paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System

Tippmann Cyclone Feed System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Cyclone Feed System

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Cyclone Feed System
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 96
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Now you can give your 98 or 98 Custom marker the same advantages as the A-5!

Features:

* Links the feeder sprocket to the air system
* Synchronized ball feed for reduced breakage and jamming
* The faster you shoot, the faster you feed!
* Feeds up to 15 balls per second
* Includes wide mouthed 200 round hopper
* Attaches via quick release elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Cyclone Feed System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
TheMedievalMan Tuesday, August 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month72 of 88 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochete Apache electronic hopper. Just as good as the Cyclone, the only draw back is that it uses battery. But it feeds reliably like the Cyclone, and is tough like one too.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom with J&J Ceramic Barrel, response trigger, Richochet Apache (the updated 2005 model), double trigger, Clear Dye Sticky Grips, Rocket Cock II, Dead On Rear Velocity Adjuster, Skull drop forward and Dead on X-core expansion chamber.
Strengths: Mechanical, feeds exactly what your gun needs every time, ability to fix jams.
Weaknesses: Hopper is flat in front, RT requires you call Tippmann for the T screw.
Review: I ordered the Cyclone feed for the 98 Custom two weeks after it came out. Because this is such a new product, right now most people havent even heard about this yet. Many will be surprised to see you have a Cyclone feed for a 98 Custom. People will even begin to think you some how got it off of an A-5 and installed it at home to your 98 Custom if they do not know any better. It is very much identical to the A-5 cyclone feeder. The only difference is that it is designed to fit on to the outside frame of the 98 Custom. Pretty much anything you can do to the A-5's Cyclone feeder, you can do the same to this one, because the design is nearly identical. For example, if you want to upgrade your Cyclone feeder's stock hopper to the R-5 hopper from Ricochete, you can do it to this one like you would to the A-5. I bought mine right along with the R-5, because I used to use a Ricochete Apache and I am used to having its design on my gun. Now it is like having a mechanical Ricochete feeding my 98 Custom. Also it will increase your capacity to 230 paintballs and give you that "deflective engineering". For some people it doesnt deflect like advertised. But I have noticed that some paintballs have indeed deflected off of its sharp angled body a few times. Look at the shape of the Ricochete, and look at the shape of the stock hopper for the Cyclone feeder. The stock one has a flat front that will for sure cause a ball break when hit from the front. I dont know about some others out there, but I rather go with the sharp angled hopper that at least has some chance of a bounce. With the Response trigger the Cyclone will feed every ball in there with no problem. However, you must call Tippmann and ask for a T screw to place on to the powertube of the 98 Custom in order for you to have both the Cyclone and the Response Trigger to work together. Or you will have to choose which one to have. Its quite easy, I just called them up, and they were very helpful and they jot down my address and name and sent me the screw for free. Installation is easy if you have the Response Trigger. Its almost as fast as placing an electric one right on there. The only difference is the removal of the old screw, to the T one, and place the hose line of both the Response Trigger and the Cyclone on to the T fittings. The whole process takes just 2-3 minutes. I also love how they kept the advantage of being able to flip the hopper to the side to give you access to the chamber of the 98 Custom. Its just like having an electric hopper with out the electronics on to your 98 Custom. The price is about the same as an electric hopper ($60.00). And even if you do get an electric that is lower than the price of the Cyclone, you will still end up paying more over time because of the batteries. You know that annoying wobble on your stock 98 Customs feed tube? Yeah, its not just you and me, apparently 98 Customs have that wobble. Well this fits so snug, there is no more annoying wobble. Contrary to popular believe, no, this does not use up more gas. Just like the Response Trigger, it is using excess gas that is going to be wasted anyways during the guns cycling process as you fire it. When you install this, you add to your Tippmanns reliability, because you get rid of the electrical part of you gun and makes the whole set up completely mechanical (unless you are using the E-Grip).
Conclusion: I definately recommend this product, because it doesnt have any weaknesses to its competition, which is electric hoppers. The Cyclone costs about the same, is more reliable, weighs about the same, wont damage in weather such as rain, is simpler, feeds faster and more reliably, installs almost as easily. I am trying hard to think of an advantage the electrics have, but nothing comes to mind. Get this if you have the Response Trigger, or E-Grip. Or just want to say goodbye to constant ball breaks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 31st, 2005 at 12:14 am PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

