paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
whightknyte Tuesday, December 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month14 of 38 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippman 98 custom, response trigger, expansion chamber, viewloader tripod hopper, flat-line barrel, DOP pro-seal bolt and power tube, CO-2
Recommended
Paintballs:
unsure, trial was performed with scorch and diablo heat
Strengths: Trick shots, good range
Weaknesses: Poor accuracy vs. flatline
Review: I had heard a lot about this barrel, and couldn't wait to see it so i bought one. First off i was rather unimpressed with the lack of any sort of paper work with the barrel, but i figured it out easily enough.

The first thing i noticed about the barrel was that it looked very intimidating, a bonus.

I am an avid flatline user, and one of the major players at my field, so of course i put it up against my flatline.

Accuracy by far went to my flatline. My room mate stood at 75 paces and took the fire. my flat line hit him over and over, but the apex got only 2 balls close enough for him to bat them out of the air because they were floating so slowly.

Range was a decided draw. I took aim at a large tree 275 feet out. (with a tape measure.) both guns could reach the tree with a good arc, and neither fell drastically short as we backed away to longer ranges.

Breakage is hazy because of my extensive flatline usage. The apex broke far more balls in a day of play than my flatline ever has. My marker is fully tuned to my flatline as well as my paint and velocity. So that may have had an effect on my breakage record.

While i liked the trick shots, i was somewhat disappointed with them. The ball does not fly straight then curve as they seem to advertise, it shoots one direction then comes back the other way. I have thus far not been able to use them to any effect. The dive bomb seems to have the most potential though.

I used the trick shots, and the full spread of settings in play, and had very little luck with them all around.

Other players at my field have bought the apex, and shared similar opinions. Monday dec 26th we caught a warm day and went to play. 2 apex's broke on the field and a third broke paint all day.

I have heard of a mod that mounts the apex tip to a J&J ceramic, and is supposed to make it terrifyingly effective, but that i would like to see.
Conclusion: While the barrel has merit, i believe it needs a serious rethinking before it will be a solid contender off the shelf.
If you want to play a serious game buy a flatline and get it working properly. If you want a cool gimmick, or have a gun other than a tippman, maybe the apex, but a freak kit is probably a better choice.
As an after thought I will give it points for innovation.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 27th, 2005 at 9:40 pm PST
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

Kwiq Niss Monday, October 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month11 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
nothing compares
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
45c.i. 4500psi Crossfire Nitro bottle with reg.
remote line kit
shoulder stock
drilled out gas delivery and removed stone filter
check it chamber block
bandit bolt
red spring
12volt revvy
dye sticky grips
apex barrel
ccm standpipe
check it trigger
bandit high flow air valve #92
Recommended
Paintballs:
not picky but better paint is better paint
Strengths: It works
Weaknesses: Plastic barrel block makes me nervous about breaking it in woodsball.
Review: This barrel works.
It has 9 positions. Count 0 as slider closest to you and 8 as max backspin (farthest from you).
Positions 0-3 give average performance in comparison to my 14 inch barrel.
Positions 4 and 5 are great 4 for thicker paint 5 for better paint.
The ball launches out of the barrel at this setting and just flies. The distance and accuracy is amazing. I need to go to the golf driving range and find out exactly how far this thing can shoot without having to raise the barrel above target level. I'm sure the number would be outstanding but I'm not actually going to go to the driving range.
At this setting (4 or 5, depending) The accuracy is uncomparible to anything I've shot. From about 50 ft. I can stand (not even lay in prone but actually stand, I think this is because my weight balance on my gun is awesome due to the shoulder stock and remote line) and shoot at a target, actually a tree close to my house, and shoot repeatedly and watch the splatters cover the previous spread of the last paint ball I fired. I could go through a hopper like this.
I haven't seen a reason to use levels 6 or 7 much, but they operate much like level 8 just to less of a degree. I don't use these levels or levels 1-3.
Level 8 does what it advertises: dive bombs, curves at any angle. You simply push the switch all the way forward and simultaneously spin the chamber block the direction you want to curve (even down). If you spin it so the slider is on the bottom the paint will raise a little coming out of the barrel (due to the block that forces the ball to spin changing the direction of travel as the ball exits the barrel) then dive sharply. If you spin it so the slider is facing right, the paint will exit the barrel flying a little left and then curve sharply to the right.
You can spin the barrell block 360 degrees, and it has no stop, so you don't have to spin so far and then back the other way. If the barrel unscrews, loosen the screws on the back of the barrel block on the opposite of the slider. Being able to spin the barrel 360 degrees will let you shoot around, over, under, or like a combination such as go over something then dive and curve right simultaneously. It take a little getting use to the curve point to be effective, but I do mean just a little getting use to.
This barrel is not paint picky either. You might have to adjust the setting you use due to the thickness of cheaper paint, but it will fire all paint. I've used seconds, stinger diablo inferno, some orange stuff somebody gave me, and paint left over from last spring.
This barrel rocks.
I call it the bunker buster.
I can't wait to see more faces of unreachable people that I have shot in seemingly impossible places from extreme distances.
Conclusion: This barrel works. If you want distance and accuracy, you have it (uncomparably). If you want trick shots, you got them. You can't find the trick shots any where else, nor can you find this kind of distance or accuracy.
This is a great price for this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 at 1:56 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

