paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster / Indian Creek Designs ProMaster

Indian Creek Designs ProMaster Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Indian Creek Designs

Buy Indian Creek Designs ProMaster

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Indian Creek Designs ProMaster
[ View Photos (107) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 200
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $390

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The PROMASTER� is a high quality marker specially designed to meet the needs of the professional style tournament player. The PROMASTER� is an electronic solenoid actuated computer controlled marker. The major components of the PROMASTER� are machined from solid, aircraft-grade aluminum, and then hard anodized. No castings are used in the construction of the PROMASTER� , thereby providing the end user with a high-quality, precision-engineered marker.

Paintball markers get a lot of abuse. Indian Creek Design, Inc., has designed the PROMASTER� with this in mind. All internal parts, wear and contact surfaces have been heat treated or hard anodized. The toughest and most resilient materials and components have been used in the design of this product.

The PROMASTER� uses a single standard 9-volt battery for operation. The circuitry is a microprocessor based digital controller.

The PROMASTER� operates on low-pressure. The main operating pressure is 250-300 PSI nominally adjusted to visually via the gauge on the primary (input) regulator. The secondary pressure is factory pre-set and regulated to 85-95 PSI. Gas usage is controlled through these 2 internal regulators. A unique feature of this marker is the regulator adjustment. This allows precise adjustment for the velocity control of the marker and for optimal gas efficiency.

The PROMASTER� comes with a removable barrel system. This feature allows the user to select a barrel that is most suitable for the playing conditions. All barrels are honed with straight tip porting and stock length is 12".


PROMASTER� Specifications:

* Low Pressure operation
* Threaded low-rise vertical feed tube
* Quick Pull pin for easy field-stripping
* On/Off Indicating LED
* Adjustable Balls Per Second
* 4-Way Adjustable Trigger
* Battery and board in grip for easy access
* Wrap-around Rubber grip panels
* Accepts standard 45 grip panels
* 12" ported barrel with Timmy threads
* Paintball Detection System
* Easy Cleaning ball detent
* Delrin Bolt
* Accepts standard duckbills and drop forwards
* Extremely low profile
Product Availability 
The Indian Creek Designs ProMaster is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
WildWayz Sunday, October 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel A4, E-Blade, Impulse
Marker Setup: Promaster 05 (black)
CP Long Reg
Q-Lock Clamping Neck
New style Max Flow with a 1.1ltr 4500 bottle
Full Freak kit with stainless steal inserts and AA front.
Dye Sticky Grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
CP Long Reg
Q-Lock Clamping Neck
Full Freak kit with stainless steal inserts and AA front.
Dye Sticky Grips
Strengths: Fast, light and very very sexy :)
Weaknesses: Stock feedneck needs replacing.
Review: This marker is only 1 of 4 currently in the UK (2 have been sent to magazines for reviewing, 1 is with National Paintball as a demo... and this one).

My budget was limited, so at this moment I have an Empire Reloader II on the Promaster - I can't fire more than 15bps anyway :)

First up, the negative. I feel like I want to get this out of the way so that the end of the review you are left with more of a positive feel for this marker, as it really is a great bit of kit.

Anway - I took the marker to YPC's walk on day and went to chrono it up. 200fps. Managed to get it to 250fps but that was the max. It also was firing inconsistantly too - with a +/-20fps. I went on to play the game with it under firing.

Afterwards I tried adjusting everything - the Max-Flo (set it to 800psi), the CP Reg (set it all the way up to 400psi!) and still it wasnt shooting above 250fps.

I then left it until I got home, and spoke to some people on PBNation who advised me that I am a plonker and was adjusting the HP and not using the larger grub screw to beef up the velocity. On my old Angel, it only had one "fine tuner" for adjusting the velocity, but this marker has TWO.
I am going to re-chrono it when I am next at the site (and once I get a key to turn that grub as none of mine fit it!).

Now, back onto the good things:

This marker comes with several modes of fire; Semi-Auto, limit 15bps, unlimited bps, ramping (15, unlimited, burst, and auto).
I set it to a limit of 15bps as my hopper isnt exactly the fastest out there (heck, I had to re-buy all my stuff and just spent a shedload on this) and not a single problem. No ball breaks, eyes were working as they should and it was extremely light and low profile! The trigger is flat and kinda reminds me of a Slayer trigger. No "wiggle" and it is made of metal. The bolt is made of Delrin, so no lubing needed. It is easy to clean the bolt/breach - basically pull the bolt pin, slide out the bolt and clean it down - simple!
The marker runs off of 1 9v battery which is located in the grip.

After a few games (and hearing the almight EGO machine-gunning people down) I decided to put it on 15bps Ramp-Auto (which is basically, I have to hit a certain bps before it kicks in).
Again, the hopper kept up with it and the only ball breakages were at the end of the barrel (I was using Blaze paint - cheapo!). No paint in the breach so all was fine.

