paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs FS-7 2005 / Indian Creek Designs FS-7 2005 / Indian Creek Designs FS-7 2005 / Indian Creek Designs FS-7 2005

Indian Creek Designs FS-7 2005 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs FS-7 2005

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs FS-7 2005
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 24
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $795

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Unlimited ROF
Autococker barrel Threads
Clamping Feed Neck
Recessed Illuminated Toggle On/Off Switch
Thru-beam Paintball Detection System
Clamshell Grip Frame
Easy battery access
Dual regulated blow forward design
4 way adjustable trigger
Barrel, rail, and on/off asa included
3D contour milling
Quick Field-Strip bolt when degassed
ELECTRONICS:
MULTI-MODE: semi, full auto , fast ramping, PSP2, NXL
MULTI FUNCTION - firing mode, firing rate, debounce, dwell
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs FS-7 2005 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
tye1138 Wednesday, July 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested47 of 50 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've owned all freestyles from the early 04 to current Freestyle Pro.
I've owned, 4 Matrixes, 7 Angels, 2 Timmys and 4 Freestyles. I'm a certified tech in the first 3 markers...
Marker Setup: v7 Freestyle, NOX Reloaded, Sidewinder HP and JDS LP regs, Stiffi 14" barrel, Nitroduck 45/45 adjustable tank, Empire B Reloader, Planet Eclipse on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Sidewinder or CP inline HP reg and JDS front LPR. Everything else on the marker is great.
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Light weight, Small form factor, Very quiet and one powerful little marker!
Weaknesses: Inefficient at this moment in time.
Review: When people think of ICD, they immediately think of the Bushmaster and of cheap markers. Well in the past 18 months, ICD has come out with one killer marker after the other. The series of markers is called Freestyle, which might refer to how much of a free forum the marker is base after. You won't see another marker on the market which has a similar design. Greg and the other guys at ICD worked long and hard to create a very unique marker and they have done just that.

When you first pickup a freestyle, wether stock 04 or v7 you will notice something unique about them: quiet, accurate and VERY SMALL! Some players like big markers, but I can say this once you pick up a freestyle you won't put it down. Watching guys during practices who are sponsored by Bob Long or Smart parts, who shoot Freestyles as there personal markers makes me smile. It just goes to show that the ICD product is a unanimously recognized product that works.

Slowly ICD has been hitting the market with teams like the Naughty Dogs. Rocky has done a really good job at creating a new board for the Freestyle called the NOX. The Naughty Dog freestyle is the first of several to come 3rd party freestyles. Right now Adventure Beach (AB) has custom configurable markers for sale that blow the doors off any stock marker. ICD's continuous improvements with the Freestyle are slowly paying off. Slowly teams are starting to use the freestyle as there main marker and so far they have really been enjoying them.

18 months is a long time in paintball, but in the real world, its just a few minutes in time. ICD has had several minor releases since the first freestyle came out and now its time for a MAJOR release.

The Freestyle Pro seemed like an initial attempt at releasing a perfect freestyle, but the marker had some issues in the first run that was a setback for ICD. After a few minor modifications, the FSP was finally working and released. The v7 came along a few months after the FSP was released and boy what a release. Out of the blue, WOW here is a NEW freestyle! I don't know why ICD has issues with press releases, but man I'm in the industry and I had to visit pbn to find out anything about it!

The v7 seems like ICD's "FIXED" FSP. Its a TINY bit shorter, but its not about the size, its about fixing the issues ALL the other freestyles have. Most previous Freestyle owners complain about the non adjustable board, well that's been resolved. The v7 comes with a BRAND NEW ICD board with full adjustments for Dwell, tournament modes and several other standard adjustments. On top of that the v7 is a tad more efficient and lighter due to nocking some metal off in milling. It feels like my AB FSP, but the stock board shoots much faster. The stock trigger is fine and upgradable if need be. The stock regs are perfectly adequate and don't have any issues that I know of. Adjusting the marker is so easy, people who can't figure it out need to learn how to read first. ICD has made a CD PDF manual which you need a computer to read. I'd like a simple one sheet of how to adjust the regs and clean the bolt on one side and on the other adjustments for the board. Other then that, print out the manual from you PC. Its a turn on/fire marker, so there is no holding down buttons or waiting for something to boot, click the switch your firing. Turn the switch off and your not firing. Its so simple, its amazing nobody else has been able to figure it out besides WDP with the G7.

