dissembled
Eas of use
B.L.A.S.T.
Weaknesses: Umm...None i have found
Review: Well i got mine used for $400 but when i got it it didn't work so I quickly sent it into BLAST and they replaced and repaired everything for free! So One thing i love about this gun is the customer service. Like i'm sure you have heard before if you have big hands this will not work all that great for you but luckily i have small hands so this works perfect for me. This gun rips and is really accurate. I don't know how the stock barrel is cuz mine didn't come with one i had to buy one witch was a 14'' dye ultralite. I only had some year old tork that wasn't mine but i just took it out cuz i wanted to shoot it and i was getting everything in a 12 inch radius from about 60 ft i think. My friend recently got one, cuz he liked mine, and we shot it with the stock barrel that came with his and it was like all over the place ( like 3-4 ft )(from same distance)compared to mine and he was using some newer zap paintballs from fleet-farm. so yea overall this gun is a steal because its just as good as any other "top of the line" paintball markers so go out there and buy one today. jk
Conclusion: Yea its pretty much is awesome.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 29th, 2006 at 9:00 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dynamicpaintbal Sunday, May 14th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've shot pretty much everything.
Marker Setup: Ninja Defiant 2 with Dye Ultralight, CP reg adapter, AKA sidewinder, InvertedPB bolt, CCM no-pro feedneck, Hybrid ram cap, Hybrid highflow barbs, VP delrin LPR piston, and LCD frenzy
Recommended
Upgrades:
feedneck and reg adapter w/ a good reg
Strengths: Small
Fast
Light
Easy to use
Weaknesses: No clamping feedneck
Retarded reg config.
Kind of a gas hog stock
Review: okay, first I'll start with the good:

-This gun is TINY, my coach even says it's too small for him. and on top of that it's light. lighter than my Alias, easy.
-The gun comes with an LED frenzy which isn't super duper adjustable but it has all the essentials to make it tourney legal (debounce, dwell, turn on/off ramp, turn on/off 15 bps cap)
-The whole build of the gun makes it ludicrously easy to use and maintain, so you can spend less time working on your gun and more time shooting it.

now the bad:
-it is somewhat an incomplete package. Bob obviously skimped on some things to sell it for less and get this gun in the mid range market so it wouldn't compete with the higher end timmys.
-First of all, there is no clamping feedneck. this is annoying at best, and can stop you from playing altogether at worst. i suggest getting a clamping feedneck straight away.
-also, the reg is setup funny so you cannot just buy a new reg and slap it on there. fortunately both Custom Products and Violent Products make cheap reg adapters that allow you to throw regular regulators on there.
-out of the box, the gun is inefficient, but give it time to break in and possibly upgrade to the invertedpb bolt and you'll see better efficiency than timmys.
Conclusion: Out of the box it is a decent gun with a lot of potential for greatness. with some simple upgrades and mods, you can easily make it as good as or better than its bigger brother, the intimidator.

stock, its a high 8, with a few dollars in upgrades, it's an easy 10, so I'll average the two out for a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

brett2 Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
atomix impulse
2k3 timmy
storm timmy
alias timmy
pm5
pm6
dm6
lcd angel
03 shocker
stoned assassin shocker
classic timmy
Marker Setup: gun itself ck grips cp barrel 45/45 tank and a halo b
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
board
and a trigger
Strengths: Pretty fast
Very light
Price
Weaknesses: Unaccurate
Breaks down
Review: This is a very light gun but needs a few things added to it but overall if your just starting to play some tourneys and not alot of cash i recommend it otherwise if u have the money for a better gun than you should probably want to go with another choice but this is an average high end gun
Conclusion: If just starting and not aolt of cash buy it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

BobLongBoy56 Wednesday, August 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion,Shocker, Evil omen, Nerve, Alias Timmy
Marker Setup: Bob long defient 2
LCD Timmy board 1.5
JJ ceramic 2 piece barrel
Smartparts ASA on and off
Delern Bolt
48 3000 psi nitro tank
Egg 2 revolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
fast hopper
asa
new bolt
New feedneck
Strengths: Ultra FAST!!!!
Super Light!!!
Small
compact
big trigger frame
Weaknesses: stock feedneck
Stock barrel

Review: I have done so much with this gun i love it!!!!!!! This is a sweet gun it is so underestimated just becuse it is the cheepest bob long. There is one thing that i absolutle love about the timmys is there small ass triggers!! they are so light and snapy. I Love this gun and you will to. know your gonna say im crazy ass hell but i like it beter than my freiends EGO. Yea its a 1000 dolers but i like mine more. I could go on for ever about this gun but im gonn stop here. This is a unbelivable gun and its for everyone!!
Conclusion: This is a great gun if it came with a better feedneck it would be perfect i would give it a 9.5 but there isnt a 9.5 so i give it a 9
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