nitrousapplez Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months9 of 18 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Cyclone feed system
Response trigger
Collapsible stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS, hard shelled
Strengths: Multiple modes of fire
No complex install
Weaknesses: Breaks VERY easily
Does not perform at all the way it is advertised
Review: After using a Flatline since I first got my gun, I am used to being able to shoot far and fairly accurately. When I heard about the "next generation of Flatline", I was understandably excited. After reading several reviews stating that it was "amazing" and "much better than Flatlines", I eagerly ordered one from an online retailor.

When it came in, I immediately tested it in my back yard. I have some sparse woods behind my house, so range was not a problem. The first mode I tried was the "Flatline effect". This did have nice range, but the accuracy was not what I expected. Also, the balls did not recover from their downward spin, so I was forced to angle the gun up a but just to get a level shot. The sideways curves were erratic at best, but the divebomb seemed to work alright.

That weekend I went rec paintballing with some friends, and for the first half of the day, it worked fine. However, in the middle of a firefight one game I started shooting out puffs of paint. Mind you these were RPS, not some generic brand. I looked in the barrel and there was no clog. I got hit then, so in the dead zone I squeegeed it out and tried it again. Still kept breaking balls. Then I noticed 2 small burrs in the tongue thingy. I eventually smoothed them out, but the damn thing hasn't shot right ever since. It now puts NO curve on balls and I feel like I'm shooting a stock barrel again. This product is definitely NOT worth the purchase. Also the site I ordered it from has a no returns policy. There goes $120 dollars down the drain.
Conclusion: Don't buy the hype over this barrel. Put that money you were going to spend on it towards a Flatline or a J & J Ceramics.
Rating:
4 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 1st, 2006 at 10:24 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