Shooting the v7 is like shooting a pump marker in terms of weight and size, but getting 20bps instead! Its light, small, accurate and most of all FAST! There is hardly any kick, much less then ANY pin valve marker could ever get. It does not chop, low bolt pressure and standard beam break eyes make sure of that. The blow forward design makes the bolt simple to lube and service if need be. Pull the pin out of the back and the entire bolt assembly slides out! Take that Smart parts! Getting across the field with the Freestyle and a 45/45 tank is so amazingly easy it almost makes you feel bad that the team your shooting against has DM5s which are SO much heavier and larger. Just remember, if you own a v7 you will be sought after by everybody on the field saying: "what is that?" Let them put there own paint in the hopper, because they will want to waste it all when they test it.

BUT there is negative press, which is not so good. People complain about them on PBnation or in person asking about reliability and such. All I say in return is, I shoot it; Naughty Dogs shoot them and neither I or Naughty dogs have 2 backups waiting to go like the All Americans with Shockers. I see the All Americans burn through 2 shockers EACH during PSP! You won't see Rocky put his marker down EVER! It just works! Make your own decision, but the Freestyle is a reliable marker.

So if the marker is not the problem, why does NOBODY ELSE know about it? Two other issues do exist and one of them is marketing. ICD obviously does not market the same as JT or Empire. They are a much smaller company and it could be a cost issue or could be a demand issue. Surly, whatever issues they have it will be remedied once people start buying them instead of complaining about something they don't know about. Another issue is stock marker efficiency. ICD and several other companies have in the works efficiency upgrade kits which will make the Freestyle markers over 25% more efficient then stock.
Conclusion: In conclusion, why not get a Freestyle? They are cheap, fast, light, small and coming soon: efficient!!!

There is no reason not to get one!

So stop reading, go get one!

go

hurry up

come on! Leave


Thanks for reading
tye
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 13th, 2005 at 1:29 pm PST
I found this review  
29 Comments - Add Comment

Atlantic Monday, July 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Angel, Timmy, Impulse, FS-05, DM5
Marker Setup: STD JDS LPR, MacDev Gladiator HPR, MacDev MatchStik barrel, MacDev LegionAir aitsystem, MacDev Sonic venting ASA, MacDev inirail.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed - but the above mentioned are cool products that I had on my FS-05 already, so I just went ahead an put them on it ;)
Strengths: FAST, LIGHT, ACCURATE - Probably the best tournament gun on the market!
Weaknesses: None!
Review: I've used a lot of markers over the years, and know them all pretty well.... So when I received the FS-7, I didn't really expect too much, as all manufaturers promise too much, and I didn't really believe the hype that ICD had come out with a gun that could rival the very best - and much more expensive - guns on the market.

Man was I WRONG!

This thing is just awesome!

Straight out of the box, with the usual disassembly and re-lubing I do with any new gun (which in this instance wasn't needed)... it just worked to perfection.

I'm not the biggest ICD fan in the world, but I have to admit this thing just rocks.

- It's small
- It's extremely light
- It comes with an adjustable board (ROF, dwell, shooting mode, debounce)
- It's the most accurate gun I've shot since the Shocker 4x4 of old
- It has a ROF that rivals the best Timmy and Angel models out there
- It is really well balanced, making it comfortable to play with
- it has none of the problems the previous FS models had (efficiency, need for break-in period, difficulty getting FPS or ROF, difficulty balancing regulators, leaks, etc.).
- I have yet to break anything in the gun or experience any problems, after 2 months of use playing with it on average 3 times per week.

