paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2

Bob Long Defiant 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Defiant 2

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Defiant 2
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $795

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Finally, Bob Long's version of the FAMOUS ICD Defiant paintball marker reincarnated for 2005. This gun has all the features you would expect from a Bob Long marker at a very reasonable price. These guns even come with a Low Pressure Regulator adjustment/diagnostic tool for FREE!

~Beam Break Eye System
~LED Operation
~Extremely Light Weight
~14" Micro Honed Barrel
~Accepts Autococker/Intimidator Threads
~Air Ram design which means this gun is FAST!
~And More!
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Defiant 2 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
nrgkilla9 Saturday, October 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Naughty Dogs Timmy
Empire Timmy
Alias Timmy
Marker Setup: Defiant
45/45 Empire Fuel
Velocity
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Barrel
Bolt
Strengths: Very Light
Fast
Great retail price
Weaknesses: None really
Review: This gun is priced great and shoots like any other timmy. It comes good stock but there are a few upgrades like the barrel, bolt, and feedneck that will make this gun even better. You dont have to worry about air because this gun is not an air hog. It is pretty easy to clean and and is not hard to take care of.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun to anyone who wants a tournament grade gun but doesnt want to spend over $700. It shoots just as well as any other timmy for close to half the price. Overall a great gun.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

defianttom Thursday, December 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocker, proto this is my first bob long
Marker Setup: defiant 2 with halo b, cp on/off 45/45 tank hybrid tech feed neck evil pipe kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
just a feed neck and a new barrel
Strengths: The trigger is nice, the frenzy board , and its easy to maintain
Weaknesses: The barrel
Review: So i was at my local field when this guy came in with his new defiant. i was gonna get a pimp which i am glad i didn't because this thing was sweet. It is smaller then regular Timmy's which i really liked and it rips. I like the board because it has psp modes and u can put ramp on and off and it is a good board. the trigger is very nice with just a few adjustments and man it goes. the small body is very nice and i mean you can just wip this baby around.
Conclusion: So all and all the defiant 2 is a great gun and is working great with me. It is fast and is very small. You just need a new barrel and you are all set to let some paint fly.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 22nd, 2005 at 9:27 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

destrega_43 Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Probaly the most similar marker I used would be a bushmaster.
Marker Setup: 04 blue/ black storm with uni-mount, 45/45 crossfire, stiffi kit, hybrid volumiser, hybrid adj. ram cap, violent products bolt, and tadao board

also a defiant 2 with new feedneck, violent product reg adapter, shocktech reg, a unimount, a roller bearing trigger, adjustable ram cap, and an infamous board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck, trigger, and reg
Strengths: Pretty fast
Accurate
Small
Light
Weaknesses: Unreliable
Review: Being a long time timmy user when bob came out with the defiant 2 I bought it right away. Now let me be the first to say when this gun works, it shoots awesome. It's also very small, light, and not that bad on air. But like I said this is when it works. I got my defiant 2 out of the box brand new and it didn't work, so I went back to my local store where I bought it and asked if they could fix it after hours of trying to get it to work; they instead just got me a brand new one, and this one did work out of the box. So I go to my local field and air up the gun and it chrono's well, about +/- 8fps that's fine for a unbroken in reg. The gun works well for most of the day until it decides to get serious drop off. First I think it's my tank and I forgot to get air, but this proves not to be the case. I then clean the main hpr but this solves nothing, I finally just give up pull out my storm and finish the rest of the day. At home I noticed that when you had air in it, it would shoot and then make a "shiccck" sound as air went back into it. So I bought a vp reg adapter and a shocktech reg, and that seems to have fixed the problem.

*update*
After using the defiant 2 for several months now, and not encountering any other problems along the way I decided that the gun deserves a better score the the previous 7 I gave it. I did not take into account that when I first bought the marker that they were brand new, and any brand new gun will have some problems and require a break in period. So after my intial problems with this marker I can now easily say that it shoots outstanding, I haven't broke any paint since I went with a infamous board and the marker it's self has had no more problems with it of any kind. I beleive however no matter how new the gun may be that it should still work out of the box, I also beleive that a little better quality control should be in order. Overall I raise this marker from the 7 I gave it to a 9 now.
Conclusion: Overall, this gun has given me some hassle's and I beleive that a gun should work out of the box. But while the gun works it shoots really nice. With the hassle's and problems, and with the first one not working out of the box I'll give it a 7.