HaMbUrGl3r Thursday, February 1st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
BT-16 Apex
Trinity z weaver rail
Saw stock
Maddman spring set
Offset hopper with cyclone cap
NcStar sporting scope(x1 or x2 zoom)
Recommended
Paintballs:
the better paint the better performance
Strengths: Does everything a regular barrel can do + more
Weaknesses: Can't aim properly above 4-5 clicks
Review: The apex is a great barrel... but its not for every player. if you like to play speedball don't wast the money on an apex its simply not worth it, if your a woodsball player give it a chance you may like it. as you all know the apex can put all types of spins on the ball but i have not found myself in a situation where i had to curve the ball to the left, right, or do a pop shot. i mean sure it can curve the ball but why?? don't stand in one place move around on the field to gain angles on your opponents and you wont need those shots. however, the backspin that this baby Punch's the ball with is insane. i mean for a paintball it will go farther then you'll ever need it to go. the barrel is great from no clicks to about 5, 6 would be pushing it. after 6 clicks the paint really starts to drop then float on down the field. if your standing, or in a tree or any where not on the gound lever its fine, but if your crouching or prone the ball will hit the ground. i found that if I need to shoot really far I will go "super flatline" but I have to have my marker pointing up at about 30-45 deg so that the ball will not hit the ground therefor i can not aim my marker properly.but it can also but no spin on the ball, and be like any other barrel! IN THE END ITS ALL ABOUT THE MONEY...inless money is not a problem
Conclusion: Like i said woodsball players cheak it out, but you have to think if this is worth the money?
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rogue_trooper99 Friday, August 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
the flatline for the custom pro, a-5 flatline
Marker Setup: -a-5 camo
-bt 47 apex barrel
-car stock
-warsensor remote
-trinity ak 47 exp. chamber kit
-68/4500 psi air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything works realy, but i use procaps and combats.
Strengths: accurate and goes farther than any thing I tried
Weaknesses: It takes a little getting used to
Review: this barrel works!!! all the curve effects realy work. i got 4 people with the curve affect so far and they where pretty suprised.
here is a list of what this barrel dose based on my experiences with it:
-out of atleast 6000 paintballs non broke
-all curve effects work
-shoots farther than a flatline(did some testing and atleast 53ft morethen the flatlin for the A-5).
-easy to swich from 1 curve effect 2 another.
-water dosent dosent have any effect on it.
-8 lvls, 1-4 very accurate and gosse far,5-6 beats the flatline and still pretty accurate, 7 is like super flatline but starts 2 lose acc, 8 is not as acc as the others but it gose REALY far. Ipreffer 6 or 7 to me they are the beast.
-it dosent break easy!!! the apex DOSE NOT break, i have droped if on the ground HARD, smashed it againts lots of trees and it fell of the top of my van (accident), and it still works fine. Lots of people say it breaks but trust me it dosent.
Conclusion: if u want a good barrel that gives u lots of diffent opptions and different effects, buy it. its a little expensive but it works. I love this barrel, its realy good, worth evry penny and dosent break much paint(yet) ot itself. ((looks cool on a bt47 barrel)). so ya its realy great but if u dont like messing with all those different effects and just want a normal far shot (ex: snippers) get the flatline. this barrel is also good for snipping on lvl 6 or 7.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 11th, 2007 at 6:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Delta Echo Wednesday, October 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tested a Flatline
Marker Setup: 2005 WGP Karnivor, Black
Planet Eclipse E2 Frame
Planet Eclipse Nexus Ram w/ QEVs
Kila Magnetic Ball Detent
Full Kaner Kit
T-Stock, Remote ProConnect setup
Halo-B Rip-drive Victory Boupgrade
4500psi 88ci HPA

2003 WGP Orracle, Custom Olive/Black Acid Wash Anno Finish
WGP Worrframe SF (Select Fire)
WGP MP4 Ram w/ Integral QEVs
Freeflow All Internals Upgrade
Freeflow Beavertail
CCM all Delrin Bolt and Pin
CCM Feedneck
CCM Ultralight Front Block
Kila Magnetic Ball Detent
T-Stock, Remote ProConnect setup
Halo-B Rip-drive Victory Board upgrade
4500psi 88ci HPA

2001 WGP Right Feed Autococker, Black
WGP Sniper II Pump Conversion
WGP Ergo Regulator
Orracle Bolt, Pin, and Internals
T-Stock, Remote ProConnect setup
3000psi 13ci HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any fresh Mid to High grade paintball should be fine. I prefer RPS/PMI Marbs, and Evils
Strengths: Increases useable range by at least 10-15 yards
Reasonable accuracy
Short length
Durable
Weaknesses: Odd aiming angle
Needs a control bore for closed bolt markers
Review: Well after trying out the Apex barrel on both my Orracle and Karnivor, (see setups above) I am sufficiently pleased with its performance that I will not try to immediately resell it like I thought I might have too. Despite decent reviews, I have to admit that I was pretty skeptical until I actually tried it.

