paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS / Sheridan XTS

Sheridan XTS Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Sheridan

Buy Sheridan XTS

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Sheridan XTS
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 75
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $179

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The XTS is equipped with external velocity adjustment, sight rail, replaceable trigger shoe, and no-tool disassembly. The XTS is also available in custom splash annodized finish and polished finish.
Product Availability 
The Sheridan XTS is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
mxpaint75 Thursday, March 20th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BLACK MAGIC, BOB LONG TIMMY, SPYDER ELECTRA DX
Marker Setup: Bob Long Dragon Timmy, freak barrel system, eclipse Drop Forward, Evo 2 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVRYTHING THE BARREL IS CRAP, THE TRIGGER ALSO
Strengths: DURABLE IT WILL TAKE A BEATING
Weaknesses: NOT ACCURATE,BREAKS MORE BALLS THAN IT SHOOTS,SLOOOOOWWW
Review: I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS GUN TO ANYBODY, IF YOUR THINKING ABOUT BUYING A BEGGINER GUN BUY A SPYDER IMAGINE OR SOMETHING LIKE THAT BECAUSE THIS GUN IS SLOW, IT BREAKS MORE BALLS THAN IT SHOOTS AND DOES NOT I REPEAT DOES NOT SHOOT STRAIGHT. WITH THE 100 BUC KS YOU PAY FOR THIS GUN YOU CAN GE T SOMETHING DECE NT, AND MUCH BETTER GUN TO USA BEGGINER OR PRO.
Conclusion: DONT BUY THIS GUN, ITS NOT WORTH THE PRICE AT ALL
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

cheeser124 Tuesday, July 13th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Spyder guns.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A longer barrel if it came with the original one, and a stock if you didn't get one with it.
Strengths: Its a well rounded gun and is good for all kinds of woodsball players.
Weaknesses: I don't think you can toggle the FPS
Review: This gun is a very good marker. Its great for beginners if you have just started taking an interest in woodsball, and is a good back up if you have a better gun and don't mind the extra weight. Its semi-automatic and hardly ever breaks paint. Just don't shoot really fast and rapid because it could bust a ball. Take your time. I do not think these guns are still being made, but you can find them on eBay or other sites. The problem is these guns are old, and info on the web about them is scarce. If you need info on how to take care of them, visit a paintball shop or someone you know who knows alot about paintball guns.
Conclusion: All in all, this gun may not be the best, but it is a very good one. If possible, make this your first gun if you can. But if you can get something better and more "up to date" (I mean today's guns) you probably should. This gun deserves a 7.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

akdew2 Thursday, August 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
tippman 98, spyder xtra
Marker Setup: stock gun, 9 oz tank, viewloader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel, expansion chamber, elbow
Strengths: CHEAP, fairly durable, light, simple
Weaknesses: UNACCURATE, chops paint, the bolt gets jammed easy
Review: I didn't use this gun for long because the bolt always jammed up in the middle of a game and it sucked CO2 like crazy. I got less than 200 shots on one 9 oz tank. When my friends bought tippman 98's, I couldn't keep up, so I decided to get a new gun. But it was a fairly good gun, considering I got it for free.
Conclusion: Don't get this gun if it'll cost you anything, you can get a older spyder xtra for almost nothing that's better than this gun.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper35rem Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: sheridan XTS with a custom gas-thru and VL quantum hopper and smart parts 14 in progressive barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer ported barrel and a slow but agitating hopper
Strengths: Cheap, very low chopping with proper paint, power feed
Weaknesses: Open bolt, short stock barrel, no front handle not very accurate as a Tippy.
Review: I love this gun. I really do. This was my first gun and still is my only semi auto. I do own a pump but I can't classify them together. most of the weaknesses I've eliminated with a long barrel and a gas thru handle has pretty much solved those. Accuracy isn't on the same level as a pro/carbine but there aren't many guns that can match tippys for accuracy. It has some seriousely great gas effiecency. I love this little gun.
Conclusion: Great starter gun, not as accurate as a tippy but great for the beginners and the cash strapped.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