*edit*
look at top review.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 8th, 2005 at 6:36 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

McNics Thursday, March 26th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders, vision shocker, 05 ego, toxic shocker, timmis, angels
Marker Setup: black defiant II with halo b
88/4500 pure energy steel tank
blue empire/angel one on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
new bolt for sure
new feed neck(stock sucks)
Strengths: speed
accuracy
good on air
no kick
LIGHT!!!!!!!
Weaknesses: Loud
Chops on some occasions
Feedneck
Review: I bought this gun off a buddy of mine a while back and i was blown away at first shot, i got it for mad cheap ($120) and just had to put a line on it. i took it out back gassed this puppy up and started shooting and before i knew it i had shot over 1,000 rounds with only a couple chops. this gun is really accurate. i took it to a field and was MOWING people down everyone kept askin me what upgrades i had on it and when i told them everything was stock they told me i was full of it. cleaning it is really easy just pop the bolt out and run a swab thru and you're good to go.
Conclusion: If your someone whose looking for a gun thats light, fast, and it really compact then this is the gun for you. i would reccomend this for someone who plays mid/front or snake and also who is serious about the sport. you wont be dissappointed when you see people coming off the field with your paint on them. it just putsa big smile on your face
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sleezbeezbeast Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kingman Electra 06, there is no comparison. The Defiant blows the Electra away.
Marker Setup: I use the Defiant and i have an On/Off switch. A Halo and a 14" Evil Driver barrel with a Contract Killer marker grip. And a bob Long feed neck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a 14" barrel. I have the Evil Driver barrel and it is dead accurate. But the stock barrel on the Defiant STINKS get a new one. Also get a feed neck. I have a bob long feedneck and it works great. GET A 4500 TANK.
Strengths: This gun is ACCURATE, QUIET and FAST.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel
Stock Feed Neck
And adjust the trigger
GAS HOG
Review: Overall this gun is awesome! I got mine for $450. Its accuracy is well worth the price and it's proven to be consistent time after time. Adjust the trigger to suit your style and start rippin. I do suggest a new feed neck b/c it does not come with a locking one. And get a new barrel b/c the stock is not that accurate. The Evil Driver barrel is great. If you dont have a Halo, get one. B/c this gun will outshoot the Egg time after time in the middle of a game. It is a bit of a gas hog so unless you like running to fill your air after every game i'd suggest you get a 4500 tank. The 3000 tank holds about 300 to 350 balls. If your a front man and just starting i'd suggest a 3000 though b/c they are so light and compact...like this gun. This gun is AMAZING for the price. Just be sure to get a nice tank to fit your position.
Conclusion: GET IT!! And when you do get a Halo and a 4500 tank and you'll be tearin it up in no time.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballEvans Sunday, January 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icd promaster, weak build quality / Evil Omen 2.0 no comaprison the D2 is just like any of the intimidators
Marker Setup: Bob Long D2(silver), Virtue 2k4 board, 14" Dye ul, Ndz asa, custum O-ringed stock bolt, lapco clamping feedneck, Hybrid lady grips, Ndz swoop trigger Evo2 w/z-board and Air America 68,3000 w/PE valve
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Bolt
-doesn't come w/an asa
-and who doesn't change the barrel
Strengths: -Fast
-prolly the lightest gun on the market and smallest
-Bob long's Quality
Weaknesses: -The stock bolt kills efficiency
-price may turn some away
Review: Ok so I got my Defient 2 through a trade for my previous marker and I was very impressed by the quality, allthough not as flashy as the intimadators build quality is not sacraficed and you can see that even at frist glance. I hate how people say this marker is not an intimidator or nothing like one well tell me whats not like one about it other than it doesnt say intimidator after its name. The defient shoots as good as any of bob longs markers and thats why the price is still up there wich some people may feal is kinda high sence I traded a $350 marker for myn Im not complaining but the defient is very unique and will hold its value well for a while to come still Msrp set at $700, being only made in 2005.

