paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
4d5e6f Tuesday, February 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Teardrop barrel (more accurate), friend's A-5 with flatline (worse), stock barrel (worse)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
14" Stiffi barrel (.691 bore)
Maddmann Spring Kit
Tippmann Double Trigger
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
Lapco Front Grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
Preferably good paint, thick shelled
Strengths: Dive bomb worked, not hard to clean if you have water
Weaknesses: Plastic; barrel uses rubber pad for backspin that scratches from balls popping, poor accuracy; loud
Review: I got this barrel about a week ago, and decided to test it out now. I bought a case of DBX Practice Grade Paintballs, and go down to where we usually play. I aim the gun at some tires about 70-80 feet away, move the range dial thing to 4 or 5, and it ends up taking me about 15 well aimed shots to hit the tires, the barrel is so innaccurate. After playing around with it a little, a crapload of balls start breaking, until about 1 out of 5 balls DOESN'T break. Now this barrel is supposed to perform well even with breaks in the barrel. I tried running my finger inside the barrel along the rubber pad, and discovered it was scratched up. When I got home, I rinsed the barrel out with some warm tap water and it cleaned out easily.

*edit* - See Below
Conclusion: Even before the pad got ripped up, the accuracy and range of the barrel was way, way worse than what I expected, terrible compared to my friend's teardrop.

*edit*
Okay, I finally gave this barrel another test out on a warmer day. The curves weren't as good as I hoped, the distance wasn't special, and the accuracy was bad. And all the stuff you hear about it cleaning itself isn't true, when a ball pops, it coats the coarse rubber pad so you get far less backspin. This thing is definetly NOT worth $120-130! Get a stiffi instead (I found one for $100).
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 30th, 2006 at 5:26 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

fernando8877 Monday, January 29th, 2007
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline from Tippmann.
Marker Setup: Since my other 98c got stolen, I've gotten a newer version. as of the moment, I have a 98c pro with a Bossman m-16 mag kit & t6 m4 stock & m-16 carry handle. i'm running a 72/ 3000 tank & eggy 2 hopper.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Don't use any kind of cheap paint. It'll chop the cheap stuff. Use the mid-grade and up type of paint.
Strengths: The looks of it. everyone on the field knows what it is.
Weaknesses: The whole thing in general. Ball chopping, can't shot straight, and can easily brake.
Review: When i first got the barrel, from ebay of course. I wasn't going to pay full price for it. I used it with mid-grade paint (x-ball) and it worked okay shooting straight. But, then i started trying to change angles. You can tell that this thing is a fake. You can not shoot those angles like it says on there web site. It will curve, but nothing like in there ads.
Conclusion: I wouldn't recommmend this barrel to anyone. If you have a Tippmann, I'd go with a flatline or go with a longer barrel.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

InvertedApex Wednesday, March 24th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Invert Mini (Stock)
Apex Barrel
Lapco Barrel adapter
68/4500 Ninja Tank
Dye Cover
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far every kind of paint works well with this barrel. Really!
Strengths: Accuracy
Distance
Divebomb
Curve
Weaknesses: Learning curve
Review: It does so much where to start......... First the curve ball gives a big advantage when playing woods-ball. You will find you like working the balls around corners, and making shots your opponent can't and won't understand. The dive bomb feature is unreal, works better than I can explain. Played a few bunker scenario's and this barrel puts it right on top of them. (Best advantage overall)! No one stands a chance shooting straight against a barrel that can drop it right in your face. Finally the flatline feature shots the ball longer and straighter than the Tippmann Flatline. I mean unheard of distance combined with accuracy. This barrel rocks!
Conclusion: I only paid $35.00 for this barrel and it was the best upgrade I could have added to my mini! Go and get you one at this price.........................
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Agent Edmunds Wednesday, February 4th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 w/ Response Trigger
BT Apex Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Nelson Anarchy
Strengths: Adjustable distance
Accurate while it lasts
Intimidating look
Weaknesses: Not built to last
Review: I bought this barrel nearly 2 years ago, but I've only used it in fewer than 5 games. Yet, in spite of such light use, I'm already trying to figure out which barrel I'm going to replace it with.

