paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
kromnal Friday, September 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatlines for 98 and A5. I'd say the Apex is in standing with the 98 flatline.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Special Ops Paintball Foregrip
RH Dogleg Stock
Apex Barrel
PMI Remote
PMI 88ci 4500psi HPA
Inline Palmer Stabilizer
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premiums, or if those are too expensive just something larger bore and round.
Strengths: Trajectory
Weaknesses: None seen yet.
Review: Theres a lot of hype about this barrel, and to be honest it doesn't match up to it all. Yes, you can shoot a paintball nearly 300 ft., but that doesn't mean you'll be able to hit the target before it dodges or runs away. Yes, there are neat features like being able to curve the ball left or right or straight down from the sky, but it doesn't make your paintball into a homing missile. Those features take time and practice to master, and even then you could only use them under certain circumstances. I don't feel thats very practical, and I doubt I'll ever use them in a game.

Under normal gameplay this barrel is pretty darn good though. At 75 ft., I have ball-on-ball accuracy using setting 4. At 120 ft., I can hit a 2 foot by 2 foot target using setting 5. Know anybody that can make themself smaller than 2ft. x 2ft.?

If you've used the flatline barrels before, then you'll really appreciate this barrel. It's got about the same distance as the 98 flatline (something I really missed when I got my A5 flatline) but with much better accuracy.

The trajectory from this barrel is very level. So much so I'm able to use my stock sights.

As far as breaks go, I've only had 2. The first one I think was because it was really cold outside and I was raking the trigger. The second one was because I was shooting really cheap paint that was shaped like a football. On the first break I was able to keep shooting without there being much of a difference. On the second break my accuracy was crap anyways because of the cheap paint.
Conclusion: I'm very pleased with this barrel. A lot of the other reviews I've read on this barrel contain one time incidents when things went horribly wrong. Well I've been using this barrel for half a year, and I've yet to have a problem that was caused solely by the barrel. This is a strong, reliable product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Indecisive Tuesday, September 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline barrel system
Marker Setup: Custom pro/ Rocket Cocker 2/ Apex Barrel/ VL hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.. can't stress this enough
Strengths: Long range, easy to clean, better than both 98c stock barrels even when turned off
Weaknesses: None
Review: Alright I got the barrel about 3 days ago, took it to practice on sunday and it performed amazingly.
The barrel really can shoot anything we took some cheap $20 per case factory seconds and not a single one broke in the barrel out of about a thousand shots.
I'm simply amazed at how good the barrel really is.

Oh yeah and it will still fire normally in damp conditions I think I actually had water in the barrel at the time.

There are no gas pressure issues either my tank actually ran out and I was still firing just fine before it happened.
Conclusion: Go and buy it, replace your flatline. This barrel is much better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

woodedsniper Wednesday, October 29th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
BT AK-47 Apex
Tippmann Flatline
Marker Setup: Realtree Hardwoods Grey Tippmann 98 custom
AK-47 Apex
32* Hyperstar bolt
Response trigger (sometimes)
Folding Stock
eVLoution II loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
Most mid to higher grade paint works fine.
Strengths: Not picky over paint
outstanding range
the AK version is very quite
Weaknesses: There really are no key weaknesses to this product
Review: I used a Flatline on my 98 for about two years, struggling every game with broken paintballs. It didn't seem to matter if I bought the cheapest paint on the market or Marbalizer, paintballs would be broken. This often cost games. I had done my homework on the Apex, and had often considered it, but initially the price was about the same as the flatline, and there was quite a bit of controversy surrounding the barrel and its ability to curve paintballs, so I just stuck with the Flatline. One day I happened to find the AK-47 version of the Apex, 98 threads, new, for $30. Needless to say I made a purchase. Upon its arrival I put it on the gun and noticed that it was considerably longer than the standard Apex system that a buddy of mine uses. A somewhat trivial matter, but it does help suppress some of the sound by allowing the gas to dissipate prior to exiting the barrel.

