paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / bOO-yAAH ELCD / bOO-yAAH ELCD / bOO-yAAH ELCD / bOO-yAAH ELCD / bOO-yAAH ELCD

bOO-yAAH ELCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount bOO-yAAH

Buy bOO-yAAH ELCD

Paintball Spyder Triggers and Frames

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


bOO-yAAH ELCD
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 71
Average Rating: 8.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $234

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Spyder ELCD converts your Spyder to an electronic firing marker with LCD. Fits on most Spyders.
Product Availability 
The bOO-yAAH ELCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Unregistered User Thursday, June 7th, 2001
Strengths: Light trigger pull. Simple to take apart and install
does what it says Lets you see what a 15bps spyder looks like (which seems abnormal)
Weaknesses: Does not come with a wall charger. did not fit with my rear cocking guard. the price I mean come on $100 is cool but $200?
Conclusion: For two hunddred dollars well it's kinda hard to say.... Ah what the heck GO FOR IT! IF you don't want a new gun cause this isn't like a barrel or other upgrade. I mean it costs as much as a new gun would. Not a electronic or mag or cocker but your half way there. If you are tempted by "NEW" guns all the time then you don't want to sink 200 into your spyder. If you are sold on spyders then this is the BEST trigger out there I mean it is sweeeeet. But the cost is quite a bit. Fireing at that rate 15bps you may need a regulator ($60+) because the co2 has frozen my gun. OVER ALL BUY THIS IF YOU LOVE YOUR SPYDER. If you want a cocker or mag then save up.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, May 23rd, 2001
Strengths: Looks nice...is faster than stock trigger.
Weaknesses: The trigger pull on this product sucks compaired to the Hyperframe. Also, the battery dies VERY quickly and you have to replace atleast twice a day.
Conclusion: If you are only concerned with looks, get an eLCD. Otherwise, the hyperframe should be your choice as it can do circles around the eLCD preformance wise.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, May 16th, 2001
Strengths: This trigger frame is great! I found it very user friendly and easy to install. I own a Spyder TL I purchased back in 98 and it works great with the ELCD. The only problem I had with it was ball chopping, but thats because I only use a 9 volt revolution hopper. I only use semi, tubo fire, or burst fire modes at 8 bps, so my hopper will do just fine But if you prefer to spray a lot of paint, lets say 15 bps, then a 12 or 18 volt rev. hopper is highly recommended.
Weaknesses: I really hate that charger, your better off buying a wall charger. Why boo-yaah decided to go with the car charger, I don't know. Other than that the product is great. Oh yeah, if you are planning to play on the field all day, bring extra batteries.
Conclusion: If you are willing to cough up over 2 bills and you are trigger happy, then this product is for you. As for the problems that other people have experienced,(as mentioned on the other reviews). What can I say? I guess just plain bad luck, as for me I've had no problems thus far.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 8th, 2001
Strengths: I installed this product on a TLPlus. I love it. Yes its a little pricey but whats not!
Took a while to get it to work right. Tubo mode is great not to go over 10 balls a sec. at 1x4 mode. LCD screen is great.
Weaknesses: When I first install the product could not shoot more then 5 balls on full-auto without jamming or breaking balls. Had to take it back to the store where purchase from had them modify it. trigger is a little hairy.
Needs a wall charger.
Conclusion: Hey if you have the extra $210 to dump on a gun. Then go for it!
Its better then buying a whole new gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, April 23rd, 2001
Strengths: Neat features like firing modes, lcd screen, adjustable pull...
Weaknesses: Like trying to pimp out a pinto. Ive seen kids spend very close to the 1000 mark on their spyders and it makes me cry.
Conclusion: our team decided to have spyders as backup guns. I shoot a nice cocker (ans ram, sto reg, ans 3way, tit rods, flat rod, powerpro hammer, RAT 3:16 valve, shocktech alien bolt, evolution pin, and P&P rear block...oh yes.)
Anyway, im into upgrading things, so I got this through sponsorship (our mag guys use them) and a tornado valve for my stock spyder body.
Man does this thing blow or what? Ok, so I can shoot @ just over 270 PSI, (decent) and I can shoot a little over 10bps without chopping ( I can do 12 n my cocker). Timing of the frame, or the gun is non existant. You either get blowback mode, or more blowback mode. If you break a ball, youre screwed. The gun chops over broken shell 10 times in a sec and jams hard. No field stripping with these. I have yet to break a ball in over 4 cases of paint with my cocker.
