paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator / Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator

Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Bob Long

Buy Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 32
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $1100

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Famous 2K2 milling, players favorite is available again with all the newest features. The redesigned grip frame features the new Frenzy board. The boards speed and innovative features are sure to revolutionize the current industry standards.

Specs:

Weight: 1.80 lbs.
Length: 19.1 in.
Height: 8.35 in.
Board: Newest Frenzy LED
Air Type: Compressed/Nitrogen
Pressure: Low Pressure
Firing Modes: Semi-Auto only
Bolt Style: Open Bolt

Features:

Capable of firing 25 BPS
Shot Counter
Game Timer
Custom Front Regulator
Anti-chop eye
Custom "Famous 2K2" Milling
300 PSI Gauge
Product Availability 
The Bob Long 2k5 Intimidator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Im Evil Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor
Angel lcd
Impulse
Shocker
Marker Setup: 2k5 Blue Timmy
Blue Unimount
Empire 71/4500
Egg 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
well barrel as with all guns, maybe new feedneck
Strengths: Its a timmy, lightweight small profile. fast,very very easy to use and operate.
Weaknesses: As always barrel, lubing regs
Review: Its a great deal. the price i paid for it was great. It wasnt too expensive. The only difference between the other timmys is the price, lcd screen, and milling. You get what you pay for this one and it is not bad at all. So go buy this gun and you wont regret
Conclusion: Buy this gun if u want a nice high end gun. THe only difference between the more expensive timmys is the milling and lcd screen.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Free Agent Wednesday, May 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Ego, Pink Lady Ego, 05 Speed
just about every high-end out there
Marker Setup: Black ION
60/45 Crossfire LP
12" and 14" black ultralite
black unimount
black hybrid reg
red halo b with rip
ndz feedneck
> Soon to order BLACK ALIAS <
Recommended
Upgrades:
stiffi
hybrid hedlock
on/off (unimount or eclipse OOPS)
2 liter or old torpedo (looks)
orange bolt
new trigger (personal prefference)
adjustable ram cap
new board
Strengths: Speed 25 bps
weight (lighter than most)
price
Weaknesses: LED board
kinda big (size not weight)
Review: This gun is a very good VALUE. It does just what it is supposed to do: provide a TRUE entry into the world of intimidators (the defiant isn't a true timmy). This gun is very fast (I got to 19 bps w/paint) and is very accurate. But because it doesn't have the LCD board or the lighter weight, and smaller profile of the alias, it may be considered by some to be a waste of money (unless they like the milling). For $300 more, they could have an alias, and that is the route that I will be taking. Nonetheless, It proves itself to be an excellent entry level timmy, that can be upgraded to compete with the alias, as well as other newer timmies.
Conclusion: Not the greatest timmy ever, but with the proper upgrades, can be made into a very good tourney gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mashedpotatoe8 Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Alias Intimidator - Don't see much of a difference, except for miling
Dye DM5 - Heavier, pretty nice gun, I like my 2k5 better though
EGO - Only gun that I like better, but I still love my 2k5 and am glad I got it
Ion - Had much more problems with and it wasn't as fast
E-Bladed Black Magic - Slower, heavier, harder to maintain
Marker Setup: 2K5 Intimidator
Viewloader eVLution II (Egg)
Air America 4500 PSI Tank
Check-It Unimount 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
REQUIRED:
DOW 55 - This is the factory-recommended 'grease' you use to lube your marker... does a great job, and you'll be happy you got it when your gun lasts longer because you remember to clean it :]
ASA, I recommend either the Check-It Unimount 2, or a CP one.. both work great
Fast Hopper, I recommend a Halo B or Empire Reloader B, but if you want to save some money, go with an Egg
Paint... lots and lots of paint, you're going to need it for when you start mowin faces with this beast