mgregg85 Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month27 of 28 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cyclone feed that comes stock on an A-5
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
-Flatline Barrel
-Cyclone Feed
-JCS "Duel" folding stock
-Response Trigger

Piranha USP w/e-forcegrip(because its funny, its my paintball "uzi")
Strengths: Durable, feeds as fast as you fire, no batteries
Weaknesses: Interferes with flatline shroud
Review: I bought this right when it was released because I wanted a completely mechanical marker and my qloader was a bit too bulky(and overkill on a 98 even with RT). Installation was easy however when it came time to put the flatline shroud back on I had to do some cutting to make it fit. The plastic of the flatline shroud stood up admirably to my box cutter but in the end it lost and I finished the messy modification. It kept up great with the response trigger and I had no worries playing with it on a very rainy day at the field where I had previously babied my ricochet hopper worrying about water destroying the electronics. I'm very glad I waited for this upgrade to come out instead of purchasing the a-5 as I was planning.
Conclusion: Works great and lets you match the performance of the A-5 for much less, I give it a 9 because I had to cut my flatline shroud to fit it in and tippmann made no mention of that anywhere.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Syab Thursday, August 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader 12v Revolution
Marker Setup: Tippman 98C, 14" J&J Crematic Barrel, Response Trigger, and a Cyclone Hopper
Strengths: -No Breakes
-Feeds Best for my RT
-No batteries
-Low cost
Weaknesses: -None
Review: This hopper is the best thing to happen to my gun since the RT. The Cyclone Hopper is the perfect addition to anyones 98c. Its so much better than my Viewloader 12v Revolution and it only cost 15 bucks more! If you have an RT this is a mucst buy!
Conclusion: If you have a 98c and want a new hopper, buy this one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballdog123 Sunday, August 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month15 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B- For Tippmanns you dont really need but its a 9 because if the paint colors dark it somtimes doesnt feed
Eggy II- Good for Tippmanns with RT but without rt you don really need
Gravity Hopper- well its good for tippys without rts.. or egrips..
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Dye Boomstick
Anti-Siphoned 20oz Co2
Cyclone Feed
Strengths: Feeds as fast as a 98c or custom pro can fire
Weaknesses: Nothing so far...
Review: I got this like ae week after it came out....... so far its pretty much the same as a A5.... i would buy this and a 98c or a custom pro and this than a A5....... Its easier to strip the A5 and all but i just liek the look of the 98c more than the A5....... But thats personal preffernce... overall it does what it says its going to do... use excess gas to feed the gun..

:edit:
some people on a forum asked how much different it was from a gravity hopper and a electric hopper, so im putting on some more info. Compared to a gravity hopper, this is definitely better... but of course the gravity hopper is smaller because it doesnt have all the knobs and screwed and pullys on it lol. and a electronic hopper. its jsut as fast i guess but if ur gonna have a tipp for a while get this... i already said this on the conclusion but.. w/e... but electric hoppers, if you get a decent one, is either around the same or a lil more expensive than this... but sometimes halo Bs dont see the paint and don feed if the painballs dark... the cyclone adds a lil bit of space at sides but imo it doesnt really matter and if you dont like the look of the hopper that comes with you can get the Ricochet R5
Conclusion: If your gonna have a 98c or a custom pro for a while like me, (cuz im poor) buy it... but if you know for sure your gonna get a new gun soon get a Halo B or an Eggy II

:edit:
If your also getting the RT, MAKE SURE YOU GET THE T FITTINGS!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, August 7th, 2005 at 8:52 pm PST
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

CustomPro595 Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None such as this
Marker Setup: CustomPro
Cyclone Feeder
PCS 98 Adjustable Car Stock
14" Smart Parts Tear Drop Barrel
Strengths: VERY easy to clean
Removable
Mechanical
Not a battery hog
Weaknesses: None, except installation thing (see review)
Review: AMAZING product. Depending on the gun you have it is either easy or hard to install.

