paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Sgt. Davenport Wednesday, March 19th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Sonix
Derlin ACS Bolt
C.A.M.D. E-Trigger
Lappco Feed Neck
Smartparts 14" Teardrop
Proto 14" Chrome
Dead-on Drop forward with on / off dial
Pyro Aim Regulator ( macro line)
New Designs Top performance Turbo Valve
12 Volt Revy & 12 Volt Revy Max
Pure Energy 20 ounce Co2
MadDog spring kit


Spyder VS1
MadDog Feed Neck
BT APEX ajustable barrel
16" J&J Ceramic Barrel
12 Volt Revy Max
Pure Energy 20 ounce Co2
New Designz Thread Saver

Spyder RS Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nelson
but any medium-sized borepaint will do
Strengths: Distance
Adjustable
Accuracy
Weaknesses: None
Review:
BT paintball designs have done a great job with the Apex barrel system. It gives everyone else out there who doesn't own a Tippmann a fighting chance. Did I say fighting chance? It does more than that it gives everyone out there the ability to outshoot the flat line in accuracy and distance. I coupled this barrel with my Spyder VS1. At 20 balls per second I am creating flanking opportunities like never before. As I lay down the paint keeping heads down my men are flaking to either side getting kills like never before. And my lifespan has improved per game just due to the distance I now have. Suppression from a far you have to love it. The Apex barrel system is the next step in scenario play. The guys with Tippmenns used to always brag about their flatline barrels how they were so untouchable. Well guys not anymore.
Conclusion: It's a great product. I recommend it for any scenario woodsball player. Not too expensive at around 50 bucks. A great piece of equipment for any paintball arsenal.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Erazo14 Saturday, December 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
32 degrees NightStick
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom, DOP double trigger kit, DOP aluminum power tube, custom trigger job, polished internals, Tasco colapsable 6pos stock, Tippmann expansion chamber kit, BT Apex Flatline barrel system
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything, i'm kinda cheap so i use whatever's on clearance and it does great
Strengths: GREAT distance, good accuracy, shoots any ball
Weaknesses: Tricky to clean because of the slots inside, but barrel extremely rarely breaks balls
Review: I got this barrel because when playing i was getting pissed off when i had someone directly infront of me but i couldn't hit em because they were too far away, the ball would dip and hit the floor or loose speed and drift off. I have a 98 and the flatline for this gun is ridiculously big and heavy so i found the Apex. When i first got it i decided to test it out against my friend's A5 with a flatline. At first it didn't do so great but after adjustments it did awesome, i was shooting MUCH MUCH farther than his flatline, he tried to compensate by raising his velocity all the way up, at this point they were shooting about the same distance but my friend's flatline was stupidly inaccurate with such a high velocity, mind you that my velocity was a little over 1/4 the way up. I haven't used the divebomb, curveball etc. because that's kinda pointless in woodsball. However on click #8 this thing will shoot so far that no matter what you do to a flatline it will never come anywhere close, however the accuracy at this point isn't very good. I typically keep mine on click 4 its the perfect balance of distance and accuracy, it will shoot a little bit farther than a flatline but with a lot more accuracy, the accuracy is about the same or better as a very good 14" barrel at close distance. Anyone who says that this barrel isn't accurate or doesn't improve distance doesn't know anything about how a pb gun operates.

The trick to this barrel is playing with the velocity setting on the gun and the clicks, just play around with them raising and lowering them until you find a good setting it should only take a couple minutes.
Conclusion: if you have a flatline i would keep it because that is also an excellent barrel but if i had to choose between the two the Apex is easily still the better barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 3:31 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb_madness Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: SP ion black
BT Apex Barrel
Q-lock feedneck
virtue board
CP in-line regulator
Critical Ion Roller bearing trigger
Pure Energy 68/4500 fiber tank
Strengths: Amazing accuracy
Easy dial ( when use to)
Worth every penny
Weaknesses: The front is too bulky
The front is made of plasic so it is fraggile
Review: The Apex Barrel has been woring fantastic i think it out classes the flatline barrel. Don't get me wrong the flatline barrel is great but the Apex passes it in greatness. when i was trying to get a guy in a bunker i just quickly dialed it in and i got him.

The Apex barrel you need to practise getting use to and trying to change the dials and turning the front part of it. the other thing i don't like about it is that it has a bulky front so it is hard to get it in little places. the other thing i don't like about it is that the front is plasic and for a $140 barrel i wouldn't wanna break it by hitting it against something accidently. other then those weeknesses i think this barrel was worth every penny i spent on it.

i would deffinatly recommend this barrel to snipers for its accuracy.

The apex barrel doesn't chop at all well it didn't chop when iw as using it. i got cheap paintballs from Canadian Tire and this paint was really cheap and i was going trigger happy and it did not chop at all out of the two cases of paint.
Conclusion: I would give this barrel a 10 for it's out standing performances when ever i tryed it.