The only thing I'm sorry about, is that this site does not allow me to give the gun 11 out of 10 ;)
Conclusion: Probably the best tournament gun on the market today.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 25th, 2005 at 6:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JRT6 Tuesday, November 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ion, various Cockers, Cyborg, Shocker
Marker Setup: FS-7
Halo TSA
CP drop foward w/on-off
Crossfire compressed air
Freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Asa, barrel
Strengths: Price
Ease of maintainence(changing o-rings, lubing)
Pointabilty
Ease of use
Features
Looks
Weaknesses: Incredible air-hog
Asa
maintance intensive
Review: I've only played with this marker for a few games however I love it. In over 15 years of play I have never used a high end marker that I thought was worth the money. I paid $740- but now some places have it as low as $654-. I got the marker delivered and between the very good instructional CD that comes with the marker and the "Art of balancing the regs" by the Hitch hiker's guide to the Freestyle I had no problems at all setting the regs. Period. The instructions say to use a LP tank that does 600psi and that fixed Hp will not work as well. Fixed low pressure at 450psi is too low and can starve the marker on long shot strings. Most people use HP anyway and I don't see the need right now to go out and buy an adjustable flow tank. The stock barrel works ok but the Asa is too cheap to be on a marker that costs this much. I went to a CP on/off because the stock Asa wouldn't fit the CP razor drop. The instruction CD also has video of how to take apart, clean and re-assemble the regs!

The marker I got had no cosmetic imperfections. It comes ready to gas up and play which is what i expect when I pay a lot(relatively). I broke paint while playing and all I had to do was pull the bolt, wipe it off and I was ready to go again. The marker points very well for snap shooting and shoots very quiet and really flat. I was long balling guys farther than I ever have before. The adjustable trigger is very crisp and easy to adjust. I don't use ramping and all that but the predator board is easy to adjust and the simple on/off power switch is much more convenient than the one on the Ion or other similar hold down buttons. The grips and the curved back strap are a little big even for my large hands but nothing I can't live with. I found the locking feedneck holds my Halo just fine.

After three months of play:
I got the HR1 upgrade, had to have the manifold adjusted and an overpressurizationfixed problem by ICD.
Conclusion: This is a great maker if you are knowledgable about high maintainance markers. I changed the rating to 8 stars because it was not ready to go out of the box as I had thought when I first got and as I said in my initial review. During the first three months I owned this marker it had to go back to ICD twice. The price of these is now down to $550- which is a good deal and you're getting what you paid for. A little quality control on ICD's part would have made this a 10 out of 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 21st, 2006 at 5:52 am PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

stonersr25 Thursday, September 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
05 Freestyle, 04 Freestyle with 05 internals, just about every other gun there is.
Marker Setup: 2005 FS-7 with Stiffi barrel kit, V-35 Halo, and 68/3000 adjustable tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a good barrel. Then I would get different regs, both hp and lp. A very fast hopper. A different feedneck.
Strengths: 1.Speed and weight.
2.Ease of Use and field strippable.
Weaknesses: 1.Grips are fugly.
2.Gas hog.
Review: OK, for quite some time I have been deciding between getting a Freestyle or a Shocker. I was using a very nice Emag and didn't really want to give it up, but I wanted to try newer things. The reason I decided to go with the FS-7 are several:

1.It has breakbeam eyes, not reflective.
2.It seems to have a better track record for not breaking down.
3.It comes stock with a very nice board from Tag Sportz.
4. And it just looks a little sexier than a stock bodied Shocker.
5. Quik strip capability.
After getting the marker from the store I quickly noticed a few things. It is slightly heavier and larger than the previous Freestyles, and it has a different milling/anno pattern. The body is almost remenicient of a DM4, but I really like it. The milling and anno are very high quality and look pretty good, mine is a matte red to black fade. When I finally got a chance to air it up and shoot it I was very very happy. I am not very fast on new guns but I was able to empty a pod with ease and decent accuaracy, and this was with the stock settings. The only thing that kinda scared me is that I started with 2000 psi in my tank and after shooting a Halo and dry firing around 100 times I was out of air!!! Ouch.
Now after a few days of tinkering and getting the settings where I want them I can tell you that this thing is very fast. It has nice consistent chrono readings and performs nicely. Another very nice feature is the very adjustable board; after having my Emag this thing is like being in a candy store. Overall I am very happy with my purchase.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a very fast, accurate, and high quality marker than check this out. See if you can't fire one at your local store. I have been very happy with mine and everyone I know has been happy with their ICD markers. This gun may not be for everyone but I have been pleased with it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dagreat Wednesday, December 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SL74, 06 Ego, Etek, Bobby Long Timmy :), Spyders, WG65, Tippman 98/A5, Triad and many other cheap markers!
Marker Setup: Empire Reloader or Evo3, jds, cp hpr, clamping feedneck, Evil Pipe Kit, and a drop forward
Strengths: Light, shoots fast, durable
Weaknesses: Replaced stock LPR with JDS (+/-1 fps)
Review: After loving woodsball and my WG65, I decided the WG was a bit to heavy to lug around speedball courses. The ICD FS7 is light, fast and accurate.

