paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal

Sheridan XGS Jackal Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XGS Jackal

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XGS Jackal
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 5.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XGS is a semi-automatic, 12 gram operated, entry level marker that comes standard with hopper and barrel plug.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XGS Jackal is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, March 1st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Have a talon(unbelivably better).
Marker Setup: 2000 Spyder Compact with Dye aluminum(works awsome has a great sound too), Pure Energy remote coil, Pure Energy 12 oz, Pmi 4 + 1.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Buying anything for this gun would be as dumb as buying this gun. If i saw you buying anything for this gun i would just point and laugh.
Strengths: Its prety accurate if you can pull the trigger and the display for it look ok. It also doesnt use much air but thats also why it sucks.
Weaknesses: Everything its plastic, barley has any range to it, it has horible trigger pull, not compatable with vl hoppers, if anything on it brakes you out of $60, relates to giving money to a drunkin bum( think it sounds nice until you see what it will actualy do).
Conclusion: Buy a spyder compact its soo much better for only $20 more. Buying this gun was the worst mistake i ever made. i cant belive how bad it is.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
brass eagle stingray
Marker Setup: My current gun setup is the rebel bottomline, no upgrades, 20 ounce co2, 200 rnd hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
first of all, this review is for all the people who are just starting in paintball, (don't listen to idiots who say things like"me and my handicapped friends can't shoot each other from like 3 feet away with this gun" they are morons and must suck at paintballing, ) i would get a larger hopper, but i don't think you can get any other upgrades
Strengths: good starters gun, barrel is on hinge, making it easy to clean
fiber optic sight, accurate with it (as long as you don't have brass eagle paintballs) up to about 30 ft
fairly durrable
semi auto, which is better then pump
Weaknesses: its all plastic
chops balls
balls tend to curve a little with crappy paint
tough triger pull,
balls get jammed in the barrel, and you have to shove your squeegie down to fix
goes through co2 pretty fast

Conclusion: good gun if you are just starting out, you will have fun with it, not a good gun for higher level play, you will get killed if you try to play with it in a tourny
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, December 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
B.E.Stingray
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/carbine , Smart Parts All American .689, Palmers Stabilizer, Airtipps RVA- I added camo paint and porting to my XGS(didn't help)
Recommended
Upgrades:
replacing it
Strengths: it's cheap, good for playing in your garage(lol)
Weaknesses: the valve flows enough gas for a bb gun, certainly not a paintball gun. The plastic barrel is all lumpy inside. Only works with small bore paintballs, ball detent only holds back large bore balls. The lumpy bore combined with the large/medium bore cheaper balls a biginner would use, equal a ball break every 20 shots. Might turn away new players who are on a budget. Doesn't even work with 12 grams. Has an effective range of 30 feet.
Conclusion: This was my first paintball gun. Thankfully, i was only on a budget at the time and knew enough about paintball not to get an impression from this gun. I can't beleive sheridan actually made the thing. What ever you do, don't buy it. For only a little more $, you can get a B.E. Stingray, or PMI Traccer s/a. They are good plastic-bodied beginner guns.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

boltproblems Sunday, December 9th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PGP
Marker Setup: Currently i have no gun worth putting up here. But i have a lot of paintball EXP
Recommended
Upgrades:
you cant upgrade
Strengths: > Compact
> Ok, for a sidearm.
> cool looking
> Bottomline
Weaknesses: > Chops balls badly
> The second i took it out of the case it wouldent work
> Only a type of ball works. i found viewloader and quake paint work well inside.
> Plastic
> No upgrades
Conclusion: I recommend not getting this gun. you might as well save up 30 more dollars and get a compact 2000. but if you really want a sidearm get a PGP or PGP 2001.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cavs50 Saturday, September 22nd, 2001
Strengths: 1. Its light weight
2. It could be a good sidearm
Weaknesses: 1. Ball curves like crazy
2. Hard to pull back trigger
3. Lil hopper only holds 45 paintballs



