paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System / Tippmann Cyclone Feed System

Tippmann Cyclone Feed System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Tippmann

Buy Tippmann Cyclone Feed System

Paintball Custom 98 Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Tippmann Cyclone Feed System
[ View Photos (18) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 96
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Now you can give your 98 or 98 Custom marker the same advantages as the A-5!

Features:

* Links the feeder sprocket to the air system
* Synchronized ball feed for reduced breakage and jamming
* The faster you shoot, the faster you feed!
* Feeds up to 15 balls per second
* Includes wide mouthed 200 round hopper
* Attaches via quick release elbow
Product Availability 
The Tippmann Cyclone Feed System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
tristanot Sunday, January 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Pro
Seal Bolt
Cyclone Feed
18" Barrel
330+ Hopper
Strengths: No BATTERIES!
17 BPS
330+ hoppers
Weaknesses: None if you don't mind using more air
Review: Best upgrade for 98, no need for batteries and with a double trigger you can have fun with the available 17 bps. My hopper holds 330+ balls which lasts you a game or longer. You can also buy offset adapters. Going to get lightning rod and vortex to get 30 bps later.
Conclusion: Buy Compressed air and a bigger hopper, You are set for a killer gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Matt98C Wednesday, January 16th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none really
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Xcel barrel
Cyclone feed
Double Trigger
16 oz. Co2
Strengths: Really fast feed rate
Is amazing! with a response or double trigger
Easy installation
Weaknesses: None
Review: Just an awesome upgrade. The Extreme Rage Hopper it comes with is pretty crappy so i knew i needed a new feed system. I used my friends A-5 which has the cyclone already on it and i loved it. So I bought one 2 days later. It's really not a bad price, ($60 at any p-ball website). I bought mine at Synergy Paintball for $70 and Chad installed it for free. It really doesn't help a whole lot unless you have a double trigger at least. (they're only like 15 bucks) This thing is like Batman and Robin with a Response trigger, which modifies you're entire air system for continious feed . I really liked this upgrade and ther's nothin out there like it. It's beats a Viewloader eVo any day.
Conclusion: If u wanna shoot fast, get it! Also get a double or response trigger if you have the $$$ because its a deadly combo. One of the best Tippmann upgrades out there
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lenny17 Tuesday, January 8th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only gravity fed hoppers
Marker Setup: PCS US-5 (stock) w/ 48/4.5k air tank, cyclone, J&J Edge

Kingman Hammer w/ 13ci/3k air tank, J&J Edge
Strengths: No batteries, feeds one ball per shot
Weaknesses: Installation required some work, but it isn't meant for a US-5! :)
Review: I bought the cyclone to add to my US-5. I have a pretty strict 'no batteries' rule with my paintball markers, but realized after playing a few games that my gravity fed hopper couldn't keep up. I grew very tired of shoot, shoot, *shake shake shake*, and so on. I had seen that the 98C cyclone could be easily adapted to my US-5, so I figured I'd give it a go.

Installing the cyclone took some work, but was not terribly difficult. I had to drill a hole in the powertube to allow the excess gas out, and had to dremel down the mounting bracket and latches to get a tight fit. It was only an hour or so worth of work, and it was worth it!

I've only put around 300 rounds through it so far, but I didn't have a single chop or misfeed. Every trigger pull, every shot was clean.

Now to answer all of those "why didn't you just buy an A-5 people"...
I initially couldn't afford the A-5 when I bought my marker. The US-5 was very similar, only it had a 98C-style flip down feedneck instead of the cyclone. This meant that I could stick with a cheapo hopper, and add an electro hopper (or the cyclone) down the road.
Conclusion: I absolutely love the cyclone, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for an alternative to electronic hoppers.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Tipp5 Friday, November 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 Tippman X7
Uses same feeding concept!
(This you are aware of..)
Marker Setup: -Tippmann 98 Custom Tactical M4-
------------------------------------------------------------