Up until a few days ago (when I played my most recent game), I was in love with this barrel, and I wouldn't have hesitated to give it a perfect 10. It shoots farther than any other barrel I'm aware of, and to sweeten the deal, you can adjust the distance for your playing conditions. It was always a very accurate barrel, and I'm constantly getting questions from both newbies and seasoned players alike about what's on the tip.

Having said that, I won't be enjoying my BT Apex barrel for much longer. The adjustable part in the tip that allows you to crank up/down the distance is made out of rubber, and after fewer than 5 games, I've already got a small crater in the rubber from the paintballs rubbing against it on their way out. That isn't even the worst part, though- the rubber piece is held in place by a thin metal wire, and over time, it's been losing its shape. It's not so bad when I've dialed the barrel in for close range, but the more I crank it up, the more the rubber piece slants to one side, causing the balls to fire off-center. I think I can get another game out of the barrel before it's too inaccurate to use; I'm not sure about 2 or more games, though. Taking the barrel apart to reposition the rubber fixes the problem, but VERY temporarily. And you'd better not mess with the dial after you do fix it, or you'll instantly be firing crooked again.
Conclusion: If you're a rich guy who can afford to replace his barrel every 5 games, I can't recommend this thing highly enough. Otherwise, stay away.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LayLowMr1 Saturday, January 3rd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: MR1
Apex Barrel
VL200 YEAYEA
Trinity t-lock
Doglegged stock MR1 buttstock
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything at all right down to the cheap and nasty Chinese made.
Strengths: Can Curve Paintballs!!
Strong Build
Extremely easy to use
Very Accurate
Allot of Fun
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I brought this second hand and as soon as it arrived it was straight on my mr1 for sum test shots. i quickly learnt how to use its features and i was curving paint around trees in no time at all. i have used it a couple of times in recreational battles and it was allot of fun. So far i have only used cheap Chinese paint through it but it does not mind.
Conclusion: If you want a great barrel that will make your mates jealous get this and you will not regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wolftune Monday, August 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann A5 flatline
Tippmann A5 14" JJ Ceramic
Tippmann A5 stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5 with BT folding stock, raised sight, offset hopper, drop forward, Apex Barrel
Autococker Pump with folding stock, drop forward, and scope
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far so good with all of them. Used Blaze, Draxxus Rec., and Triumph
Strengths: Fairly accurate at both short and long shots
Adjustable
Good Price
Weaknesses: Hard to use with sights
Adjustable piece can move accidentally
Review: I've been using the A5 for about 6 months, mostly with a JJ Ceramic barrel. While the JJ is solid, I was craving the ability to shoot straight shots through our regular woods spot, which has lots of hanging branches and bushes. I was worried that the Apex might be just a gimmick, but I was able to get it for a good deal and thought I'd give it a shot.

After testing the BT Apex in my yard and then during two long days of woodsball, here are my thoughts:

Accuracy:
I have to say this barrel is pretty accurate using the flatline setting. Shooting at a narrow metal fencepost from 50 ft., I was able to hit it at least two in ten times and the rest were within a few inches. While this doesn't sound amazing, I would say that 9 in 10 would have hit a body from that distance. However, what impressed me was how accurate it was at longer shots. The paintballs fly true and straight from the 3 - 6 settings on the adjustable piece at the end of the barrel. I was playing with two other guys with flatlines, and they both agreed, reluctantly, that the Apex was shooting slightly more accurate than their flatlines, especially in that middle to long distance. Compared to my autococker pump, it is less accurate until about 50-60 ft. Then, the ability to shoot straight shots without the parabola (falling ball) makes it about as accurate and much more versatile (a net gain in the ability to hit people from far away) than the pump (love the pump, by the way).

I heard that the actual barrel part of the Apex is pretty crappy, but with the setting on 1 (basically, unadjusted for spin), it shot ok. Definitely better than the stock barrel, though that is not saying much.

