paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Kenny007 Monday, October 24th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees 14" barrel -Does well
Marker Setup: A-5
14" 32 Degrees Carbon Fiber Barrel
Tasco Reddot sight
Collapsable M4 Stock
Remote
4+1 Harness
Response Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have no idea...I shoot mostly Marbleizers
Strengths: Unknown as of yet
Weaknesses: Lack of manual/guide for such a complex barrel
Review: After seeing the number of great reviews for this barrel...essentially the next gen of flatline...I finally caved in and bought one, as I had been eyeing flatlines for some time. I took it out and examined it, and, with a little help from BT's website, figured out its general fuctions. I took it out to play with it at my college's 2nd event at EMR and was sad to find it perform poorly. I could see its attempts to curve the ball, and divebomb it...but what i bought the barrel for was long flat shots, as I am the marksman/sniper of the team. Flatline mode, regardless of the switch setting it was on, would just plummet into the ground, rather than recover from the initial drop i had read about. I have not chalked this barrel up as a loss yet tho, I'm hoping I find some help on how to use it properly, as I am no doubt sure that those others who gave the barrel a good review werent kidding. Maybe I need to turn the air up or down? I really dont know. I will edit this post once I come to a final conclusion...but as of right now I'm yearning for help in order to get the barrel successfully up and running...
Conclusion: Hoping it just takes some time to hash out its qualities
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment

Nomahsib Saturday, November 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Just normal one and two piece barrels
Marker Setup: Freak green Smart Parts Ion ^_^ - Q-lock neck, 360 QEV, CP sling blade trigger, Smart Parts dropforward with On/Off ASA, 2007 Powerlyte Scepter Barrel kit, Viewloader Evlution 2, and a 48/3,000
Recommended
Paintballs:
I don't really know, I was using Nelson Precision and it seemed fine
Strengths: Fun
Weaknesses: Not accurate
LOUD
Review: So today my friend had a bunch of gear he was selling and in it was this Apex barrel. I was interested in it so he let me try it out for a few games. Truly, I wasn't expecting much accuracy and that was pretty much true. At the same time though I could stand and shoot from about 150 feet away without moving and hit tons of people. The only problem was at that distance that not all the balls were breaking, but I was getting a lot of people ducking! :) I use an Ion and it's not really loud, but when I put this barrel on it I thought I was shooting an A-5.
Conclusion: I would not recommend buying this barrel. It is very fun and I had a blast, but I wouldn't use it for anything other than dinking around.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

keithcleghorn Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 19 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: tippmann a-5
flatline
exp. chamber
butt stock
32 degrees remote coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
none, this barrel is over rated.
Strengths: Increased range
cool suppersor look
Weaknesses: See review
Review: Please take this review seriously... I am speaking the truth.

this barrel is the biggest waste of money ever. the only thing the apex lived up to was the increased distance. That is only good if you just want to long ball people all day.

