paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Alpha 2000 Mask / JT Alpha 2000 Mask / JT Alpha 2000 Mask

JT Alpha 2000 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Alpha 2000 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Alpha 2000 Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 266
Average Rating: 7.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Entry level mask with visor (NOTE: JT has made it so this mask is only available at Wal*Mart)
Product Availability 
The JT Alpha 2000 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Icon87 Saturday, October 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
JT Spectra - what a piece of crap, especially for JT.
JT X Fire mask - Spectra is better than this mask, just goes to show how crappy this mask is, there's no words to describe how crappy this mask is.
JT Proteus - Great Mask, hands down the best mask I've used so far.
JT Nvader - Second best mask I've ever used.
Marker Setup: Black Icon e w/a 14" Quiet Riot barrel, Empire Reloader w/sound activation(clear), 47ci 3000psi Steel N2 Tank, a 3 pod harness w/belt.
Strengths: Made by JT
Hard plastic
Anti-Fog resistence
Low profile
Weaknesses: Too many people diss this cuz of the price, that's about it.
Review: This is a fantastic entry level mask, great price and it's made by JT so you know it's good quality. Even though they make the X-Fire goggle system. This mask is anit-fog resistence, low profile, and made of polymer plastics, meaning it won't bend and fold or break on you, plus you don't have to worry about it fogging up on you. Unless it's 80 or higher, and you're playing for a long period of time, other than those circumstances this is a really good mask. If you're getting into the sport, or need a new mask and don't want to spend to much on a fog resistence mask buy this mask, you won't regret it.
Conclusion: Buy it if you have a tight budget, and if you need a good quality mask. I still can't believe that people diss on this mask so much, either they've never used it, or are mistaking it for a different mask, this deserves a 9 out of 10, great rating especially when compared to a Proteus.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dcpusher Wednesday, October 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flex 7 for a little, but not for more than a game
Marker Setup: Spyder Electra with ups
Strengths: Price ($20 USD)
No fogging (for me)
Visor is removable
Weaknesses: Looks
can lead to embarrassment (Wal-mart)
Doesn't like to be taken apart.
Review: It has a good field of view, good lens and good fit. The visor is removable. I had to cut the part behind where the strap goes, so that I could completely remove the goggles. The goggles are a pain to remove. I cut the top most part of the goggles so they look better, and I DO NOT recommend this because I have been shot there a few too many times. If you do cut the part behind the visor then do it carefully as to not expose too much skin. It is a pain to take apart. Apart from the fact that you have to cut the mask in the back to completely remove the goggles, the goggles are FIRMLY held in place with plastic barbs, similar to those on the visor.

EDIT: I didn't use any anti fog spray, and I do breath hard, but living in souther california, I guess fogging shouldn't be much of a problem.
Conclusion: Even with its flaws it works very well for me, It doesn't fog it fits well, but it has some minor flaws.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 20th, 2004 at 9:25 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

808paintball808 Sunday, October 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Extreme Rage X-Ray :single lense
Marker Setup: Bko 2004
47/30 crossfire
Evlution 2
Strengths: Cheap
Quality
Weaknesses: Fogs
Foam
Strap
Comfort
Review: Ok, while playing woodsball w/ a few friends I lost my mask, so I had to buy a new one. I saw this mask at Wal-Mart for $20 so I decided to get it because I was low on cash, so I brought it.


=Weaknesses=

-If you sweat alot the foam will soak it up like a sponge, which could cause the sweat to get on/in ur lense causing it to fog.

-Un-comfortable if you wear glasses, a hat, and also just plain uncomfortable.

-Chin Strap is un-comfortable also

-Lense hard to remove and change

-to much holes for paint to splatter all over your face



=Strenghts=

-Cheap (could have got a v-force instead)

-Looks ok

-Does what its made to do is to protect you





Conclusion: All in all this is an ok mask to use but I dont like the foam that is used because it soaks up your sweat, but I like the design of it. You get what you pay for!! There is other masks that are around the $20 range that will preform better than this mask, I would recommend the v-force basic $20 mask over this.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 10th, 2004 at 8:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

evalha07 Wednesday, September 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle noob mask
Marker Setup: Tippman A5 Flatline
Strengths: Cheap!! Comfortable.
Weaknesses: Stock lens not so good. Lens near impossible to remove.
Review: Lens near impossible to remove. Well, removing it takes about 3 minutes..getting it back in takes a good 20 minutes. No joke.

The main reason why this mask is good for me is that I got a sweet thermal lens for it. It has NEVER fogged up in 20 degree or 90 degree weather. Pretty comfortable. Could provide more neck protection. Light. Doesn't hold spraypaint well..flakes off after a while. I never really got to use the original lens for it..I bought the mask and then moved out of the country for two years. When I came back it had this funky residue on it and I couldn't remove it. Looks pretty cool. Field of view aint bad but could be better.

