paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / JT Alpha 2000 Mask / JT Alpha 2000 Mask / JT Alpha 2000 Mask

JT Alpha 2000 Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount JT

Buy JT Alpha 2000 Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


JT Alpha 2000 Mask
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 266
Average Rating: 7.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Entry level mask with visor (NOTE: JT has made it so this mask is only available at Wal*Mart)
Product Availability 
The JT Alpha 2000 Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Halo_Exel Monday, August 11th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Just about every mask you can think of. except for rare ones that are hard to find
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 custom, 14 wishper' , dubble trig, phyco drop, richet 2k. and other stuff. dont have time to mentopn. ( littel detials)
Strengths: Durable( can take a large beating.) realitivly easier to breath through
Weaknesses: Foam gets soaked, can fog like H*** . but for the cost whated you expect?
Review: Alright i am not gonna lie. this mask isint the greatest. but for the newbie thsi is a great buy. i knoow tunry players who use this mask for many reasons( but they have done changes on them. thermanl lenses and tinted.) just watch out for fogging. i used one for like 2 years and counting! the foam isint the best . but there are no rubber parts. ( i see this as an advantage.getting shot in soft rubber can hurt!)
Conclusion: For $20-30 you should definatly buy this mask. greatr for a back up. this is not an invison or a raven but it gets the job done well for the price! pick one up!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, January 15th, 2001
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: This mask is very cheap (about 20 bucks or so. Pretty good range of vision. Looks cool with visor.
Weaknesses: It fogs up a little when you are curled up when somebody with an angel decides to write his name on your cover. This can be corrected by buying a better lense, or rubbing toothpaste of the lense the night before--that worked great for me. It is a little hard to clean when there is paint in the venalation holes, but that is a very minor problem.
Conclusion: The vision is pretty good. It fogs up a little but that can be corrected easily. The padding on the mask feels kinda rough on your skin at first, but after you beak it in it does just fine. For the price, it is great, but I would go ahead and get a mask with double thermal lenses for a little more money. I would reccommend this mask for a beginner.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

clown_13_2001 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
-JT full headshield
Marker Setup: -Spyder Victor II
-12" Red Custom Products One Piece Barrel .689
-Red/Black 12 Volt Revolution X-board
-20 oz. Pure Energy co2
Strengths: -cheap
-nice look
-nice ventilation
Weaknesses: -padding isn't that great
-not flexible
-hard to adjust
-gets fogged
Review: This was my very first mask. I got it from my friend. The only place I have found it is at wal-mart for 18 bucks though. It looks pretty cool since it has all the curves on it. There are a lot of holes, so ventilation is really nice. It isn't too comfortable though. The padding is kind of rough, the mask is hard to adjust, and is kind of big, so it is a big target. It also isn't flexible, so there won't be too many bounces off of it. And the main problem with this mask is the FOG. After about 6 o'clock, the mask is just like coming out after a rain shower, you can't see a thing. This has forced me to buy a new mask.
Conclusion: Buy it if you are just starting, or if you don't have too much money, or both.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 26th, 2004 at 6:33 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JaremyRykker Wednesday, June 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Same Mask with Thermal Lense
Marker Setup: Tippmann Model 98 Custom
GTA Vertical Adapter (for sale)
Expansion Chamber (for sale)
20 oz CO2
9 oz CO2
Strengths: Cheap-$20ish
Easily Found-Walmart
Weaknesses: Fogs Easily
Single Lense-Can be fixed
Review: Honestly, I don't really care if I get nailed in the head, provided its not in my face, so neck, top of head, or back of head protection were not my concerns. A hood or hat will easily cover those areas, as well as a cloth tied around the neck if you're really that concerned. This mask is relatively cheap, and I picked one up at Walmart for $20. As such, it is also easily found (noting that Walmarts are everywhere). However, as it is a single lense design, it tends to fog very easily, and I have played several games with very poor vision even though I had applied anti-fog. The spray-on anti-fog is useful, but the mask will still fog with it. I recently found a blue-cream-barsoapish sort of anti-fog, and it seems to have improved my visibility, although it still fogs.