Now for the meat of the review

The first time using the barrel was an excellent experience, especially after using a flatline for so long. During an average day I could count on at least 4-5 breaks and ultimately having to switch back to my 14" smooth bore. Not so with the Apex. 800 rounds, no breaks, no wingers, just smooth perfect flight. I set the adjuster to 4 clicks, about half way, and noticed that it had an effective range very comparable to the flatline's, and again, this was only half way. I never used the curve features that the Apex has, I never really had a chance, or a need to do so, although while target shooting I did play around with it. As compared to the standard Apex, the AK-47 Apex (which, if you haven't noticed is primarily what this review is about) is quite a bit quieter, which again is a trivial issue, but it is nice at times.

There are really no key weaknesses to this barrel that I have yet found. Its a little bulky, but not horribly. The only problem that this product suffers from is the ignorance of people who have never tested it , and immediately jump to the conclusion that because a product can do something that gives the player using it an advantage, therefore it should be "banned". Were that the case, paintball would have never evolved past stock class, so don't bash something that you're guilty of.

Conclusion: Overall, an outstanding product. It preforms flawlessly, every time, a welcome change to a flatline system. Best of all, its cheap now, while the flatline is still in excess of $100, I think I've made my point as to the economics of the situation.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Optimusprime82 Monday, June 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: A5 with BT Apex Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Field paint worked fine for me--it was cheap and old (had been sitting for a few months in my friends garage)
Strengths: Increased distance and accuracy
Weaknesses: Nothing that I noticed
Review: First off, I am a casual player, I have been playing every year for the past 4 years now, at least 5 times a year, but this was the first year I took the plunge and bought my own gun. I play with a group of friends, mostly outdoors, sometimes indoors and many of them have their own guns with upgrades as well.

I have used my A5 three times, twice in a stock set up and this weekend with the Apex Barrel. My first and second experiences were positive, but I did notice that distance and accuracy were problems, with shots falling way short and veering off of where I needed them to be. A friend of mine has an A5 with a flat line barrel, and he recommended it to me. As I was doing research online and with guys at some of my local shops, the Apex Barrel came up. It was a little cheaper (I paid $65.00) then the flat line, and I thought that it probably couldn't be worse then my stock set up. I also thought (but highly doubted) that if the trick shots worked, they would be fun to use.

I will probably update as I have more experience with this, but I hope this initial post will help some people in similar positions to mine.

I was chrono'd @ 272 on the field, the weather was pretty hot and humid. We were using field paint from a couple of months ago, and some new paint as well. I don't remember the brand, but I don't believe it is very expensive ( I will update after I find out what brand later)

I did not have any problems with chopped or blown up paint. I used it on settings 4-5 most of the day, and my shots went farther, and were more accurate. I would say that I gained a good 30 effective feet on those settings. I was able to shoot clearly across the field and hit targets. I used the higher settings on a few occasions as well, and they worked well.

For those of you out there like me who didn't quite know what to expect at the higher setting, the ball from settings 5-8 fires at a downward angle. The distance did seem to be greater at these levels, but I did not use it that much to say for sure. The middle settings did what I needed it to do, which was gain some distance and make it consistently more accurate.

Now for the trick shots. I had no expectation that they would work at all. My friends all thought it was hype too. I didn't actually try any of them until we took a break in the middle of the day, and my friend and I went to the range to test it out. First a primer on this feature. The regular settings on the tip (I should say this now, for those of you who don't know the main features of this barrel are really in the tip, which can be put on other barrel's apparently but I used the barrel that it came with in the package) are 1-8, and just click through. There is a site on the gun, which I kept upright. Now, if you twist the barrel around so that the sight points downward or to the side, and keep the tip set on the highest levels, you can actually shoot curve shots. I was completely surprised by how close this worked to being advertised. On the range, there are a lot of targets, mannequins, garbage pail lids that hang down at various distances and other stuff. We were aiming at the closest mannequin, which was about 40 feet away. With setting 8 clicked off, and the tip turned, and the gun otherwise pointed right at the head, shots would curve around the mannequin. If you turn the tip to the right, the shot will curve right, if the sight is pointed towards the ground, the shot will rise and fall(the dive bomb I believe it is called) and if you point it left, the shot curves left. Anyone expecting to curve completely around an obstacle and hit someone right behind it is dreaming, but you could definitely place some fire closer then they expect, and at the right angle you could definitely make shots that you would not normally be able to make.

