paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / ANS Gen X Regulator / ANS Gen X Regulator / ANS Gen X Regulator / ANS Gen X Regulator

ANS Gen X Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount ANS

Buy ANS Gen X Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


ANS Gen X Regulator
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 47
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $109

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Adjustable inline regulator with gauge and tournament lock screws.
Product Availability 
The ANS Gen X Regulator is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
kain420 Friday, September 6th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
palmer stablizer
Marker Setup: spyder classic power feed body
aka tornado valve
bandit bolts-"delrin-like" bolt
ans gen-x 2 reg set at 290 psi @ 285 fps
freak jr back w/10 " freak tip
mako storm electro trigger
chrome low pressure chamber
kapp drop zone 3
shark gill sight-rail
turbo rev'ed revvy w/ vortex impeller
pure energy 68ci 3k w/ lok soks
Strengths: high flow- no drop off with 12+ shots/sec
looks good - comes in lots of colors but always w/ a generous portion of chrome
very consistant
finger adjustable w /tourny locks
comes with guage
Weaknesses: expensive
guage is nice, but hard to read exact pressures under 300psi because of large gradients
not very good with co2
not a very good grip
Conclusion: Overall great reg. Get this or a palmers, i THINK the genX is more consistant with air, and palmers is much better with co2, but thats just me. Palmers are great with air too. If you use co2 get a palmers.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

agentdowell Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
gas through grip?
uh... stock handle?
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine
- clear Viewloader eVolution II
- Phat aluminum feed neck
- 14" black Evil Pipe kit
- green ANS Gen-X2 reg
- Shocktech chrome trigger
- Shocktech aluminum volumizer
- AKA Turbo valve
- AKA Lightning bolt
- chrome bottomline and PMI remote coil w/slide check
- Pure Energy 48/3000
- 32 Degrees spring kit (lp spring setup)
- polished internals
Strengths: consistancy
high flowing
looks
adjustability
Weaknesses: gauge accuracy
cost
Review: Strengths

Performance

The GenX2 regulator has very good consistancy and maximizes flow. Double-triggering my max rate of fire (about 10 bps) and there is no dropoff whatsoever. With a low pressure setup on my gun I can get down to 270 lbs of pressure, which is quite low according to many expert paintball players (I knew they were pros because they all had jerseys on, only the pros wear jerseys;).

Looks and Adjustability

The GenX2 comes in a variety of colors to match any paintballers taste (or lack thereof; purple?) while combining the always in style chrome in classy and refined contrast. It comes fully finger adjustable with tournament locks, I think the newer ones have a hexnut instead of screws.

Weaknesses

Cost and Guage

Below 300 lbs of pressure the accuracy of the gauge starts to slip. Something to do with physics and complicated math I'm told. Also any upgrade that costs more than a C-note is expensive in my book.
Conclusion: High quality reg, works great with low pressure and accents the paintgun quite well with a combination of style and sophistication. "That guy's got a GenX2 reg on his gun? Must be a classy gentleman."
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

coldchill Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Regs - crap compared to
Palmers Stabilizer - almost comparable depending in the type of gas youre using
Bob Long Torpedo - almost as good as the gen x but not quite
Marker Setup: 99' WGP Cocker
Evil Pipe Barrel System
Gen X-2 reg
Shocktech Bomb 3-way
Shocktech Superfly Delrin Bolt
32* drop forward or KAPP Cradle w/ on/off
ACI Bulldog 68/3000 tank
Dye Stickies
Custom Anodized rods and body