Sighting
This is a weakness of the barrel. Basically, my first shot was always somewhat of a tester shot. Because the paintball comes out of the barrel at a downward angle (if you're using the flatline setting), it drops before straightening out. It's fairly difficult to use the sight unless you are able to calibrate it. However, it's pretty easy to dial it in by the second or third shot. Also, I was much better at naturally compensating by the end of the second day. This will probably improve with time.

Consistency
This barrel is fairly consistent. I'd say one in 6 will fly away a bit to the left or right, but this is probably a function of paint as much as anything else (a few of my paintballs were dimpled).

Adjustability
Because of the ability to rotate the barrel end, if your balls are flying to one side, you can quickly compensate. If the wind is blowing fairly hard from one direction, you can compensate. If you're only looking for a bit of backspin, you can adjust it accordingly. If you're using bad paint, then the flatline setting may help or hinder, so you adjust accordingly. Finally, if you happen to be in a situation where you need to have the paintballs drop over a bunker, etc., you can do that. However, I didn't find that I ever used this function.

Durability
Well, it seems well made, but I can't really comment on how it will hold up. I did notice that the end can rotate during play if you go slamming through a bush or crawling along the ground. It doesn't rotate easily, though, so this shouldn't be a problem most of the time.

UPDATE 4/09
I now use an Apex tip on a Palmers Brass Barrel for my pump. It works very well in this setup. Basically, when my Apex tip is set to 0, I'm using the Brass. I use this for most situations. However, when I need a straight shot through bushes or longer distance shots (over 70 feet), I can ramp up the Apex. I usually only use it at 4 or 5 max.

For those looking to put the tip on their upgraded barrels, I would highly recommend it.
Conclusion: So is this barrel all hype? No. It works really well and I'm very happy with it. It's pretty accurate, shoots really far and straight if you need it to, and seems well built. However, know that the ability to curve around trees or over bunkers, while cool to mess with, won't really help you in woodsball, at least. For the price, it's well worth the buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 14th, 2009 at 3:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tuflehundon Thursday, December 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Flatlines on 98C and A5
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
BT Apex Barrel
Maddog Fire tube & Delrin Starfire Bolt
E-Grip
Cyclone Feed System w/ Virtex Mod
Rocket Cock 2
M-4 C allapsable Stock
JT Tactical Remote
Uncle Mike's Tactical M-4 3 point sling
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any I used Draxxus, PMI's, and even some cheap Brass Eagle paint and never had a problem.
Strengths: Distance, Distance, Distance.

And the ability to do the trick shots is nice.
Weaknesses: Very Loud, won't fit with many shrouds.
Review: Most people wanted to know what the heck I had in my marker when I first showed up on the field. After the first game I was that A@@@@le with that bad A@@ barrel. I love this barrel. I could out distance even the guys with Flatlines. I have sold my flatline since I got this because it's pointless now.

Accuracy: Not bad for the stock barrel on the 0 setting. But fixed that by attaching it to a differant barrel. You can do a getto mod with tape, or several companies now make an addapter.

Range: This was much better than the Flatline, I also like that it can be dialed in, Super Flatline setting 8 isn't very usefull unless you can stand in the open, because the ball drops a couple of feet just after it leaves the barrel.

Curve / Drop: This takes a lot of getting used to, and I don't use it that often. But when I do it's very usefull and no other barrel can match it in this aspect.

Plastic Tip: I've heard a lot of people complain about the plastic tip and how they think it won't be durable enouph. Gum manufacturers like Glock, Springfield, and many others use plastic in firearms that are used every day in real combat in Iraq. If my handgun with plastic parts can survive Iraq, I'm not to worried about plastic on a paintball marker.

Downsides: This barrel is really loud. Everyone knows were you are when you fire this one. It can be intimadating to though, as people who can't see you won't be able to tell how far away you are.

It also takes a little getting used to. Go out and fire a box or so before you use it in a game.

Stock barrel is OK at best, it's better that the original barrel that came with the 98, but I would like to see a better barrel back for it.
Conclusion: I would recomend this for a woodsballer. Especially if you play a back position like heavy Rifle. You can keep heads down so your teamates can advance, and unless the other team has an Apex as well, you don't have to worry about getting hit.