If you have a Custom Pro, the power tube is already installed, and you will not need to take apart the marker or drill a hole. If you have a 98 Custom you will have to drill a hole and install the power tube.

I truly need to make this clear for anyone (myself included) who thinks of using this product. The hole for the screw fitting is on the right side , not even an inch above the safety. Well, I did follow all the instructions and it can get very tedious with the sear spring and the front sight latch. Other than that the only real problem with it would be the part where you drill a hole.

Besides that it is still a little bulky, but most definitly feeds the balls. No breaks after a test run of 500 balls, no chopping, and even though the hopper is rated at 200. I have gotten in 275. With the bottom section and filling it to the brim. it fed all the balls and didn't break one.
Plus, cleaning the breach is easy. Just puch down an the front sight and tip the cyclone feeder. It doesn't even strainthe feed hose, you can tip it all you want.
Conclusion: This product is good for anyone on the field. My opinion is that a 98 or Custom Pro with a Cyclone feed beats and A-5, of course this is my opinion. 8 out of 10 because of the installation mid understanding, and for the part where you have to drill a hole in your marker. (what if you screw up?)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 26th, 2006 at 2:00 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

lil_marine Friday, September 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
12v revy, stock hopper, reloader 2, 12v revy tripod
Marker Setup: 98 custom
R-T
Cyclone Feeding System
12v Revy tripod w/ x-board
12v revy w/ x-board
Flatline
pro-seal 98 custom
Rocket-cock 2
drop forward
ex. chamber
m-16 stock
Strengths: Feeds a lot faster then e-loaders
Light
Cheap
Works great with R-T
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: Ok, so i bought the cyclone for my 98 because i was sick of chopping paint all the time. and since the A5 doesn't chop paint as much as the 98. so for the next three days i was looking for a good price for one, and i found it. so i bought and i had to do some cutting one the flatling shroud. but i didn't care.( and i am not going to call that a weakness) but after i did that i put it on threw on a tank and threw some paint in it and went out in my back yard and shoot off about 50 rounds, and worked great!! i have my R-T and it rocks!! and make sure you have the T- adapter on it or it won't work.
Conclusion: This is an awesome product! i only have one thing to say "buy it!!!!" it will be worth the money!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHANE_98C Friday, June 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only the stock gravity feed.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
14" Teardrop Barrel
Cyclone Feed
Double Trigger
Shocktech Long Drop
Special Ops Commando Stock
Response Trigger
Strengths: Mechanical
Fast
Looks good
Location of the lid of the hopper
Weaknesses: Larger profile
Stops feeding with 30 shots left
Locktight not included
Chops when with RT
Review: I got this on Action Village for 60 dollars.

Well I Installed it as soon as I got it and noticed that it didn't come with any locktight. So I had to wait until the next day when I could pick some up. When I got it all installed and the loctite had dried I gassed it up and I heard a leak. So I had to tear it all apart and re-due the locktight job. Only a slight inconvenience as I couldn't play until the next weekend. One more thing is that when I tried to attach the cyclone feed thing to were the elbow atachment is It wouldnt fit. Luckely my brother had gotten a cyclone to so I just traded him for his cyclone and it fit good.

Once I got it all put together with no leaks I eagerly took it outside and Shot about 30 rounds through it..... It was a blender..... So I took it inside and angrily tore it apart and cleaned out the gun and the inside of the cyclone feed. After it was all clean and back together I went back outside and shot it again and it shot just fine... I don't have any idea what was wrong with it but now it works and that is all that I care about.