Response Trigger from local store
M98 Cyclone Upgrade with TechT QEPH, Power rod, & Vortex upgrades
Tac-Caps & Ricochete cyclone hopper from Opsgear.com
JCS Blew Powertube with Howitzer Bolt
Lightweight Titanium Hammer
Green Spring Kit
Rocket Cock
Equinox 6 Posision Collapsible Stock
A3 Detachable Flattop Carry Handle with see through Picatinny Scope Adaptor from Opsgear.com
1x40mm Dual Red/Greed Dot Scope from Opsgear.com
7'' Picatinny Floating Tactical Handguard from Opsgear.com
Ergonomic Picatinny Foregrip from Opsgear.com
16'' M4 Style Operator Barrel from Opsgear.com
Bossman Mag Kit from E-Bay.com
32 Degree Remote from local store
M4 Aluminum Foresight from Opsgear.com
88/4500 HPA/Nitro Tank from local store
Strengths: Keeps up with my response trigger!
Never chops!
Mass intimidation!
Easy installation
Weaknesses: Makes a big target with standard hopper.
Must be oiled and cleaned periodically. (no biggy)




Review: Ok. I will try to keep it short and to the point as much as possible...
(1)Great product - More reliable and faster than most all electronic hoppers!
(2)Never chops- even at 15 Bps (Limit of response trigger)!
(3)Difference in air consumption unnoticable because it works off of EXESS gas- untill use with RT (Still very little)!
------------------------------------------------------------


-A Few Recommendations-
I definantly suggest switching to Nitrogen, or HPA(High Preasurized Air) because C02 has trouble re-expanding into gas from its liquid state at high ROFs, therefore reducing FPS with each shot (making for less and less accuracy with every shot) and letting more liquid CO2 enter your gun, potentially freezing it up or possibly damaging it or your O-rings (Remote lines & expansion chambers reduce this effect well)!.
Nitrogen doese not have this problem! I also slightly recommend fully upgrading the internals to reduce the minimum PSI required for operation and also increasing gas efficiencey. Without these upgrades, this system will stop operating with a tank nearly 1/4 full. (in most cases around 400-600 PSI) (I recomment TechT)! With their cleverly designed upgrades which use lightweight construction and teflon coatings to almost completely eliminate friction of mechanical parts, the minimum required PSI drops to around 125-200 PSI, therefore, allowing you to go through almost a whole tank before it stops functioning. This is only if you're willing to shell out some cash though, as their products can be pricey.. But IMO you are paying for the best with TechT!
Also, I hate the design of the standard hopper it comes with.. Sure it's big and holds more shots, but the front of it is flat and a paintball will bust on it every time. I recomend
the Ricochete cyclone hopper. Its structure is composed of many shallow angles which if a paintball hits correctly, will deflect off! The deflection factor is not QUITE as good as advertised and sometimes they deflect straight to your facemask.. but it still helps alot!
I also like the X7's low profile hopper,or Tac Caps,because they are less of a target and stays out of the way of my sights quite well..
Conclusion: In conclusion, me being a simple scenario/woodsball player, this product gives me the abillity to keep the feed of my paintballs rythmatic and equal to that of the speed which my RT allows me to fire on its highest setting, (Up to 17 Bps in some cases, 15 in mine). According to TechT's website, a fully upgraded cyclone system can feed 32BPS or higher, however, a RT has a limit of about 15 BPS and this allows me to pump out 15 Bps without chopping once! These are ideal rates for woodsball, but not quite fierce enough to match the advanced electronic markers of speedball which can obtain ROFs of over 30Bps! I am going to give this product a 9 out of 10 because it leaves a little to be desired in its stock unupgraded form, but with a little money invested in upgrades, it is without a doubt, an unparalleled feeding system for your Tippmann 98 Custom!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 5th, 2008 at 9:26 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Patient_Zero Saturday, July 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader 12volt Revolution with x board
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Response Trigger
Ops Gear G36 Shroud/Rail/Folding Stock
Dead on Double Trigger
Tasco Red Dot Sight
Cyclone Feed
Strengths: -not battery powered
-reliable enough I guess(see weaknesses and main review)
Weaknesses: Stopped working 3 hours into first day of use.
Stock parts suck.
Review: So far I can't really say anything good or bad for this, I haven't had time to actually use it much. It stopped cycling about 3 hours into the first day using it, 2 days after buying it. Haven't had time to take it in to a store to have it checked over yet. I intend of purchasing either the Jet Set or the Vortex in the next week, and will post an update if things work out.