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, August 5th, 2006 at 8:54 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jesse Palm Sunday, May 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
No other products besides the stock barrel for the A-5.
Marker Setup: A-5
Opsgear collaspable stock
Mil-sim laser mount
Mil-sim laser
R-5 hopper
Apex barrel
Specops E-Z foregrip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any high quality paintballs will always work better.
Strengths: The sweet trick shots!!!! Not paint picky!!!!! Durable!!!!
Weaknesses: The apex isn't like Stiffi good but still great for accurracy.
Review: This barrel is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dang I gotta say this is the best barrel I have ever seen in my life!! I bought this for a game this last Saturday and was amazed as how this barrel worked, it really did go left, right, long shots, and dive bombs. When I shot the marker the first time on setting number 1 it shot with great accurracy compared to my stock barrel. As I went on to play my game I found myself at an ambush(I was playing 1 on 1) and ran behind cover. From there I could not hit my friend cause his was below tall grass, so I switched my barrel to Dive bomb and just kept on firing. Lucky enough I was able to pick him off cause the paintballs would fly directly over him and just drop. It was incredeble!!!! I would have never been able to take him out if it wasnt for my apex. In another instance he was trying to flank me but instead I fired left shot and it wasnt allowing him to move. He said they were flying right past his head even though he was entirely behind cover and about 2 feet from him to the edge of the bunker!!!! How is this possible?!?!?!?!?! Now the long shots or in other-words Flatline was just simply amazing. As I shot in an open field, the shots would dip towards the ground and then come back up and run about 250 feet or more!!!!!! "Holy crap how is that even possible for this universe?!?!?!" my friend sayed. This barrel is simply amazing.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel now!!!!!!!!!!!! This is simply the most amazing thing I have ever seen in the sport of paintball!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Neo_Enhander Friday, March 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Flatline Barrel
SpecOps MP5 Mag Kit with Stabalizer
SpecOps A5-A2 Gas Thru Stock
SpecOps A5-A2 Front Grip
---------------------------------------
Tippmann 98 Custom
OPSGEAR 18 inch Interceptor Barrel
OPSGEAR Barret Muzzle Break
OPSGEAR Raider Shroud
OPSGEAR Gas Thru Raider Mag
FX 6 Point Stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
High Ends....but it really dosnt matter
Strengths: In review
Weaknesses: In review
Review: Well, just got my apex yesterday and was testing it. To be honest with you, I was amazed by the abilites of this barrel. Everything about it is awsome! It takes a while to get use too, but one you got it, you got it! I shot about 500 rounds and broke 3, 2 were not in the barrel however, they busted coming out of the gun for some reason. The 1st one that busted did so because I had it on 10. Seems the barrel dosnt like high rates of fire when set on the 10th dial. 8 is good for anything you may be doing. Again I was absolutly amazed at this barrels capabilites and preformance. It is a tad hard to clean, but that can be over looked.
Conclusion: Awsome barrel, awsome preformance!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pepper Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline.. The Apex dosnt come pre-bent. you have to do it yourself. lol jj dont do that!
Marker Setup: 98c
Gold plated internals, with anti-matter injected into the coreÖ.. And I wear new shoes while I play so I can run fasterÖ. hhmmm
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything round
Strengths: Distance
The Dive Bomb
The Hook
The Super flatline
Weaknesses: The only weakness would be the end being made of plastic.
Review: Iím a husband and a father, so most of the time Iím broke. I reviewed the Apex till my ears fell off. When I bought it I used Froogle and found it for $109.

Reasons why I bought it
1. It isnít shaped like a banana
2. I can (and am) machining it down so the metal barrel is 2 inches long. ďApex shortyĒ Im using the stock barrel that came with the marker for the machining.
3. It can move from one marker to another.
4. it dosnt have heated seats.. but I can over look that.

Reasons why I like it (Strengths)
1. Everything they say it can doÖ it doooĒs
2. The Dive bomb feature is just plane mean! When you shoot it pops up than drops like a comet towards the ground! I could pop a guy on top of the head behind a bunker. Didnít really think I would like all the other options besides the super flat lineÖ I was wrong
3. I can machine it; Iíll post a pic in the Tippy forum of my Apex Shorty.
4. You can turn off the back spin

The only thing I donít like about it.
When you shoot a flatline you can hold the marker horizontal and shoot. The ball drops a bit then goes on.
With the Apex you have to angle the marker all the time when the backspin is on. But unlike the Flatline, the ball doesnít drop; it comes out horizontal and stays horizontal the entire flight. Anyhoo I just donít like the fact that you have to angle the marker. No biggy Iím just picky.
Conclusion: Yes itís worth it. And the dive bomb option is just amazing. Remember to check the Tippy forums for the pics.