Conclusion: WITH thermal lens it rocks.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sirsaechao Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT Flex 7, V-Force Sheild, Scotts Badass
Strengths: ---PROS---
Cheap
Vented
flexable
Weaknesses: ---CONS---
To cheap
Esay to crack
Lense is single
FOOGGG
Review: This mask is cheap and useful for the price...What do you expect from Wal-Mart? The only good thing is since it is purchased from Wal-Mart you can return it if is breaks, cracks, or become crappy. It does fog because it is a single lense but I haven't had problems with fogging. Fairly small mask but I have tried the Flex 7 and is cuts my neck when I turn. This mask is only is you need to loan it out to someone.
Conclusion: A backup mask only because the price is like $18 at Wal-Mart and meets the requirement for mask.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snowbordr011 Wednesday, May 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Marker Setup: E-Bladed WGP Prostock Cocker, 16 Freak Kit, Evo 2, Crossfire 68ci Tank
Strengths: -Light
-Not Bulky
-Good Protection
-Cheap
Weaknesses: -Fogs up
-No ear foam
-Strap slides down
Review: This mask is good for the price, but it's nothing professional. It's good for beguiners just starting to play, but If you start to get serious about paintballing you might want to get a nicer mask. This mask will fog up a lot (especially if you breath through your mouth, and the strap seems to slide down the back of your head when running, but this can be stopped by wearing a hat backwards (will also give you back of the neck protection.
Conclusion: If your new to paintball or low on money get this mask.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 19th, 2005 at 9:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

junker88 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
First mask ever.
Marker Setup: Icon-E
32* Nyte Stykk Barrel
Empire Reloader w/ Sound Activation
20 oz. Aluminum from PMI
The rest is stock...4 now!!!
Strengths: -Light
-Comfy
-Cheap
-By JTusa
Weaknesses: None Really...except that it isn't a V-Force Profiler. ;^)
Lens is a hassle.
Review: The mask is pretty damn good. Although it is my first mask, it isn't how the others describe it. The padding doesn't feel like sandpaper, it hasn't fogged on me at all. I did have to bend a peice of plastic on the inside of the mask so my glasses would fit. It has a really low profile which is good for smaller guys...but i'm not one of em', so about an inch of my head sticks out over the top of the visor(yeah...a visor)! Also, the mad ventilation will mean a bad taste in your mouth if you get a mouth shot. Besides that, it's all good. And at 18 bucks and change, I couldn't think of anything better. This will probably wind up as my backup, tho! ;)
Conclusion: Great mask, great price!
I recommend this mask to any beginners, or above if your low on cash.
It gets a 9 because my head sticks out. You smaller guys will have a 1o because you're...well...smaller. Heh Heh.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 29th, 2004 at 1:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SortaWorthless Friday, January 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Strengths: Protects
Weaknesses: Lens can't be cleaned.
Review: This is a fairly well made mask. It has never fogged up on me abd the mask itself is fairly easy to clean. However, the lens is impossible to get nice and shiny. No matter how hard you try, it will always leave a little residue. Still, it does it's job for the most part.
Conclusion: A nice and cheap mask with a few imperfections, and a good by for begginers.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 11th, 2004 at 6:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Impulse JR Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
I have used some crappy Scott goggles before, I can't remember what they are called.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98, 12V Revolution, 14" Progressive, 48ci/3000psi Pure Energy Tank
Strengths: -Cheap price
-Breathes well
-Visor blocks sun well
Weaknesses: -These goggles FOG very easily
-Hard to clean lens if you are gogged
Review: I bought this mask for 20 dollars at a Walmart, and, while it serves its purpose for protecting my face, I can't really say much more about it that is good. This mask is perfect for those that want a mask to give to their friends if they want to play in the yard or something with them.

The visor does well for protecting your eyes from the sun when it is overhead. This is helpful in outdoor matches, or a long scenario game. The goggles are pretty lightweight, and easy to adjust to your head. They give good protection, and if you are wearing a hat, your head wont get any paint on it.

The lens fogs very easily, so when in a long match, it will affect your play greatly. Once these things fog up, nothing short of taking the mask of and cleaning it can help you. If paint breaks on the mask, because of the many holes and gaps, it is difficult to clean. The advantage to these many holes and gaps is that the mask allows you to breathe very easily and freely.

Clearly, these problems are due to the cost. This is a low cost mask, and gives you low cost performance. Use it as a backup at best.
Conclusion: Step up and buy a better mask, with a thermal lens. This product gets a 6/10 because it is cheap and protects your face, but a thermal mask is so much superior, that 6/10 is almost over-rating it.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bigdaddyfrank Friday, November 28th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT X-Fire
Marker Setup: 98 Custom, 14" Boomstick Barrel
Strengths: --Comfortable fit on your head
--Very inexpensive
--Durable
Weaknesses: --Fogs
--May be too short for some players
--Foam around nose is uncomfortable
Review: This is the first mask I ever used, and I find it to be very comfortable. I also liked how short it was, so looking back over my shoulder, or side to side wasn't a problem like it was with the X-Fire.

Although the mask being short worked for me, some might find it leaves your neck open too much. If your worried about it, a neck protector will help. Also the lense that comes with it fogs pretty easy, but that can be fixed with a thermal lense. The foam above and around the nose was uncomfortable, but I just ripped it up a bit and it was fine. After about 3 years the mask finally got a crack in it, but for 20 bucks at Wal-Mart, I'm not complaining.
Conclusion: Overall this mask was very good to me and I was even considering buying another. After a thermal lense, this mask definatly performs better then what you may expect looking at its cheap price tag.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media