Overall Performance-
Quite simply it performed as advertised. In the flatline mode, it shot in a long flat trajectory,adding about 10-15 yards of distance before the ball started to drop off. So it does add some usable range, although a paintball's speed decreases exponentially with the distance it flies, so chances of getting actual breaks on the target you hit at extreme ranges also decreases. A lot of people complain about how it seems to make paintballs float at the end of its useable range. What that is, is just the point where most of the balls speed has bleed off to a point that a nonspinning paintball would begin to drop, but the spin given to it from the Apex barrel keeps it going for a little further. Physics is what allows flatline type barrels to shoot further, but they the laws of velocity / mass/ resistance/ and distance still apply. The other modes allowing you to intentionally "slice" or "hook" your shots (golf style) were interesting but don't seem all that practical for my needs. Who has the time to set up the correct direction and amount of curve for the correct distance on a target that is probably moving anyway? These other modes are nice marketing, but in my opinion are gimmicky and unnecessary. The Flatline and Apex barrels have finally pushed the sport of Paintball (like other sports, ie Baseball, Football, Soccer, Golf) into utilizing spin to affect the flight of a ball in a predictable manner. For the 3 cases of paint I shot through it at the last several games, I experienced zero breaks in the barrel. And that's was with me really railing on the WGP Select Fire Frame in PSP Ramp mode several times.

Consistency-
Consistency was surprisingly decent with only a few odd flyers. That is to be expected, the flight of any spinning ball will be affected by any slight dimple or imperfection of the paintball. It did shoot consistent and accurate enough to engage targets almost from tapeline to opposite tapeline of one of the smaller local fields.

Accuracy-
Accuracy at its maximum range did seem a little downgraded from the normal tack-driver like cocker accuracy I'm used to with conventional higher end barrels, but not as badly as I had feared after seeing numerous videos online. Those videos really don't do this barrel justice. Given the extended range it shoots to, is it fair to hold it to the same accuracy standard at its maximum range as a barrel that shoots 10-15 yards shorter? At the same range that conventional barrels shoot to, the Apex seems pretty comparable accuracywise. The biggest handicap seemed to be the odd angle you had to hold barrel at to shoot. This makes conventional aiming or using your instinctive point shooting reflex useless. You have to hold (aim) it up about 15 degrees higher above your target shooting line, as the paintballs don't shoot toward the same direction that the barrel is pointing. The adjustable deflection pad in the "can tip" that imparts the spin on the ball, also deflects it from its original trajectory.

Appearance is kinda odd. It looks like a 10" barrel with a short suppressor on the muzzle. The muzzle "can" starts almost immediately past the front pneumatics on my cocker. The ID of the barrel seemed a little big, probably 0.691 or <. I kinda expected this, as most flatline type barrels need to have a little wider ID to allow spin and to for a greater variety of paint to be utilized. It still would have been nice though if they would have started with a 0.689 at the barrel breech for an inch or two, and than ending with up to a 0.691 at the muzzle. As it is made now, the 0.689 Evil I was shooting sometimes fell out of the muzzle when I carried my autococker muzzle down. Other people using closed bolt markers will probably have a similar experience. Tippys, Spyders, Timmys and other Open-bolt markers won't have this problem. The quality of the honing of the inner aluminum barrel is decent, but by no means stellar. This is not as important as it would be for a conventional barrel, as the barrel puts the spin on the ball at the muzzle, but it would help a little with air effeciency. There is a single, staggered row of porting 3/4 of the way down the barrel to decrease back pressure, but this does very little to decrease the substantial muzzle "pop" you get when shooting through such a short barrel. I found that the barrel sometimes starts coming unscrewed from my marker, so I added a standard sized O-ring on the back of the barrel past the barrel threads. This acts as a washer to keep the barrel from coming loose.
Conclusion: Overall, I give it an 8.5 out of 10. Its not perfect, but its a lot better than I expected. I have to give it a thumbs up for innovation, adjustability, and smart design. In the relm of cockers, It looks a lot better and does the same job as the now hard to find Flatline Autococker, but unlike it, can be still easily converted back to a conventional barrel in seconds with no modifications.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 2nd, 2005 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

