paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System

Tippmann Cyclone Feed System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Cyclone Feed System

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Cyclone Feed System
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 96
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Now you can give your 98 or 98 Custom marker the same advantages as the A-5!

Features:

* Links the feeder sprocket to the air system
* Synchronized ball feed for reduced breakage and jamming
* The faster you shoot, the faster you feed!
* Feeds up to 15 balls per second
* Includes wide mouthed 200 round hopper
* Attaches via quick release elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Cyclone Feed System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
CustomCrew Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Cyclone Feed System
GTA E-bolt
GTA Low Pressure Kit
PB 8-stage X-chamber
Lapco Drop Forward
Lapco Bigshot SS
Stiffi 14"
Polished Internals
Pen Spring Mod
Strengths: Balls Never Chop
17-18 Bps
No Batteries Needed
Very Easy to install
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have not had one ball chop shooting with the Cyclone Feed System. Some people might think that you'll use a lot more gas, but that isn't true. The cyclone uses EXCESS gas leftover to operate, and I have been getting the same amount of shots per fill.

I have 2 friends with the E-trigger (Custom Pro) and they still chop with an eggy and a halo. My other friend with a RT chops on his eggy as well. I have not yet chopped and it pisses them off :)

Side Note: The Cyclone can feed up to 17-18 bps without chopping, even though Tippmann claims up to 15. You can also buy an R-5 Hopper which allows you to take advantage of the "Ricochet" deflection technology.
Conclusion: This upgrade is a must for anyone with a RT (requires a T-adapter), E-bolt, or E-Trigger mod. I am starting to see them selling for about $50 now, and it's definitely worth every penny.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 16th, 2006 at 12:43 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Squirrelking Wednesday, May 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro Basic (drop forward, double trigger, 11" Werks barrel)
HPA 50 ci Worrgame Tank
Cyclone
RT trigger
16" linear
Strengths: Speed
no chops
silent
no batteries
Price
Weaknesses: Size
air use (see review)
fragile manual feed
Review: PROS

It's fast, real fast. With my RT going full blast, it never misses a beat. I have never misfired (apart from when I'm low on air, see CONS).

In over 2000 balls I have never chopped once. I even used some 6 month old paint that was warped and dimpled: no chops. At all.

It makes no sound when "activated" since it spins when you fire your marker. No annoying buzzing like with some electric hoppers.

For me, this was the main reason I wanted a cyclone: NO BATTERIES!

It has a very reasonable price tag too: 60$.

CONS

For some, the cyclone has a very big profile. It's true, it can be pretty bulky since the mechanism is in the feedneck. I personally don't mind, but this could be very important for some.

Although it's supposed to work on blowback gases, it does use a little bit more air than if I didn't have it on. I feel it's VERY negligible, but it does take some extra air. What I don't like is the fact that once I'm low on air (under 1000 psi, HPA), it tends to stop spinning: I have to shoot very slowly for it to spin. This made mise a few shots late in games.

I am disappointed in the little push lever you have to manually feed balls on the Cyclone. I dropped it from a height of maybe two-three feet and it snapped. I wonder how this lever was supposed to survive through rough playing...
Conclusion: For me, the advantages of the Cyclone far outweighed the disadvantages. But I'll be honest, the first thing that attracted me to the Cyclone was the fact that it had no batteries.

Try it out first if you can, see how it feels for you.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 31st, 2006 at 8:39 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Be0da0o Sunday, August 28th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo
Egg
A-5 Cyclone
Marker Setup: Cyclone feed kit with R-5 Hopper
LP valve Internals in the Special Cyclone valve tube
Freak Kit
Ion Reg
Shoctech bolt
Blade trigger
GTA Ebolt
GTA Low Pressure Kit
Custom trigger pull
SP on/off
Strengths: Keeps up with my gun perfectly. Price is good.
Weaknesses: I had to tune my gun especially for it.
Review: I bought this because for some reason my halo wasnt keeping up with my ebolt. The cyclone feed works perfectly and works better than the halo. It loads one ball per shot. I can shoot constantly with my ebolt without chopping. I bought it for cheap (1/3 of my halo). I also bought an R-5 for it which turns it into a ricochet so the balls bounce off it.
Conclusion: Buy this if you need a good hopper to keep up with ur fast 98.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

pbjoe693 Thursday, September 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Flatline Barrel
Response Trigger
Tapco T6 6 Position Stock
Cyclone Feed
T-Fitting
Electronic Point Sight
Tippmann Pro Drop
Sling
Stainless Steel Screws
Polished Internals
Remote Coil

Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
Tapco 6 Position Stock
Response Trigger
Remote Coil

05 Proto Matrix
12" Proto Barrel
PMI Drop
Evlution 2
Pure Energy 3000 PSI Tank
Strengths: Good Price
No Batteries
Feeds Fast
Weaknesses: call tippmann to get t-fitting if you have RT
doesnt fit right with flatline
Review: on ebay i ordered cyclone feed for my 98 the month it came out. when it got to my house, the first thing i did was take off my old hopper and put the cyclone feed on, first thing i noticed was the flatline shroud was perventing it from fitting. i went in my garage and cut the flatline shroud a little bit to make it fit, it did. since i allready had RT, i called tippmann and asked to send me the special T-fitting. when that came to my house i pulled the air hose out of the old RT fitting, and cut the air hose on the cyclone feed. i hooked up both hoses to the T-fitting, fired the gun and it worked great. It kept up great with my RT. a couple days later, when i went woodsballing i had no jams. with my old gravity feed hopper i had to allways hit it to make it feed the balls into the chamber. (anyone with RT and a gravity feed hopper will know what im talking about). Cyclone feed uses no bateries so you dont have to worry about the batteries running out of power. cyclone feed works better on my 98 than my eggy did. and i got cyclone feed for only $50. Dont get cyclone feed if you shoot lefty because the wide mouth hopper will block your view. also since the cyclone feed hopper has a flat front so balls will allmost allways break when you get hit in the hopper.
Conclusion: If you are thinking about getting a electronic hopper for your 98, dont, this will work alot better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Subby Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
A5 cyclone, Halo B
Marker Setup: Supped up DM4
Supped up A5...egrip, LPK, J&J
Ion
98 custom: LPK, Cyclone, E-bolt, dbl trigger, palmers reg, lapc drop w/ stock, polished Internals and different mods, J&J Cermanic. 200psi operating pressure.
Strengths: The Cyclone system is tried and true. NO MORE CHOPS!!! Cheap
Weaknesses: Can't do 20bps...but most markers can't either.
Review: I had no clue they were actualy going to release the cyclone for the 98 till I saw it in a shop and was like.....DAMN!!!! I was so excited about this because even with my Halo-B on my 98 I would still chop a couple times a day. Those days are over!!!! Look at my marker setup section and you will see that I have it running with an E-bolt and the LPK. I did not have to adjust my regulator higher to compensate for the cyclone, and it ran fine at only 200psi operating pressure, thats what I was also really happy about. Kept my dwell at the stock 1/3 turn and LPR at its normal place. So I filled up the hopper a couple times and turned the ROF all the way up to see if it would keep up....and it did! No chops or miss feeds. I got mine on eBay for $20 less than what the local shop was asking so that helped out. All the A5 owners are now jealous that we have the cyclone now and the E-bolt....cause that make for one silent deadly weapon. They can keep their A5 with the E-grip. Buy a cheap 98 and add cyclone instead of buying A5.
Conclusion: This should be the FIRST upgrade to any 98 owner. Then the low pressure kit, then J&J barrel, then E-bolt with reg and HPA.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

knmurray Thursday, August 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ricochet-2k Hopper feeds 12 balls per second and the 98 cyclone feeds 15 balls per sec.
Marker Setup: 98 Custom R/T military simulation with too many mods to list
A-5 E/Grip military simulation with too many mods to list
Strengths: No more hopper wobble and lower profile. Fair price $59.00
Weaknesses: Requires total marker tear down if you install unless u already have an R/T.
Review: The best hopper or paintball feeding system for the 98 Custom. Work in the kitchen at a table if you plan to do the install so you can find the small parts when they fall off the table on the floor or put the marker in a shoe box when u take the halves apart. Remember to take the velocity screw out and pull the valve out of the rear of the power tube by the stem with pliers.
The new cyclone hinges like the old elbow but fits alot tighter. Push the front sight down and the cyclone hinges down for easy cleaning. Also the cyclone hopper sits lower and to the side of the the marker for easier aiming.
Conclusion: Own a 98 Custom? First replace the barrel and then add the cyclone. Add a response trigger then rock and roll.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Conker Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity fed hoppers,And a electric hopper I can not remember the name of.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom with:
Smart Parts Progresive 16"
Tapco T6 butt stock
Cyclone feed system
Low profile Butler Creek cap(realy a scope cap)
Strengths: See review.
Weaknesses: It is pneumatic
Review: This hopper is good and here is why.
1.It feeds 15-17 bps.
2.It is very big. It holds about 230 paintballs crammed full.
3.It does not take batteries.
4.It is made by Tippmann
5.It is quick to install. Like 20 minutes flat
Now here are the bad thing about this hopper.
1.It is pneumatic. It takes more air than if you had a electric hopper.
Conclusion: This hopper is good if you are playing woods ball because it does not make much noise and it does not take batteries.This hopper is not good for speed ball because of how many paintballs it feeds per second.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 30th, 2007 at 2:52 pm PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

