paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Cormastar Friday, April 21st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman Flatline
Marker Setup: 2K2 Autococker,
Centerflag Uprising,
ANS Gen X II Reg.,
Phyco Balistics Drop Forward,
Dye 3 way,
Apex,
Free Flow Ram with QEVs,
Shocktech Front Block,
Madden Rocket Valve
Strengths: Shoots Further, Around Conners and Dive Bombs. Intimidating, Fully Adjustable Even On/Off
Weaknesses: Loud
Review: If you're hoping this will replace your Tippman flatline Don't bother buying it unless you're ready to try something new. For all those who gave it bad reviews because they thought this is a flatline barrel, no ware does it say it's a flatline, infact it calls the effect the "Longbow". Now to the barrel, it takes a bit of getting use to on the field but once you get comfortable with the way it works you can pull off some great shots. I haven't turned mine off yet most of the time I play with it on 4,5 or 6. Those settings give me that flat flying effect with that added range I love. I didn't try out the curve and dive bomb effects till I got use to it and then it's just having the situation come up where they can be used and it works great. I was able to use them both in the same game, hit one guy from behind a tree right in the side and the other guy from behind a stump right in the top of the head. Have had many other Apex hits as well.
Conclusion: If you're looking for something new changing the way your balls fly this is it. The time I knoticed it the most is when I switch back to my old barrel for a game. Great Barrel, works fine with my cheap paint. Not sure if the porting has anythig to do with the way it works but I think a better spread porting design would make it quieter. So I'll give it a 9.5 rounded to a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yz857 Thursday, April 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J and J ceramic, Flatline
Marker Setup: A-5, flatline, e-grip, stock, remote, hpa tank, and of course the evil paint
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil
Strengths: Greater Distance and Accuracy
Weaknesses: None
Review: Anytime spin is being put on a paintball the barrel seems to tend to find imperfections on the ball. So find the best paintballs and you will get the best results. Look into purchasing this barrel if you want to shoot extra far and be able to shoot around trees.
Conclusion: I would definetly recomend this to anyone playing woodsball.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballerKCMO Sunday, April 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
borrowed my brother-in-laws flatline 98
Marker Setup: WGP Orracle-e2
68/45 Pure energy
egg2 with z board
hmmerhead barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
big bore barrel so it doesn't matter
Strengths: It does what it says.
Weaknesses: Can make your gun an air hog
Review: I have an autococker orracle, I wanted to try this novelty of an idea. The accuracy is close enough that you can use this barrel to suppress someone back into his bunker. but its no where near ball on ball that my hammerhead does. accuracy improves when not using the flatline . . . some... but then whats the point if you're not going to use it for what its designed for.
I believe that the distance is the same if you used a regular barrel and aimed it higher, the problem with that is you cant tell where the balls are dropping. so its an advantage that you can watch the ball fly low to the target.

a big difference between this and the flatline- I've seen flatlines send their balls soaring up in the air uncontrollably or way off to the side, You won't see this with the apex.
Conclusion: I will keep this barrel for use in woods, the flat trajectory will help with the long distance shots that usually hit the branches in your flight path that elude your sight. I don't plan on using the trick shots(around the corners or shooting down) as much, its too much like cheating, but who knows what temptations may succumb to wooo-hooo-ahhh-haahh- haah (evil laugh)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DamnSteroids Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrels, 14 Terminator
Marker Setup: Rodeo, Apex or 14'' terminator, richochet ak, ofset rail with adco hotshot, jcs foldable stock, springs, supafly bolt, 72 3000 with remote line
Recommended
Paintballs:
almost any but i use rps bigballs or zap spank cause im cheap
Strengths: Range, range, range, intimidation, trick shots
Weaknesses: Rather costly but worth it
Review: so this barrel is actualy quite innovative unlike the barrels that all promise the
same thing. it can actaully increase your range alot, alot, but sacrifice accuracy
with the range increase you can really surprise people and catch them off gaurd
with ropes of shots. the accuracy of the barrel is questionable at short distances
with no spin put on the ball, comparable of that to a stock barrel. if anyone can even
get close enough to test that. the trick shots are rather fun but can be distracting
when under fire. if paint breaks in the barrel it doesn't really affect the performance
alot it is just hard to clean. i did take it apart to clean it and was fairly simple. in doing
this i realize what possibility contributes to the sometimes rather poor accuracy. the
barrel is has a really large bore. it needs this to spin the ball so without the bore
matched good the accuracy suffers says anyone who plays around with multipeice
barrels. IT IS NOT AT ALL HARD TO OPERATE THIS BARREL UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE UNLESS YOU HAVE MAJOR PROBLEMS WITH SIMPLE LOGIC. sorry for the caps lock i felt it was necessary after reading some other reviews
Conclusion: wont make you the best but it can help, worth it if you like to play around with
spin on the ball. personally I think it is brilliant but people will always come
up with reasons to bash it. good barrel not perfect nothing is
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippman man Saturday, August 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: tippman 98
apex barrel
eggy hoppper
BT folding stock
RT response trigger
a remote
dye sticky grip
Recommended
Paintballs:
i have used from the cheapest to the most exspensive and they all work OK but of course the more exspensive is usauly more accurate. and i have found that the winter paint which is heavier works great.
Strengths: Great distance
Looks cool
Drop shot is the greatest
Weaknesses: Inacurate with cheap paint.
Review: I love it and it almost never chops. i would recommend it for the woods ball players. if you llike the flatline youl love the apex. i use it all the time and cant get over it. if you can aford it get it youl love it as much as me.
Conclusion: All woodsball players should get this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lousyhunter Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: BT APEX Barrel, JT stock, 32 degrees remote, Viewloader gravity-fed hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxus maybe? I like the rainbow paint... AVOID ZAPS AT ALL COSTS!!!
Strengths: -As acurate as paintball gets
-Looks killer
-Light weight
-Shoots far
Weaknesses: -Doesn't curve shots like the diagram says
Review: Wow. I was impressed. Picked it up for the eighty bucks and was a bit worried that it might not live up to the reviews. However, IT DOES INDEED ROCK! Was set to 235 FPS and matched the distance of a flatline equiped a-5 set to 265 FPS on the 4th click setting. This barrel is great and pretty much worth it, though you can find a better deal out there I'm sure price wise. The distance is fantastic when you ramp it all the way up, but you loose acuracy quite a bit after about the 6th click. Keep it there and you'll be pleased the whole game through.