It appears to be pretty efficient too. From a 4000 fill, I was getting about 8 x 140 pots plus 2 x 220 hopper and still had about 1,500psi left.
Conclusion: All in all, I can highly recommend this marker (and once I sort out the fps issue, I then cannot see a fault in it!) - it's sexy, it's fast and for 250 new, it's a bargain!

I would love to try a Reloader B on this baby and unlock Unlimited Ramping, just to see how it shines - maybe next time ;)

I'd give it 10/10 (the fps issue isnt the markers fault, it is mine)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 2nd, 2005 at 3:05 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

mgsk8er89 Thursday, August 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Ion
Smart Parts Maxflo vision Imppy
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster, Bad Habits Unimount, Eggy, Crossfire 47/3000, and Smart Parts Q-Lock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed Neck
ASA
FAST HOPPER
Maybe barrel but stock will do
Strengths: FAST
Light
Small
accurate
trigger!!!
Weaknesses: Feed neck
No ASA
Review: I picked this HAWT GAT up a few days a go and i liked the way it came, exactly like the ion in a briefcase looking thing. I aired it up and there was a leack but easy fix wit the adjutment of the lpr. Then i shot this sweet gun and it was so fast. It came in with ramping uncapped and maxed out the eggy. This thing can max out a halo so easily. The only thing i h8ed was having to take off the clamshell to put the battery in but the trigger is such a great one for stock. Another plus is the trigger doesnt have a magnit like the ion so no sticking and is sooooo easy to walk. The feed neck is gigantic i must say cuz the eggy was turning around so my friend had to hold it but thats y they invented clamping feed necks. This is an all around great gun that lowered jaws and convinced two friends to sell their guns (ions) to get this baby
Conclusion: This is a hands down 10. I wish there was a 13 choice but no. Well worth the money ++++++
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, August 26th, 2005 at 9:04 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mobius Monday, October 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP Ion
Marker Setup: ICD Desert Fox w/SP All American
Custom Cocker
ICD Promaster, AKA 2-liter, Powerlyte Scepter kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator
Barrel Kit
Strengths: Size
Trigger
Ease of Maintenance
Price

Weaknesses: The stock regulator is below average
Doesn't come with an ASA
Poor stock feeneck
Review: I purchased this marker November 2004 after doing some online comparisons between the Promaster, Ion and Wrath. I eventually chose the Promaster after reading those reviews and I'm very happy with my choice.
The Promaster feels sturdy without being heavy. In fact, it felt very light to me after lugging around my ICD Desert Fox for several years. I fitted it with a unimount to keep the weight down and the profile low. I had to fit it with something because an ASA is not provided by the factory. Anyhow, the marker's small size made for a comfortable, tight shooting position. Good marks in this area... The feeneck, however, needs to be replaced. Adding this subpar feedneck was obviously a way to keep costs down. This was the first thing I replaced.
Because this was my first electronic marker, I was amazed at how light the trigger pull was, but after testing out a friend's Timmy, I realized the trigger is very good, but not great. After some adjustment, the trigger pull was nice and short, but there was still a tiny bit of play there. Note that this doen't cost $1000 though, and on the field, I was able to keep up with people shooting those premium markers. Overall, I was very pleased.
After playing all day, the last thing you feel like doing is maintenance. Luckily very little is required in the care for this marker. Cleaning and lubing takes just a few minutes and you are ready for your next outing.
The regulator was the next problem I encountered with this marker. When I first purchased the marker, it was quite an air hog and my FPS varied by about +/- 10 FPS even after shooting through 2 cases of paint. I upgraded the regulator to an AKA 2-Liter and that fixed the problem of shot consistancy and also gave me a few more shots from my tank. I haven't upgraded anything else involved with the operation of the marker and it has worked flawlessly for over one year. With the excellent build quality and no exposed hoses or plastics, this marker is definitely worth the money.
Conclusion: The poor stock regulator and feedneck and lack of an ASA bring the rating down a little, but ease of maintenance and excellent performance still allow me to highly recommend this marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 30th, 2006 at 7:17 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

