paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System / BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount BT Paintball Design

Buy BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 168
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Apex Barrel system is redefining how the game is played. With unmatched distance along with accuracy you will be able to hit more targets then before.

Features:

On/Off capability
Hit previously untouchable targets with new curve feature.
Adjustable ramp switch - choose the desired level of the curve.
Left hook, right hook, drop shot and long flat trajectory shots with a twist of the barrel.
Easy to " Dial in " targets and change the level of curve.
Easy to clean

Compatible models - Fits all popular barrel threads including:

BT-4/ BT-16
Tippmann A-5/ Tippmann 98
Intimidator/Autococker
Spyder/Mongoose
/VL/BE Impulse
Angel
Product Availability 
The BT Paintball Design Apex Barrel System is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Badlands Saturday, July 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i shot a friends flatline once
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
E-Grip
JCS Duel Trigger
JCS Combat Stock and RVA
Special Ops MP5 SD Handguard
32 Degrees Remote Line
Recommended
Paintballs:
i used marballizers and they worked great
Strengths: Short, not nearly as loud as a flatline, accurate
Weaknesses: It has a big tip, so you cant stick it everywhere you want to
Review: I saw this for 80 bucks in a surplus store so i bought it and it is awesome. it has way more range than a flatline and it is very accurate. i used it today in a pickup game when i was shooting marbs. i laid down long-range surpressive fire, short-range accurate fire, i gogged a guy in one shot at 20 yards on setting 4, and i even tried some trick shots, but i hadnt dialed in the necessary distance yet. it is much quieter than a flatline and it works with my SP Mp5 SD handguard so that makes me very happy. i also didnt break one ball, but they were marbs, but they all broke on my opponets and their cover.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this barrel because it has greater range than the flatline, greater accuracy than the flatline and many other barrels of equal and lesser price, it is only about 10 inches long when it is attached to your marker, it is not overly loud, and it didn't break any balls or my wallet. I give it a 10 because it might not be the most accurate barrel, but it is the best overall barrel i have ever seen.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xyrian Monday, May 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
FLATLINE and STOCK BARRELL
Marker Setup: TIPPMANN 98 CUSTOM, 5 point stock, CYCLONE FEED SYSTEM, APEX BARREL, and MANY CUSTOM external and internal body modifications.
Recommended
Paintballs:
ANY BRAND
ANY GRADE.
Strengths: ABSOLUTELY NOT PAINT PICKY
360* 8point ADJUSTABLE POSITIONS
DISTANCE
CURVE SHOTS
DIVE SHOTS