About how it shoots well first off, you will find some of the stock components are weak and realy hinder the performance I had trouble with velocity and consistency due to the stock bolt. The bolt doesn't have o-ring or detent slots the detents take just fine without the slots but without o-rings everything is lost, consistency, accuracy, speed, smoothness and total efficiancy but don't waist ur money on the Pbinverted bolt I did and it didn't fit right, the detent slots grabed the detents more than the stock bolt without any and it has no advances over the stock bolt other than the o-rings, I custum o-ringed my bolt on each side of the air inlet and my defient was shooting ropes
I could drop the lpr to 65 and still shoot around 280 with no kick and great performance.

The stock torpedo red is very good and changeing it only changes the entire look of the marker the reg varies +or- 5 fps on average wich is good

The stock trigger may to some make the marker feal cramped and I found to be way to small and hard to walk.

With the new 2k4 intimidator virtue board nothing can stop this thing and I love it the virtue board is prolly the best board on the market and works great in the Defient2

Conclusion: This is a great marker and very unique, but needs a few upgrades to maximize the performance, but build quality and style says Bob Long all over it and screams high end when you shoot it! I give it an 8 only because of some weak stock components and it realy is a build up project.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bad Company Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ICD Promaster and Bushmaster, NME, Warped Sportz Timmy.
Marker Setup: Defiant 2:
CP Reg
CP ASA
Lucky 15 kit
Virtue Board
NDZ Feedneck
Dye Sticky Grips
Palmer Rock LPR
Halo with V35, ST speedwheel, and delrin drive cone
XSV ASA bottle adapter
NDZ Edge Trigger
Crossfire 68/45 HP
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP asa for a new reg, barrel(but the Assian barrle is great)
Strengths: Awesome accurcy, good speed, tiny, light and tiny can use(some) intimidator parts,fast.
Weaknesses: Incredible gas hog, cant put after market reg on, stock feed neck,trigger not good.
Review: I got this gun in the summer and wanted to wait to really use it, then write a review. Well here we go...

Problems: I like buying after market parts but not as many as i had to buy for this one. The gun worked fine when i first got it. But I couldnt use any after market regs cas the stock asa was threaded weird. Got pissed about that. Then I got everything i wanted for it for a while. Then One time when i wnet out to practice i noticed my lpr screw was loose. Thought nothing about it. But when i went to shoot it, it wouldnt shoot cas the lpr fell apart. I got a new one everything was fine 4 a while. Then the damn frenzy board went on me and left me without a gun for a while cas Bob Long didnt want to do anything about it. Then finally i got a virtue and Palmer LPR.

Goods: I thinks its incredibly accurate, with virtue was faster, and my new lpr lets e suck every bit of gas out of my tank(no more gas hog) the new trigger is way better cas the stock one has side to side play, no one likes that. I like my new feedneck but i really want a new one cas the NDZ one i have doesnt hold egg feednecks so yeah i want a new one. The stock grips are alright no complanits. I cant really say anything about the consistency cas i had a bigger bore barrle( lucky 15 .689) so the consistency was off a little. The CP reg made up for that though. Im getting a pulse and powerlyte kit for better consistency. O yeah and its tiny and light.
Conclusion: I would recomend this gun for any one who loves BL and small guns. Sadly they dont make them anymore. U can still find them if u really look. But dont get it if u dont like spending money.
IF u like spending money for making ur gun awesome get it.
If u dont then well. dont get this one
All in all i love this gun
I give mine a 10 with all the up grades, but without them only an 8
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