The accuracy of this barrel is almost the worst i have seen, at the maximum setting you cant even accuratly hit large tree's from distances that a flatline could easily hit, And in the sport of paintball ACCURACY is very very important.
Conclusion: Stick with a flat-line, it will be worth it in the long run
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Andr3w Sunday, July 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline-comes close in range but doesnt have the accuracy or versatility of the apex.
In my early years, extreme rage razor barrel-didnt come close to the apex.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Pro Platinum
Army style adjustable stock
Palmer reg.
Apex Barrel
Swattech Red/Green dot scope 1x mag.
digi-camo paintjob
drop-forward
double trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any but remember, better paintballs are better paintballs.
Strengths: Accurate
Versatile
VERY long range
Weaknesses: Cosmeticly, it looks unintimidating
Takes alot of getting used to
somewhat complecated
Review: I just bought this barrel a while ago and wow. I really dont think anything compares in terms of what you can do with this barrel. it is truly a solution to almost any problem in the field. Use it with the right gear, and you will play like god on the paintball field.
Conclusion: Buy it if you want to have good range, accuracy and once again, versatility.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 20th, 2008 at 11:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tonner68 Saturday, July 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Maybe a flatline, but they cant compare to these barrels.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro Carbine, Vertical adapter, B2K expansion chamber, JCS Voodoo folding Stock, Apex barrel, lightened trigger pull.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will shoot great from these barrels.(unlike the flatlines, you could shoot marbles and they would still chop)
Strengths: Shoots farther than flatline, not picky on paint, the curves kill people.
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: This barrel is the best thing I have ever used. The flatline can't keep up with these. You can add as little or as much spin on the ball as you want with the flick of a switch. you can launch long shots that curve just a little to get someone out from behind a tree. you can divebomb people hiding behind stumps or bunkers. Or for close range you can turn all effects off and use the barrel just as a standard barrel which is also more accurate than the stock barrel on my pro-carbine. Everything about this barrel is great, I would say that there is nothing this barrel can't do, but nothing is perfect, I just haven't found that thing yet.
Conclusion: Go out and buy one, they are only $50 and can add a whole new level to your game. Plus you don't have to go broke trying to buy paint that will fit them. I give this barrel all the props in the world.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bvdave Friday, December 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing quite like it, EMpire Barrel kit, werks barrel.. none really compare..
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have been using the new Spank
Strengths: Amazing distance, curve shots kinda cool (but cheep)
Weaknesses: Ugly, easy for someone to shoot the tip of your barrel and make a mess
Review: This Barrel works amazing for distance. that is why I bought it and it is what pleases me about the barrel. the curveshots work but I wont comment on them much as I didnt use them in a game.. not very fair or sporting and very cheep... I dont like the features at all and wish they sold a version without them. I got this so I would not be at such a disadvantage when playing vvs people with a flatline.

I never got the flatline because I like being able to turn it off when Im not playing vs people with flatlines. a game isnt fun if it isnt fair and I dont really like to have such a huge advantage or its just shooting fish in a barrel.

On the last setting you need to aim the barrel up for it to go straight since the rrubber end pushes it down at an angle, works great however and I love the flat tragectory,

Works great if playing vs people with flatlines, if not use a barrel kit because the accuracy isnt that great, this barrel is meant for range.. not accuracy.


I find this barrel very ugly, the end is big and bulky but required, i fidn its a bit harder to aim the first shot with the bulge. also my first game with it I got shot in the front since its so muych bigger getting paint in the barrel causing my accuracy to go the way of the dodo.. only time i needed a squeegee however since it never shopped at all

also make sure u squeegee it the opposite of normal, start at the front and pull the paint through the threading so its not all over the rubber apex adapter.
Conclusion: works great against flatlines and other apex carriers, trick shots work well but I dont like them as its just not fair.. amazing distance and great flat tragectory, does what it clains!

only fiving a 9 due to poor regualr (turned off) accuracy,
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

