paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS

Sheridan XTS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XTS

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XTS
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $179

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XTS is equipped with external velocity adjustment, sight rail, replaceable trigger shoe, and no-tool disassembly. The XTS is also available in custom splash annodized finish and polished finish.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XTS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
SteveT44 Tuesday, October 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Pro Carbine
Tippman 98
Various Spyder clones
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS
- Starr Fire bolt
- Apex barrel
- Red dot scope
- Expansion chamber
- In Yo Face combo stock/drop forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a JTX Starr Fire bolt if you can find one. Haven't had a ball break in the chamber since installing it. A new barrel always helps.
Strengths: Small, light weight, and easy to disassemble. Threaded for Spyder barrels.
Weaknesses: Stock bolt prone to breaking balls. Limited to non existent parts availability.
Review: I first ran into the Sheridan XTS when I was looking for a small cheap marker I could modify for a radio controlled paintball tank model I was building. Having successfully modified the XTS for remote control operation I have become very familiar with this marker. I have been using it for over two years now in my R/C tank without a single issue or ball break.

Within the past year I have started to get back into the game of paintball not having played since the early 90's. Since I had a stock of XTS parts that I keep for spares for my tank hobby I decided to assemble an XTS for woods play. The Sheridan XTS is a compact single tube blowback design similar in design and operation to the Tippman line of markers. The differences from a Tippman is mainly in the body design. Whereas the Tippman has a molded two piece clamshell design, the XTS is a single extruded machined aluminum piece that is easer to disassemble (IMO, a much more refined design in a smaller and lighter package). When introduced the XTS never really took off because it developed a reputation of excessive ball breakage almost from the start. This was due to a very poor bolt. The stock bolt is a simple non-cupped, non-ported design that could easily distort the ball shape during the firing cycle thus leading to breakage in the chamber. This was compounded by higher velocity adjustments (the XTS works best in the 240FPS range). Another issue with the stock bolt was that it was prone to being blown out the barrel. This was due to breakage of the plastic bolt where the connecting rod attaches to it. The connecting rod inserts into a hole that is very close to the back edge of the bolt. The designers didn't leave enough "meat" in this area to ensure reliable and long lasting operation. The obvious fix for this is a redesigned bolt built from a stronger material. Were Sheridan never offered such a bolt luckily you could find one in the aftermarket in the form of the JTX Starr Fire bolt (JTX was the original name of the marker). Both my operational XTS's have the Starr Fire bolt installed and I have never had a ball break in the chamber.

Availability and upgrades. The XTS is no longer in production, to find one your best bet is eBay. Upgrade support for the XTS was limited from the start in that it shared
little design compatibility with other markers (an exception is the Spyder barrel threading). Items that were available were the already mentioned Starr Fire bolt and there were two different expansion chambers offered. The Starr Fire bolt is impossible to find anymore but the expansion chamber can still be found at some vendors. The frame design is unique to the XTS and an electronic version was never offered. I have read of Autococker e-frames being successfully modified to work with the XTS. The frame has the standard in-line two hole pattern so any aftermarket drop forward can be bolted on.

Keeping an XTS operational. Obviously parts are no longer manufactured for the XTS. eBay has become my source for spare parts. The area where the XTS is most prone to wear appears to be the seer and hammer assembly. These can be re-filed to shape a limited number of times but eventually replacement items will be required. The o-rings are a standard hardware store item and not an issue. The XTS uses the same ball detent as the Tippman Pro Carbine so these are still available.

Modifications. If you like to tinker and have tooling that can cut and drill aluminum the XTS is easily modifiable. If your limited to bolt on mods then I advise you look else ware. One interesting feature of the XTS is the ball feed. Sheridan called it a "power feed" but of course it really isn't a power ball feed. The feed is an aluminum tube welded to the top of the marker at a 45 degree angle. With a little ingenuity you can easily modify the marker to except ball feed from below using a Warpfeed or QPod for example without having any feed tubing sticking up from the top of the marker.