edit: I came to the conclusion that my response trigger is starving the cyclone, so I will change my rating accordingly. Its not my cyclone thats malfunctioning, its just not getting enough air to work properly.
Conclusion: As of now I'm going to have to say yeah buy it, it worked well enough for the short period it actually worked, but if you buy this, buy the upgrades at the same time, and just don't bother with the stock parts. I'll change my rating if it turns out to be something else, but so far I'm not too impressed.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, July 28th, 2007 at 2:08 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

acsarver Sunday, June 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
the A-5
Marker Setup: Speedball:
SP Ion
Egg loader
SP steel color kit
PE3000psi

Woodsball:
Tippmann A-5
PDW Air Thru MAG
g-36 stock
Picitanny Sight Mount
1x30 Red Dot scope
Strengths: See Review.
Weaknesses: See Review.
Review: the cyclone was a great idea by Tippmann. it works well, and is well described, but i did have some problems.
the co2 was trying to get too much air to my Flatline for it to work propperly, the cyclone wasnt working right. i noticed my Flatline then chopped more and more paint. i dont know if its my a-5s problem or what. the cyclone and get dirt in places u cant see, so u have to uninstall it all, clean the blades individually, and everything.
Conclusion: Good idea, needs a lil fixin up.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fernando8877 Saturday, June 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
none......unless you have used an a-5.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom Pro ACT, Tapco M4 stock w/ cheek riser & butt pad, Opsgear m82a1 mag kit, BT 14" Tactical barrel w/ rails & silencer, M16 carry handle, cyclone feed kit, egrip, x7 hopper, V-Force Vantage Pro mask, OpsGear gloves, UTG Tactical PB vest, 72/3000 tank, and remote.
Strengths: It moves the hopper away from the center of the marker.
Weaknesses: The stock a-5 hopper is bulky and easy to hit.
Review: Its a great mod for the tippmann 98c. you can get a tap cap hopper for it, which it holds about 50 rds. great for urban ops and woodsball. you can upgrade to an x7 hopper which is much nicer and lower profile then the stock hopper. there is one more hopper out there, but i just cant think of it at this moment of the night. either way you look at it, it will improve the marker.
Conclusion: I would recommend this upgrade to anyone with a tippmann 98c.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Blwisianboy8969 Thursday, May 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
NONE-But I have seen other loaders that can be used for Tippmann Guns but none even compare!
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro
Response Trigger
Cyclone Feed
Stock 11" Werks Barrel (NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED)
Strengths: Loads as Fast as Response trigger fires 15-20 bps
NEVER CHOPS
No Batteries
Weaknesses: Big
Need to contact Tippmann for t-screw
Doesn't work when CO2 is low
Review: The Tippmann Cyclone Feed is more than worth the money. It costs roughly 65 dollars but does the job of a 100 dollar hopper. You never need batteries, so don't worry about carrying extra batteries or even dealing with the hopper not working to its full potential at all times ... Until you are running low on CO2. Also the hopper NEVER chops paint and feeds super fast but only feeds when you pull the trigger. The hopper is kind of big so your gun is seen easier by your opponents but atleast it is black like the rest of the gun. So just keep your gun hidden until your goint to shoot. DUH you do that any way. The hopper is the best upgrade to your Tippmann Custom Pro or Tippmann 98 Custom and beats any other hopper.
Conclusion: I would say that if you don't have this upgrade for your Tippmann, get it! It's pros out weigh it's cons. Just call Tippmann before you buy it and they will send you the fitting in less than 2 days. Also you can buy the low pro hopper so you don't have to worry about being spotted. And who doesn't have extra CO2 tanks? All the cons our minor and the pros are the ultimate improvements.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Saturday, May 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock hoppers, various cheap electronic hoppers, halo B =D
Marker Setup: -98 custom
-lapco autospirit 12"
-rocket cock 2
-cyclone feed system
-Polished internals and Pen spring mod
Strengths: -Reduces Chops
-Quiet
-No batterys!!!!
-looks cool
Weaknesses: -Will not work with low PSI
-Air tube looks weak
Review: Ok, first off i got this used from a friend for a good price. The Cyclone attaches to the 98 the same way the stock feed neck did, useing the 2 pins and the front sight. The air tube is very easy to install and the whole thing was on in less then 1 min. Feild testing was awsome. Although i have a single trigger and can only fire 8pbs (because im slow) i was chopping balls, due to the fact that my 98 is not an ACT marker. The cyclone fixed this! For every trigger pull the cyclone feeds one ball, so for slower fireing people like me, its imposible to break a ball in the chamber. The only problem i had with this system is that once your tank hits 200-150 PSI the cyclone stops feeding, as it runs on air. Not a major problem for myslef.