m98sniper15 Thursday, August 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
16" tru-flight and 16" Progressive
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
16" trueflight barrel
Apex barrel
9,12 and 20 oz Co2 tanks
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything works, but I use Draxxas Dusk
Strengths: Curving ability
Range
Weaknesses: On level 7 and 8 the paintball dives right into the ground.
Review: I just bought the barrel and I tried it out. The curve affects were simply amazing, however on level 7 and 8 the paintball dives right into the ground. I have to lob the ball to stop the ball from diving into the ground. I don't know if I was doing something wrong or what??? On level 6 on down the range was astounding. This barrel rocks.
Conclusion: Buy this barrel you won't be disapointed
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Fox4baller98 Friday, August 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Apex Barrel
Pure Energy 48/3000 psi HPA
Cyclone feed
Response trigger
Double Trigger
Palmer In-Line Regulator
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI premium or anything
Strengths: Long Distance
Highly Accurate
Awesome Trick Shots
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: I have used this barrel for about 3 months and it has yet to break a ball. The adjustment feature on the top is great for selecting the distances at which you want to shot. You can shoot with zero flatline effect and its every accurate at short range. The only problem is its loud with the minimal porting which is only in the middle of the barrel. I would recommend this to anyone over the flatline because it is easier to clean and maintain on the feild and has more feature to keep you happy.
Conclusion: You want a highly versitile barrel with the ability to be able to shoot 200 yard and still break and be accuate. Or a barrel that can curve around or over bunkers will then you found it!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LastMaxim Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've test fired a Flatline before. I've also seen how tempermental the Flatline can be (I've seen the barrel 'turn' during use, and need to be re-adjusted, and also break balls on occasion, which meant taking it apart...both of which are no small feats to fix, especially when you'd rather be playing). The APEX seems just as accurate, if not more-so than the Flatline(s) I've seen in action...
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
DOP Pro-Seal power tube
DOP Rocket-Cock II
Palmers Female Stabilizer
Fighter-X Drop Foward
Dark Horizon Rear Lite Titanium Hammer
GTA Double Trigger (Sanded to Blade-style)
Cyclone Hopper
BT APEX Barrel
(Polished internals)
(various other homemade modifications)
Recommended
Paintballs:
I only used a mixture of older paintballs, left over from last season...anything from white box to much higher quality paint. As with any paint, the better the quality, the better it can be expected to perform. However, that being said, it seemed to perform quite well with anything I shot through it. The barrel seems to function quite well, even with a break...which happened a few times, considering the age of the paint I was using...
Strengths: Range, accuracy, and 'flat' tragectory...and it looks AWESOME on the marker!!
Weaknesses: None (so far, see below)
Review: I've been wanting one of these for a very long time. I finally managed to get my APEX about 2 weeks ago (they kept being 'sold out'), but only got to shoot it for the first time yesterday at the cottage.. In testing it, I used up a bag of older (mixed) paint (left over from last season). The paint quality ranged from various quality of white box to other various better quality paint (Chronic was probably he best in that bag) . I set up targets at 50 feet and at 100 feet, with the prevailing wind at my back. I know it could have gone much farther, but the wind was blowing rather strongly off the lake , and I knew I couldn't hit anything accurately past this distance.

First I tried the barrel without any back spin on it, just to get an idea of the difference in performance. The wind carried the paint almost to the farthest target, but I had to really arc the marker/paint upward to get it even that far. I then started firing on progressively higher settings....and I was impressed. I started noticing immediately the effect of the back spin on the balls. Suddenly it went from an arcing trajectory to a flat one. even with the wind blowing, the accuracy was fairly amazing. Even when a few of the more brittle balls broke in the barrel, after a couple of shots it was flying straight again.

I couldn't really get the barrel to 'hook' in the wind (the balls just carried on straight, with the strength of the wind at my back).

I'll hopefully get a chance to get out to the field this weekend, and test it under much better conditions...and on 'live targets' *grin*. I'll be sure to update this entry afterward.
Conclusion: This barrel does indeed live up to it's hped potential. It has better accuracy and distance than a standard barrel. It also has a flat tragectory when firing, so it's much easier to land shots on target, instead of having to worry about arcing for distance, etc. I'm giving this a 9 out of 10 for now, since I didn't get a chance to test out the 'hooking' functions of the barrel yet. But I can certainly say that this barrel will make my trips to the field a whole lot more interesting even if it didn't 'hook' around corners!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 28th, 2006 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pntballer786 Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have played around with my friend's flatline and the Apex can do the same thing exept it has more options.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c seclusion 3d edition, tippmann double trigger, Apex barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any paint works
Strengths: Super long shots.
Trick curve shots.
Any paint works.
Looks sweet.
Easy to adjust.
Weaknesses: Have to get used to it.
Review: When i first took this out to shoot, it didn't shoot like I expected it to. After shooting around alittle I found that it worked better than I thought it would. I am a woodsball player and after getting used to it i was able to curve the balls around trees and over logs. The super flat line feature worked great for those long shots and curving it under low pine trees. It is easy to adjust and takes just a second. This barrel will keep your opponents running for cover. This is a great product for all players.
Conclusion: This works great and I highly recommend this product to woodsball players
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media