Weight:
Around or under 2 lbs...darn light for an 05 gun!

Speed:
Quick, quick, quick! The gun shoots ropes with little to no kick at all. If you do have a kick...adjust your hpr/lpr settings cuase you screwed up somewhere.

Accurracy:
Good paint...nails! Bad paint (Monster Balls that have been sitting around for months), just as good as any other paint slinger

Effeciency:
Well, not as good as the high end markers. I read the FS8 is suppose to greatly improve...but what the heck, I paid for all day air!

Durability:
Solid gun. I have had to glue the led switch in place and replace the lpr...but after a couple years of hard playing...I dont think that is too bad (and I am not gentle). It does, when she doesnt feel like working, leak air like crazy from the bolt. A little playing around normally gets her going quickly.

Sound:
Very quiet with no kick. Compare it to my etek, you cant even hear it.

Adjustments:
HPR and LPR are easy to adjust (and screw up if you dont know what you are doing). It has a Quick Release for field stripping (every field I go to says "wow, that's cool." Extremely easy to take a part and reassamble.



Conclusion: Overall, a great little gun that can compete against the big boys. The FS8 has a higher cycle rate/ROF and better effenciency...but the FS7 is a great marker!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 15th, 2007 at 11:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MarkParris Tuesday, August 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Trix, Shocktech shocker, shockers, timmys, dm4, basically every highend marker out.
Marker Setup: Fs-7 Freestyle, Blue Laser Eyes, Predator 5.0, and Stiffi Blue Mamba Switch.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stiffi Switch
Strengths: Fast
Light
Quick
Stock Predator Board
low profile
Weaknesses: Gas hog
Review: When i picked this beast up from icd right when i saw it all i thought was "Dang that is secksie"

aired it up and shot some paint from walmart threw it (yeah I was that despreate to shoot it)

NO CHOPS!! its amazing... fast.. light.. crazy you must get one of these... And they look good.
Conclusion: Buy it its amazing and not 1000 dollers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NYC Paintballer Sunday, April 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smartparts Ion, Ego, Dye DMC
Marker Setup: 2005 Freestyle FS-7, black halo B, and a new trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
New On/off asa, new grips, and if you care about air efficiency, then a new reg.
Strengths: Speed, accuacy, modes on predator board, and looks.
Weaknesses: Air efficiency, bad asa, ugly grips, breaks easily.
Review: this gun looks hot but the first time i used it it broke. the bolt wouldnt go far enough out to push the ball and the on/off switch on the back of the got pushed in. it took me 4 hours to fix. The problem with the bolt was that it wasnt oiled up enough. once i used the gun after it was fixed it was amazing. i had it on PSP mode so it was really fast and it went in a strait line all the way across the field. It was so accurate!
Conclusion: I love this gun!!! (especially when its not broken...)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guncleaninnfool Saturday, November 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I don't have any that compare.
Marker Setup: Current tourny gun is a vert cocker, AIM body, WGP tickler lpr, ergo reg, ANS quickfire bolt, an assortment of air bottles, WGP flame drop with on/off asa, and a wide range of barrells depending on the paint de jour.
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP inline HP reg
JDS front LPR
Strengths: Speed
Size
Weight
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Review: This marker is really good and shoots fast. Its just not very efficient. I barely got any shots off a fill but i think it will get better.This gun is also very cheap. Another problem is that icd makes it. The reason why thats a problem for me is because icd is a petty small company so its hard to get parts. My friend has a stripped feedneck on his pro-m and hes been waiting for months for the order to come in. But it still is not in.
Conclusion: I really like this gun and its very fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Ostwar Tuesday, October 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gen 1 & 2 Freestyles, Timmys, 2K3 Shockers, Cyborg, Action Markers Diadem
Marker Setup: Check-it Clamping Feedneck, Vaporworks S4 Reverse Scythe Bearing Trigger, rest is stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Perhaps new inline (HPR) reg, and upgrades as above
Strengths: Quiet, Fast, Small, Light, Low Kick, Gentle on Brittle paint.
Weaknesses: Efficiency, Maintenance
Review: Freestyle FS7 Review