The curved shots don't do dick. Yes they will curve, but they won't go around corners so really, so don't even bother moving the barrel. It's great for acuracy and distance!
Conclusion: Great barrel, a flatline for spyder markers. I would certainly reccomend it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

viets Saturday, April 15th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline
Marker Setup: tippmann A5 with apex, combat stock, response trigger, cyclone feeder.. and i threw it on my 98 custom with a barrel adapter
Recommended
Paintballs:
its not too picky.. i bought walmart balls and was able to use them
Strengths: -Ok looking
-Scare the crap outta people
Weaknesses: -Not yet perfected
-Balls dont curve for me 99% of the time
-Waste of cash
Review: All right let me give you my personal experiences with this barrel.. Now ive been playing paintball since I can remember.. ive always had a passion for it and im always looking for new cool products to try. i saw this apex around last Christmas time.. i looked into it and thought i would give it a shot. for Christmas this was the biggest present i got, and i really wanted to try it out ASAP. i took it out into my backyard and the paint was breaking because it was too cold outside, so i had to wait till the end of winter to give it a real test run.. the first day it started shooting i thought it was pretty cool, but as i kept firing rounds, the paint stopped curving.. the dip shots werent working and even the normal shots didnt go nearly as far as my friends flatline. i was pretty pissed off to say the least.. but i kept it to try in a game. now normally my friends and i play about 3 games a day when we play.. and we have about 10 or 12 guys.. with my tippmann 98 custom i always racked up about 15-18 kills in the games.. when i played with the apex i got 2.. thats what really made me question the product.. i commend tippmann for the design and for the thought.. but they really need to work to make this barrel a little bit more like they say it is. when your under fire its really hard to figure out how to adjust the barrel with paint wizzing by your head.. i got charged 3 times and got hammered while i was trying to adjust it to normal.. id never lost a charge.. ever.. until then.. Now im in the process of returning my apex, or selling it, and im going to try to find another barrel for my A5 that works better
Conclusion: this is a great idea.. but its got a ways to go. For now, i wouldnt advise wasting your money when you could get a flatline or just another barrel for much cheaper.. beleive me, ive been playing for awhile and i know a great barrel when i use one.. not to discourage you from getting one if its really what you want, but i just wouldnt personally recommend it to anyone who likes to be in some hardcore woodsball matches
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

wpballer Saturday, January 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline
Marker Setup: Custom pro, J&J Ceramic Barrel, co2, vl 200
Recommended
Paintballs:
Higher end paintballs work the best but if you have to use the lower end paintballs,they work fine
Strengths: -Accuracy
-Distance
-Curves
Weaknesses: -None really
Review: This barrel is pretty good. The curve feature is wierd at first if you use it but it is easy to master. The range on this barrel is way better than the flatline and this barrel is more accurate too. This barrelis a good barrel for anyone and anyone should get it if they have the money and are looking for a excellent barrel.
Conclusion: Pretty good barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fenderdfs Tuesday, March 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 Flatline: More paint picky, Looks better.
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
J&J 14 inch ceramic w/ Apex Tip
cyclone feed system
Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
Used Big Ball, worked well. Still need to try different types of paint to find the best match.
Strengths: On/Off capabilities, Straight shot is good for woodsball
Weaknesses: Slows the ball down a little
Review: I am using the Apex Tip on my 12" J&J ceramic barrel. I bought it so that I could use my J&J still, because I love it! As well as have the flat distance of the Flatline players.

My friend has the A-5 Flatline which I felt was good at getting distance, however I still feel that the flatline falls a little weak in the accuracy department compared to the Apex.

The Apex of course has the eight settings that everyone already knows about. I found that I will use pretty much 4-6 for my style of play. It gives a nice straight shot with out arcing the ball. Anything more is pretty worthless unless you are just laying down cover fire. Don't expect to hit much though on the higher settings.