Strengths: Looks
Highly adjustable
Second best recharge on the market
Price
Weaknesses: only good for lp applications
Review: This is probabaly the second best reg on the market. I cznt remember what the better one is but i know it costs about 175. This is perfect for a LP application adn has an awesome recharge rate, really high flow. The adjustable screw really makes it easy to adjust your gun depending on the paint youre using. Nothing more annoying than having to carry allen wrenches everywhere you go. Most regs dont have a pressure guage onthem if they are aftermarket, so it adds a nice feel to know where you are shooting. It has a problem with losing its setting in between games, but with the guage, you can just remember where you set it last. One thing though, do not use CO2 through this reg, it will damage it!!! If you use CO2 through it you will start spiking even if you use nitro afterwards. Clean it regularly to keep up performance. Over all, this reg is idiot proof.
Conclusion: Awesome idiot proof reg that requires little maintanance and sis very durable. Its consistant and for the performance, is a great price regardless of what others say.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TheWamp4 Tuesday, January 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Palmer Stabilizer
Stock WGP Inline reg
Marker Setup: 2K2 Vert Autococker
ANS Gen-X3 Front Block/Kit
ANS Gen-X2 Inline Reg
Supafly Bolt
CP On/Off
CP Flame Drop
Shocktech Ball detent
New Internals (sear, RAT 3:16 valve,ect)
STOCK BARREL <---- awesome barrel
12V hopper w/ X-board
68 4500 Crossfire nitro
Strengths: Like the way it looks and the gauge is nice to have always. Easy to adjust pressure. Compact and comes in colors. At most now im getting +/-2-5 on average not to shabby. Lowered pressure on my marker. Does it job.
Weaknesses: The input on it is in the most uncomfortable stop. i have to grip the bottom line and the inline reg and it small and funny shaped. It leaked a few times which kind of made me mad and its expensive.
Conclusion: If your looking for a better regulator look at the Palmer regs there better of course, but i like this one and chose to buy it. I'm happy with it haven't had any real problems so go buy one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockerdog21 Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
palmers stab, wgp stock reg
Marker Setup: 2k2 vf cocker.kapp drop,bever tail,and ball dent. wgp swing trigger.rat 3:16.superfly bolt.palmers stab,quik switch,and rock reg.sto ram. 14" TI boomstick.68ci 3000psi.
Strengths: hmmmmmmm.... let me think.... its shinny??
Weaknesses: it does not work. id say thats a big one
Review: i wanted to upgrade my stock reg so i bought this. man im really sorry i did. put a case of paint through in my back yard it to break it in somewhat. went to Tombstone at the chrono, no joke 275,250,290,245,300,356,300,345,310,260 . WTF???? my stock wgp reg was better. my old school spyder running co2 is more consistent. i dropkicked the ans out the door and got i palmers stab. its not even broken in and it is+/- 5 fps on the chrono.
Conclusion: i do not recommend this product to even anyone i'll play against(i want a fair fight). i cant recommend any other reg other than palmers cause its the only one ive used,but do your homework and find a better reg, please, i beg you
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 26th, 2004 at 2:58 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

mjkocker Saturday, May 11th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP inline, sidewinder, angel reg
Marker Setup: A cocker with too much to list
Strengths: You can adjust velocity without a tool
Has a tourney lock
looks good
No leaking problems
Fairly consistent
Weaknesses: Expensive
Not as consistent as you would expect 10 +/- fps variance with a new maxflow
The tourney lock can get anoying if you need to turn velocity up
The way the gauge and input hose are on the side gets in the way it would be better on the bottom and have a gauge under your front block or on your asa
Larger than I would like
Conclusion: Overall its a decent reg has a tad better regulation then the WGP. The only reason I have it is it came with my cocker. Im going to look into the macdev gladitor. It definatly looks the most tricked out of any reg. If looks are important to you this is the reg to get if consistency matters more I would look to something else if you want better then 5+/- variance.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock cocker reg:ok
ERGO reg: leaked like crazy
Marker Setup: 2001 cocker, WGP hinge, ANS reg, 15* ASA, WGP flame drop, on/off adaptor, pmi Ckr 2k1 bolt, Kapp twisted cocking rod, dye sticky, WGP 2 piece barrel, 68/3000 fiber tank, 12 volt rev
Strengths: NICE....easily adjustable with air going with through. This is the BEST reg you can buy!! Comes with a gauge and is slim. Air running through is consistent to +/- 1 fps.
Weaknesses: Buy it online and it comes with a huge gauge but if you buy it at a store and the guy is nice....he'll trade for a smaller gauge. there is nothing bad about this reg except for maybe the price but its worth it. I paid 125.
Conclusion: GREAT reg for the money. GO buy yourself one and you'll be very proud like me. Very consistent. This gets a perfect 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tut00 Monday, January 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP in-line reg.
Marker Setup: Worr STO Autococker
ANS Gen-X Reg
Palmer Rock
AKA Hammer and Spring Kit
AKA Cocking Rod and Knob
Dye Stickies
Strengths: Very conistant.
Looks great.
Easy to adjust.
Weaknesses: Its not a bad thing, it just how a reg works. It has taken a few cases of paint to break this thing in. I am know +/- 4fps.
Conclusion: This reg is great. There are a lot of people who knock ANS stuff, but I have to say that this is a very well made regulator. It has a very quick recharge rate. I can fire off a whole string of shots and it still stays right were I set it.