I field tested it today and it worked great. I had no misfires and no breaks at all. However I did have 2 or 3 balls roll out of the barrel but I am not sure if this is the cyclones fault. I had a guy pinned behind a tree when I remembered I had my cyclone so I stood up and fanned the trigger as fast as I could. God that was fun.

At the end of the day my tank was really low so I decided to watch the star until it stopped spinning and then I counted the shots I had left until the tank stopped shooting. I counted 26 shots were I would have had to push the pin thing to load a ball into the chamber. By that the balls were barely going 60 feet and they would have never broke on someone. So I found this 'weakness' to be negligible.

Update
Lately I have been having problems with lots of ball breaks. This has been happening since getting the RT. I keep breaking them and then paint gets into the cyclone and covers all the other balls with paint... not fun This moves the rating down from a 9 to an 8
Conclusion: This is a great performance upgrade. It is very fun to use. After my first test shoot it shot fine.

I will give it a 8/10 because of the minor setbacks I encountered. I hope this review helped someone.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 2nd, 2007 at 10:33 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Cpt. Morgan Saturday, October 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Woods - Urban Camo Tippmann A-5, Super Response Trigger, Adjustable Trigger Stop, 12 Inch Smart Parts Progressive Barrel, Modded Stock Barrel, Palmer's Male Regulator, Crossy 68/4500, and a 20oz CO2 Tank

Speedball - Diablo Wrath LTD, VLocity, J&J Edge kit, and a Crossy 68/4500
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Well, I have decided to write a review obviously. I don't own a 98 with a cyclone feed nor have ever. BUT the cyclone feed on the A-5 is exactly the same as the cyclone feed you can buy for your 98. Same hopper, same five start loader, and the same exact principal of operation. On the account I own a A-5 and have for a long time, I feel I can cover 90% (which is more than many review writers can say can say) of the pro's and the cons of the cyclone feed. So here it begins.

Pro's:

- Speed - Fast for the price (60$ online, add a 15$ QEV and you will rival many 100+ loaders). Stock out of the box can achieve 16-bps (varies by 1 bps or so depending on the loader, how well its oiled etc). For 16-bps and that price (only eggy's sit in that price range, and they are bad for many reasons) I give the cyclone feed a 10/10.

- Upgradeability - Well, add a good QEV (15$ or so) and this hopper will be able to rip at 20bps or so (some people report upwards of 22-bps with a QEV others about 19). So for 75$ you have 20bps. Do you like that? I do! I give it a 9/10.

- Chops - Well, stock this hopper will not... I say will not chop unless you are firing above 16-bps. A qev will fix that. In theory this hopper can not chop but only will if there are one of two factors. One, its cold out and your running CO2 (causing your marker, overall to slow down). Or two, your shooting bad paint (paint that is moderately to above defective). For that I give it a 10/10.

- Care - Very easy to take down, understand how it works. No need for replacing batteries. 10/10

- Durability - Original stock cyclone feed hoppers had problems (would break when shot etc) but those have been fixed. Will take direct hits at close ranges with no problems. Hopper is a very tough plastic, same with the actual base of the loader. Will work in any condition (unless its cold and your running O2 or your shooting bad paint etc) and never fail you. Only thing is you will eventually need to replace the feeder ratchet (it is made out of some kind of cheap plastic, you can get a tech t vortex mod though to fix that). For that, it gets a 8.5 outta 10 (had my cyclone cease working because of a worn ratchet).

- Profile - Your hopper now sits much lower and the gun. It sits to the side, increasing your guns width but your height is cut down by a bit. It also allows you to use your sites (which I do with my A-5 because it is usually freakishly accurate). 9/10

- Support - Got a problem. Tippmann is good with 99% of all problems. You need your ratchet replaced? They will ship you a new one for free. 10/10.