MYTH: Cyclone eats air
FACT: NOT TRUE!
The cyclone uses the extra air left over from AFTER the shot, this air is used to re-cock the gun and the extra is blown out the hopper or the back of the gun. So the cyclone uses this air that you would normaly be wasting. So this actuly "saves" the waste air and puts it to good use.


hope this helps all potental cyclone buyers out there.
Conclusion: Awsome system, if you dont have an ACT marker and fire quickly then this is what you need. Forget exspensive, battery eating, noisy electric hoppers, and BUY IT!
Gave it an 8 because it lags if the air PSI is to low, other than that its great!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Spyder Mannn !! Monday, May 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
*Evo 3
*Halo B
*Backman
*standard
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM
*RT (response trigger)
*Cyclone feeder
*Mad dog double trigger

TIPPMANN A-5
*Cyclone feeder (duh!)
*E-grip
*Flatline
*Thumb-screw velocity adjuster
*Double trigger

SPYDER ELECTRA ACS
*Evlution 3 hopper
*(Everything else is stock, for now)
Strengths: *Cheap
*Pretty fast
*Unique
*No batteries required
*Doesn't chop paint
*Any paint works
Weaknesses: *Big target
*Uses Co2
*Stops working when low on co2
*Hard to clean
Review: I started my paintball hobby with a Tippmann 98 custom. I was new at the sport. I loved paintballing alot. So I decided to upgrade my gun to up my game. I bought a response trigger (I LOVE that upgrade). Once I had my response trigger, I needed a fast hopper to keep up with me. I looked into it and bought a cyclone feed. The cyclone feed worked great and gave me only a few problems.

PROS (as stated above, but with more detail)

*The cyclone feeder is cheaper than many hoppers.
*Fairly fast.
*It is unique and unlike most hoppers
*You don't have to worry about replacing batteries!
*It doesn't chop paint!
*Works with any type of balls

CONS (as stated above, but with more detail)

*This thing sticks out alot! It makes for a bigger targer
*It uses your co2. Its a co2 chugger
*It stops working when low on c02
*The hose and manual feed arm are just asking to be broken.
*It's a paint in the @ss to clean! I broke a ball in the cyclone feeder and it took me FOREVER to clean!



Conclusion: This is an overall good product. I would reccommend this to you if you were on a tight budget. But if you are looking for something truly fast, I would go for a Halo or a Evlution. They will work on your tippmanns. And if you ever decide to buy a new gun, they will work on those guns, where as the cyclone will not.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 9th, 2007 at 2:53 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (10):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media