sexyPballer Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Matrix, All the Dms, the ego, the alias intimidator, also a ton of low end markers from spyders to the triton 2.
Marker Setup: Bob long Defiant 2 w/ stock frenzy board, Invreted PB Defiant 2 bolt, Hybrid hedlock feedneck, macroline kit, stock barrel, and a Shocktech On/ Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, bolt, feedneck, an on/off, and a nice hopper.
Strengths: Price, good eye logic, light, compact, and easability to clean and lube.
Weaknesses: The Body style, feedneck, loud (although i had the stock barrel), and no guage port.
Review: Well i got this gun from a my local shop for 350 with all the upgrades in my description which was a sweet deal. i am very happy with this gun other than the small problems mentioned in the weakness spot above. this gun totally rips. ive played with a couple of times now and the efficency is i think average with getting about 400 shots off w/ a 47ci 3000psi tank. after i put a stiffi, an egg2, and a crossfire tank on it i was amazed on how light and compact it was. its light and compact enough to play frontman yet it has enough speed and accuracy to play back. Good job bob long for making a quality gun for the kid who doesnt have a ton of cash to blow.
Conclusion: good gun,good price,good job Bob Long. Get this gun because you get a ton of things for a very low price. If anyone has any other ideas for upgrading this gun please post a comment. P.S. if anyone has this gun please recomend a good barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 4th, 2006 at 2:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RebelTex Monday, August 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
gz intimidator, G7 angel, sp ion
Marker Setup: Black Defiant 2 w/ cp reg adapter, cp reg, cp drop, cp on/off asa, new designz low rise feed neck, inverted bolt, hybrid grenade grips

GZ Timmy w/ shocktech feedneck, adjustable ram cap, was 2.7, new designz blade trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
FEED NECK
cp reg adapter/cp reg (kinda preference)
inverted bolt (with detent slots) helps consistancy and accuracy
Strengths: Light
Small
Fast
Cheap
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
The stock reg setup
Stock barrel kinda
Review: Went to the local shop looking to get an ion for backup to gz timmy, when I see this beast sitting next to the ion, and marked down to $375. Already knowing the quality of the Bob Long line, I had to make the extra investment, and man am I glad I did. Didn't come with asa or anything, but that was alright, it allowed me to pick what I liked off the start. Anyway got it home, screwed the air on and let it rip. This gun is super quick, small, light, and accurate, and because of this, my gz is now backup. Trigger was easy to adjust, and made it even quicker. Had to keep a close eye as everyone at the local field kept picking it up, and wanting to shoot it....As far as it stacks up against the other guns I have used. The gz timmy, same if not better performance in a smaller lighter package. G7 fly, not quite as fast, but a little lighter. The ion, similar weight, but it just felt more well constructed, and in performance, it is easily quicker.

My complaints:
The stock feedneck isnt good, and unless you have a really well sanded halo, or maybe an egg (I don't own an egg, so I don't know) then you will have a hard time getting a loader on. Next, the stock reg sits right up against the trigger frame, and the hose came in right where my hand would sit on the reg, making it a real pain to use, no matter how i moved the hose. Easy solution is a cp reg adapter, and a cp reg. This gives your hand some room on the reg, making it more balanced, and with the cp reg input in the bottom, you dont have to worry about it getting in your way. The stock barrel wasn't great, it wasn't horrible either, but a new one would definately help.
Conclusion: This is a sweet gun, especially for the price. A few minor upgrades and you will have an even sweeter gun that will draw looks from everyone (since its not really a common gun). There is even more stuff you can do to it out of preference. But out of the box with a new feedneck is what I am going to rate this gun on, since the feedneck really doesnt effect the performance of the gun, so I give this gun a 9, since I dont believe any gun is perfect, but this one comes close, especially once you consider price. Get one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

AJL2126 Wednesday, August 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Texas Storm Timmy
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant- Red
Halo B
Crossfire 68ci 4500psi
CCM Rail w/ CCM on/off
Stock Barrel- Getting new one soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck and barrel
Strengths: Small, Light , Fast
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Gas Hog
Review: I got my gun and the first time i tried to shoot it the gun would not shoot, still dont know why went and got it fixed played with it and it was amazing the the eyes broke. i got those fixed played again and then the eyes broke again and then again one more time. But the last time was my fault bc my little brother dropped it on the ground. I am going to go get my eyes fixed again and my gun is also leaking down the barrel right now so i have to get some things fixed right now. The gun is a gas hog. But the gun also has lots of key parts to it like being able to tuck in and easy to manever with. I am in love with the gun and i expect great things out of it once it is fixed.
Conclusion: If you want to put some time into the gun and upgrade it and pay a little extra for some gun problems then this is the perfect gun for me. Overall I give it a 7 because it has had some problems that had nothing to do with the person owning it but it is a great gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media