When not fogged up, this mask works very well, but it just fogs up way to much. (Note that it has poor ventilation near the nose which makes it worse).

------------------------------------------------------------
-----------------------------------------------------------
And an update on July 27th|
_____________________|

After I stepped on my damn mask and cracked the lense I went to my local proshop and went lens-hunting. Picked up a thermal lense for another $25 that made this a $40 mask now. Not really worth it, as I could have picked up a mask with a better view radius for $40, and I will probably upgrade in about a year to a JT Proteus 2 Chameleon, but it isn't bad. The Thermal Lense really helps with the fogging, and I can play these summer games no problem without even bothering to use anti-fog. It really is convenient. As such, I have upped my rating of the product to a 5 (average). It is an average thermal mask, but it isn't a bad one. For something to get a 7 from me, it has to be exceptional. For it to get a 9, it has to be top of its class. A 10 must be revolutionary.

The thermal lense though is a huge help. It really is worthwhile, and your eyes will adore you for purchasing it. I can now expect to go through games with no fog, and even go into rainy, cold games and expect very little fogging, although the product is not perfect and like any other thermal mask cannot be expected to not fog ever.
Conclusion: As a mask, this is average. However, it is recommended as an entry-level mask, and honestly in the $20 dollar price range, it is as good as any of the others. If you are intending to buy a mask however and play paintball more than once, pick up a thermal mask. Those will be much more effective although they will cost twice as much.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 22nd, 2004 at 4:40 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bombadee Tuesday, December 28th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
proflexes------better looks, better comfort,
proshield------ same as above but with better ears
basic spectra----better modular design, otherwise same
rental mask------- worse, no matter what it is
flex7---------------- better in every way. personally don't like
nvader------------- bit better, very similar.
Marker Setup: etek 2 48/3000,torque,
trilly competition select fire

proflex with proshield ears
Strengths: Cheap
Works
Good build quality
Keeps ya safe
Weaknesses: Uncomfortable
Somewhat ugly
Hard foam
Feels cheap
Review: This mask will do it's job, it will save your eyesight and protect your face from paintballs at 300fps. Nothing more, nothing less. The mask doesn't fog, it fits any size head, stops paintball. Being very similar to the spectras, parts are everywhere and the parts/lens quality is good. The mask isn't comfortable, being built with durability and functionality in mind. My field rents these out, these are made for fields, the foam is hard and uncomfortable but will last forever, the shell is great quality plastic and the lense is of great quality. This was my first mask, I've used it for two years, it's beat to hell but still works like new. JT may make terrible guns, but their masks are still well made.

If you buy JT, you pay for durability and a proven design, not lightweight and sleek looking headgear. Kinda like tippmanns of masks.
Conclusion: Buy these if your only other option is a rental mask, they do their job well, don't expect anything more. I recommend skipping this and getting the proflex/proshield series.

Give it a 6.5, cause it works.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pyroboy08 Thursday, May 7th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT proflex 8
tippmann mask
Marker Setup: speedball:
spyder pilot 09 w/ eye , VL eyeforce, 20oz CO2, JT alpha camo , camo 4+1 pack

woodsball:
tippmann alpha black tactical, 16'' rifled barrel with M4 R.I.S shroud, remote feed, 20oz CO2, cyclone feed, x7 hopper, fore grip w/ built in bi-pod, JT camo dual lens mask, camo 4+1 pack, underbrush 3D camo suit
Strengths: Thermal lens
Camouflage makes it hard to see
Somewhat comfortable
Safe
Durable
Weaknesses: Lens (see review)
Slightly large profile
Review: This is a decent mask that is relatively cheap and will serve you well. I have the camo version and I played in the woods with my friend shortly after buying it, and he said after the game that he only saw my gun whenever I was shooting. The mask is very durable, and safe. This mask is not perfect but it is a quality product. It never fogs up on me