Recommended:
New trigger -- stock one is fine, but if you want a little bit more walk-ability, get a new one
Barrel -- stock one is also great, but you might want to go with a new one.
Feedneck -- I personally don't like the stock one, but CP Clamping Feednecks are great and easy to use.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Not an Air Hog
Light-weight
sexy milling
easy to use & maintain
Weaknesses: None, except for all the paint you're going to use.. and the manual sucks :(
Review: I got my 2K5 Intimidator for $650 on ActionVillage, and I haven't regretted it at all. I've always wanted an intimidator, and I had finally gotten one. When I got the box, I was super excited. The barrel is 12" and very accurate, and the stock trigger aint half bad either. It came with some nice-feeling grips as well. The milling is the classic, super-sexy 2k2 milling, meaning it's hard to think it looks ugly :). The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the manual was the old 2k2 manual, and had alot of stuff that didn't have anything to do with the gun. But oh well, it came with some corrections on a separate sheet of paper, so its all good.

After running to the local shop and getting some DOW-55, an ASA and Macroline for it, I gassed it up, put on my hopper and went outside to test the bad boy out. I ran 200 rounds though it and was amazed. This thing was shooting at around a 10 +/- FPS (and lately it's been going to around 6-9 +/- FPS), and was very accurate as well. Easily one of the most accurate stock-barrels I've used (aside from cockers, of course). The gun also ripped like crazy, I was easily shooting at around 18-20 BPS which made me feel awesome.

After the first "test drive", I tweaked the settings a bit and then put another 500 rounds through it. The gun didn't chop at all, and I didn't experience any drop-off. The gun was shooting like a dream. I put around 2000 rounds through it until I stopped. Yay! The first cleaning session!! Yippee!!!!

Usually for me, the first time I clean a new marker is the hardest and worst, but it gradually gets easier.. but to my surprise, the 2k5 was actually incredibly easy to clean. All you really need it DOW-55 and an Allan wrench or two. The bolt was very easy to get out, and after lubing it with some DOW-55, I went on to the ram, the poppet, the reg, etc... it didn't take long to clean and it was easy to clean, a big plus in my book.

The only problem I had with my 2k5 was with some major drop-off, but that was because either my tank didn't fit my ASA, or I failed to fully gas it up, when, after talking to my friend who's a gun tech, was just a kind of funny thing to look back at. But aside from that, I haven't had any problems with it.

Just recently we had team-practice, and the timmy worked flawlessly the entire day. It was mowing faces all day long, and was working incredibly well. After wards, we decided to go play some rec-ball for fun, and the marker worked just as well as it did in speedball -- you can easily 1-ball people with it, and it completely owned on any field that we played on.
Conclusion: This marker is an incredibly good one, it's very fast, light-weight, easy to use and maintain, and very accurate. Most people think that its not as good as Alias Intimidators, but they are completely full of it, and it is just as good. The gun is worth EVERY PENNY that you pay for it, and you can find some really good deals on them. In short-- this gun is a beast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballfanatic16 Tuesday, April 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Blade(lol), Pirahna, spyder imagine, impulse
Marker Setup: 68/4500 Crossfire
Halo B
Smart Parts Freak
CP Flame Drop
Critical Trigger
CCM Clamp Feed Neck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (must on almost every gun)
Fast Hopper (egg, halo b, empire reloder)
Maybe LPR (stock is fine)
Feedneck
Strengths: Price!
Does Not Chop Paint (read below)
Very Fast
Very Easy Maintenence
Very Reliable
Weaknesses: Outdated Manual
Review: Breaking Balls (or not breaking balls rather): Lets start with the barrel. The stock barrel is a 12' assassins barrel. Like most stock barrels, i think it is crap. I have the smart parts freak kit. I strongly recomend a barrel kit. With halfway decent paint, such as wal-mart monster balls, ($30 a case) I can go through cases of paint without chopping a single ball! The stock bolt is great, hardly ever sticks, or chops.

Reliability: If you take care of this gun, cleaning it after you play (maybe 2-3 minutes), it will NOT break down on you. I have only had a screw pop out of the grip frame, and i went to menards and bought a replacement for $0.38.

