paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster

Indian Creek Designs ProMaster Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs ProMaster

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs ProMaster
[ View Photos (107) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 200
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $390

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The PROMASTER� is a high quality marker specially designed to meet the needs of the professional style tournament player. The PROMASTER� is an electronic solenoid actuated computer controlled marker. The major components of the PROMASTER� are machined from solid, aircraft-grade aluminum, and then hard anodized. No castings are used in the construction of the PROMASTER� , thereby providing the end user with a high-quality, precision-engineered marker.

Paintball markers get a lot of abuse. Indian Creek Design, Inc., has designed the PROMASTER� with this in mind. All internal parts, wear and contact surfaces have been heat treated or hard anodized. The toughest and most resilient materials and components have been used in the design of this product.

The PROMASTER� uses a single standard 9-volt battery for operation. The circuitry is a microprocessor based digital controller.

The PROMASTER� operates on low-pressure. The main operating pressure is 250-300 PSI nominally adjusted to visually via the gauge on the primary (input) regulator. The secondary pressure is factory pre-set and regulated to 85-95 PSI. Gas usage is controlled through these 2 internal regulators. A unique feature of this marker is the regulator adjustment. This allows precise adjustment for the velocity control of the marker and for optimal gas efficiency.

The PROMASTER� comes with a removable barrel system. This feature allows the user to select a barrel that is most suitable for the playing conditions. All barrels are honed with straight tip porting and stock length is 12".


PROMASTER� Specifications:

* Low Pressure operation
* Threaded low-rise vertical feed tube
* Quick Pull pin for easy field-stripping
* On/Off Indicating LED
* Adjustable Balls Per Second
* 4-Way Adjustable Trigger
* Battery and board in grip for easy access
* Wrap-around Rubber grip panels
* Accepts standard 45 grip panels
* 12" ported barrel with Timmy threads
* Paintball Detection System
* Easy Cleaning ball detent
* Delrin Bolt
* Accepts standard duckbills and drop forwards
* Extremely low profile
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs ProMaster is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
drkhrs2 Monday, December 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmy's...all sorts of them. Shockers, Angels, CCM guns.
Marker Setup: 2005 Chipley Custom Machine J2 with E2, Dye Throttle Tanks, and Halo.
2005 Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 Pump
2006 Chipley Custom Machine Series 6 Pump
2004 ICD Promaster
Chipley Custom Machine barrel kit on all
Recommended
Upgrades:
Needs a good feedneck
Chipley/Stiffi Barrel
Strengths: Extremely fast and well built given its' cost.
Weaknesses: Feedneck, Regulator, Barrel
Review: I've been playing all kinds of paintball for a very long time. I've shot and owned most any kind of gun you could think of. This includes earlier ICD guns such as Pumas and Thundercats. For the past three years I've pretty much shooting CCM cockers but a friend of mine encouraged me to try a Timmy type open bolt gun. I did a little research and found the Promaster. This review comes from two years of shooting the Promaster. I hate when people review a product with about five minutes of playing with it.

The first thing that caught my eye was the pricetag. I bought mine from a dealer who I've been dealing with for years and walked away spending about $300 for the gun, brand new. I've been in paintball long enough to know that you get what you pay for. $300 isn't very much money in the grand scheme of things, but having dealt with ICD years ago when I first got into the sport, I had a pretty good idea that the gun would be worth every penny of $300. I opened the box and was fairly impressed with the visual aspects of the gun. It had some good lines on it and some okay CNC design. It's a grandstand gun (good from far, but far from good). If you're a finatic about the finish and machining of your cut and carved markers...this gun ain't for you (Please see Chipley Custom Machine), but keep in mind the price. I held the gun and was impressed with the weight. The Promaster is among the lightest guns I've ever owned. It's short length really keeps the weight down. Also, because of the length, the gun is great for the frontman shooting out of tight bunkers. I pulled the barrel out of the box, looked down the bore of it, and threw it in the garbage. ICD used to make one of the best stock barrels in the game, but this ain't one of them. Truth be told, unless you're shooting a Shocker, early Angel (old Jacko Infinity barrel), or CCM gun, you're stock barrel is craptacular. For comparison, this stock barrel was every bit as nice as the stock barrel on my Ripper 2.5 Timmy (also got thrown in the garbage).