I would not recommend this for a speed baller, you aren't far enouph away from each other to see the benifits.

I would like to see BT put a better barrel on this, maybe as an upgrade?

I am giving this barrel a 9 out of 10, because it is an obvious progression from the Flatline, but it could still be improved a little.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kwak113 Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
ACI Zero Gravity
Spyder Stock Barrel
PMI Razzor
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
Halo TSA
Lapco adj. feedneck
ACS delrin bolt
delrin striker
32deg universal drop forward
48/3000 PMI HPA
Check It sweet spot trigger
32deg low pressure volumizer
Spyder Spring Kit
ACI Zero Gravity Combo barrel

Recommended
Paintballs:
just make sure they are clean.
I used premiums, scorch, and my favorite, Monster!!!!!
Strengths: CHEAP (and I'm not talking about money)
Accurate enough
Weaknesses: Too sensitive to velocity.
Review: This barrel gets more attention than angels and timmies on the field. I have flatline curved balls to go up and drop on TOP of a person hiding behind a bunker. I have hit them from the side while they were hiding. it REALLY does work. The only problem is finding that right velocity. It takes a while. Even monster balls were great with it. Also, playing games in longer fields was the best with this.

The barrel is not accurate. It is just cheap. I can be accurate within a torso size diameter from 70 feet away, which is not bad at all, but it can make balls fly wildly. This is rather rare. If you chop a ball, CLEAN the barrel. It HATES to be dirty, especially if you are a flatline freak as me. This ball added so much distance it made jaws drop.
Conclusion: I can see why it is illegal in tourney rules now.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scottahicks Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Freak, J&J Ceramics
Marker Setup: BT-4 Assault with BT-16 Apex Barrel, Egg Hopper, 47ci 3000psi
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any, I have used everything from house cheap paint to ProBall trounament Everything works great havent had a break yet.
Strengths: No Breaks, Distance, Control, DIVE BOMB!
Weaknesses: None Found
Review: Ben Tippman is a genius!!! this barrel is the greatest innovation since compressed air tanks!... the barrel dosent care what paint you put through it, house pain, tourney paint it all works great. I was playing this past weekend and two guys were in a foxhole, 6 of ous were firing at them but due to the angle no one could hit them, so I turned up the ramp and twisted the tip over and BAM!!!!!! the dive bombing began. it took me a couple shots to figure out my ranging but then I was slamming paint on top of the two guys heads. when we got back to the rest area they just had to go play with my marker. the could not belive what I had done to them. they said "I saw the balls start hitting the dirt in front of us and then all the sudden my head was on fire! I knew it was all over. I have never seen anything like it!" needless to say the two guys that got hit want the apex barrels now. It does take a little getting used to playing with the settings but there is so much you can do with this barrel and the way it is designed no paint breaks inside the barrel. APEX ROCKS!!!!!!!
Conclusion: BUY AN APEX!!!! I was sick of getting hit by the flatlines now they are running from me!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mArBiLiZa Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, NOT AS GOOD
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 w/ RT
Apex Barrel
68/4000 crossfire HPA system
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive used marbalizers, brass eagle monster balls, wild streak, and some cheap 32 degrees paint. I haven't had one ball break yet.
Strengths: - Accuracy
- 5 "modes" of shooting
- Very easy to install (compared to flatline)
- No breaks
- Looks
Weaknesses: - Loud (not too much of a weakness)
Review: I got this barrel for christmas with my A-5. It is a GREAT barrel and it is much better than the flatline. It is not paint picky, it is more accurate, it shoots farther. Ive shot on all "modes," the best is just low and long. (about 175 yds). It is amazing how much the ball curves out of the barrel on the dive bomb and curve modes. In my first game playing with it, i had an opponent hiding behind a giant tree stump. I just put the curve level up to "level 5" and twisted the front of the barrel to dive bomb and the ball just dove down right over the stump and hit him. This barrel is shweet.
Conclusion: This barrel is an amazing barrel for woodsball, BUY IT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media