Like I said above, it is getting more consistent as it gets broken in. This reg is definetly worth the money. I would go buy one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 29th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Power reg, Vigilante reg.
Marker Setup: Modified Low Pressure Spyder @ 300psi. Boo-yaah, ANS Gen-xII. Nitro Duck 114/3000 nitro, Kapp KDZII. DYE SS 12" bbl. 12v revvy, SPeed pod collar.
Strengths: Everything! Sweet LP guage, easy to adjust with your fingers, great colors, Awesome looks! Very good consistency, I shoot constantly +/- 5-7 fps.
Weaknesses: If you have a Spyder with a Vertical adapter and LP chamber, The guage wont clear the LP chamber, and wont tighten down all the way with the guage facing straight out. I just keep mine loose where I want it, when its aired up, It doesnt want to budge. Just thought I'd mention it.
Conclusion: Overall, The best reg I've ever used, and will ever use, I'll never get rid of it! I would reccomend one to anyone!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kujo006 Friday, January 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
shocktech inline
stock 2k3 cocker reg
Marker Setup: Fireball Mountain Vampire Body - Black to Silver Fade
Nelson Hammer Kit
ANS Black/chrome gen x reg
ANS Chrome Jackhammer LPR
G-Force Ram with Micro QEVís
Jackel Internals Jackel Ultra-Light Back Block
Chrome WGP Torpedo Drop with on/off
Twisted/Black Magic Cocking Rod
3DS Arrow Bolt & Delrin Pull Pin
Chrome WORR Blade
Eclipse Samurai Blade Trigger (Chrome)

An autococker 2k3 everything stock but the barrel
Also a good old fashion tippmann 98 with a flatline, double triggered for woods ball

Matchstik 7 piece barrel kit (for my cockers only)
14Ē freak barrel with 2 SS inserts as an alternative (for my cockers only)
68ci Crossfire 4500psi tank
45ci pure energy 3000psi as a back up
Empire Reloader B hopper
Strengths: Easy to adjust
Looks nice
Easy to read guage
Weaknesses: Didn't like it so easily adjustable
price
consistency
input hoses are at the side
Review: Well i was very disapppointed in this reg it's one of the most expensive reg out ther if not the most expensive one. at first my shots where very inconsistant it was doing +-40 but that was before i get it to wear in, but still even a breand new reg that hasn't had anyshots thru it shouldn't perfomr like that, after i put a box of paint though it was around +-17 (i thought that it didn't waer in yet so i tried it again after i put another half a box it was the same thing)

next thedesign of the reg it looks great and the color goes great with my gun but they put their input ion the side so it made it very uncomfortable for me to hold my marker, i couldn't even hold it at first the 90 degrees get in the way and they put the input right in teh center of the reg so you can't hold it at the botom or the top of the reg since it's right in the middle i ended up holding my gun but the drop foreward lol good thing i didn't have one fo those heavy ass guns.

then the adjusting the reg is easy it's a good thing but i didn't like how easy it was i had problems with it maybe it's just me but i think whilei was playing i must of bumped it and turned it down because after that game i went to chrono it because i noticed a change in my shots while i was playing and i saw that my balls wre shooting out 50 fps slower then when i first had it so i went to fill up the tank and it was teh same thing so i think i must of knocked it or something. or something else weird happened

and i know alot of peopl here likes this reg so they're gonna post a ton of messages if i just write all negative about this but there was a few parts which i liked, the guage was ver easy to read and it seemed to be very accurate
Conclusion: I was very disappointed in this reg, for the price it should've been a damn good reg but it didn't perform any thing like a good reg for me, there are some good reviews about it so if you want to take your chances go right ahead, but i suggest trying one out first if you have anyfriends that have one ask them to let ou try it out see if you like it
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media