Speed: I recently found out that my gun has an old crappy out of date board, instead of the newest frenzy it was supposed to come with. It's on it's way to be updated right now. Anyway, this gun will rip.

Accuracy: Like I said above, if you get a nice barrel/barrel kit, this gun will shoot darts.

Upgrades: There are many nice upgrades for intimidators to improve it already outstanding performance.

Price: This intimidator has everything plus a better board, except for an LCD, that all other intimidators have! The reason the price is so low is because of the basic milling, and because the smart parts ion required Bob Long to come out with a lower priced gun to compete with it.

Conclusion: Many have asked, what is better an autococker for accuracy or a high end eloctronic gun for speed. The answer is an intimidator ---> both. You will not regret buying this gun. Snap shooting front players and paint lobbing back players, get ready to have a lot of fun with this gun. =)

I hope this review will help you in buying your next marker.
Any questions e-mail me at pballfanatic16@yahoo.com
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Koval15 Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: B2K4-PDS, High Flow Valve, JTPimp custom trigger, Torpedo Regulator, Halo B with Rip Drive, CCM Clamping Feedneck, Check-It Unimount, Fiber Wrapped Crossfire 68/3000, Black All American Back with 12" Silver Teardrop Front.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Detents
Strengths: Fast, Great on Gas, easy to set up, low maitinance, just about everything.
Weaknesses: Detents
Review: I got a great deal on this gun for $600 nib. I was very pleased with this gun. I decided I reall needed to get rid of my bushmaster because I spent 5 hours fixing it each week and that won't cut it on a team. The gun is everything i wanted in a gun and will probably never buy anything besides bob long again. The onlything i recommend is new detents because i double feed a little bit.
Conclusion: Buy it. Worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rex_recta Wednesday, June 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto, ego, imps, DM 4/5/6/C, just everything
Marker Setup: Red to Black fade PM5
Phat mini drop
AIM on/off
Proto 2 piece
Red Halo B
45/45 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board- Infamous
New barrel- your preference.
New reg- I am not a fan of Torpedoes.
New trigger- Techna Scythe
Strengths: Fast
Light
Nice looking
Weaknesses: Long
CHOPS
Front block wiggles
Torpedo reg
Review: Well, I am basing this review on ONLY personal experience. I am not saying that all 2k5 Timmies are bad, I believe that I just had a bad experience.
PRICE- my friend bought his from something like 700. Although, the current price has gone down.
WEIGHT- A nice and light marker. Easy to snap shoot with the lack of weight.
COMFORT- Well, I don't like spyders. The timmy and spyder have a lot in common FEEL WISE, not shooting wise. I don't like long set ups. I just don't. This timmy is a long setup. The trigger frame however is very thin and that felt pretty comfty in the hands.
ACCURACY- With the stock 12 inch assassins barrel. There is nothing to brag about when it comes to accuracy. It shoots darts but does not shoot through breaks well at all. I like 14 inch barrels. Sorry but this is a bad part of the gun.
REG- Well, I don't now, nor have I ever liked torpedo regs. They don't work that well in my honest opinion. They are consistant when REALLY broken in. Out of the box consistency has +/- 10 fps.
SPEED- well, with the Infamous board, the speed is excellent. It just rocks as to how fast it can go. Easy 15 bps with the techna scythe.
STOCK BOARD- The stock board I believe has only semi modes and I think no eye logic. I cannot comment on the stock board because I have only used the Infamous.
EYES- well, here is where it gets REALLY cruddy in the review. The eyes SUCK. I have an ingame experience where the eyes failed me. I just chopped alot. I used a revvy 12 volt with x board, reloader b, halo b with cheetah set on the slowest and highest feed rates possible. It is not the loader. I tried using a new barrel. Paint may have been breaking at the barrel threads. I used a 12 inch stock proto barrel and a 14 inch dye UL barrel. Both had the same results. I tried a different bolt which was the shocktech bolt. This had the same out come. I tried messing with the regs, the same outcome. I tried different paint, SAME OUTCOME. I cleaned the eyes, same out come. My friend bought new eyes, same outcome. Changed the eye sensitivity, same outcome. I am stumped as to what it could be. The detents were changed as well with the same outcome. Also tried an adjustable ram cap with the same results.
FRONT BLOCK- the front block on the timmy I used was very wobbly and that made me mad. Not having any problems except for the normal one of chopping like holy crap.
Conclusion: Overall, until I get the chopping problem fixed, this gun is ONLY OK. Its not great, its not bad. I just very dislike timmies after I used this one. Sorry all of you timmy lovers, this is not going down as a good score. Any queries or suggestions, PM me please.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

