paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2 / Bob Long Defiant 2

Bob Long Defiant 2 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long Defiant 2

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long Defiant 2
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 44
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $795

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Finally, Bob Long's version of the FAMOUS ICD Defiant paintball marker reincarnated for 2005. This gun has all the features you would expect from a Bob Long marker at a very reasonable price. These guns even come with a Low Pressure Regulator adjustment/diagnostic tool for FREE!

~Beam Break Eye System
~LED Operation
~Extremely Light Weight
~14" Micro Honed Barrel
~Accepts Autococker/Intimidator Threads
~Air Ram design which means this gun is FAST!
~And More!
Product Availability 
The Bob Long Defiant 2 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
IlliniPa1ntball Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Intimidator
05 Eclipse Ego
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant 2
Hybrid feedneck
Hybrid On-Off air switch
Dye Ultralight Barrel 14'
Recommended
Upgrades:
Hybrid Feedneck
Dye Ultralight 14" barrel
Strengths: Light, Small, Fast, Accurate, Sharp looks.
Weaknesses: None really i've never used the stock feedneck so i don't know
Review: It's the smallest gun out there in size, about the lightest and pretty fast. I'm very impressed with this gun, and it has a nice feel to it in my opinion and is just overall great.

I don't know what else to say so im just writing this to make it 50 words.
Conclusion: Buy it.........
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

defyhits11 Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Intimidator
Spyder Electra-Terrible
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant 2
Dye Ultralite 14" Barrel
CP On/Off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B w/ Rip Drive
New Barrel?
Strengths: Accuracy
Durability
Looks
Sound
Speed
Weaknesses: Not Gas Efficient
Review: The Defiant 2 is an excellent gun very accurate and consistent. This gun also great because you can you very low grade paintballs and still have it show like crazy. Speed is a very important factor on a gun and this gun doesn't lack that factor at all. With this gun if you shoot someone once, there going to be shot at least four more times. This gun is an amazing gun.
Conclusion: This gun is an amazing gun! If you are looking for a ripping gun under $500 this is your caliing.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 18th, 2006 at 7:16 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thecoolbrad Friday, July 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion
Marker Setup: bob long defiant 2 with empire reloader b, match stick and glass raped cross fire tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
feed neck and barell but thats with any gun and hopefully they will have a new board for it then it would be pretty much a timmy
Strengths: Light small great for front players easy to work on and manual is very helpfull
Weaknesses: They dont have a gage on the gun and kinda loud
Review: Buy it, it rocks it has so many good features with it speacally for a front player and the only weaknesses are miner anouinces and if you look hard enough u can get it for $400 new thats how much I payed for mine, its kinda hard to find something small enough to set the dip switch (I used a paper clip and grinded the tip its works great) but over all I think this things a great buy even for full price
Conclusion: buy it its a great gun, I love it and its damn sexy
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

timmyfreak09 Sunday, April 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
vision shockers, wgp trilogy pro, bob long timmies, 04 angel speeds, dm's, pm's
Marker Setup: bob long defiant 2 red w/ black accents
vp reg adapter
bob long 05 torpedo reg
scythe trigger
hybrid headlock 2 feedneck
infamous alias board
unimount
adjustable ram cap
empire reloader b2
pmi 68/45 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new reg, inverted pb bolt (stock leaks a very minute amount of air), new feedneck
Strengths: Rips like crazy, small and light weight,very upgradable, quiet, gentle on paint
Weaknesses: Maybe a little too small for big hands, not built like a normal timmy
Review: PROS
i've had this gun for about 6 months now and have had no problems wth it whatsoever. the first day i took it out to play i had only chopped 2 balls out of a full 2 cases of paint and on top of that my old halo had a bad eye and kept shutting off on me but did affect the guns performance at all. with or without a new board this gun can shoot ropes very easy and fairly accurately for having a stock barrel, although an ultralight would help. i have never had any problems with the 05 torpedo reg, bolt, eyes or any part of this gun EVER. for some reason this gun is also extremely quiet, idk but it might be because of its small size wich is also another huuuge pro. this gun is about as small as an ego. it is also very upgradable as you can see by how much ups i have listed above in my gun setup.