Now, during a game if you can adjust it accurately enough to be useful, good for you. My initial impression was that games move pretty fast and it's time consuming to adjust your shots all the time like that, but I suppose in certain situations it could be really useful.

I'll try to add more as I use it more often, but to summarize, I found this;

--the barrel did add distance and made my shots more consistent, with less veering off then in stock set up.

--I had no paint breakage problems(with sub optimal paint I might add)

--the barrel screws right in, so it is easy to clean

Conclusion: Overall, I have no complaints. I can only compare it to my stock setup, but it was a huge improvement over that. If you are looking for a simple upgrade for your a5 to add distance, I would recommend this. Shop around too, some places quoted prices in $80-90 range, but I found mine for $65
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Byder Wednesday, January 2nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
About the only thing remotely similar to this is a Flatline, and I've test shot my friend's on his 98 Custom, that's about it really. O.O
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
12" All American, Apex
Tippmann Expansion Chamber
Egrip,

(Yeah not much, but it works!)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hmmm.... sadly the area I live in isn't really all that into Paintball. So the only stuff is basically Wal-Mart paint, like Big Ball, Impact, Super Swirl. They all work O.K. I guess, about anything would work in it I assume.
Strengths: **In Review**
Weaknesses: **In Review**
Review: I got this barrel a couple of years ago off Ebay because I wanted that special advantage of distance on my side. The barrel comes equipped with a variety of settings that give a certain distance to your shots with a tiny lever on top of the big plastic cylinder at the end of the barrel, and depending on if you rotated the cylinder your shots also can gain a certain curve or arc. I've read some reviews where people have said that this is a cheat barrel and all that fancy stuff, and I just want to say don't listen to that kind of stuff. If the curve features bother you then just don't use them. Personally I have never and will never use the curve features in an actual game. When I'm just screwing around I have tested them and I think they are exagerrated a tiny bit as advertised.

A couple of positives that I noticed about this barrel are that it is pretty much a flatline, and at the time when I bought my apex, the apex was a good $10-$15 cheaper than an A-5 flatline. The standard barrel is I believe 10 1/2" (correct me if I'm wrong) which is an decent lenght I guess. The distance is a pretty good thing to be able to use during a game, it is excellent at supressive fire. Everytime you move the lever up a notch the more distance you get, at it's highest setting you get an almost unreal distance, you'll have to adjust your aim alittle because when you fire it, the paintball actually dips a little to the ground. You also have the option of turning off the flatline effect and using a normal barrel which isn't the most accurate but it would get the job done. I've also read reviews where people claim the cylinder on the end of the barrel got broke off. From my experiences the Apex is pretty strong actually. Last year I was doing a couple of 2 on 2 games at my house and in the middle of one of the games I tripped on a tire and did a face plant . The Apex got slammed into ground, and to my surpise the barrel only got a few scratches down the side. (Good times... ^.^)

Nothing is perfect and I feel obligated to tell you guys some of the bad things that I have came across. Distance is a good thing to have, but with this distance you sacrifice some of your accuracy and the odds of getting the person you may be shooting at out. The further the ball flies the more speed you lose, the slower the paintball goes and if you hit someone it might just not break. Surprisingly though, the Apex is pretty accurate, just not quite as good as a normal barrel, but nothing major. If you get a break in the barrel it can be a real pain to clean out, but I really haven't had too many breaks, just use decent paint and you'll be fine. The Apex is also quite loud, when combined with my A-5 people literally thing I am using a cannon, but people also get intimidated of how loud it is, which can also be a positive.
Conclusion: Overall this is an O.K. barrel. It is excellent for pinning down anyone, but it doesn't quite have the accuracy to be much of a "sniper" mod. It all really depends on your style of play, I play a more stealthy style but I was able to fit the Apex into that category. I am satisfied with this barrel, it is an extremely useful tool to have in my hands.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