egaleye2 Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested an ion, and the b2k... moded b2k, and the promaster comes out on top, even with the ion's black heard board installed
Marker Setup: promaster, checkit on-off, 68cu300psi low pressure tank, redz slip cover, redz clamping feed neck, halo b(you'll want a fast hopper with this gun...) j&j edge ceramic berral kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
the stock feed neck sucks, but i have a halo b, which have fat necks, so a clamping neck would be nice, berral kits are nice, but if your short on money the stock berral is fine.
Strengths: Fast, LightIion weight)ddoesnt need mods to make it a good gun
Weaknesses: Not manny mods out, Feed neck has red lock tite on changing battery, (6 secrews)
Review: This is the best gun you can get for your money, you dont need to upgrade it, I read the other reviews, and some have needed to put their own on/offs on and get macroline, I guess Iwas lucky the placeIi got mine put those on beforI Isaw it in his shop, I currently play in a tournament around my area called the I29 series,(dont worry, my team is a rookie team and have no sponsers... this review is legal) I play back man, and this gun has saved me on more than one occasion... being a back player you are genneraly the last person in the game, and people like to do run throughs on you... I have layed strings with this gun that have helped me survive a one v 5 scinario, ending in our team tieing the other team (one person was found with an obvious hit at the end of the game, 2 for one with two people left, they got the pull, we got the hang) this gun can hold its own, another thing to mention is that iIcan get 5 dye locklids + a hopper full of paint before running out of air-- your results may varry depending on what kind of tank you have...
Conclusion: Grea great gun that could be used by a person who knows little about the sport of paint ball, (my neighbor shot it) tho i wouldnt recomend it (shot another neighbors mail box on accidednt)-great gun, and you dont need to spend alot of money on it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tacoeatingmonky Thursday, April 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not very similar, but a Spyder clone.
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
Black drop forward with on/off ASA
Pure Energy 48/3000 Nitro
Dye barrel condom

Gameface Vexor Eye(Spyder Clone)
***Recocks at 160psi***
50g short-throw microswitch
32Degrees spring kit
14" J&J Ceramic
Custom shortened and polished stock bolt
Custom ported valve
Custom ported Veticle Adapter
Custom bored LPC
Dye barrel condom
Pure Energy 20oz Co2
Pure Energy 48/3000 Nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
HALO B WITH VICTORY BOARD!!!
A clamping feedneck
A new barrel might be nice.
Strengths: Pinpoint accuracy
Decent on air
***FAST***
Pretty quiet
Good board settings
Weaknesses: Ummmmm.....let me think.........
Review: I just got this marker about a month ago. I took it out to my local field, got it chronoed in about 10 seconds, and started to rip. WOW!!! This thing is amazingly fast! It's so easy to keep it going. I'm a ref at my local field, so I didn't get to play any that day, but when I finally did get a chance, we did a 3-on-3, and I took out all three of their players.

I was amazed at the accuracy of this marker. I took some shots at a 1" pole from about 15' away, and I counted no less than 12 consecutive hits, with field paint.

It's pretty good in the effeciency category, too. I got no less than 600 shots off of my 48cu. inch tank at 2500psi.

It's pretty light, and it's incredibly small.

The board settings are very easy to adjust: Just flip 4 switches in different combinations.

Conclusion: One thing I vould've liked to see come with this marker is a clamping feedneck. Besides that, this marker is great right out of the box, no ups needed.
If you're in the market for a new marker but don't want to sell your firstborn to do it, this is a great buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

thEARy Monday, September 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
bko, b2k4 w/PDS, evil pimp, impulse nasty 3.5,angel 05speed
Marker Setup: ICD Promaster
Halo B W/Rip
empire 7 piece
CrossFire 92/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel(stock one is absolutely horrible)
maybe reg(but only shot about 2000 rounds though it)
Maybe new wiring harness
Strengths: Light
Compact
Comfortable
FAST
Trigger
Stock Delrin bolt
Easy adjustable LPR
Weaknesses: Barrel
Clamshell grip(i personally hate them)
Wiring Harness(cheap wires)
Review: Great gun/marker for ICD, at 389.00 bucks. I also own a ANGEL 05 SPEED, and in all honesty. The promaster on true semi....is faster than the speed on true semi(NO RAMPING JUST TRUE SEMI) no lie!!!!!!

ICD stepped it up on this one. Taking a good design in the b2k4 and adding some great features from the freestyle.

examples:No tray,very compact,lighter,trigger,adjustable bps, and dwell.

I know that ICD isnt very advertised and not alot of people believe in the products they produce....but give it time...after the first few tournys that these show up at...you`ll hear that buzz, cuz im telling ya this is hands down the BEST GUN in the price range.

the promaster OWNS the ion...in speed. my friends couldn`t even keep up.no chance

over the chrono out the box fro FPS were-282,288,292,281,295.
Reg might need some break in time, and time will only tell.

over the chrono for BPS out the box with NO TRIGGER adjustment, i was hitting 18. after about a 15 min adjustment...WOW........23, and one time at 25....extremely fast!!!!
ive never seen ropes like that b4 ever.
Conclusion: So in conclusion....the best gun in the price range, the best 389.00 Ive ever spent.
hands done best gun for price-performance-features.