GoggUmore Thursday, January 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
my guns...
spyder compact 2000
tribal BBT blue/black fade
Autococker 2003
angel ir3
ANS genX cocker
Angel Speed
Adrenaline impulse
ion
ego

most times i had 2-3 guns at once
Marker Setup: EGO- red/black LE with micro max flow tank, red halo... SPONSER stickers all over halo B rip drive, freak kit black back, red front
2k5 timmy-- black max flo system, chrome pin stripin, sponsers stickers, smoke egg and Empire B, black cp reg, black CP ultra low clamp feedneck, THIS IS THE COOLEST FEATURE, milled to look like naughty dogs without the paw of course... all new internals, and BLAST put in the new 127.8 board for free.. paintball kingdoms extra hard detents, CP slant trigger? and a critical magnetic trigger conversion kit, freak kit - stainless back, black front

pics up soon... i thought i had them on comp i don't, so i have to go home and get scanner
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel- boomstick freaks
ball detents (if halo might be used or is being used)
torpedo will work just give it cases if you still don't like buy a CP stubby
feedneck ( i hate twist its a preference though)
DOW 33or DOW 55... get it and use it on REG and gun ASAP
trigger - although some like stock, i like mine loose (CP def.)
Critical magnetic kit.. from paintballkingdom.com - easier to walk, theres also a CP magnet kit
Strengths: Accurate-not like ego
Speed- expected
price- nice 600 on ebay
easy to mill
Weaknesses: WEIGHT- omg , so MILL IT like me :)
solenoids+teflon=not good
MANUAL-serious BOB
Review: Its good when weight is cut off, it shoots good. I used teflon and messed up the soleniod = 80 dollars, so kids use locktite if i teach you anything. shoots really really nice, nice lines some balls wonder away from my line but expected. I don't like timmy's all that much, i call then bouncing guns, as much as you say they don't people let me tell you something - if you shoot above 12 bps, it bounces ive tested it with my trigger everywhere - to test yours put your marker with eye on and bolt forward, and then walk the trigger with eyes on it shoots every once in awhile, tell me it won't do that with the eyes off, lol
still no one will catch it, cause everyone loves the timmy, unlike my ego where everyone just wants to play with my trigger so they also check my gun for bouncing ... but oOo well ive been good never got points off, so its obviously fine.. lol

i love how you can mill the weight off, and in any design you want. I like all the upgrades and how many places have them. I love my guns


It is my back up gun, but still i love it, it shoots nice and for half the price of my ego with it shooting almost alike, its a winner
Conclusion: If you want a timmy speed and accuracy, with a cheap price this is for you, it might need upgrades but well worth it

Ive been playin for over 8 years... so trust me it is heavy, lol don't say its light please - pick up my ego with micro that is what everygun should be like, the lightest gun ever
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 19th, 2006 at 4:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