I then assembled the gun. I didn't come with an ASA, but I don't necessarily find this to be a weakness. Almost every stock ASA or on/off Ive ever seen was as cool as that barrel I told you about. I kept this in mind and ordered some CCM parts when I ordered the gun to begin with, one of which was an on/off and reverse rail. I read the instructions, and gassed the gun up. No leaks at all which is always a good sign given the quality control in the sport of paintball. Even my $1600 Timmy leaked from the factory. I turned the gun on and the eyes off and let her rip. Impressive without paint, so I figured Id try it with paint. I went to stick my Halo in the feedneck and encountered my first big problem with the gunthe feedneck. I dont know what kind of loader the guys that designed the feedneck used, but it had a much smaller neck diameter than a Halo. Its not even a close fit. Ive never shot an egg, but I cant imagine it would fit in this feedneck either. Luckily, one of the parts I ordered prior to receiving the gun was also a CCM feedneck. This is where I ran into my second problem with the gun. The stock feedneck had so much Loctite on it that I had to use ViseGrips to remove it. Also, the threads for the feedneck are smaller than an Angel so you have to be careful not to strip them putting in or removing an aftermarket feedneck. Problem solved, lets shoot it. This is where the gun gets all its great reviews. I must say that it was very fast straight from the factory and had a great trigger. I didnt do anything to it. To this day I dont think Ive turned a screw on the trigger to adjust it. I cant say as that Ive played with the ramping or other modes as no field or tournament will let you shoot that way. Anybody with even a horrible trigger finger(s) will be able to rock this trigger. For speed and accuracy it runs with my Timmy NO PROBLEM. I have many friends that look at their Timmys and this Promaster and wonder what they spent all that extra money on.

I just mentioned accuracy so here it goes. All in all, this gun shoots a lot like a Timmy. Not a cocker by any means, but not bad. As I mentioned earlier, it needs a good barrel on it. The gun has cocker threads which I think is one of the best features on this gun. Any barrel worth three dollars can be found in any paintball shop across America in Autococker thread pitch. I did notice some first shot dropoff, but thats to be expected from most open bolt guns, especially when they shoot and recharge as fast as they do.

I shot the gun and played with it for several days without any issues. I shot all sorts of paint through it without any breaks. They eyes seem to work great although the wiring is pretty cheap. I thing they use like 40 gauge wire throughout the gun. One game while in the middle of a string of shots the gun began to leak somewhere in the rear. Ive learned that with some guns, its just easier to put them up, shoot your backup, and deal with the problems when you get home. This gun is no exception. When I first put the battery in I knew that this wasnt going to be a gun to work on at the field. The gun has lots of screws and parts to lose and its time consuming to take apart if you dont know what youre doing. I gassed the gun up with the grip shell off to try and diagnose the problem and couldnt really figure it out. This led to much more disassembly. I finally found the problem without too much headache. The hammer had come unscrewed from the piston shaft. This causes the timing to be out of adjustment and forces the air back out of the solenoid. The gun actually wasnt leaking at all, it was purging to protect the solenoid from overpressurizing. Needless to say I Loctited the hammer back in place and reassembled the gun. Problem solved. Every now and then, the gun will rattle the hammer loose again and Ill have to repeat the process. All in all, not too bad a problem I guess.

For the most part, this is a pretty great gun. It's a simple cost versus reward scenario. Runs with more expensive tourney guns for the most part at a fraction of the cost.
Conclusion: A great gun for the money. It has an entry level price, but requires some skill to work on. Not as user friendly as an Ion, but shoots everybit as well as most Timmy's and Angels.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Matt_Lind Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ions, DM4 other mid-highend guns
Marker Setup: Promaster
Ultralight
Qlock
Custom made trigger
Uni-mount
so much more
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better regulator
Strengths: Speed, Price, Reliability, Modes of fire
Weaknesses: Takes a fair amount of time to break reg in, and still isnt that great.
Review: Lets start with the good then head to the bad.