Weaknesses: Expensive
Accuracy
Review: I'll keep this short and simple. But let me tell you the machanics of this barrel first. It has an 8 point firing position slide switch. This switch when moved up or down clicks and locks in to a position. Starting at position one or...(when the switch is in the furthest position away from the tip of your barrel...this position is gives you the range of you basic stock barrel...about 130-150ft. As you move the the switch forward one notch or click towards the tip of you barrel there is a tongue that begins to press down witch i puts a curve in your barrel much like how the flaline is a curved barrel. So as you contiue to slide the switch forward through the range of positionse the tongue inside the barrel puts more and more of curve on the exiting ball. Now the muzzle on your barrel also spins 360* in iether direction. So to get any good curving effect ...you choose the upper 4 through 8 positions and adjust the muzzle to the left or right to swing your shots...turn you muzzle upside down to get your dive bombs and turn the muzzle upright to get your long shots
I have done an extensive test with the Apex barrel and with a marker consistently chroned at 275fps. I've measured distances at all 8 point firing positions and I have pretty well mastered the 360* positionin firing range. Position 1 & 2 are pretty standard barrelish. 3-5 get you good straight distances in the upright position. Not very good positions for curving though 6 & 7 give you descent curves but not a great dive bomb. 6 is good for a long fairly accurate shot....8 great for shooting around corners and is especially great for dive bombs. 8 or super flatline gives you an incredibly long shot but with allmost all long shots...accuracy declines greatly. anywhere from a 1 ft to 3 ft loss of accuracy. In position 8 I've been consistently reaching between 250' and 275' at 275fps.
Conclusion: Well sorry for not making it shorter. My conclusion on this barrel is that I think its great for both woods ball and tourney style play. I have used it on several weekends playing both woods and on airball fields. I love using it on air ball fields. At the starting break of a game i slap it in #6 and spray em running to bunkers...good reach. And then when people are in the shorter bunkers #8 in the upside down position provides a great dive bomb. As far as curve shots go though, I find they not much help in the air ball fields except for shooting at people in a snake. The curve doesn't rap around very tightly...it's more of a long swing. rather than a sharp curve. I expected tighter curves coming out of the barrel and the other down side is to even be able to use your curving atvantages you have to be shooting at people at least 75 to 100' away from you....Not that I expect this thing to make a u turn around a bunker or anything but....every one seems to hype it up for more than what it is. So....I give it a 7 out of 10 ....1 point off for accuracy issues after the 175' range 1 point off for the limited range of curve effeciency, and 1 point off because it wasn't quite as cool as I hoped for. But other than that....this barrel is pretty kick butt and to this day and over 7,000 rounds fired out of it...using a variety of paintbrands....and grades...from wall mart and target cheapest of the cheap to marbelizers,etc,etc.....I have not broken a ball once yet....And still manage to kick but with it. So for me it's a solid 7 out of 10
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pacos_tacos_88 Saturday, April 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 and A5 Flatline
Marker Setup: Piranha Evo
Revolution Hopper
Evil Detonator Regulator
Ben Tippmann Apex Barrel
WGP 50/3000 Air Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Flash (cheap and awesome)
Any paintballs without huge/deep seams (where the ball halves come together)
Strengths: Range
Durability
Accuracy and best of all
Curve ability in any direction quickly and easily
Weaknesses: Chopped paint gets stuck in end of barrel
Review: I bought this barrel for $125 and it is awesome. Now you can get one for 60-80 bucks... need I say more. Probably. Well, a lot of kids on the reviews say they've shot out kids that have been hiding right behind bunkers. That's not possible. At least not when you play with bunkers that are taller than a foot. I use the curve feature to get kids out when they are running to a bunker. How annoying is it when kids make a move on you, and you can't shoot them because they've kept the bunker perfectly in between you and them? It's not like that with the Apex. I'll just switch to the drop or curve shot and when they start running to the bunker, I'll put the paint right behind it and they'll run right into my stream. I'll get them out, without even being able to see them!

I've also used the drop shot on a kid hiding in the reeds next to a pond too. The paintballs wouldn't penetrate the reeds straight on. But, when I switched the Apex to drop, the paintballs rained from the sky right down ontop of him. He thought I was right on top of him and he cursed off the field.

There are many other stories I could tell you, but just buy it and get a story yourself, just make sure you're on my team.
Conclusion: This is an awesome barrel that will easily make the flatline extinct. Sorry Tippmann, Ben did you one better.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 15th, 2006 at 6:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xgetupandsk8x Tuesday, April 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
flatline- doesnt touch it
teardrop- better than stock, but ok
all american- acurate, real quiet, but distance isnt near
Marker Setup: 98 custom- apex barrel, response trigger, cyclone feed, ricochet hopper, superfly bolt, rocket cock II, micro coil remote

