paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip / Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip

Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Wicked Air Sportz

Buy Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip

Paintball A-5 Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 36
Average Rating: 6.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Equalizer is a tournament legal board for Tippmann's A5 and Pro-E markers. This board has been approved for use by Tippmann, which means that by using this board you will not void the warranty of your marker. This upgrade board increases the rate of fire and offers numerous other features. The Equalizer uses highly sophisticated algorithms for calculating the optimal cycle timing and handling issues of marker recoil due to a "sear tripper" design. There are no dip switches. All settings are stored internally. Dwell, Debounce(tm), rate of fire cap, and firing mode can be programmed using the trigger and LED. Firing modes include semi-auto, PSP ramping, and NXL full auto. Rate of Fire: Approximately 25+ bps
Product Availability 
The Wicked Air Sportz W.A.S. Equalizer Board for E-grip is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
dac_740 Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
original e-grip
stock grip
Marker Setup: Tippmann a5
w.a.s. e-grip
16 oz c02
expansion chamber
ricochet r5 hopper
jcs folding stock
14 progressive barrel
Strengths: Fast
Easy to use once you get used to it
Weaknesses: Takes getting used to
No instructions
Review: I first got this grip, and when I opened the box, there were no instructions. So I put it on anyway, when I powered it up, lights were flashing and I had no idea what they meant. I went the the wicked air sportz website and downloaded the manual. Problem solved. I had to first change the polarity of the trigger, so that the sear releases when the trigger is pulled, not released, and after that it was pretty much set for me. The stock rate of fire 15 bps was more than enough for me, so I only changed the firing mode, and have yet to have any problems. Also, there are no plastic screws to strip. Big Bonus!
Conclusion: So far a great trigger, but do yourself a favour and download the manual. It will save you a lot of trouble. My biggest problem was the polarity. If you just got the trigger and are having a lot of trouble figuring it out, it is then probably the polarity. change it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kevin M. Monday, December 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
APE Rampage Board
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline
All American Barrel Back with 10'' Red Freak Front
Vortex Mod
A-5 QEV
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
E-Grip
APE Rampage Board
Opsgear Folding Stock
Ricochet Hopper
Oxygen & Co2 Tanks

Strengths: Fastish
Weaknesses: Need a tool to change boards, not waterproof, lack of modes
Review: This board is good because it is fast, but it is marketed at being 30 bps, somthing that they know the a-5 can not achieve even with extensive modding, so it is marketed to people who think that thir A-5 will be able to shoot as fast as the board. In comparrasson to any other markers e board this thing is completly ghetto. In place of a display screen, you have to use somthing small to poke on the board, and it is slow to change modes, due to the fact that you have to turnboard off and back on in order to change modes, then turn it off and on again to be able to use these firing modes.Due to this, one of my first upgrades to the e grip was to buy the ape rampage board
The WAS has huge problems with <<<<RUNAWAY FIRING>>>>
Conclusion: Not a good board, personally, i would reccomend upgrading the board from the stock e grip because the thing is a POS. Tippmann should be ashamed to have such a S**TTY board in their product
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 14th, 2007 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

escaper06 Wednesday, October 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
rt trigger
Marker Setup: a-5 marker
j&j 14" barrel
camo kit
delrin bolt
Strengths: Very quick fire rate and not to hard to install. Just take your time.
Weaknesses: Instructions on how to program
Review: Installation isn't that hard to install most batteries will fit in some tighter then others. The wires a little touchy but if you are careful you will have no problem with it. If u decide to get this product, also look into the qev kit and aluminum sprocket kit see if you can talk your dealer into a kit package and save a few bucks.
Conclusion: This is a great product but look into a package deal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JIMJIM_TIPPMANN Monday, August 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Using other friends guns with E Trigger
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro, Cyclone Feed, E trigger, 14" Thunder Pig, 72/3000psi tank.
Strengths: Put the ROF and Other modes right where you want them.
Weaknesses: The ramping if you are a woodsball player. Other wise no weakness.
Review: I really like having a gun that can keep up with the my other friends that have the E trigger. It is very nice to have if you where non stop shooting like you see on tv but if you are a woodsball player I would like the other E trigger better. That is just my opinion. The LED lights are great. It tells you if you are doing something wrong. Like if you didnt pull the trigger enough times to put it on something then it does not work. I dont mind that cuz I would like to have it set up to the way i want it. I'm taking mine back and i'm going to see if i can get the older e trigger. I play woodsball so it might take a long time to get in to a gun fight so then ur gun is on and wasting battery. And plus the ramping. It is no big deal but sometimes i want full auto right now but i have to pull it three times first. So then when u stop shooting that starts all over.
Conclusion: If you are a tourney player then yes i do recommend this but if you are a woodsball player then i dont think you will like it as much as the older e Trigger.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ICU117 Monday, August 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Original egrip board
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5, Folding stock, egrip, Apex, Rufus Dawg Double Trigger
Strengths: No screwdriver required
Lights to tell amt of battery left
Weaknesses: No full auto
Hard to change dwell time
Turns off after 10 min of inactivity
Review: I bought this off the local airsmith for $60 in exchange for my friend stock board. I was also tired of having to use a tiny little jewlers screwdriver to change modes. The w.a.s. board is much easier to change modes. All you have to do is press down the button for 1/4 of a second. Like most of the other reviews say, it is hard to change the different options on the board. But, it is possible. Its a faster board.
Conclusion: All in all its a great buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