Good

Stock barrel- is flat out flawless for the price you are paying for this marker.
Stock Board- is amazing hella fast, tons of settings.
Body- very nice look to it.
Weight- Very light marker.
Efficiency- flat out great get a halo and about 9 pods on a 68/45 fill (approx 2-3 games)
Size- Very small marker.
Price- Cant beat the price, for just a bit more than an Ion you get so much more.

Bad

I've had my gun for a fair time now, the only problem i've had with it was cause by one thing, the regulator, i dont know if my reg is just a lemon, but all I know is that a reg is almost a Manditory upgrade for this gun.
Conclusion: Promaster is the best bang for your buck you can buy, bottom line, it may not be the best gun out on the market, but for the price you pay for this gun there is absolutly nothing wrong with it at all, so im giving this gun a perfect score.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

azndragon2222 Sunday, July 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Shocker '03 (tested)
Various blow-backs
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
Evil Driver
Vaporworks S-4 Bearing Trigger
CP Grip Regulator
Hybrid Lady Grips
CCM Heli-Clamp Feedneck
Shocktech On/Off Bottomline w/ Rail #2
Empire Reloader B w/ Speed Feed
ACI Bulldog III 68 ci/3000 psi w/ Dye Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
In order of importance:
1. On/Off ASA setup (i recommend the CP On/Off BL w/ rail)
2. Fast loader (15+ bps)
3. Clamping feedneck
4. Grips
5. Barrel or barrel kit
6. Regulator (not really needed, but a better reg would be nice)
Strengths: VERY fast
Bolt is field strippable
Fairly accurate
Comes with ramping, burst, and full auto
Weaknesses: Does not come with ASA setup
Stock barrel isnt very good
Slight kick
Review: I bought this gun to keep up with other players in tourneys (obviously a Piranha is gonna get me killed very easily). Ive done a lot of dry firing to make sure it works properly but i havent really shot paintballs with it until now. When i dry fired it, i was like....holy sh!t this thing is fast. if i had a faster loader, i could easily ramp to 35+ bps (mine is capped at 19 bps from the Eggy). Now that i got a chance to shoot paintballs with it, i wanted to see how accurate it was...thats when i ran into a little problem. after i chronoed...the bolt would be stuck forward into the chamber just enough (like about 1 mm or so...) to stop the paintballs from falling from the loader. at first i thought it was the eyes....but when i noticed that i had to pull back the bolt after every 2 shots, i knew something was wrong but i couldnt figure it out. i was hoping that it was just a break-in period or i did something wrong with some kind of adjustment....i sat out 2 games trying to fix the problem...i backed out the trigger thinking the adjustment screw is too far in and increased the pressure...but nothing worked. at break i messed around at the chrono station adjusting the reg and cleaning the chamber. eventually, it started to work!!! i think it had something to do with the reg...maybe it was set too high or whatever....but anyway, once i got this thing working, i couldnt be happier that i could now shoot streams of paint. this gun is fast...i mean FAST. with unlimited firing rate, this thing can reach insane rates of fire (as long as you have a fast loader like a Halo B or an Empire Reloader B2; unlimited ROF is limited to the speed of the loader but can be set to cap off at 15 bps). it also comes with ramping, 3-round burst, and full-auto modes. the eyes worked flawlessly, no chops whatsoever. after getting an ASA setup and a clamping feedneck, anyone is thinking of buying this thing might wanna get a new barrel or barrel kit because the stock barrel is crap. the balls didnt excatly fly straight as a high-end electropneumatic gun should. really, the only thing wrong with this gun is the questionable accuracy of the stock barrel, other than that, this gun is amazing.

Pros +:
-Speed: unlimited ROF makes this thing as fast as your hopper can feed it.
-Bolt: made of delrin plastic so that it self-lubricates; also is field strippable, making it very easy to clean the bolt and paintball chamber.
-Firing Modes: comes with semi-auto, ramping, 3-round burst, and full auto. fire modes can be set to cap off at 15 bps or unlimited bps. though taking the grip off to change modes can be a pain, it makes the gun totally tournament legal.
-Accuracy: this gun has some pretty good accuracy out of the box; my first time out using the Promaster i ripped off people heads (i think i had about 7 or 8 head shots that day)
PDS(Paintball Detection System/eyes): PDS worked flawlessly, no chops no problems. easy to clean and maintain.
Trigger: has 3 points of adjustment (even though it says 4) and is easy to walk.
Trigger Space: good amount of space to allow faster walking of the trigger
Construction: made of soild aluminum with no plastic parts making it very durable (but easily scratched). anodizing quality is also good.