CONS
maybe a little too small for big hands, but kids dont have to worry at all about how small it is, is not built like a normal timmy therefor a lot of upgrades for timmys will not work on this gun, trigger adjustability isnt the best but with a little tweaking you can make it a ton better, stock reg out of the box just doesnt cut it so a new reg would help
Conclusion: I love how small and fast this gun is and it can compete right up ther with the shockers and is close to the dm's and pm's but not quit. great gun out of box and can take a lot of upgrades, soft on paint, very quiet. i believe you should get this gun over any other in its price range because of all of these things plus the reliability of bob long
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 30th, 2006 at 5:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robbinz18 Saturday, April 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Omen
Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: Bob Long Defiant 2 with a Shocktech drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Drop Forward
Feedneck
Strengths: Accuracy and Speed
Weaknesses: The regulator is too close to the trigger frame
Review: This is a great gun at a great price. It can compete with any of the other Bob Long markers. The trigger is extremely sensative and has a great rate of fire. This gun can improve even the weakest paintballer. This is a good gun for any player who shoots a lot of paint. It doesn't hog air.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a cheap gun that can compete with any other gun, then this is the gun your looking for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DiversityBack21 Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Basically Owned or used all high end guns
Marker Setup: Blue 2005 Defiant 2
Tadao M5 Board
Hybrid Feed Neck
14'' Empire Twister Barrel (The best one for the D2)
CP Reg
Reg Adapter
CP Roller Trigger
Empire Rail
Empire On/Off
PMI 45/45
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
ASA
Feed
Strengths: Weight
Quickness(BPS)
Weaknesses: Feed Sux
Very Unacterate At High Speeds
Review: The Defiant 2 is a great overall gun! If you dont want to spend 1000 dollars on a good looking, good performing gun, but you want to keep up with those high competetors, buy the Defiant. It shoots great with a little modyfiying, and you can bring it to any tounament and win. If you are reading this and you own a defiant or will, a few mods will help your gun perform better.

Mods:
Poppit Spring Takeout (Increased Effeciantcy And Decreased Kick)
Take Out The LPR (Under The Barrel)
Right next to the LPR, take out the black screw.
Infront Of the HPR ( The big reg), take out the silver screw
Then, Remove the LPR, and take out the spring inside.
Put everything back
Make sure you lubu the inside of the LPR every few days of paintball

Colored Bolt Mod:
Go to your local hobby store and Buy RIT dye
Select the color that you want your defiants bolt to be (I picked black)
Pick the liquid RIT dye, not powder
Boil Water (Read Back Of Bottle)
Pour Whole Bottle Into Boiling Water
Place bolt into boiling water/dye
leave there for 25 minutes, while stirring
Take Out Bolt, And Make sure you dry EVERYTHING
Put the bolt back in the gun
Conclusion: The defiant is a pretty good stock gun, but it can get alot better. This is a great gun for any beginning tourny players, or anyone who wants a great gun with some ups
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Mrdirp Friday, January 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, Ripper 2.0, Proto Trix
Marker Setup: Defiant w/ new designes on/off (just got it, more to come!!!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
On/Off (needed)
Strengths: REALLY LIGHT
really fast
so far reliable
looks cool
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is an incredible marker for its price. Literally it is a timmy for a lower price. Small, great for the front man, easy to tuck in with, and it is really fast. I did however have a problem with the initiall inefficiancy on air, but that soon changed when i got the lpr set, the marker worn in, and the chrono speed down to a safe area. All in all, i love this marker, its easy to work on, and a real bargain
Conclusion: This is a great marker for any player on the team, small and light for the front man, nice and fast for the back man. This is a great marker well worth the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tacticalpaint40 Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm5, Shocker, Dm4, Ego, 2k2+ timmys, and 05 speed
Marker Setup: pm5, 692 Ultralite, Hybrid bolt guide, Tadao M3, and New Designs low rise,Empire Reloader B, 70/4500 centerflag stubby-----Defiant, angled asa, Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
M5 board (infamous)--I didn't buy it yet tough
Strengths: light, accurate, SMALL, nice stock trigger IMO, and come psp ready
Weaknesses: No asa, limited adjustments on the stock board
Review: I bought this gun for 450 NIB!!!. So i think this gun is amazing for the price. I notice the gun wqas considerably smaller than my pm5. The stock barrel is great with medium bore paint (689). I also noticed the speed of the gun is very nice.