Conclusion: Its a good beginner gun. If you are seriuos about the sport just spend a lil more and buy a stingray.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, September 13th, 2001
Strengths: well, i guess it's small. i got it for $30. i got the one with the adapter on it.
Weaknesses: the (very heavy, slow) trigger doesn't always work (even when you pull it all the way). the detent spring doesn't always work either. i used all different sizes of paint, they would either get stuck in the barrel (which is not round and has cooling pits in it from the mold) or would roll out.

when it did fire (about 2 of 5 times) it would either shoot really hot or it would hit the ground 10 feet in front of me.

don't ever take it apart, unless you are very mechanically inclined and have about an hour and a half to figure out how to put it back together.
Conclusion: this gun has some features of a sidearm, and some features of a main semiauto. it doesn't really work as either. it is a little too large for a sidearm, and it has a hopper sticking off it that won't let you put it in a holster and forget about it. but it's not accurate, reliable, consistent, or durable enough to be a main gun. it's just sort of a half-breed.

overall, i don't think it's worth the money. if you're looking for an entry level semiauto, get a piranha vertical or a stingray.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 11th, 2001
Strengths: there isnt much good about this gun. if you want a side arm get a better one like a pt enforcer
Weaknesses: theres no detent cover so the balls just slide right out and get jammed in the barrel. then you cant pull the trigger and have to open up the gun and jam it out which isnt hard but it just gets annoying
Conclusion: dont get it spend some more money and get a real gun not a toy
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, July 16th, 2001
Strengths: The marker's balance is very comfortable if you're used to shooting pistols... It's balance reminded me of a Glock.

It is affordably priced.

Weaknesses: I was not too happy about the hose-clamp rig for the 45-round box loader.

I was even less happy when, using a 4oz tank that was freshly filled, the gun chronoed at 305 FPS, and I learned there is NO velocity adjustment available.

The final straw came when I realized that one can, at least on the model I bought, simply thumb the hammer to release bursts of C02, and that this action jams the trigger assembly.

That did it - back to Sports Authority it went.
Conclusion: This gun was a good concept, but a poor execution.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, July 10th, 2001
Strengths: Cheaper than buying a real marker, can be found at KMart.
Weaknesses: Much has already been said. This marker is not a true semi-auto, it uses a double-action system to cock and load the ball, and a hammer to actually fire the CO2 burst. Also, should a ball burst in the barrel, a large amount of the paint, and even fragments of ball can get blasted all the way back into the workings of the gun where no kind of squeegee would reach. The trigger/hammer system is too delicate for what this "toy" was made for. The screw-in adapter to convert the marker from powerlets to full-size bottle leaks unless it is extremely tightly screwed down. The inclusion of said adaptor does not justify the 10 dollar price hike between packages. In opening the gun to give it a thorough cleaning, I found several pieces that, according to the parts explosion, were missing. Can be found at KMart.
Conclusion: This marker is weak because of its very bad design, which no amount of tinkering will subvert. Five minutes out of the box it stopped working right, and eight minutes out of the box it stopped working completely. The inclusion of a ring to cinch the 65 shot hopper on is an extravagance, as are the sights. The inclusion of a full bottle adaptor is wasted on a such a low-quality piece of hardware. It is hard to believe this is the same company that produces the PGP.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, July 4th, 2001
Strengths: -cheap($60)
-good gun for beginners(my first gun)
-easy to use and to clean(the breakdown barrel is a nice feature)
-you can use a big CO2 tank on it
-not bad accuracy
Weaknesses: -all plastic
-friends make fun of it
-no upgrades
-breaks alot of balls(for me about 1:100)
-tough trigger pull
Conclusion: What do you expect for $60? Its a good gun for the money. If you are starting out in paintball I would consider it, but I would save my money for a another gun. For it to be a good gun you have to get the big CO2 tank adapter.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media