paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal / Sheridan XGS Jackal

Sheridan XGS Jackal Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XGS Jackal

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XGS Jackal
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 49
Average Rating: 5.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XGS is a semi-automatic, 12 gram operated, entry level marker that comes standard with hopper and barrel plug.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XGS Jackal is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Unregistered User Saturday, February 10th, 2001
Strengths: Got to be the coolest looking paintball gun I have ever seen. I just got back from my good old Walmart. Where I picked this gun up for $26. I haven't yet gutted this gun but from what little I have played with it is going to be a blast to mess with. The barrel is super easy to clean the way it unlocks and slids forward and down to clean. Came with a constant air adaptor already attached. Very solid for plastic. Light as a feather.
Weaknesses: Comes with a wee little hopper. Trigger pull is very stiff. I mean stiff. I own a stingray and this gun makes it's trigger pull look insignificant. No velocity adjustment as far as I can tell.
Conclusion: I think it is worth much more then it cost. It was dirt cheap. I haven't had much experience with it at all. But so far I'm impressed. I haven't ever owned and other guns similar to it so nothing to really compare it to save airsoft pistols and it is far superior to them. I definetly would recommend this gun to most anyone who is into paintball. Heck I've had it a few hours and I've already told 2 people they should get it. Other then the stiff trigger it is a superb short gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, February 5th, 2001
Strengths: well its cheap you can get it for $25 and its better than that brass eagel crap it is easy to clean looks cool too
Weaknesses: well its plastic no fps adjuster you cant get a new barrel the balls sometimes break and when that happens balls roll down your barrel hard to pull the trigger
Conclusion: well it is good for a begginer but if you would want to get serious about this sport get a better gun if you have about $150 a Piranha G2 STS would be a good upgrade or for $100 a Rebel or for $150 a model 98 but just don't get a brass eagle
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, January 9th, 2001
Strengths: It's small, extremely lightweight, looks pretty cool and has a decent aim. Also, the saftey is easily operateable and cleaning is a sinch. I bought one and i regret it. I spent 80 bucks on it plus the mask and 12g air. for just 20 bucks more tou could buy a stingray with a included mask and air. Its probally built for people who dont know what they are doing and just want a paintball gun.
Weaknesses: This gun sucks. i could hardly ever fire without the paintball getting stuck between the hammer and the barrel. to undo this you have to dtick a dowell down the barrel and poke the ball out of the chamber, and then try agian. Don't buy this gun.
Conclusion: Definetly upgrade prouduct. stock sucks. i guess its worth the money, but other guns are more so. i might recemond it to someone who is stupid and needs to learn that some guns SUCK.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 16th, 2000
Strengths: The gun is light. It is easy to clean the barrel with the slide and open switch(easier than barrel threads). It is a good back-up gun.
Weaknesses: The trigger pull is heavy which is expected with the way the gun operates. The balls easily get stuck in the barrel and jams the gun. It is not very good in the cold. It's hopper is not very good.
Conclusion: The gun is what you can expect for it's price. It is nothing exceptional, but not too bad. It is good for a sidearm, thats about it.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, November 25th, 2000
Strengths: Reasonably priced for what it is. XGSH comes with a nice, well designed (but heavy) constant air adaptor. With the flip of a switch the barrel slides forward and tips down for easy cleaning. Relatively efficient with a 12 gram (didn't fire it over a chronograph but it got 35-40 shots and still had more to give when I yanked the 12 gram). Has an integrated sight rail and fibre optic sight. Looks like a cross between a Baretta 92F (rear) and maybe a Desert Eagle (if one hacked off the Jackal's barrel where it becomes cylindrical). The exposed metal hammer is way cool looking. Unfortunately have yet to test the gun for it's accuracy but Sam Tussing (an airsmith I respect for his custom work) says its pretty decent.
Weaknesses: I feel that I have to set the record straight and say that this particular gun is a double-action pistol. Pulling the trigger both cocks and fires the gun. It reminded me a lot of a splatmaster Rapide so I had to buy it. It has a sliding trigger than I'm still getting used to. The trigger pull is longer and stiff but thats typical with double action weapons. Your finger will definately get tired if you use it as a spray-n-pray weapon. Finger grooves and lack of any sort of grip options disappointed me. They ought to have ditched the finger grooves in favor of a .45 grip frame style with hogue or APP wrap-around grips. (Atleast those can be removed to suit taste!). Fiber optic sight really isn't worth much in my opinion, having used a large powered red dot scope. It's plastic but appears to be pretty durable. The hopper isn't worth a damn and could probably be tossed out in favor of a standard hopper elbow and hopper. The brass eagle 50-55 round hopper would be a decent choice or a WGP Ammo Box (if you can find one!) would be better. It NEEDS a 10 round spring-fed clip. Right now it's neither a semi-auto primary gun capable of high rates of fire (as would say... a blowback gun) nor a holsterable side-arm. Though-- without a hopper it does fit holsters made for the sidekick semi-auto (open bolt semi) available from the manufacturer website ... It's plastic (though for the price you couldn't really expect more. I paid a little on the high side since I went to my local store and bought it... $70).. It lacks any sort of velocity adjustment (so far as I can tell) and it was shooting pretty low with constant air (somewhere around 220). Not sure how one would go about adjusting velocity. (hence-- it reminds me even more of a Splatmaster Rapide)..
Conclusion: While its not quite the semi-auto it claims to be in all its advertisements the Jackal is a fun gun to play with. It's a large frame double action pistol that is somewhat realistic in its look. (The exposed hammer is still way too cool). It could really use a 10 round spring-fed clip and a holster. Fun to play around with but if you're looking for a good semi-auto side arm I'd recommend either the sidekick semi-auto (www.paintballstuff) or the PT Enforcer (though expect some problems with velocity, etc). If you're looking for a good entry level semi-auto I'd save up a bit of money and get something akin to a Tippmann Model 98 or Spyder or any number of cheap open-bolt clones.. The Jackal unfortunately exists as a sort of bastard creation.. Neither a good primary weapon for the money or a good sidearm since it lacks the 10 round feed and holster. Sigh. And I normally totally dig Sheridan products. But, for the reasons mentioned above I give it a 6.. If it were spring-fed and had a holster it'd be an 8 for sure. I can live with a stiff trigger (breaks in with time.. add oil, too. It helps a bit) and plastic construction.. But the direct feed was really unnecessary..

Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 8:04 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shmavistime Thursday, March 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
splatmaster and splatmaster rapide
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 with over $400 in it
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Looks awsome, cheap, and a very cool barrel. Uses a latch for the barel.
Weaknesses: The ball detent dosent work and goes 3 ft.
Review: When i bought this gun for 30 bucks i thought it was a good gun but when i put a co2 cartridge in it didnt do shizzit. Went 3 feet and farted. I thought it was defective so i took it to my shop and the guy took it apart, tweked it a little, and found out that the hammer in the back needs a lot more momentum to get it going. If think u have to get this gun dont, get a pgp or splatmaster and they work alot better.
Conclusion: Dont buy it
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

RotN Thursday, April 10th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Usa Excellarator, Talon, Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: Jt Excellarator 4.0 dye boomstick. Spyder electronic trigger frame. Homemade drop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get the bottom Line
Strengths: Its cheap and good for beginners. Not too much else, like a semi automatic talon.
Weaknesses: no upgrades
Plastic
Breaks Balls constantly.
Out of 200 balls 10 broke
Trigger broke
Review: Crap buy only if your a begginer other wise it sucks. Its impossible to clean and the service isnt good at all. Did i mention its COMPLETLEY MADE OUT OF PLASTIC!!!! God i hate this gun Dont buy it. why do i need 50 words? Why do i need 50 words why do i need 50 words?
Conclusion: I hated this gun and i hope i never play with it again.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Meteora Thursday, March 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None it's to horrible to be compared to anything else
Marker Setup: Spyder Flash w/ remote line and quick disconnect
Recommended
Upgrades:
new marker
Strengths: good for a few hours then it goes to $h(t
Weaknesses: everything
Review: I did not like this marker at all the only reason i bought it was for the mask and sight included. I had an adapter for constant air and that helped with the velocity problems a bit. The accuracy wasn't to bad but the range was horrible and if paint enlarge a little bit the bolt would not be able to p;ush it through the breech and into the barrel I had to remove the barrel break the paintball and clean it at least five times in one game. it runs ok for about two hours then after that it becomes brass eagle times about 5. I tried taking it apart and it would not go back together i spent two hours on it and the manual didn't even help at all.
Conclusion: I do not recommend this thing I would rather use a BE Stingray than that thing.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Darkstarops Friday, January 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
Marker Setup: Sniper rifle! Fully decked out GT Commando 2!
Recommended
Upgrades:
Thread the end and add a barrel extender!
I have a bulk system on mine!
Strengths: **** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled


The new versions kick butt but the old ones are being recalled
Note: All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled


ligt! One pound!
You can use the internals to create a bolt action paintball sniper rifle!
Its double action like a revolver!
Easy to upgrade with custom modifications such as double trigger, bulk system, longer barrel, ect!
Weaknesses: Does chop balls! Is inaccurate at a distance and is mostly plastic! Also the saftey on mine got stuck. I dont have mine any more because I used the internals to make a bolt action sniper rifle! Dont try to copy because I have it pattend! It makes a great seller my rifle! But this is what you get for 30 bucks! A plastic piece of crap that cant shoot far! What else did you expect? A big gun that can shoot a quarter at 300 fett away? Fuhhuhuhuh Fuhuhuhuh
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled

**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
Conclusion: Buy the new ones! Remember they are pistols and designed at close range only! But if you have the money go with a better sniper rifle!

**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
**** Attention ****
All XGS JACKAL: Starting with the serial numbers 200, 300, and 400 are being recalled
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media