I have the Apex attached to my J&J with the tape mod! I have it fixed so that I don't have mess with it moving on me. I didn't buy the tip for the curve shots or the dive bombs. I bought it to give me some alternatives to fighting with low branches in the woods. I didn't even try out these effects due to this reason so I can't comment on those.

My J&J has always made my gun extremely quiet, however now with the apex on there I was completely amazed at how quiet it has become. Even one of my buddies couldn't believe the lower level of sound.

I used big balls to test it out and found that at approximately 50 yards I could lay down a 3 foot grouping. That was on levels 5-6. I felt that with the higher levels you had to arc the gun to an extreme.

After using both the flatline and the apex, i have to say that I am happy with my purchase. I relish in the fact that I can use it when i want and turn it off when I just want to use my J&J. I would also like to point out the fact that the apex has absolutly no affect when it is off. Some people had stated that they didn't think there barrels were as accurate when it was off then when they didn't have the apex on the tip at all. I found no difference between the two.

I feel that the combo of the two has made my marker great for my style of play.
Conclusion: I feel that if you are looking to have the capablities to shoot further in the woods under tree branches and are willing to spend the money, go for it. If you are looking for an answer to sucking at paintball and feel this is going to give you a huge edge over the enemy then don't buy this. What this does do is give you some options, what it doesn't do is give you tactics.

Some reviews have stated that this thing shoots 75-100 yards,,, I found that if you put enough arc on it yeah maybe you can do that, however by the time the ball is hitting the target a few snails may have passed it.

Over all I test it out and see if you like it. It may not fit everyone's style of play and may work perfectly for others, It works for me!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PF_Nut Thursday, January 11th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None really, used a flatline on an A5 a few times
Marker Setup: Palmer Blazer
Female stabilizer mounted just below the handle
Black hard coated 12" spiral vented barrel
45 frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any large paint
Strengths: Long range
Can twist it for a dive bomb shot
Weaknesses: Stock barrel sucks
Review: The stock barrel on this setup is awful, in today's world of paintball the paint is pretty small. I would never use anything bigger than a 688 ID barrel and most of the time I'm pulling out my 685 palmer brass barrel (yes they do come in different sizes now). I bought the apex with the intention of taking the apex tip and attaching it to my brass barrel which has awesome accuracy. I played with a guy who just used the stock apex barrel w/apex tip and he had problems with paint rolling out of his barrel and poor accuracy as his velocity went up and down like crazy. I you own a closed bolt marker dont even try this barrel, it wont work.

One really weird thing about this setup is the way you have to hold your gun, since the tip deflects the ball downwards you'll have to tip your gun back 15 - 20 degrees to get it to shoot across the field. And you cant tilt your gun to one side speedball style and shoot or it'll cause the ball to curve. So you have to be really consistent, holding the gun straight and tipped back 20 degrees. Hope that makes sense ! After a little while it's not hard to get at all and it's nice in that you always tip the gun the same no matter if your shooting at a guy 30 feet away or 150 feet away, making it easier to get used too.

But as I said I put the tip on my brass barrel and it worked very well! I was hitting people at 150' and beyond. I really wanted it for the flat trajectory, at medium settings the thing shot very flat and long. With it cranked all the way up I found it too hard to control and my accuracy was poor as the shot dips down 5 feet then slowly creeps back up as it flys down range, very weird.

So I'll concentrate on reviewing it using 5 clicks (total of 8 available, this is about equal to a flatline's range on this setting). For the first part of the day using my .685 ID brass barrel I was getting some respectable accuracy at ranges where traditional guns couldnt reach me even from elevated positions. I was firing at a guy who was in a 10' tower, I was getting shots around him and none of his were coming close. At those ranges the balls do slow down so if the opponent is aware they can easily dodge the paint unless they're just plain slow. So I didnt end up taking this player out but I kept him down while my team mates ran up there and took the tower! In cases where there was a lot going on in the game and the players werent really paying attention I was hitting people at 100 - 150' and the paint was breaking. To give an example of the accuracy at those ranges one guy was behind a small tree so 1/3 of his side was sticking out, after 5 shots two hit resulting in breaks. I dont think that's too bad at long range! I wouldnt have been able to hit him with a standard barrel as aiming up to lob the paint down range was impossible, tree branches would have stopped that. Another situation a guy was probably 150' away again and not even looking my way as he thought there was no reason to worry at such a long range. When he looked away I popped of 3 rounds and ended up hitting him in the back of the head!

It's a great product but dont expect miracles, we are still firing round fluid filled balls and putting a spin on them slowing them down makes them more vulnerable to wind. Gusts of wind that wouldnt really do much to a standard shot will take an apex shot and push it 15' away. So you really do have to fire in bursts IMO to be sure one will make it's way to the target.
Conclusion: I wouldnt recommend getting this unless your prepared to stick it on another barrel. The stock apex barrel sucks! The apex tip is really cool though, put it on another barrel and you have an awesome combination! So I give it a 7 because the barrel it comes with is completely worthless.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media