_#2_ Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
model 98s an customs...which are more reliable but much much harder to clean/dissassemble...at least in my opinion....
Marker Setup: Sheridan XTS with an expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel...my XTS' barrel has a lip on the end in which paint builds up when you squeegie and then it runs bakc down the barrel..i recomend sawing that off or buying a new barrel (i suggest the latter of the two)
Strengths: -easy to clean
-easy to upgrade (if you can find them)
-cheap
-good beginners gun
Weaknesses: -chops paint
-loud
-only 4 balls per second
Review: Overall the XTS is a pretty good gun...if your not too trigger happy...keep it around 4 shots a second and you should be fine...the XTS is very simple and easy to dissassemble...although upgrades are hard to find with a little ingenuity i have made several for mine...if your looking to play tourney ball get a better gun...but for the rec player this is a good gun (just buy a barrel)
Conclusion: If your trigger happy get a 98 but if you dont have the cash and can handle 4bps get the XTS
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ajisrising Sunday, March 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Spyder Sonix
Spyder TL
Tippman A-5
Tippman 98
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
14" Teardrop
20 oz Co2
Strengths: Lightweight
Small
Weaknesses: Breaks balls
Not accurate
Review: I was not very pleased with this marker. it breaks paint all the time and is not very accurate. I found the best paint is diablo dusk, as not as many balls break. Take a barrrel squeegie with you on the field as you will need it a lot. Overall it is not to horrible as long as you clean the barrel often and aren't really aiming.
Conclusion: I would not really recommend this gun, but for the price its not to bad for a beginner
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sheridan XTS Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Strengths: Key strengths of this gun is the easy cleaning
Weaknesses: If you fire this gun too fast it will shred paint
Review: The sheridan XTS is a very good gun! It is a good gun for beginning players but there is
one problem about this gun. It is very hard to find parts! if anyone knows where to find parts for the sheridan XTS please inform me!!!! if anyone is ever in my area e-mail me too play a game with you all play anytime! thanks!
Conclusion: I think any new player will be happy with this gun
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

therealmr Monday, September 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Ricochet AK
Pro1 by J&J
Response Trigger
Custom sniper stock
20oz with remote, 4oz backup
4+1 pack
Backup Talon Ghost (aw, yea)
Recommended
Upgrades:
None. If you are looking for ugrades, you probably should get another gun
Strengths: In review
Weaknesses: In review
Review: GOOD:
Great beginner gun - shoots OK and has OK Co2 efficiency, easy to clean

Cheap - on ebay you can get these for around 40$ + shipping

BAD:
Barrel - causes ball breaks, causes chopping, no porting, loud

Akward - hard to hold... the macroline is the only thing that you can use as a grip, and it's hard to do.

ROF - they say 7pbs... really... only around 4 (not bad if beginner)
Conclusion: For what it is, not too bad
For 60$, still not too bad
If it cost 80$, a spyder would be a lot better
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

shakey Tuesday, July 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom and Tippmann Model 98.
Marker Setup: (Will be getting in a week or so!)
Tippmann A-5
Dead On Paintball Pro-Style Drop Forward
Tippmann Flatline
PMI Pure Energy 20oz Aluminum C02 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better marker.
Strengths: Reliable, easy to field strip.
Weaknesses: Inaccurate.
Review: I used this marker 2 years ago as a rental. After 5 games, I hit one guy in the leg...and at that particular field (Whistler Paintball Adventures), center mass and head shots are considered kill shots.

This year (playing for my 2nd, 3rd, and 4th time), I brought my own marker (Tippmann Custom 98) to the field, and I noticed the huge difference in accuracy. Even my father, who used a Sheridan XTS 2 years ago and for his 2nd time, could tell how inaccurate the marker was. The owner gave my father a Tippmann Pro-Carbine to use as a rental for his 3rd and 4th time, and he could instantly tell the difference in accuracy. His shots were much more consistant than with the Sheridan XTS.

However, the Sheridan XTS was very reliable. Not a single person who had used the Sheridan at the field (20+ people on my 3rd time there, and 40+ people on the 4th time on the field) as a rental reported a ball being chopped. Think of how many paintballs were being shot off in a span of 20 minutes, with 20+ people using the same marker. Pretty impressive, I must say. The owner of the field also showed us how easy it was to field strip the Sheridan XTS, while making note that the Tippmanns are very difficult to field strip (and they are!).
Conclusion: It's a reliable gun. But for the price that the MSRP is, you might as well get a Tippmann 98 Custom for the same price, since it's as reliable (if not more so) as the Sheridan XTS. At the same time, it's much more accurate (even with the stock barrel).

I'll give it a 5, since it isn't a great gun, but it isn't the worst gun either.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pilum466mrk Tuesday, May 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98's may be good guns, but I do prefer my XTS
Marker Setup: XTS w/ 20 oz CO2, a 200 round revy, and a 16" CMI thunderpig
Recommended
Upgrades:
Defininitely get a new barrel, cause as with all markers stock suck.
Strengths: -Accurate
-very easy to clean
-fast firing
Weaknesses: -awful stock barrel
-sometimes inconsistent
Review: The advantages of this marker far outweigh the problems. Yes, it can be incosistent. That is to say some times it is dead on accurate and other times it curves like crazy. All in all, with some modifications it can be a pretty potent gun, depending on the player and his abilities.
Conclusion: Ddefinitely get this gun. I have had it for a year and it works for me.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media