crow01 Friday, May 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline - similar but the flatline I less accurate and has less distance. Let me state that I love my A5, have used Tippmann products almost exclusively, and have used the flatline (both 98 and A5) almost exclusively as well. I have not scientifically tested my flatline vs my Apex, just fired several shots from both barrels one day and my statement is my opinion. I'm hoping to test my statement in a couple of weeks and I'll give everyone my recommendation then.
Marker Setup: A5/flatline/G36 folding stock/remote line/tac vest/tac cap
Recommended
Paintballs:
Unknown. Didn't think about it until now.
Strengths: Accuracy, trick shots
Weaknesses: plastic shroud. Possible breakage.
Review: I was finally able to use my new Apex this weekend and I would say that the barrel performed very solidly. I generally used the barrel in the 5-6 range and felt that it was very accurate and had good range. We generally play more non-speedball games (not woodsball though) and I was "sniping" people from quite a bit back and could count on the balls going where I wanted them. One game I was helping defend a fort and was on the 2nd level. From there I was able to pick at least 4 people off as they attacked my side and I was able to keep another 4-5 players down behind barriers quite easily. I have played this course several times and generally play the same spot inside the fort. I've done the exaclty same thing with my flatline and I would say that I had better results with the apex. The flatline's good, but the Apex took it that one step farther and seemed to put medium to long range shots where I wanted them.

I did use the dive bomb feature once during the game. This time I was attacking the fort and used it to keep the players on the bottom of the fort down behind the fort's wall. Did I get a lot of kills with it, no, but I feel that the players had to hug the wall more and weren't able to pop up as much to shoot me. I would say its more effective than just shooting straight into the wall to let the opposing player know you are still there waiting. Its too early for me to tell if this could be an effective technique. I'll have to play with it more later.

The barrel does shoot farther than other barrels, flatline included. On the highest setting I was actually pointing the barrel up about 45 degrees into the air. At this setting I don't think the barrel is very accurate just because of the way you are holding the gun. Its hard to site at this setting. I didn't shoot much at this setting, but just thinking about it I would imagine that it wouldn't break as much paint as it would at shorter distances. this wouldn't be due to the barrel, just from the physics of the paintball traveling such a distance. I think it would be good to get the attention of a new player and make him dive for cover, but my preference would be to let the player get a bit closer and hit him at medium/medium long range. If your trying to scare and delay players (especially new players) the long setting would be nice to send the paint that distance, but a veteran player would probably not worry as much about it. I think you'll find this about any barrel though. I know I don't dive for cover at the long range distance of regular barrels, and sometimes I pay for it.

I put about 2000 rounds through the barrel last weekend and didn't have one ball break. The paint was field paint, good quality, but I don't remember what it was. My shooting habits depend on the situation. I generally like to pick my shots, throw three or four shots out, and repeat if necessary. The apex handles this kind of shooting well. I also had times where I had to shoot rapidly and it seemed to handle this fine. Accuracy was reduced when firing quickly, but that happens with any gun/marker in the world. It wasn't horrible and I had fairly tight groupings. I do not have any trigger modifications to my gun though so I was not shooting at high speeds like you would see with some speedball setups.

I will recommend, if you are using CO2, to get a Palmer stabilizer. I have used my flatline with and without the stabilizer and I saw a huge difference when I started using the stabilizer. I have also used the Apex without the stabilizer and with it and it performs better with it. This is only natural as the air flow is more consistent. I would always recommend a stabilizer in any CO2 power gun.

The Bad
Not much really, just a couple of things come to mind. I find the barrel too short for my tastes and wish they would sell it in a 12 inch flavor. I like to have a mil-sim look to my gun and other than the barrel shrouds BT sells I haven't found one that will fit it. I think I'll adapt a JJ Ceramic to work with the Apex shroud and then put a barrel shroud on that. Note that the 6 inch barrel does seem to be accurate, just short. The other complaint that I have is that the Apex shroud will rotate on the barrel. I know its supposed to so you can do the curved shots, and the dive bomb shot, but I was hoping for some kind of settings as you turned the Apex. Its seems that it might be easy to through your shot off if you accidentally hit the shroud on the ground and the shroud moved. Then when you fire the gun instead of your shots going straight, they would curve and surprise you. This didn't happen when I played, it just seems like its a distinct possibility.