minipaintballer Tuesday, November 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
e-bladed cockers, ion, shocker, empire timmy, 2k2 timmy
Marker Setup: the gun black to yellow fade, cp on/off rail
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck, asa of course, that's all that i saw. personal preference in a way
Strengths: Board, barrel, and it's light
Weaknesses: Bolt, trigger if picky
Review: I got this gun around 3 months ago, and I gassed it up. the first time i used it, it chopped like mad. the board led lights get a little confusing, but all u need to do is just download the defiant 2 manual, cause it doesn't come with a frenzy Manuel. this gun is worth the money that u pay for it..
Conclusion: Good gun, very little flaws, great price. Buy one, Intimidators are like no other!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Nexxus Friday, April 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker
Ego 05/06
Ion
Random E-Cockers
Marker Setup: 2k5 Timmy'
Hybrid Grips
Trinity ASA
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck
Adjustable Ram Cap
maybe an LPR
Strengths: Fast
Light
Sexy
Quiet
Easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck
A tiny bit of kick
Review: I bought this beast awhile back after my Ion went poo poo on me. The weekend I got it I took it out to the field. First off it was really easy to set-up. Turn the allen wrench 2 full times on the HPR and turn your LPR to around 50 (this is my settings shooting at 285 fps). Nothing broke/changed pressure wise all day. It will bounce a bit once you start getting into higher BPS, but that just makes it easier to walk. It's also very quiet when you are shooting paint, not so much when you are dry-firing. The only real problem I have is the stock feedneck. Halo's don't fit very well in them, so just go out and buy a New Designz no-rise. Everyone who I talk to that has a Timmy' say they love them, and I love mine to.
Conclusion: These are great markers. Put down that DM, Ego, and Shocker and pick up a Timmy. Worth every penny.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

park bench Friday, March 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
FF Impulse, Promaster. Imp was bigger, promaster not as refined, neither as low a kick.
Marker Setup: silver w/ black parts 2k5 intimidator
hybrid asa
hybrid rail
hybrid bumperless ram cap
jj edge barrel kit
eigenram
lurker valve spring

silver w/ black parts promaster
dyed red bolt
jj 6 piece edge kit
cp freestyle trigger
hybrid blunt rail
hybrid 07 quarter turn asa
delrin spike bolt pin

.68 classic automag
vert. gas thru x-chamber
lapco bigshot barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New feedneck.
Good barrel.
Nice ASA
New trigger eventually.
Trim down the bolt.
Strengths: Feels 'right'
Good size, weight
Fast
Excellent board
Bob long quality and simplicity
Stock efficiency
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Trigger
'fake' gen 3
Review: first the strengths

Ergonomics:
Frame placement and milling just make it feel right, it fits like a glove. The edges are very chamfered and round, unlike the stock promaster frame which, although it is a clamshell, is quite square. It was real easy to get speed, even on the semi-only board. The size is perfect for me, and the marker minus hopper and tank weighs around 2 pounds.

Board and Speed:
The stock board is excellent in my opinion. It is programmed very well, and the eye logic will not allow chopping, even when using an eggy with dead batteries (my case). The settings are easy, all through dip switches, so you can look and see exactly where they are, no lights to count or buttons to push. Although its a semi-only board, I dont play anything else, so in my opinion it is perfect.

Quality and Efficiency:
The quality is great. As I said before, the frame is milled very well, along with the rest of the marker, no mill marks or anno blotches. Bob Long does a great job with quality on all his products, at least in my experience. Stock efficiency is great too, and just gets better with the eigenram and lurker valve spring, which will allow around a case off a 68/4500 fill.

Weaknesses

Feedneck:
Yea, it clamps, but doesnt lock down at all. All it really does is put some friction on the neck. A feedneck that actually locks down instead of just twisting is recommended, so that your hopper doesnt need tape to hold it in place.

Trigger:
The stick trigger works, its easy to rip on, not a necessary upgrade, but its got no bearings and is very sloppy.

Fake Gen 3:
Yes, there is a 2k5 frame and frame internals, but the marker is built off a genuin 2k2 body. The front block is still held on by a screw, and not a plug as Ive heard the true gen. 3 timmies are. This may cause compatibility issues if you want to switch blocks, or buy another gen. 3 body, as it will require buying a new front block as well. Even with locktite, my front block screw keeps worming its way loose, guess Ill just have to put some more one there.



Conclusion: Great marker. Low kick, high speed, feels right. The weaknesses should not prevent anyone from getting their hands on one. It still shoots like a gen. 3 and the fact that it uses a 2k2 body is only a minor thing.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media