Performance. The XTS is an old school mechanical marker with a 45 type trigger. It's fire rate is as fast as you can pull that little trigger. With the addition of aftermarket barrels and quality paint the XTS is as accurate as any marker out there assuming comparable gas sources. As mentioned, little to no ball breakage with the upgraded bolt, with the stock bolt breakage can be lessoned at lower velocity settings.
Conclusion: As you can probably tell I like this little marker. With the addition of the Starr Fire bolt it has given me no trouble whatsoever. The one I use for woodsball has been pretty tricked out with the Apex barrel, scope, shoulder stock, and drop forward. If you like to be a little different and have something other than the standard Tippman or Spyder then a vintage XTS could be a good choice. I'm giving it a nine because of the bolt issue.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Splat Dawg Tuesday, April 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Pump Action Talon Ghost (which sucked)
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Electra
Brass Eagle Marauder (also sucked)
Marker Setup: Silver 98c with 12v Revvi and 48/3000 PMI Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Expansion Chamber
New bolt (custom job on stock bolt is also O.K.)
Universal elbow
Strengths: Easy smooth fireing. Relatively light weight and easy handling. Good for cash concerned paint ballers.
Weaknesses: The original barrel is short and inaccurate. Breaks balls.
Review: I like this gun a lot. The barrel is bad and you might want an expansion chamber/second handle but overall it works great. A sanding job on the bolt or a new bolt should minimize breakage. Also get your velocity to about 260 FPS for best results. A lot smoother than some other starter guns I've tried and I've had no trouble with any O-rings or things like that. Great for noobs at a reasonable price. I've only broken paint while under rapid fire, so take your time and you won't have to worry about that.(You should make your shots count anyway!) The power feed is cool. It does block the sight rail though. I think the Sheridan XTS is an excellent gun for new players and those with medium experience, but pros will want more. It will give the best player Hell if you have the money for upgrades + you have skill. Why do people think an expansion chamber is the most important part of a gun? It hardly does anything. The XTS is very light weight. Much more so than other markers. Accepts Spyder barrels, which is a nice convenience.
Conclusion: A decent gun. Try it and I think you'll agree. It is so easy to use. Easy stripping and cleaning. An upgrade or two and you'll be set.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 4th, 2004 at 3:30 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Basic XTS with Sheridan's add-on expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
a better barrel
a regulated gas supply
Strengths: There is something about the "in-line" design of the Tippmanns and the Sheridan XTS' that I find more aesthetically pleasing than the "stacked tube" design. The ease of maintenance afforded by the tilt-up receiver and the elegantly simple design makes the Sheridan XTS easy for the mechanically challenged paintball warrior to maintain.
Weaknesses: 1. This piece of crap breaks more balls than a newbie's backside.

2. There are very few upgrades available.

3. The factory upgrades from Sheridan are more expensive and not as effective as aftermarket equivalents.
Conclusion: The breaking paint is what burns my cookies the most. Even with the factory expansion chamber, if the temperature drops below 60 degrees I get snowflakes out of the barrel which makes me wonder if what I got for my $60 was a gas thru handle cleverly disguised as an expansion chamber. I bought a Lapco barrel and have tried "tougher" paintballs all to no avail. I'm going to hook my XTS up to a friends chronograph and HPA system to see if pressure spikes caused by liquid CO2 is the problem. In the meantime, I highly recommend that everyone else should get a Tippmann.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

paintbuster Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS Splash Red with 14" 32* Night Stick Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A whole new gun.
Strengths: Light trigger pull, looks really cool, and that's about it.
Weaknesses: 1. Pain to clean 2. Breaks balls 3. Very inaccurate
Review: I've used this in 3 paintball get-togathers and every time i've had to quit in the middle of a game because of ball breakage even with a good barrel! Trust me, getting a new barrel for this gun will NOT help, sadly nothing will. Except a whole new gun. If you get this gun be prepared for many problems, most of them being ball breakage.
Conclusion: Do not buy this gun, your better off getting a Brass Eagle!!!!! I got wasted using this marker, and you will to. For $70 you get what you pay for, and I learned the hard way so you wouldn't have to.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Stanman Friday, October 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c <--- just as slow with out mods...
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS with personally modified valve and bolt. Palmer Stabilizer , 14" JT one piece (.690), and an Empire Reload
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, revy, and at least a fore grip; mine was drilled and tapped for a 1/4 20 bolt so i made my own handle and used it that way for while. But if you're getting serious some customization of the bolt and a custom installed E-frame
Strengths: Great on CO2 : 800 shots 9oz (before a reg), takes spyder threads, and cheap $56
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks arse(but then again what marker has a half decent barrel?)
Review: this is an awesome gun for anybody since with some ingenuity it can easily be tweaked to become a great paintball gun... I love it becuase of it's simplicity and the fact that one can easily machine out his own parts with simple tools... the only time i have ever had this gun break paint is the first time i used it and that was in the days of the stock barrel. there are a suprising amount of upgrades out there for thins gun if one knows anything about pipe fittings and threads... Also if you know what you are doing it is not hard to put a spyder or spyder compatable e-frame on this marker... also angel hinge triggers can be mounted on this marker with some drilling and a tap...