eos356 Thursday, December 27th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive barrels, Freak kits, All-american, Dye barrels, Flatlines(a-5, and 98)
Marker Setup: A-5 with M-4 stock, x-7 hopper, Apex barrel with m16 sleeve. Mr3 sight rail W/ red dot sight.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Not cheap ones, havn't really tried many brands, Pmi premium has worked well for me thus far.
Strengths: Adaptable to different game scenarios, fun to use, (nothing quite like a dive bomb)
Weaknesses: CAN be difficult to clean, Not always but sometimes it's slightly time-consuming
Review: So I won't bore you w/ the details of my trip to the proshop or anything, so here goes.
To start, I'm not much for the M-16/mil-sim look, but it's kinda growing on me. The barrel, like it's flatline counterpart, takes some getting used to. The modes are fun to play with, and on my first test, I had fun playing with the curves and settings. The different settings work as advertised, and like I said , are fun to use. That said, you DO have at least the distance if not more than the flatline, and so you also have some of the drawbacks, that is to say that some of the balls don't break at longer distances, but hey, sometimes accuracy by volume is the way to go. With THAT said, one can become quite accurate with this barrel with some practice, and it makes those speedball games a bit more interesting. :p All in all, I would definately buy the barrel again.
Good luck and happy hunting.
Conclusion: Get it. It's alot of fun, and a great addition to any woods setup.
I give it a 9 (only beacuse its a pain to clean sometimes)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CDubbs684 Sunday, December 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Have not used another that puts spin on the ball...
Smart Parts AA 12"
Stiffi 14" Carbon Fiber
Stock 04 Cocker
Marker Setup: Two different 04 WGP Pro-stocks
Delrin Venturi bolt, fronts as mentioned above (I own)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any larger paintball. Largest you can find for cold weather.
Strengths: Length?
Range
Weaknesses: Consistancy
Ease of cleaning
Noise
Review: Used extensively in a scenario today. The balls were a bit small, but this can be a strength due to the fact that balls are not meant to be "snug" for this to operate.

Consistency was a problem, range was not. This barrel is optimal for long fields or someone looking to be able to shoot cross-field (rectangular fields). This barrel allowed me to eliminate people not by its accuracy so much as other players' assumptions that they were out of range. They were not threatened and it cost them.

While there is nothing quiet about the bellow this thing lets out, I suppose it has to sound quieter to someone as far away as your long shots...

The cleaning is as another reviewer noted, needing to be cleaned backwards to keep paint out of the ramp.

While the size of the barrel head is large, this barrel is very short. This typically allows you to shoot from cover without exposing your barrel from left to right. From the front, your hopper is many times larger than the barrel tip so I would not count the dimensions of this barrel as a strength or weakness.

If this were going to be a person's only barrel for woods-ball, speed-ball, and scenarios, I would rate it a 7 of 10. That being said, that rating comes from a 10 in range and paint pickiness, 5 in consistency, 4 in price, and 5 in efficiency (air and paint required for an elimination).

In situations with wide open terrain, minimal obstacles over 3 feet besides bunkers, and enough length of field to play with it, I give this barrel a 9. It will consistently outperform any of the barrels I own listed above.

That being said, if you have the sitation to take advantage, enjoy it. Overall it should not exceed an 8 IMO.
Conclusion: Buy it for long open fields with minimal brush in your flight path. Buy it for paint compatability.