Cons -:
ASA: a brand new Promaster out of the box does not come with a bottomline. getting a new bottomline (on/off particularly) WITH a rail will add an extra $30 to $50. plus a marcoline will run another $5 or $10.
Barrel: though the accuracy is ok, the main reason why the accuracy isnt "great" is probably from the barrel. shots tend to sway left and right and doesnt have a lot of range. a new barrel is a must have to bring this gun to its full potential. plus its not very quiet.
Kick: now i know this is an electropnuematic gun, but i thought that these types of guns have little to no kick. theres a noticeable kick from the first shot but after you start rippin' on it, you'll barely feel it.
"Break-in" Period: the regulator will need to be broken in before it actually starts to work properly. if it is not broken in, there wont be enough pressure to hold the bolt back resulting in no feeds. the bolt will nudge forward just enough to stop the balls from falling from the hopper. It took me about 2.5 to 3 bags of paint to break it in, unless you wanna take the time to break it in, you can go ahead and get a new reg (like a Custom Products Reg).
Grips: rubber grips are a bit bulky...a nice hybrid lady grip will do nicely =)
Stock Feedneck: get a clamping feedneck of somesort if you dont want to hassle taping the feed neck of the hopper to fit it.

::UPDATE:: 8/7/06
After my first tournament and have nearly the whole gun broken into, id figure i would update on how its performing. so far, its working like its supposed to. PDS are still working perfectly with not a single chop since i bought the gun. I still havent gotten an after-market barrel so the accuracy of my gun is still somewhat inaccurate. though our team lost 4 out of the 5 games we played (yeah, that means we only won one...=P we didnt even make it to the semi's), the gun can rip just like any other gun in the competition; which consisted of Egos, Shockers, and DMs. Of the 5 games we played, my Promaster managed to get me 2 kills. At this point, and new barrel is a must. But after over 7 cases of paint, its still running well with no signs of slowing down.

::UPDATE:: 11/6/06
After nearly 6 months of use and constantly lowering the operating pressure...the kick has just....disappeared!!! no more kick what so ever!!! my ProMaster is operating at around 200-220 psi on HPA!!! pretty suprising being that tank has an output of 800 psi. usually lower pressure tanks lower the operating pressure down to 200 and below, but after breaking it in for while, its almost like shooting a DM6....ok, maybe not a DM6....but its like shooting $1000 gun!
Conclusion: This is a good gun for the money. Most are selling for about $350...a good deal, even though it needs work. If it wasnt for that "break-in" period, id give the ProMaster a 10...but for now, i'll give it a 9. buy one if looking to go into Airball/Speedball/Hyperball or Tournament play.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 28th, 2006 at 3:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Permiwood Tuesday, August 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BKO, Lasoya Intimidator, Diablo Wrath, Ion, Proto Matrix
Marker Setup: Black Promaster, ccm no pro feedneck, System x 2 peice barrell, cp direct mount asa, hpa 68/3000, Halo B.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrell and feed neck
Strengths: As fast if not faster than, any other gun I have shot.
Weaknesses: the stock feed neck is not the greatest and no Asa I guess.
Review: This is simply one of the best out of the box markers I have ever shot I was a little skeptical when I heard people say it is a $400 timmy but I'm a believer this shoots just as good as the Lasoya Timmy I used to have, it has a veriety of firing modes that are easy to change, the stock barrell is decent, its better than some other stock barrells I've had though. It doesent come with a drop or asa but I would rather just put one on myself and half the price be a little lower than have to change it to something else. The stock reg is decent, I looked at getting an Ion before this but the Ion just didn't feel as solid and nice to me this feels nice and I like shooting it better then the Ion I tested, but I guess different strokes for different folks. I would give this a 9.5 out of 10 just because of the feedneck, I just think they could have put a clamping one but other than that is near perfection!!!
Conclusion: Buy this gun ASAP and beware of other people wanting to shoot it all the time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Bruce Cook Wednesday, December 21st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Wrath, Ion, B2k4
Marker Setup: Right now I use an Intimidator Alias w/frenzy 127.4 and reloader b w/b2 upgrade software.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit.
Strengths: Speed, accuract, air efficiency, light weight.
Weaknesses: The stock reg doesn't work well with hp tanks, stock barrel.
Review: The promaster is awsome, The rate of fire is incredible. I can shoot this on semi just as fast as my Alias. And the ROF on the unlimited ramping is unbelievable. I know what 20 a second sounds like,(I have a 2005 Intimidator Alias so I do know) and I think it shoots around 23 bps. That also depends on your settings like dwell, debounce and things like that. I am very impressed with it. I have put about 10 cases of paint through it and I have yet to break any paint. The board is also smart about over shooting the bolt and when the eyes are dirty, it will automatically only shoot 12bps at max. I have accidently fed broken paint into it, my hopper got shot and it broke a ball inside the hopper, not gun, and the gun suddenly shot slow. On semi I can shoot this up to 16 bps easy w/o the assistance of bounce. This is by far the best paintball with stock parts under $500. No other -$500 gun even comes close to the performance with out upgrading it. The Wrath with the t-board is the only other mid level marker that rivals the promaster.
Conclusion: If you want a speedball gun and don't want to spend lots of money on upgrades, the ProMaster is the best marker under $500 that exists.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 30th, 2007 at 10:44 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