Edit: well i have had my fun customizing this beast and moved up to a Hybrid Blowback... still have to say that this is an awesome marker and in the hands of a mechanically inclined person can be a marker to be reckoned with... Must admit i like to look at it now because i set it up to look just like a real gun: Synthetic monte carlo stock, 32mm 2-7x tasco rifle scope, and a 16" CMI (<- don't even touch that barrel unless you wanna spend a few days pollishing the barrel out and coating it with teflon)
Conclusion: for the money this is a great gun. If I were to have to pay $100 i wouldn't have bought it cuase the stock barrel sucked and basically killed this guns out of the box performance. But once you get a new barrel, and continue to install the usual upgrades, this gun rules; i Would recommend it to anybody
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 8:28 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

A-5Saiyan Saturday, August 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Sonix
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
-E-Grip
-Flatline, 12" GTA Sniper
-Custom Cone Hopper
-Double Trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, 12volt loader, foregrip
Strengths: Good Starter Gun for Cost
Weaknesses: it's a low end semi
Review: Overall I must say for the first gun I ever bought and used it holds a certain place in my heart. Purchased at my local Wal-Mart, you can tell this isn't the best semi out there but it's based on a pretty solid design similar to a 98. I never had a single problem with this gun. For the money it's a good starter gun
Conclusion: I recommend this product if you have limited funds and just want to get your hand in the door of paintball
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychoscrooge Sunday, January 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
trilogy cocker,chipley series 5, and some other lower end markers
Marker Setup: chipley series 5 autococker,revolution 2 hopper,68/4500psi crossfire,JT PROTEUS 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and a foregrip
Strengths: Powerful good distance
Weaknesses: Short stock barrel and no foregrip
Review: This is by far one of the better lower end paintball markers out there it dominates over most spyders a few rebels and much more........my friends make me use it when i play with them instead of my cockers of course u kno why but still they try to convince me to let them use it so i wont "hurt" them
Conclusion: If your looking for a lower end marker that will dominate this is the one for you

the only thing i would recommend higher than this for a lower end marker is a sheridan dxe basically same marker with longer stock barrel sweet looking and a foregrip
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brent999 Sunday, January 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor, tippman 98, pirahna gti, icon x.
Marker Setup: sheridan xts w/ X-chamber and double trigger pull
Recommended
Upgrades:
x- chamber, drop forward
Strengths: Accurate, saves gas good, I broke only 1 ball in 6 months
Weaknesses: Kinda heavy for my likeings
Review: Ok well i bought my sheridan from a local rib off pawn shop down the street from me so i knew it wouldnt be top of the line. I spent about 80 bucks on this gun, i needed a new gun cuz my p.o.s spyder victor always broke balls on me, the safety fell out, and was very inaccurate plus it froze paint (dont get one) i just wanted to have some fun paintbain w/ the guys so i bought it and was pleezed to see its good gun even used i have not had really any problems w/ it the only bad part is its kinda hard to clean and oil.but who cares no ones perfect.
Conclusion: Get this gun it will be good to you if ur just lookin for a good time or even upgrade it to turny level if you want too, what ever u decide to get stay away from spyders unless ur getting a really good one like an electra or something..
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 8th, 2006 at 2:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
autococker
Marker Setup: right now its the sheridan but soon to be a black dragun
Recommended
Upgrades:
bara better barrel will help the accuracy a lot
Strengths: just about everything. my freind try to tell me it was a peice of sh!t but my gun works and his doesn't. its is th emost reliable gun ive seen. ive put it through more abuse than i should have but it always shoots when you hook air and paint up to it. it is also extremely easy to clean. no tools. i can feild strip mine, clean it and go play within 3 min. it will still shoot after you break a ball as long as you turn your powerfeed off and shoot air to help clean the barrel.
Weaknesses: the stock barrel is a little short and inaccurate, unlees you shoot slow. Some complain about the trigger wobbling side to side a little, but you dont notice it when your playing.
Conclusion: this is the best gun to get for a begginer. ive had mine almost 3 years and its never given me any problems
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, July 1st, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: everything, from its rate of fire to its light weight ot the easy field stripping. theres nothin wrong with this gun. the stock barrel is alright but i got lapco bigshot for mine. ive recently found a new bolt for it so im getting that too. where i live you need an expansion chamber so get that. besides the barrel this is a good solid gun.
Weaknesses: theres not a thing wrong with tis gun.
Conclusion: like that kid said half the people in here talking down on the sheridan dont even have one. but you still need to upgrade this gun just for looks. its worth more than it costs, got mine for 150. it will give any gun in its class a run for its money. id recommend this gun to anyone who wants to kick major portions of ass.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media