After thinking long and hard on what my next marker was going to be, I finally settled on the Freestyle FS7. I really liked my Gen 2 Freestyle, but I felt that the marker still had some bugs to be worked out. I saw the 2K5 Freestyle, and other than some cosmetic improvements it was still the same marker. Then the Freestyle Pro came out and I thought to myself, maybe this is it. But then I heard of the QEV issues and it had a price tag that was a bit higher than I wanted to spend. So when the FS7 came out with a nice price tag, I waited to hear positive comments on it, and then I jumped on this marker shortly after that.

First let me tell you that those who say “looks don’t matter”, think again, they do. The Gen 1 & Gen 2 Freestyles simply didn’t look all that hot, but the FS7 is very sexy. You can have all the performance in the world, but if your marker looks like crap people will tell you and it won’t get respect or sell in todays market.

Looks aside, this marker performs just as good. The new push pin removable bolt system is pure genius. Simply turn off your air, shoot out the marker, and pull out your entire bolt assembly. This is especially handily considering this marker needs to be lubed all the time. The FS7 retains the clam shell grip design, making changing the trigger the easiest thing possible. And I love my Vaporworks bearing trigger, same design as the Freestyle pro trigger but a lot more responsive.

Out of the box all I had to do was adjust my regs for field speed (280 fps) and I was ready to go. Which by the way was a lot easier now that ICD made both the HPR and LPR adjustment screws the same, so the same allen keys tunes both regs, sweet!

Efficiency isn’t great, but I use an older 88/4500 tank so no big deal there. The only problem I had was my #007 valve pin o-ring was defective so I had a leak, but a quick swap out with the one in the spare parts kit fixed that. Also keeping the bolt assembly cleaned and lubed is key to a good day, do this everytime before you first head out on the field.

The Predator board is great, dwell adjustment is a god send over the Gen 2, and the PSP and NXL modes are tons of fun.

Overall this marker is now ready to directly compete with all the DM’s, Angels, Timmys, Egos and turn head doing it.
Conclusion: Take a chance on this marker and you won't regret it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

automaster Saturday, March 27th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 autococker (e-blade)- WAY!! better than the freestyle
T-Ranger - Better because it actually works
Marker Setup: Stock
-halo hopper
-dye 2 piece barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Get a different gun
Strengths: Leaking, it does that alot
Weaknesses: -Leaks
-Air hog
- Sloppy trigger
-Tight Feedneck
Review: I only used this gun for 3-months because that is how long it lasted.

Well I get this gun thinking YEAH!!! a professional gun for once. NO to my surprise Indian Creek dies out I can't find any parts for this gun to help me replace the shot ones. Then this happens to me it starts to leak so I think ok I will just turn down the pressure Nope that doesn't work, I take the gun apart and find out you know what holds the air pressure from the regulator in to the chamber? THE FRAME!!!! yes the frame holds in air pressure and then expands and springs leaks everywere. So if you wan't a pain in the ass, having to re-tighten everything, having to refill your tank, and havig to buy all replacement parts for this gun on ebay. Be my guest and buy thisgun.

OH and for you who think no drrrr its the O-rings I replaced them, I tried everything. Oh and when the gun worked for the first two-times I used it. It was good to ok, not what I thought a pro gun would be, the trigger was sloppy, and the feedneck is really tight (won't hold a halo hopper).
Conclusion: Please if you love paintballing don't buy this gun, get a mini, a proto, or an ion (because I hear they are reliable) This gun has problems major structural problems, not once and a while defects but problems with how it is built. I gave it a three because I would feel bad if I gave it a 1. Your lucky IAm a nice person Indian Creek.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media