etippmann98 Saturday, August 20th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
ion,e-blades,imps,e-bolted tippmann,Dragun T1,Karni.
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster, CP shorty reg,CCM mid-rise, unimount, Dye Ultralite, Halo B, PE 45/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
ASA, feedneck,barrel,FAST LOADER
Strengths: PRICE
Speed
Weight
accurate
Weaknesses: Gas Hog, Design Issue, no ASA
Review: Uhh.....where do I start. Well I bought an ion thinking it was the best gun in the universe(lol). I decided i needed something more reliable and faster around the same price range. Upon searching i found out about ICD's new B2k5(promaster). I did some research and found out this is what I was looking for. I ordered form Murder INC, came in a few days. Opened the box and litterally sharded myself. This gun is sooo hawtt. Put my CP reg and unimount on this baby with some paint and air and all I can say is WATCH OUT!
GEEZE OH MAN!! This thing RIPS. I am so happy with with my decision that I may even sell the ion and get another one!!! The only real drawbacks to this gun is that its very tedious when it comes to cleaning the ram. You have to almost take the whole gun apart to lube the stupid thing. Other than that there is no other drawback.
Conclusion: Please dont get this gun if you live in ohio. Its ILLEGAL.....j/k. I just want to be the only one in my state with one!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

paintball117 Friday, October 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lasoya Promaster, ion, spyder electra dx
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
red dot, 416 shroud, mp5 mag, m16 stock, response trigger, palmers barrel, apex, x-7 hopper, laser light, cylcone mods.

ICD Promaster with dye grips, Cp reg, drop forward, CCM feedneck, 62/3k tank, palmers barrel, and veiwloader hopper

Tiberius 8 and lapco barrel and apex

Lasoya promaster(same as promaster)