The mask, however has some drawbacks. Despite being durable, it is basically a disposable mask, since the lens in nearly impossible to remove, and I cannot find any replacement lens for it on any website. It also does not vent air very well because when I breath a lot it becomes very hot inside the mask. One I begin sweating I must make the strap very tight or it will fall off. It also has a rather large profile but I have yet to find that as a problem.
Conclusion: This an good mask, and its cheap but once the lens scratches you cannot replace it. I will soon have to replace this mask, and I actually don't want to.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bbboy657 Thursday, April 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT radar
JT Nvader
rental mask

Marker Setup: 1. Tippmann Custom Pro with R/T, Viewloader eVLution 2, '16 CP barrel, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank

2. WGP prostock '04, eVLution 2, 48ci 3000psi pure energy tank.
Strengths: Cheap
Rubber
Decent vision
Weaknesses: Kind of bulky
Hard to put on w/ glasses
Fogs in prolonged games
Review: I bought these from wal-mart for like 19.00 dolars, so very cheap. I put thse on with my glasses, and it took it a bit of adjusting, but they went on comfortably. I later went to field, and thse worked great. in speedball, these didnt fog. But in the longer woodsball, these fogged a little, but i could still see pretty good.

Also during games, on occasion (like 1/5 of the time), the paintballs will just bounce off. So......................YAY! Anway, great buy although its only sold at walmart, but they are pretty easy to find
Conclusion: This is great for rec-ball, and woods. Maybe even some tournaments, but nothing major.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shezmula Thursday, March 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Vents
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom - 16" barrel Opsgear Barrel
M82A1 Mod Kit from Ops Gear

Strengths: Durable
Cheap
Easy to obtain (Wal-Mart)
Weaknesses: Ugly!
Malformed
It fogs up
Doesn't fit well to the face
Review: This mask works and its cheap, it fogs when I do hard running so thats really really annoying. I sweat more than most people though. Its durable but it doesnt fit well to the face making it hard to aim down the sight rail of my gun, my Empire Vents are great for being low pro but that would be an unfair comparison. The mask is also lob sided, I suppose because of the fact its cramed into a tiny package for Wal Mart.
Conclusion: If youre just getting into the game and arent sure whether you are going to put your heart into it, this is the mask for you. If you are getting serious about paintball, skip this mask.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballkid26 Thursday, July 26th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
V-Force Profilers. They fit me better. Tippmann Scotts. They are not as heavy.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS Blue-black fade, VL200 gravity hopper (soon to be a Revvy), 20 oz Co2 tank
Strengths: Good price
Weaknesses: Slips off during play, heavy, fogs up, bulges out from my face.
Review: When I used these goggles during play, they would start to slip. I would have to push them back up to avoid the falling off. They are very heavy, and i believe that is why they slip off my face. The price was very affordable, though (only $24 (ish) at my local Wally World)
Conclusion: Great for short periods of use. I would upgrade to something else when you get the money to do so.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann98paint Wednesday, July 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann mask
Marker Setup: I use a 14" Smart Parts Tear Drop on my Tippmann model 98. I just recently added a custom made drop forward.
Strengths: Strong
Weaknesses: Lense scratches easily
Review: I have used this for paintball mask ever since I started painball...I have also used my Tippmann mask that came with my Model 98. This mask is a good mask...light, hard...really the only weakness is the stock lense...I'm eventually going to get a replacement lense that's thermal. I use a JT Vortex II in this mask and it rarely fogs...usually only problems are rainy or humid days. Other than that no complaints on this mask...it's older but it works just like it should...it protects you. I recommend that you get a fan for any JT mask that is compatible it helps more than you realize.
Conclusion: Good mask...I'd get a newer JT but this one has lasted forever and I've used it since I started paintball.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (27):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media