v1l2u5 Saturday, August 12th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
APE Board
Marker Setup: APE Board Egrip
M81a2 mag
9" OPSGear shroud
8" Lapco Fake supr
16" J&J Cerm Barrel
Smoked ricochet hopper
30 Swat Force Red Dot site (yes it works) w/ offsite rail
m4 stock
3 point sling
Dead On Power Tube and Bolt upgrade
Palmer Inline Regulator w/ remote line (maybe the best upgrade)
Strengths: Cool concept
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I found the instructions hard because I missed the part that said to remove the small clip on back of the trigger, the font was too small and that caused problems. At first the programming was a little diffecult to understand, but I got the hang of it. Now for the real problem, I could only get it to not bounce in semi mode. I tried bending the microswitch up a little bits at a time and still couldn't get it to stop bouncing. Finally I think it couldn't take much more tinkering and it broke. I fix the microswitch, but then the wires for the selonoid broke off. I couldn't get my solder to stick to the board so I gave up.
Conclusion: They need to make sure that they clearly display all instuctions with the package. It would be cool if they made the programming more user friendly and allow quick mode changes.
I think only maybe 10% of people have problems with the bounce or sticking in full auto. It would help to solder the switch onto the board like APE does.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

asnmonkey6969 Friday, July 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Electronic dragunfly LED autococker
Spyder Pilot
Icon-Z with electronic board
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Polished Internals
GTA Flatline barrel
GTA Low pressure kit
GTA E-grip w/ WAS board
JCS blade trigger
JCS folding combat stock
DOP adapter
Palmer Fatty regulator
Shocktech ..4 drop forward
BSA rd30/sb with butler creek blizzard caps
Hopper offset
Smart parts 14 boss progressive barrel
J&J Performance 16 full tilt ceramic barrel
Ben Tippmann Apex barrel
Response trigger available
JCS red hot powertube with front delrin bolt
Palmer Pursuit high flow QEV kit
32 degrees remote
palmer inline reg
pure energy 88cu 4500 psi CF tank
tech t vortex
Strengths: Flexible and adjustable. fire rate 30 bps.
Weaknesses: Not waterproof needs upgrades to the cyclone to keep up.
Review: when i first got it it seemed defective cause it would not immediately work. Basically the e-grip would be on and the gun cocked but would not fire. I could hear the sear tripper activiating but would not release the bolt. I took it to a shop and they had to put in a new sear spring. This is also the tippmann e-grip that came stock witht he WAS board. later i found out this was an agreement that tippmann and wicked air sports made with each to use WAS boards in palce of the stock tippmann boards. so this was a total surprise when i realized i had a WAS board in it. anyways the new sear spring did the trick and never really had any problems with it only when the sear and rear bolt dont release because of the lack of lube/oil. I used the tippmann oil supplied to oil up that area and works suberbly. i tried smart parts sleek silicone lube which did not work so well. i set the board to about 13bpa cause that was a safe and reasonable BPS for a stock cyclone. Late ri invested to a palmer QEV kit and ramped up the shots to 20 bps and set it to full auto. after 300 shots it tore apart my ratchet. so as a replacement i ordered a tech t's vortex mod. after the vortex mod i havent had a single break in the cyclone after about 500 rounds so far. i keep the board set to 20 bps as a safety measure despite the fact the vortex mod is rated to go up to 25 bps. besides anything more than 20 is excessive. i currently run my shot mode to semi cause i can walk the trigger pretty fast with the JCS blade triger about 15+bps.
Conclusion: Very good board. max bps on this thing is 30 bps even though i wont need it i ahve it. unless you want to upgrade the cyclone with the Palmers qev or vortex mod its probably not work having unless you plan on playing tournys. most guns can only dream of shooting as fast the the board can deliver expesially with the proper mods tot he cyclone and internals. once modified it can shoot faster than a stock ion of 17 bps. its fire power in your hands. semi, burst, ramping, full auto what more can you ask for. there is alot of potential power to be made with the a5 and WAS board combo.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

a5 <Hitman> Thursday, June 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Reponse Trigger
Marker Setup: a5 , W.a.s board, dye boomstick, flame drop forward, custom products asa.
Strengths: Very fast, l.e.d. lights, easier to program than original egrip

Weaknesses: firing modes (see below)
hard to install
Very weak wires (BE CAREFUL)
Review: I got this for 75$, and after a very long time, I was able to install it. I tried firing it, and got double shots, then tried taking out the pen spring mod and using the stock spring (wich worked beutifally). It shoots mad fast (compared to the rt.), and scares the crap out of other players!