smart parts ion- black, stock, black evlution II w/ z board
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that wont break easy, nothing deformed
Strengths: DISTANCE AND ACCURACY!!
price isnt too bad now (80 bux)
look- silencer look
Weaknesses: Loud!! who cares when you are covering their faces in embarrassment , kinda hard to clean
Review: If you have like 80 bucks, get it. (Its on sale now) plain and simple, this barrel owns. ask the people my friends and I have played against. unmatched distance for sure and accuracy is sweet. it just takes a bit to get used to the backspin on the ball but once you get used to it your basically untouchable. its a GREAT sniping barrel too. pretty much stop reading this review and get it. forget what anyone else has said trying to bring it down, it puts the flatline to shame. and many others.
Conclusion: Get the barrel and you will shoot farther than you thought paintballs could go. Loud and a lil pain to clean but totally worth it. So close to perfect. Have the accuracy and intimidation factor. Buy an APEX. The End.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tydascenarioguy Thursday, March 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock spyder clone barrels
Stock Ion barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98c
32* Remote
Cyclone Fedd System
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any?
Strengths: Short
Range
Looks
Adjustable
Weaknesses: Plactic tip may break
Review: I bought this barrel after reading some ads. I did a lot of research and decided this barrel was better than a Evil Pipe because I play in the woods.
When I first shot it it was like a stock barrel. I tuned it in and this thing would fly, though you have to angle the muzzle up pretty high when on level 8. I could only get a few shots off though becuas my gun was leaking.
Will update when I shoot again.



edit: I went to Skirmish ION in July, and some mud got into the tip and broke the range selector.
Conclusion: Great barrel for range, better than flatline.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 13th, 2006 at 1:24 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

suicide squadd Sunday, January 21st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: SP ion
Deadly wind DT12 body kit
Lapco adj stock
CP reg
Techt L7 bolt
Qloader
6 pods
CMS
Apex
Strengths: Range is relly awsome
can curve around obsticles
Weaknesses: accuracy
Takes a while to dial in shots in the middle of a game curveing
Review: Got this barel for christmas when i shot it the first time i thought i instaled the blot wrong because the gun was kicking like my tippmann not like an ion, and my accuracy was way off had random balls flying off in crazy directions. When i put the stock barrel back on the gun was shooting awsome like usual.
Conclusion: Some like it some dont I dont.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Winkdogydog101 Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
all flatlines
the back bolt on the alien remains
all upgraded bolts for better distance
Marker Setup: 2k5 alias
Virtue board
cp trigger
new ram
cp mini reg
st superfly
16ul
45/45

05 dyansty shocker
freak barrel 14
Ton ton trigger frame
critical trigger
HE bolt
Dyansty m6 board
Hybrid clamping feedneck
Hybrid bolt guild
Killa dents
NDz firing can
Recommended
Paintballs:
any decent paint no wet or over lubed crap
Strengths: UM It really works
Weaknesses: I guess its price
read review
Review: LOL well hears a funny story! and im sorry for my spelling upfront

LOL well it happened in cali at the field volicty WHICH by the way is a really nice field! ok on the X ball field i ran up 2 the X off the break and was mowin people left and right and pretty much rolled the entire feild my self! looked like oli lang when i first hit the field. then these guys 2 of them come up with tippman 98s with i think egrips and all the compressed air ups and a nice prolly 12 -14 inch apex barrel! well i take the x of the break since everyone just looked good there but no one really has 2 much skill! and BOOM i get one right in the right side but it felt like it came from the back so i feel my hit and see that its this orange ramp paint and i KNEW the kids with the tippmans had them but this kid who was on the side of me ON MY TEAM had the same ORANGE ramp so i got pissed and i bonus balled the kid who i thought shot me!

lol the reff's had real nice things to say 2 me walking off the field

i then was told that it was the kids in the back with the apex barrels and i swear when i got 2 shoot there guns u could almost make the balls come out at a 90` angle! DANG well needless 2 say i watched out for these guys and then they no longer were really much of a problem i just tucked in tighter and made sure that i hit them a good 3-4 times when i got the chance 2 make sure they were really out

AND YES they did say if i did that again they would kick me for 6 months

HOWEVER some down sides
you cant shoot a tone through them or id get one for my shocker
anything over like 6-7 bps and it throughs off the aim of it 2 where all i saw was like a shotgun spray
Conclusion: Great product for what it was designed 2 do was made for rec sen and woods
If one of those is ur game then i HIGHLY recomend u this barrel system
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Themulatto Thursday, May 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom with flatline
Marker Setup: Viewloader revolution maxx ( 300 rnd capcity)
apex barrle
responce trigger
high pressure kit
N2 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I say monster balls cheap and dont break as much
Strengths: Shooting around objects
Weaknesses: Chops paintballs with responce trigger.
Review: When i first got my apex barrle, it wasnt really doin anything just shooting up down left right. But thats when i had no auto repsonce, and i had my velocity all the way up. But when u put down the velocity then its beast. See but me i paintball in my backyard and i love to have power.