spyder electra dx palmers barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP reg! Feedneck, HPA, ASA. and whatever else is in my set-up
Palmers barrel is a must
Strengths: FAST
EYES
LIGHT
SMALL
LOOKS
ACCURATE
Eyes
Weaknesses: No asa.
Junky regulator.
No elbows for macro line.
Review: AMAZING GUN.
First off i give the stock barrel a 9/10. It is a 12" barrel which is perfect. It looks great. If you break paint it cleans out easy except for the venting but whatever. It is good for a stock barrel but there are way better barrels aka the palmers which i recomend.
Second the reg which gets a 7/10. It is only a stock reg but still i expect better. Its does the job but you get way more effeciency and performance from a cp reg.
Thrird the trigger. 10/10. I dont see why some people complain this is a great trigger i love it. It looks good, and is comfortable.
The asa. 0/10 as there is none. That was a big negative to this gun so make sure you buy one with two elbows. and get a drop forward.
Fourth the grip. 7.5/10. To be honest this is not that good off a grip because there is little grip. Go out and get dye sticky grips.
The FEEDNECK. 6/10. for me it was horrable as i use a veiwloader evo 2 and 3 hopper and they dont fit this one. get a trinity or ccm feedneck.
Bolt. 10/10. i love this bolt it is easy to take out, it is white so if by some means you break a ball you can see paint on the bolt no prob. but overall a great bolt. All the internals are good.
Eyes. 11/10. every gun should have eyes b/c you cant go wrong. lets all agree that we hat seeing paint shoot out of our barrels. nobody likes broken paintball so eyes are the way to go.
Some other points - cant change fire mode easy, bolt pin is so so. it is not that loader with a palmers barrel.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. I have a a-5 with all the upgrades and it is one of a kind as you can see from my marker set up but if i could use my a-5 or this gun i would use the promaster any day. It is fast, accurate, quite, small, light, looks great. Once you put on a new feedneck, reg, drop forward, and grips maybe a barrel this gun is amazing.
The eyes are sweet to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Royoka Wednesday, September 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Invert Mini (weight, sound, modes; they're all close to me)
Marker Setup: Black ICD ProMaster - CCM No-rise feedneck, Redz Pineapple Grenade ASA, macroline, 16" DYE Ultralite, Halo B (stock), Crossfire 68/4500 HP Air, older DYE Rhino Cover, everything else is stock

Tippmann 98 Custom (clamshell design) - Cyclone Feed (Vortex & Lightning Rod mods), X7 hopper, RT, CAR Stock, 16" DYE Ultralite, Monster Drop Rail ASA, Same air source as ProMaster

CORE PT Professional pistol - Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck - recommended for stability and accommodation for large-neck hoppers; the ProMaster is compatible with Ion-threaded feednecks.
Barrel - only if you're picky; the 12" stock barrel is okay, and the ProMaster uses Timmy/Autococker threads.
ASA - only because it doesn't come included.
Strengths: - Weight
- Feel
- Quiet
- Low Profile
- Air Efficient
- Decent Stock Barrel
- Adjustable trigger
Weaknesses: - Complicated Internals
- ASA not included
- Grip Battery Installation (could be my own negligence)
Review: When I first got my ProMaster in the mail (since ICD got out of making markers and the price imploded), I was quite impressed at just the packaging it came in. It came packed neatly in two pads of foam (one with cutouts for the marker body and barrel as well as spare parts), so it arrived in perfect condition. Since my Redz ASA came in the mail sooner I wasted no time installing everything. Once it was all together, it looked better than the picture on the box.

There was one point where I had to fight with one of the regulator set screws (one where you can put a gauge across from the hose fitting, but since I don't have a spare, no big deal) to get it to come loose so I could fix the miniature air leaks with some teftlon tape, but it was nothing a little WD-40 wouldn't fix. Another problem I had was installing the battery in the grip frame since there's a very little space for it, but I wasn't going to loosen the screws of the clamshell frame as the instructions say for installing the battery; I wanted to stay as it was, so that was my fault.

Since my Halo B wouldn't even fit in the stock feedneck, I had to replace it with a better one. Once that was fixed, I felt it was ready for some field tests.

When I went to test my new ProMaster at my local field, I was nothing short of impressed. Every time I shot cheap white box paint through the marker using the stock barrel, it averaged a chronograph speed of 275 fps on its first run, just perfect for me. Then I went for the accuracy test and shot some of my cheap paint at a traffic-deterring orange plastic post about 6" wide. After 80 shots (because I only had one pod of paint at the time), the majority of them broke dead on the target while the stray balls splattered on nearby barriers. I haven't tested the full air efficiency of my ProMaster yet, but I can tell that it definitely doesn't use as much compressed air as the blowbacks I've tested; I think this is because of the strange internal design ICD uses plus the two regulators it comes equipped with. What air it does use is exhausted in a very quiet manner, thus it is great for keeping a low profile if you play woodsball. I repeated this test when I installed my 16" Ultralite, but I'll save that for another review.

I still have to run some more tests on it (more paint, some games, etc), then I'll be able to put more into my review.
Conclusion: For the price, performance, and possibly just the look and feel, it's definitely a good deal if you're trying to get a medium-end electro gun while watching your wallet. It's a great all around gun for beginners, intermediates, and even some pros. It also has room for improvement if you're into modification; it's all for the better.