9-10 nothing is perfect
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 12th, 2005 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

lms paintballer Saturday, December 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
piranha evo(no comparison)
tippmann98(no comparison)
E1 orracle(like promaster better)
Marker Setup: stock red promaster
halo
stock piranha drop(temperary since didnt come with one)
68/45000
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit but stock barrel is good
Strengths: Very good fell
Fast!!!!
Light
Consistancy
Accuracy
Stock board
Weaknesses: Some drop of i think i need to break in the reg.
Review: this is my first highend marker and i am very satisfied with it IMO i think that its the best bang for the buck the only thing i dont like is that when i tried putting in the battery there where wires every where and i was afraid i was going to break them but after just gently playing with it i got the battery in, and i also dont like how the colors are just all solid one color but other than that i think theres nothing wrong about this gun my brother wants to sell his orracle and get one of these he sais auto cockers are to muck matinence for him.
Conclusion: so all in all i think the promaster is the best bang for the buck out there and if your in a pickle for disiding wich gun to get either this gun o another gun(ION) in the price range get this gun its worth every penny every nickle every dime every dollar every frekin dollar bill that u spend. i give this gun a 10 out of 10.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Money Lover Sunday, May 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder sonix (doesnt realy count)
Marker Setup: halo b
all american barrel
nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
good hopper
Strengths: fast
light
sweet looks
fast
inexpensive
quiet
smooth
A BEAST
Weaknesses: needs an ASA
Review: I have played about 20 games with it over a period of 2 weeks and it is a beast! First week i was out on the bush field throwing darts. Then speed ball the next week. it is versitile, fast, light and quiet

NO COMPLAINTS

BUY IT!!!!!! Totaly worth it
Conclusion: BUY IT it looks sweet. shoots like a dream and is a beast in the bush

BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

bmxking Tuesday, November 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 intimidator
dm5
angel speed
Marker Setup: 2k2 Intimidator
Ultralite 16 inch barrel
Empire Reloader B
Redz camlock
check it unimount
check it adjustable ram cap
cp volumizer
cp snatch grip
W.A.S. board version 2.9
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Regulator
New Barrel
Strengths: Extremely Fast
Light
Small
Nice milling
Many modes of fire with stock board!
Price!
Weaknesses: Very Picky about when it wants to work and when it wants to leak.
Review: My friend and his cousin both bought the new promaster. When I first saw them I was very impressed by the size and the weight. I put on their asa's and then removed the grip panel to try to put in the battery. It would not go in the slot provided. It turned out that in order to put in your battery you have to remove 8 screws and loosen 1 with 3 different size allen wrenches. Not that big of a deal in less you are in a hurry to get your battery in. Both promasters I shot had CP regs and barrels on them before they were even fired, so I really cant tell you how the stock regs and barrels shot. The first time we aired them up one of them leaked, and the other shot amazing. I was very impressed with its speed. I could out shoot my ricochet Apache in semi auto. I fired the marker that leaked a couple of times and it quit leaking. Then when I shot it , it was equally fast with no problems. It has been three weeks now and the promaster that had no leaks out of the box has continued to shoot awesome with no problems what so ever! The one that leaked out of the box had had problems ever since. Some times it leaks and sometimes it does not. It will probably have to be sent back to ICD for some tuning.
Conclusion: If you are in the market for a fast cheap electro and are mechanically good with markers, this is the marker for you. They are extremely fast and alot of fun! I am giving it a 7 because of the problems we had with the one.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

guncleaninnfool Saturday, December 31st, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 29 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
cocker
Marker Setup: Current tourny gun is a vert cocker, AIM body, WGP tickler lpr, ergo reg, ANS quickfire bolt, an assortment of air bottles, WGP flame drop with on/off asa, and a wide range of barrells depending on the paint de jour.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
asa
feedneck
Strengths: -It is fast
-It is light
-It is small
Weaknesses: -The gun leaked
-Hard to get parts for
-The gun kicks..
-Stock feedneck
Review: Well I bought a promaster trusting the people saying its a good gun. So I get home with the promaster, open the box and picked up the gun. I noticed that it was tiny (maybe a little too small) and light. I threw in a battery and started clicking the noid and I noticed that the gun was also fast. So I aired it up and I almost had a heart attack. The gun was leaking like crazy from the bolt area I opened it up because I didn't know what the heck was wrong with it and I couldn't find anything. So I brought it to the local shot and they did not have any icd parts and that I should send it to icd. When I sent it to icd it took forever to get back. Then I was finnaly able to shoot it. I aired it up and droped a ball in. The gun had a little more kick then what I would like...
Conclusion: I didn't really like the promaster because it leaked when it came. I don't like it when things leak. Also ICD is a small company so I found it very hard to get parts for and many local shops wont carry parts for them.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
19 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (20):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media