Con's

- Pressure - The cyclone requires a lot of pressure to operate. It stops functioning at lower pressure (sup 400's without LP hoses) which means, your gun may cycle but nothing will be shot. It can be very annoying in the middle of a game for your loader to stop firing cuz your tank is at 25%. 3/10.

- Hopper - Stock hopper has one hell of a bulls eye on the front. Big profile to shoot at. 3/10.

- Compatibility - Well... you can't put this on any other gun. Its a investment. If your gonna stay with a Tippy for awhile and are keen on it, buy it. But outside of that if your gonna switch up guns soon (within a year) forget it. Get something else. This fact just gives it a dead zero percent.
Conclusion: Buy it if your keen on it, if you have a hole to burn in your pocket or are going to be with your tippy for awhile. Outside of those 3 reasons, get something else.

Other than that, it is a reliable loader.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Amras86 Thursday, May 20th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
6 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock feed system
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Basic
Flatline Barrel w/ Tactical Rails
GTA Expansion Chamber
Double Trigger
TechT Hair Pin Trigger Kit
Cyclone Feed System (Votex Mod, Lightning Rod, Squishy Paddles, QEPH)
Low Profile Hopper
Collapsible Stock
Red Hot Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
TechT Zero Kick Hammer
Response Trigger
Remote Line
Adjustable M16 Sight Rail

Tippmann Bravo One
G36 Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Aluminum Power Tube w/ Derlin Bolt
E-Grip

Tippmann TPX
Remote Line Adapter
TechT Low Pressure Spring Kit
Strengths: Faster RoF
Reduced Ball Breakage
Easy Install
Weaknesses: Balls Bounce
Stock Plastic Parts
Review: First of all, I love this upgrade. So much so that I have one for my Tippmann 98 Custom and my Bravo One. It was the first upgrade I bought for both of my markers. I find it hard to use my JT Tac5 because of the fact it can't use the cyclone feed. I find it hard to use any Tippmann marker without it.

Strengths:
You definitely get a faster rate of fire. You don't necessarily get the faster RoF you'd first think of. The marker fires no faster then you could previously pull the trigger but now you are 99.9% guaranteed to have a ball in the chamber. It also loads balls in such a way that greatly reduces ball breakage. I have seen balls break in this thing but not as often then without it. To install this add-on could not be any more simple. You just take out the powertube plug and screw in the screw that is on the air line of the cyclone feed. Snap in the cyclone feed to the marker and you're off to wreak havoc.

Weaknesses:
I find when your hopper gets low on paint, the stock plastic paddles tend to make the balls bounce so you start to get empty chambers. Its not a big deal but it can be troublesome. I am not a fan of the mass amount of plastic parts in this product. It just smells of plastic that is eventually going to wear out. The piston is plastic, the ratchet is plastic. Everything. Only metal part I think is the tension pin to hold the ratchet in place. TechT has a line of products to replace the plastic in this. I will review each one of them individually as I have them all in my cyclone feed system.
Conclusion: If you own a Tippmann marker capable of using this upgrade. GET IT! You will have instant results and you will learn to not live without it. It also opens the doors for more upgrades to help you out.

Score: 9

I give it a 9. I know I sound like I absolutely love it and will give it an unbiased opinion, but I just simply can't get over the plastic. If you get one, take it apart to check how it works and you will probably be surprised just how much plastic is in there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

liljaygreg Wednesday, February 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hopper/Feed System
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Cyclone Feed System
Trigger Mods
Strengths: -Strong
-Feeds really fast
-No batteries
-Looks really good on the gun
Weaknesses: -Maybe the price...
Review: This Feed System is amazing. I've played several games with it and haven't chopped once. I was using the stock hopper but it would chop with the pen spring mod. I think I chopped about 8 paintballs that day. Then I picked up the Cyclone and have shot about 4000 paintballs without a chop. I was also worried that the Cyclone would use a lot of air but I didn't notice a difference, which is great.
Conclusion: BUY THE CYCLONE!! The best hopper/feed system for the 98C! Does what a electronic hopper does...and then some.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media