So if you want the apex you have to have low velocity and cant have a auto responce ( unless ur shooting striaght) but still chops balls.
Conclusion: I hate it now, cuz of my velocity and responce and n2, to much power and chops my balls, not that way.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Bosley17 Saturday, April 30th, 2011
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Marker Setup: BT-4 Combat w/ buttstock, apex barrel, remote line, & nitrogen
T68 Gen 3 Pistol
Recommended
Paintballs:
Barrel system does not require any particular brand, but finding the right barrel-to-bore match would be best (unfortunately, I am not sure what it is).
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Features allow new strategies during play
Weaknesses: - Learning curve (no pun intended)
- Thourough cleaning takes more work than other barrels
Review: The BT-4 Apex barrel system is a unique choice for a barrel, as it is the only system which allows the player to "dial in" the drop of the paintball and its curve. The barrel does provide more options during play, as it allows the player to suppress targets and possibly hit them from angles which any other barrel can not do.

Strengths
This is a accurate system, but it is only as accurate as the player whom uses it. Someone who is unfamiliar with it may find it to be difficult to use, but once you familiarize with the features of the barrel, then you can achieve accuracy and distance surpassing the flatline system. The greatest accuracy and distance can be achieved using the "super drop" mode, but the shots need to be arced fairly high. Turning the barrel "off" disables its ability to curve and it acts almost exactly like the BT-4 combat stock barrel.

Weaknesses
The barrel system is quite hard to master, though. You will spend a great deal of time practicing and learning its features (I've used this barrel for two years and I still haven't fully grasped it yet).

This barrel also is more work to clean, as you need to unscrew the tip before you can clean it completely. This isn't a big issue, but it is a minor annoyance.

This barrel system doesn't allow you to hit everything which aim your sights on; it does have its limitations as any barrel. Those who are expecting this should probably look into high-end barrels or getting high-end markers.
Conclusion: This is a great system that allows greater flexibility during play than any other barrels on the market. This barrel can achieve great accuracy and distance, but expect to do a bit of practice to understand the features of the barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfreak= Saturday, May 22nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Various different barrels
Marker Setup: Tippmann X7, Tiberius Arms Foregrip, Lapco Apex-Ready Barrel w/ Apex Tip, Car Stock, Bipod, ZKH, Full Tech T Cyclone Upgrades
Recommended
Paintballs:
Haven't found one type that works best in the apex so far
Strengths: Added range and accuracy, "trick" shots, not paint picky
Weaknesses: Ball goes down when coming out of barrel
Review: I bought an apex barrel for my X7 and once I got it I was very impressed. The added range is unsurpassed by any other barrel I've used so far, including the tippmann flatline. The groupings are exceptional even at far distances. When I put the tip on a lapco apex ready barrel, the performance of the apex tip increased even more, especially in the lower settings of the apex when it's more dependent on the barrel and less on the apex. The one negative of the tip is that the higher you set the apex tip (The range is from 1-8 with 8 being the super flatline mode), the more the ball dips when coming out of the barrel. It will dip down, then float back up in a sort of u shape. This makes it hard to use sights with the tip, but using sights in paintball is difficult to begin with. The trick shots are just as good if not better than advertised and come in handy during games all the time.
Conclusion: I would highly recommend getting the apex tip, then putting it on an apex ready barrel such as a lapco one. Some sights such as rockstartactical.com sell just the tip so I would do that then find the apex ready barrel you want.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media