The W.A.S board comes with some major flaws though, and it obviously wasn't developed for woodsball players (the majority of tippmann owners). first of all, why do you have to fire 3 shots to activate full auto? I thought i could still use a single trigger and just stay on the auto setting, and its a huge pain having to shoot 3 times to activate it(so you cant do full auto bursts). in woodsball, you sometimes need jjust plain full auto. And there isnt even a true burst setting, just all these annoying ramping settings. Now I eithier have to buy a blade trigger, or go as fast as my R.T. I really don't care if Tippmann effect uses it, or if its nppl certified., the fring modes suck. Another thing, why does it have to turn off after half an hour? i did a sneak around the whole base, and was 20 feet away, about to fire at this kids back, and I realise my grip is off! i really dont need to save battery that much
and, I am worried about the durablity of the weak wires

but, I've heard that full auto can be achieved (i just don't know how), and if u know please post it on the comments page, thanks
Conclusion: I give it a 6 , because its an ok product, but fails to do better than the stock egrip (in my opinion)
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 3:01 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

vtTaco Monday, May 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
R/T
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 R/T
SpecOps A2-A5 Pro Foregrip
PMI Remote w/ Slide Check
Ricochet R5 Hopper
Crossfire 68/4500
Aka Sidwinder
Opsgear AK47 Folding Stock
J&J 12" S2 Ceramic
Strengths: Fast Rof
easy to set up
Weaknesses: Slight delay during on-semi fire modes
runaway trigger issues
Review: I went into my local pro shop and saw that the E-grips they had for sale were pre-installed with the W.A.S. board. I had to sand away some material on the bottom rear edge of the trigger pin plates in order to get the grip back onto the marker since the battery got in the way.(YMMV)

Make to you fully read the instruction manual. The microswitch is activated differently on the Custom Pro(when switch is pushed in) and the A5(when switch is released) and the board needs to be set-up accordingly. The directions are clear and after a few minutes you won't need to look at the instructions to set-up dwell/de-bounce times or changr rof cap or fire modes.

Unlike the stock E-Grip, there is no 13bps rate of fire cap, though the marker can't generally shoot faster than 17-20. I've never needed faster than 10 bps so that's what I capped mine at.

My only complaint is that I found the fire modes very annoying.
In full-auto and 3-round burst, you have pull the trigger twice within 1/4 of a second before you can hold the trigger back. If you pause more than 1/4 second between bursts, you need to fire the 2 shots again.
(Bang........Bang.......BangBangBang...BangBangBang.........
......Bang........Bang.......BangBangBangBangBangBang)

With the turbo/response modes, it's not untill you pull the second shot (again within 1/4 second) that the marker fires on both pull and release of the trigger.
(Bang....Bang.Bang.Bang.)

While this isn't really a big deal, I just never got used to the slight delay.
Also, with a very light trigger spring(pen spring) the double trigger would bounce during turbo/response mode and fire even after releasing the trigger. I'd have to pull it again to get it to stop firing. I think the heavy bolt cycling back and forth shook the gun enough to cause this since the trigger spring was so light. Even after maxing the debounce setting(50ms) I'd still get an occasional runaway trigger. After re-installing the stock trigger spring, the problem went away.

Semi-auto fire was kind of dissapointing. You only need to pull the trigger back 1/8 of an inch to fire but then there's another 1/4" of over-travel. Walking the trigger in semi-auto mode proved difficult and I couldn't shoot any faster than when I had R/T. I could have added a set-screw to provide an over travel stop, but I decided to go back to my R/T because my local paintball park has a creek running through the fields and I've taken a few accidental "trips" into it which would kill an electro gun. I also didn't like wondering when the battery would die and would change it after every day of paintball just in case.
Conclusion: A mixed bag for me. While the product works as advertised, I didn't feel any real benefit over my R/T. I might have kept it if the fire modes were instant or if I had bought this before R/T. Still, it does enhance your markers firepower. Try it before you buy it.

Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bushman Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Response trigger, for 98 custom, the RT uses the exvess gas and uses a small screwdriver to use, very inconvenient
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom Pro E, W.A.S. Board, Thunder Pig Barrel, Folding Stock, Evlution II Hopper, Z-Board, Double Trigger, Drop Forward
Strengths: LED light lets you know what your doin, butten instead of screw
Weaknesses: Instructions need alot more thought and work, wires/ trigger lever very weak
Review: The board itself is very nice. the instructions is what causes the problem. Comes with replace ment insutructions but very hard to follow. Switching from mode to mode is easy but speed, dwell, etc is hard to adjust. Doesn't necessarily need the jewelry screwdriver, just a small allen which we all should have on hand. the lever that ultimately pushes the button is weak at the pivot point, and the wires are not very well saudered on, needs something to hold them in place on the board and trigger box. I 've already had to send it in to get fixed.
Conclusion: great board, just need to tap its full potetential with a great hopper, I recommend Egg W/ ZBoard, halo victory, or revolution. Internals need some work!!!!
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 3rd, 2006 at 2:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media