I will edit this review come spring when I get a chance to test it in warm weather with larger paint.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Paint Eater 2 Tuesday, October 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Other similar product that I used was a flatline.
Marker Setup: 98 custom, sealed bolt system, 14'' J and J barrel, Z-drop, rear velocity adjuster, double trigger, lapco strait feed neck, scope, and a compressed air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
High quality paint
Strengths: -Shoot around bunkers and trees
-Shoot farther
Weaknesses: -Loud
-Tricky to handle at first
Review: The apex barrel is a very different barrel. New technology has allowed us to manipulate the path of a paintball. It is amazing what we can do today. The barrel is great if your a more of a back player. If your a front player you don't have the time to adjust the barrel without getting shot. The barrel has eight different levels. the higher the level the more the paint ball curves. This barrel did break several balls on me though. When the balls broke it did little to the path of the balls. To clean the barrel it's best to have a dye fuzzy stick with you. I overall like this barrel. If you have the chance, test it for your self. It's better to find out if you don't like the barrel before you buy it.
I give it a 8.5 out of 10

Conclusion: Buy the barrel if your a back player and if you don't care about stealth because this barrel is loud.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

lumberdog Sunday, November 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: A-5 with flatline, E-girp, car colapsable stock, red dot
backup gun is a custom pro with a Apex barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I find the Apex not as picky as the Flatline with balls
Strengths: Versatility, and ease of use
Weaknesses: The Key part of the barrel is plastic.
Review: I was excited to try my new barrel and in testing sessions it more or less lived up to expectations. After testing it a few times under ideal conditions I even considerd geting one for my A5 instead of my Flatline.
Then came the real test, under fire. The barrel didnt fair as well during play, while it did not do badly its features are more of a gimmick that a practical piece of hardware. While it will shoot long distance I find that the Flatline has a much flater tragectory.
The bending shots feature does work, but in woodsball if you are not in a fairly open area to hook shots, there is just to bush and trees to effectively use this function. The only advantage that actually came into play over my flatline was the drop shot over bunker or downed trees when you had someone pinned down, then it was very effective.
I clean my gun after every use, but i went out one day and went to slide the setting switch on my Apex and it got stuck at the max setting. I took it apart and found that the switch slides on two thin metal rails that got rusty after one time out, I live in a very damp and wet rainforest. But a little lube on there and it was as good as new.
Conclusion: While I was not unhappy with this barrel it was not the holy grail etheir.
If you have fairly open area you will probably get more use of the functions and might be very happy with it. With woodsball on Vancouver Island where I play the majority of the features have very little practical use because of the dense forest. More open area I might take a Apex over a flatline, maybee, but in dense area Flatline is still king
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sp!n Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 06 Sp Ion
CP Sling Trigger
CP On/Off
Trinity T-Lock feedneck
PMI 72/3000
Soon To Come:TechT L7 or Firebolt, APE Rampage board, negative ion body, hybrid grips, CP Reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used WGP Addiction and i didnt chop at all only at the end of the day when my detents f***ed up so i had breach chops.. :(
Strengths: Accuracy
Range
Adjustable Levels
Curve and Drop Shots
This barrel owns so much!
Weaknesses: None at ALL!
Review: OK, I got this barrel for christmas, as a gift from my parents. I opened it up and was fooling around with the levels and left hook and right hook and what not. I couldnt wait to get air and try it out. I didnt get up getting air but I went to a local paintball field and tried it out. I slapped this beast on my ion and proceeded to rip in semi and a target. The balls werent going anywhere and I chronoed and i was shooting 100fps. I laughed and turned it up to 260fps and then I was hitting a 5 inch by 5 inch target every time from about 50 feet away. There was only about a 2 inch spread and this was on level 3 I believe. I went into the woods and started shooting around and on level 7-8 the ball literally floats to the target with speed. Its not a slow float, if thats what your thinking. So then I used this in a game and got about 3 ppl out without having to hide behind a bunker because they couldnt hit me. They were asking me about my barrel afterwards and it felt good to have owned them and have people envy me. After a day of ownage I followed the fearpaintball.net Apex maintenance video, cleaned the Apex within 5 minutes and was onto my other gear. Apex is by far the best barrel I have ever used, it outshoots flatlines, pepperstickz, freak, Dye UL and Boomstick and many other barrels I have used in the past.
Conclusion: Only 80 on actionvillage.com
So accurate
Such a good range
So adjustable
Sturdy, its a f***ing tank!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media