Thanks
Pep
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 27th, 2006 at 4:47 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

benvan36 Friday, October 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline.
Marker Setup: tippmann x7, remote line, co2, apex.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint works! Really doesn't matter.
Strengths: Great distance on shots, with decent accuracy, cheap!
Weaknesses: Trick shots...these never work, rubber ramp... I'll explain later, cleaning barrel out.
Review: When i first got this barrel it was amazing, way more accurate than the stock barrel and way better than my old set up (a5 with flatline). But after a couple games this barrel started to annoy me...

Everytime I run a squeegee through (after a break), the barrel would be clean but the rubber ramp would have paint all over it... No matter how i positioned the ramp there was always paint! It took much longer to clean because of this, i would have to use water and swabs. Although this wasnt a terrible disadvantage it really got annoying.

The biggest downfall of this barrel is the rubber ramp...After about 3 months of using this barrel the ramp started to lose little chunks of rubber. I later read on a forum that this was because of shooting at high rates of fire with a broken ball in the barrel. When you shot really fast the shards of paintball shells would cut into the rubber!!!!!

By the way when i say high rates of fire i dont mean fully auto, i only have a semi auto and maybe shot at about 3 balls a second!
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to someone who wants distance at a cheap price, but not to someone who is looking for a barrel to last them forever.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Kioti Tuesday, April 18th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months6 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatline barrels
Marker Setup: Custom 98
*Cyclone feeder
*GTA R/T Trigger
*Armason Riffled barrel
*Raider Mag Kit
*Raider Raised sight rail
*M4 hand guard
*Gas Thru Saw Stock
*remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
About any kind, if you can get it to work right.
Strengths: Gives you that silenced look.
Weaknesses: not as accurate, uses a stock 98C barrel which is junk.
Review: Would not suggest this to anybody unless you want to buy a 120.00 fake silencer. And i doubt you want to. it only works for me when you use the orginial barrel it comes with, but the bore is so big that there isn't a ball out there that will shoot right with it. so Stay away from this product.
Conclusion: very bad design of the orginial, if you were going to steal Tippmanns ideas then why didn't you just keep running. buyers beware.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
8 Comments - Add Comment

Maddog96 Sunday, February 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: A-5; apex; remote; pcs car stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
tac ammo, zap spank, rps, ect....
Strengths: Accurate, doesn't chop paint, durable
Weaknesses: Can only use battle swab squeegee.
Review: I love this barrel, it can be used in any type of game woods speedball anything. The ramp and spin adjusting work good, but the fact that it doesn't have to have expensive paint, like the flatline, is also great too. If you like woodsball buy this barrel no questions asked, and you will be happy.
Conclusion: This is an all around great barrel 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, February 25th, 2007 at 3:35 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Karsten Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
AK Apex barrel
Car stock
Crosman red dot sight
Respomse trigger
Expansion chamber
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any
Strengths: Long range, impressive accuracy, (AK version) intimidates new players, shroud allows for extra grip.
Weaknesses: Very long, loud, hard to clean, (AK version) shroud makes it heavy.
Review: Before I say anything, I have the AK Apex, not the standard type. I got this barrel not too long ago as an upgrade from my old stock barrel, at first I was disgusted by the price but I had heard some good things about it so I got it anyway. I got it home and tested it out in my backyard and was amazed by the range and accuracy I could get out of it when I practiced for about half an hour. I eventually decided to test out the curving aspect of the barrel, and I was not too impressed. The curving does work to a degree, but nothing like you see in the ads where you see the ball suddenly take a 90 degree turn. When I finally got a chance to test it out in the field, I was so impressed at how well it performed. Sitting in a tower, at the maximum setting for range, I could hit a target at around 300 feet away without arcing my gun! Mind you it might take me a few shots since it wasn't that accurate at extreme range. I also played a few games of speedball with it, that is where the curving really comes in handy. during my latest game,I was pinned down by someone hiding in a snake being covered by his friend behind an X. I dial in a sharp curve and aim at the left side of the X and shot him in the back as I sprint for an aztec. Now its me and the guy in the snake, I dial in a drop shot and snap out while he is reloading, and hit him in the top of the head. He was very unhappy and came out swearing and calling me a cheater for using an apex. Now don't expect to be able to do that during you first game with your apex, that takes lots of practice a concentration. I have grown to be both feared and admired at my local field, but by speedballers, I am thought of as a cheater.
Conclusion: This is an excellent barrel that I would recommend for anyone who wants to be a tactical shooter or mid range sniper, don't expect a big future as a long range sniper with this barrel. Sure, it has decent accuracy at medium range, but at over 150 feet it can get weird. I would say that the only drawback other than the price is the fact that some people consider this barrel cheating. If you are willing to spend the money on this barrel, by all means by it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media