If you can find one, I would definitely recommend getting it. I will not sell this marker for a long time unless an opportunity presents itself as too good to pass up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matt005 Thursday, July 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Automags (Spydermag, Emag)
Ego, SP Nerve
98 pro
Spyder ESP. on & on
Marker Setup: Flatline asa reg- I have pepperstix, like stock barrel!! (stock board very solid) sold (Chaos board computer linkable) I'm using a Scenaroi Dreams UTB right now. Laser BB pds, "FMD" palmer Rock Regulator Vaporworks tuning, Ebay bolt, Vapor Trigger magnet mod, Vapor No Rise feed twist neck. vapor bolt

Recommended
Upgrades:
Feedneck, asa ofcorse, get a "FMD" palmer Rock Regulator, reduces air usage and lessens the minor kick to nothing with Vapor bolt. the gun is supreme stock, "you know you have a good marker when the stock barrel is great" This one is
Strengths: Stock, it shoots like an ego. STOCK
Weaknesses: No ASA, Feed neck slips, THAT'S IT
Review: With my setup It shoots better than Ego's Angels Timmy's Dm8 you get the picture.
Mine doesnt kick at all. I use 14" pepper stix because they have long range accuracy, the stock barrel is amazing for the $, I had Chaos board, I put a UTB (universal T-Board)
This thing shoots around 35+ bps if I want to waste paint. I like to aim usualy so I cap at 15bps. zero kick with the all vapor internals and a "FMD" palmer Rock Regulator (front)
zero shootdown ever and very consistant. All together I put $350 into this gun I consider that alot for this gun, stock it shoots ropes, I'm just an electrical engineer so I always tinker everything.. (I use this over my Hypermag w/ eyes) thats an $800 gun, It's my backup! My murda black promaster is my primary, (I sanded the anno slightly to gt flat black. I use a Pulse loader. I cant stress enough,
This gun goes for less than $200 It shoots like a $600 gun, and they still make upps and parts if needed. Get a promaster, New or experienced player, This gun is made like a tournament players upgraded gun (stock)! I'm in luv with my promaster. Dont bother with the lasoya, waste of $50, You will need that money for a faster hopper seriously.
Conclusion: There is no better gun under $800 If you get the proper upps, costing you total "with original purchace" $300 and thats high. Get a Chaos board, it links to your computer for god's sake! Vaporworks internals, people with egos will hate you, say they have better guns, As an engineer and previous EGO owner, They are very wrong promasters can be made to be THE BEST, done right! $300 thats all you need (and a 35+bps hopper)
you can eampty your Force feed in 4 seconds AT MOST with mine. I had to cap mine, get VAPORWORKS UPPS AND CHAOS BOARD W/ VLINK 2 computer to adjust it from ur laptop
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Codename067 Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None. First High-End Marker.
Marker Setup: Promaster
Egg2
PMI 45/45
NDZ ASA
Rest Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just the Barrel

Strengths: Read Review
Weaknesses: Read Review
Review: [ + ] [ STRENGTHS ] [ + ]
Light
Accurate [right out of the box]
Fast
Cheap
Quite
Looks Good
Consistent: I am now getting +/- 5! [You gotta lube and assemble you reg correctly and Break it in]
I get about 550-600 shots from a 45/45. Full Fill ofcourse.

[ - ] [ WEAKNESSES ] [ - ]
A Better barrel will be a nice touch.
No Macrolines/ASA [at least $50+ worth of money]
Breaking In HPR Takes a little while [3-4 cases]

[[[ REVIEW ]]]
You really cant go wrong with the Promaster. At its price, its really one of the best markers out there..its super fast and super light, which is a HUGE + for me. It is indeed accurate but you will increase your accuracy with a new Barrel and perhaps a newer HPR. Very easy to strip, wont even take 2 mins. Looks very sexy, and out-preforms a lot of other high-end markers.

Worth every penny
Conclusion: This gun is SUPERB overall. You really cant go wrong with it.

DO NOT JUDGE THE GUN UNLESS YOU HAVE BROKEN INTO THE REG

This is a Must Have.

It cost me only $330. So go get one. [look in the right places and you will find itthis cheap]


Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 3rd, 2006 at 2:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media