emusylate Friday, April 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
gravity hopper
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Cyclone Feeder
11" Tippman Werks barrel
Strengths: Low profile
cheap compared to other hoppers
Weaknesses: Hard to find in stores (got it online)
flat front
gas hog
Review: Okay loader, shot it in my backyard the day I got it. No problems, took it up north one day and broke a ball inside the loader where the ball enters the gun. Major mess, pain in the ass to clean. Gun wouldn't shoot balls out until I took out a piece of jammed shell. I'm going to play saturday with this hopper so I'll see how it all goes. The loader does usually send in a round without problems and I couldn't outshoot it, but that time when a ball broke got me kind of shook up. It could have been because I was using old paint and a high velocity but who knows.

I also got considerably poor air efficiency with this. I used to be able to fire about 800 rounds with a 12 oz. CO2 and when I was up north I got about 300 rounds out of it. The tempterature was a bit cooler than when I usually play but it was still a low amount of shots for one fill.

I installed it on my Custom Pro and didn't even have to take the gun apart.
I just took 2 screws out of the elbow feeder, pounded the elbow off towards to the back of the gun with a screwdriver and hammer, then put the Cyclone on, took off a side screw and attached one that came with the kit and hooked that screw to the tube. (screw has a valve sticking out of it's side)
Conclusion: If you have 98 and you dont want your gravity hopper this might not be a bad choice.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, May 4th, 2006 at 1:23 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

dylanc Saturday, January 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
nothing is comparable to the cyclone feed. As in there is no air powered hoppers.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c platinum ACT, tippmann cyclone feed,
Strengths: Does what its sposed to, less chops noticeably.
Weaknesses: Weak, not that much of a difference from gravity feed.
Review: Its a good addition to the tippmann i will say that to start. the tippmann just isnt right without it. Its not as good as electronic hoppers in my opinion, and sometimes can be more expensive. And its not the most durable thing either. the screw that attaches to the gun to get air (banjo feed to be technical.) just broke recently on me. Its a hollow low grade aluminum screw. Overall I give it a 7/10. It's better than a gravity feed.
EDIT: Tippmann sent me new parts for free quickly! Greatest customer support ever.
I sent a message asking if i could get a new banjo fitting or if i have to send the whole thing in. I get a response saying I will send you a new power tube. ( this confused me a little bit. I guess he thought I got the screw stuck in the tube.) Soon enough, the banjo fittings and a new power tube come in with a flatline barrel i ordered a week ago. I update to 9/10 because that made the hopper a lot more durable if you can just change up the part Without paying 6$ and shipping.
Conclusion: Buy this if you own a tippmann. It fits the gun well. and in my opinion the tippmanns not right without it. Of course theres better. and theres worse. just be careful with the screw unlike me >.>
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 14th, 2010 at 7:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bonestein Thursday, January 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity hoppers,
Electric Hoppers
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve Stock
PMI 68/4500
VL evo 3
-----
98 Custom
14 Redz Pepper stick
Double Trigger (lightened pull)
Cyclone hopper
Strengths: 15 bps
Feeds as fast as you could possibly need
Durable
Runs on Co2
Weaknesses: Requires adapter for use with Response
Exposed gasline
Blocky hopper shape
Review: This is a awesome product. Period. Twice the speed of a gravity loader, with no batteries!
If you find yourself chopping paint because you're outshooting your grav hopper this is the way to go. Installing is easy, just take out the old power tube, and hook up the line to the hopper. Everytime you pull the trigger, the blowback from the gas moves the blade in the hopper. Some people have mentioned the cyclone causing you to use more gas, but I haven't noticed any drop in efficiency.

If I had to make a complaint it would be that you have to order a special adapter hose to use the cyclone with the response trigger, but it's not that big a deal. Sturdy loader, fast action, no batteries. Any questions?
Conclusion: Can't beat it with a stick!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media