Conclusion: If your looking for a good medium/med-long range barrel the Apex is a very good choice. Is it the perfect barrel that will make you a deadly long range sniper, no, but it will give you range on a standard barrel and will make you a bit of a threat at extreme range. At medium to med-long range you can be a force to be reckoned with, but like anything else you need to practice with it and develop your shooting habits. The barrel will not aim itself.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Dalapadea Saturday, October 8th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Flatline
Marker Setup: A-5, SAW stock, Remote, 3000psi WorrGas tank, Lapco Foregrip, APEX Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer, Evil, anything decent
Strengths: Distance
Accuracy
Multiple Levels for varied accuracy and distance
Looks good
Quieter than the Flatline
Weaknesses: None so far to my knowledge.
Review: I recently bought an APEX barrel to replace my flatline. I wasn't sure if it was a great move because I loved my flatline. It'd gotten me through many games and I was never upset with it. However, once I tried out my new APEX, I was sold. This barrel is awesome! I play mostly woodsball and was hoping for a little more accuracy because with the flatline, many times the shots would curve off and hit trees. The APEX so far is much, much, MUCH more accurate than the flatline. I was able to shoot in between trees, avoid areas of brush, and all around be able to hit people better.
Another awesome feature of the APEX, was the distance I got out of it. When I put the barrel on the 8th level (the level for the greatest amount of distance), it shot much farther than the flatline and more accurately. I figured that the stages I would be using would be 4-5. Those are the stages with good accuracy yet still shoots a good distance. But since I saw how far and how accurate level 8 shot, I'm thinkin' of changing my mind.
As I suggested above, the APEX has different "levels" in which you can shoot. 1 being the shortest and most accurate level and 8 being the farthest and "least accurate" (although it was hardly inaccurate). This helps out greatly when playing because you don't get in those situations you got in with the flatline when someone was kind of far away so you knew you had the distance to get them, but you were worried about how many shots it'd take you to hit them. With the APEX, you can say "Hey, that guys a bit farther away, I'll just switch it to level 6 and get them". So when you're up close and personal with people you can switch the APEX down to say Level 3 or 4 to easily hit them accurately but when the time comes and you see someone too far away, you can jump up to Level 6-7 and nail them.
Looks. I like it. The pictures above don't give the barrel justice. I thought it was going to look funky having a big block at the end of my gun. That's true, yes, but it doesn't look weird. It just looks like your gun has a silencer, and its pretty cool. As opposed to my flatline which looks somewhat like a muffler yet doesn't quiet your shoots any, the APEX looks much sleeker and is definately quieter than the flatline.
Conclusion: If you want to upgrade from your flatline, or are looking into buying something with distance, accuracy, looks, and is quiet, I'd definately suggest to you the APEX Barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rhino 7188 Friday, October 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months7 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom
Response Trigger
Saw stock
5X scope
bi-pod
air thru sniper clip
And of course the APEX
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Shooting around corners
cool looking
Weaknesses: None that I have seen.
Review: Well I am a sniper and the caption of the local paintball team I was telling people about this "magic" barrel when i got it in the mail i wanted to shoot it but had no c02 so my friend and I went to the hobby shop to get the tank filled it took a wile to get use to the barrel but i figured it out after a 1/2 a hopper my jaw dropped it was like i was cheating i could shoot around my friend and hit a soda can he was holding behind him
the man who owned the paintball coarse was amazed and i made people turn on each other by curving my shoot to look like it came from the other direction
Conclusion: The coolest barrel ever and size dose not matter 10in.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmannater Wednesday, June 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used a flat line before this and did not like it so i bought the apex thinking it was a joke and i was surprised at the acuracy of the apex.
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom,with expansion chamber,cyclone feed system,wargear squishy paddles,low profile hopper,apex barrel ak47 style,double trigger,psycoballistics z dop forward,rear velocity adjuster.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've only used gap (Great American Paintball) paintballsand ive only had one or two balls break in the barrel.
Strengths: It has unmached acuracy and is better than the flatline.
Weaknesses: It is ugly to clean. it takes time to learn how to work it
Review: The apex is the best barrel ive used it lays paintballs on top of each other if you can hold the gun still. I bought the ak 47 style barrel for looks. I works just the same as the regular apex. It also minimizes the chance of a paintball hitting the other person and bouncing off with the backspin the barrel creates.
Conclusion: I would recamend the apex for any one who wants acuracy and distance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media