I first setup my gun.....using the gauge and adjusting the lpr to 80psi, and adjusting the reg to 280 velocity. I decided to use a mix of severe cyclone, and evil paint. I started by shoting slow. (maybe 5bps-10bps) Then i brought the gun up to speed (aroung 15bps) the gun seemed very accurate.

After shooting 200 balls from 70 feet at target, the grouping was about 10 inches wide. There was 0 chops and 0 barrel breaks.During this test it was 40*f outside, so the paint became brittle. After shooting another pod with the same results, i figured i would try some drills with it. I started doing a snapshoting drill. It was were i set up a target 100 feet away and i had to crouch behide a bunker and snap out and shoot at it. While i was doing this my brother was shooting at me with his 05 speed. I hit the target aout 70 times (not to bad at 100 feet) out of a pod of paint. I was only hit 4 times while snapping out.(i kept snapping)

I use my D2 as a backup for my up'd pm5, but when i get a clamping feedneck and i infamous it i may use it more than my pm5.
Conclusion: i love my D2 and would reccomend it to anyone looking for a great gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Feeling_Defiant Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PsychoBallistics Silver Bullet - Decent speed but it didn't have much power. I mean, the ball didn't go very far even with the velocity all the way up.
Kingman AMG LCD - Excellent marker, very durable. Fast, but way too heavy.
Marker Setup: Bob Long 2005 Defiant 2 - Black
Inverted Paintball Bolt
Check It Products Uni-mount
Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Inverted Paintball Bolt
A hopper that can feed at least 15 bps for capped modes.
Strengths: Ramp, board, light and very small.
Weaknesses: Mine leaked from the LPR but I just needed to tighten it.
Review: It's a very good gun. For the price, I don't know if you could get a better gun. For $300 cheaper than an Intimidator but offering virtually the same performance, I don't see how you could go wrong.

It's a very quiet marker. I have a friend with an Orracle + Kanor Kit and my marker is just as quiet (without the inverted bolt). I couldn't be happier with this marker.

It's relatively easy to switch the modes, and the trigger pull out of the box is very nice and small.
Conclusion: I'd have to repeat myself. For the price the Defiant 2's go for, I don't see how anything could be better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GuMmYbEaR Tuesday, November 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any other Imtimidator, ProMaster
Marker Setup: 2005 Blue Defiant 2
Check-It Unimount
48/3000 PMI w/ tank cover
Reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, if you like better accuracy
Regulator, if your an idiot
Bolt, if you want your gun to be all it can be
Board, if you can shoot faster than 25 bps...
Feedneck, if your as lazy as i am
Strengths: Fast
Small
Light
Sexy
Consistent
Accurate
Weaknesses: Bad Efficiency
The anno is so nice, you cant avoid getting finger prints on it
Review: Well, when i went to Canadian Paintball to pick up my D2. I first noticed the wonderful milling, and anno it had. When i took it home, I gassed it up, and noticed there was a leak in it, I figured, no problem, i'll just seal that up later. When i shot it, it was wonderful, accurate, fast, and consistent out of the box. Until my tank hit about 1000 PSI...it all went downhill from there.. The bolt got stuck, and it seemed to be leaking from the inside of the marker, i panicked, and pushed the bolt foreward, it shot a couple more shots, then it got stuck again, this time it was leaking out of the barrel, YIKES!! I was really worried, I degassed it, and brought it in to CP the next day. They cleaned it for me, and re-lubed it. They dont me that when your tank doesn't supply enough pressure to the HPR. This means that after about 400-500 shots, my tank was done. It was a major set back, but i still love my marker to death.
Conclusion: It's a great marker, just be sure to get yourself a bolt with o-rings, so it's more efficient. And get a good sized tank as well, not a 48/3000, what a mistake haha. I give it an 8 because it's as good as any other timmy, but for a very good price, and because of it's stupid disease like weakness of bad efficiency.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media