timmyowner1 Monday, June 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmys
shockers
egos
cockers
macdev
lowball guns*****
Marker Setup: black defiant 2
virtue board
cp barrel
cp reg adapter
cp reg
cp on/off
cp trigger
ccm no pro feedneck
empire reloader b2
72/4500 lp crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp everything
and a new bolt ( i need to get that also)
Strengths: reliable
Fast
Small and thin for snake players
Compact
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Takes a while getting gun broken in
Stock feedneck
stock reg
stock board
Review: i got this gun before XPSL #1 in Corona, Ca
it worked great on day one, xcept for the last game(broke)
the only reason why it went down was because it wasnt broken in (my fault)
i took the stock board out because it kept switching from eyes on to eyes off
whatever, the virtue board is way better
stock reg sux
it went +-15
so i put the cp adapter on and took my already broken in cp reg and it is perfect
by XPSL #2 in San Jose, Ca it worked flawlessly
just make sure to relube the ram after playing
Conclusion: Works great when broken in
Perfect for snake players
Just get rid of the stock parts
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boblongassasin0 Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel 06 speed, dragun timmy, angel g7, defiant, spyder pilot, electra 05, dm5
Marker Setup: angel 06 speed, 06 speed stock barrel, 4500 psi crossfire tank halo hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger (weird stock trigger) nothing else
Strengths: fast, accurate very good body style LIGHT VERY LIGHT good stock barrel very good marker
Weaknesses: Small grip and that's about it
Review: I like this gun because it is very accurate for snap shooting, its very fast for those who like fast guns it chronos at a very low fps so turn it up or your just going to be pooing balls, it chops occasionally but not much weird bolt i tried to put a halo on it and ended up sanding down the neck of the hopper because the elbow is very small if you like Bob Longs get this one i like this better then the Dragun,(because the Dragun has a lot of problems
Conclusion: Very good prodct nice barrel the trigger is bugging me
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

wunderman4 Thursday, March 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Octane Shocker
Outkast Autococker
etc.
Marker Setup: Marker-
-05 Defiant II...Dust Cobalt w/Black accents, Custom Milled, Ano by Precision PB
-Frenzy 127.3T
- CCM No-Pro
- Inverted PB Bolt
- DeadlyWind 12" Barrel w/.689 Freak Insert
- CP Short Regulator w/Bob Long Mini-Guage
- CP Rake Trigger w/Magnet Mod
- Hybrid CK Grips
- VP Reg Adapter
- VP Delrin LPR Piston
- CP Direct Mount ASA
Hopper- - Empire Reloader-b
Tank- - pure energy 68/45

Gear-

-Dye C4 jersey -blue
-Dye C4 pants -gray
-Dye Invision system
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel carbon fiber (anyone that you like)
HPR reg gauge
Inverted PB Bolt
feedneck
Strengths: Light, very very light
supper fast!
15bps cap on/off switch
ramping
Price $$$
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
No gauge on reg
Review: This gun rips! i traded this gun for my used octane shocker. at first i was a little hazy if i made a good trade but after the first hopper i ran threw it i knew i would never turn back. this gun is supper light and is very small. it is awesome for the front/mid player that is looking for a gun that rips and gets the job done fast.
Conclusion: If you want a supper quick gun that has a supper smooth looks, deep ano, and small, light weight style then this is the gun for you. when you bring this fun to the Field people will look at you with disbelief but when they wipe the paint off their face you will see the look you deserve! awesome gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cooptroop6969 Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
various timmys- about the same but more features
Marker Setup: 2005 bob long defiant
dye ultralite
bob long roller trigger
cp on/off
egg II w/ y board
dye throttle 70/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
clamping feedneck- about $30
inverted pb bolt- $38 from manufacturers website
Strengths: - fast
- light
- small
- consistent
- Easy to take apart
- Efficient with inverted pb bolt
- Easy maintenance
Weaknesses: - No claming feedneck
- Not very good efficiency stock
- Board not programmable
Review: STRENGTHS:
fast: uncapped board w/ ramping and trigger is soooo smooth
light: OMG its so light. weighs just over 2 lbs w/ barrel and reg
small: smaller than a shocker or ion or any other timmy and really tight w/ a unimount
consistent: when the reg is broken in has +/- 2 fps (but i have an ultralight and inverted pb bolt) stock is like +/-3 or 4 ive heard
easy to take apart: unsrew the ram thing in the back , pop out the bolt.....thats most of the gun right there
efficient w/ an inverrted pb bolt: gets about 1700 shots out of a 68/45 but stock itsabout 1200 from a 68/45
easy matinence: lube the bolt and ram every 5000 shots and lube reg +lpr every 10000 shots and occasional replacing of o-rings

WEAKNESSES:

no clamping feedneck: takes a lot of force to get a hopper in and have to shave down some hoppers to fit
not very good efficiency stock: 1200 shots out of a 68/45, but not too bad and an inverted pb bolt will change that
board not programmable: not programmable but has semi ramping capped and uncapped and different eye modes. also has debounce settings
Conclusion: Awesome gun especially for $650 brand new ( cheapest ive found it ) basically a cheaper timmy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media