Even if youre lucky and shooting 12 bps without chopping, the gun kicks so much that your shots arent lined up. cockers, shockers, impulses have NO KICK, NO BLOWBACK thus are MUCh MUCh more accurate.
So you might be saying, this isnt fair. You can't compare a spyder to real guns. Look at the price. An ELCD with a modrately upgraded spyder costs just as much as an impulse or used shocker. You could even get a cocker with a few basic mods. So if you want a tourney gun, then buy tourney gun. An elcd will just make you waste paint and air not shooting your target. It also just magnifies the inherent problems that blowbacks have. Some ouf our automag users have them, and they work rather well for them.
Overall it gets a 6 for performance, and a 3 for price. Final rating of 4 as in slightly below average when compared to what you can get for the money.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, April 18th, 2001
Strengths: BOO-YAAH RULE-YAAH!!! awesome trigger pull super light,super short.fastest ive shot even in semi.many modes of fire,shot timer,shot counter.color matches my bob long mill perfect.adjustments can be made on everything from rps to your own personal trigger timing.i tried a 9v battery and it wouldnt fit or power the unit but thanks to a tip from sniper j i discovered the energizer titanium e2 works great they seem to be a little shorter and have more juice but your battery meter wont work with these.looks great,feels great,gets lots of oohs and ahhs
Weaknesses: not much...my rear screw on my blm was to long but one of my bottomline screws worked great[i run a remote straight to my ex chamber].some of the modes of fire arent really needed because you can do alot of the same things by putting it in full auto a controlling your rate of fire by how you pull the trigger,tap for semi,hold down for disired burst etc.kind-of expensive
Conclusion: if you can afford one BUY IT! if you cant ,sell your body and BUY IT! with my blm,boo-yaah,and the freak barrel i plan to buy i have about $650 invested and there is no way id trade for any stock gun in that price range or even $100-$150 more.i plan to buy a spyder compact for a backup and add all my leftover mill parts to it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, April 12th, 2001
Strengths: As Keith Jackson of ABC. sports use to say OH NELLY!!! This thing kicks butt.I have a spider SE, with a jj cermic sniper barrel, it will shot 14 balls a second with out any problems with a 9 volt evoltion.I have only had it for two days know but I have put well over 500 rounds through it without a single ball break, thats impresive. The trigger is unbelivible, the modes of fire is also great I love it.
Weaknesses: No manual saftey. Everyone in the paintball world tries to promote saftey in this sport but come on. With a trigger like this a manual saftey is a must.
Conclusion: Is it worth it, well thats up to you. If you want something to impress your buddys with it will. Buy one. Go to your next game with your stock grip, play a game with it and then play a game without it. You tell me if its worth it. I think you will agree with me and be glad you did. Good sniping, Sniper J.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, April 10th, 2001
Strengths: It rocks! Period! Added this to my custom TL +,
and oh my God can this baby shoot. The results
are awesome. I haven't run into any "problems",
as mentioned in some other reviews. Nice touch,
adding both standard and offset bottom-line
holes. Note: you absolutely NEED a 12v
Revolution, or you could just keep yelling
"hey... I gotta ball break!"
Weaknesses: Not nuclear powered... bummer. It's cool though,
I bought some extra rechargable batts and
chargers to ensure ive always got power!
Conclusion: Price < Performance. Hey kiddies, this means it
is well worth it's price tag, and has dozens more
features and is a lower price than similar
products (Hyperframe, Sonic Conversion, etc.) If
you are thinking about a new high end marker, but
dont want to part cokmpany with your beloved
Spyder, this is your solution. I would
reccommend this to all Spyder owners, but then
mine wouldn't be so different... hahaha! i would
suggest it be used with a N2 system, but it works
OK with CO2.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

WickedAirSportz Friday, April 6th, 2001
Strengths: Features! When you really need to scare the hell out of your opponents (and full auto play is allowed on your field), this baby will do the job.

Contrary to what others report, ANY type of 9v battery will work just fine.
Weaknesses: Lots of bad. I have made a report to Boo-Yah, and hopefully they will fix the problems:

Tourny lock - When the PCBs are manufactured, they are washed to remove the solder flux. This gums up the tourny lock switch. The solution is to take apart the switch (which is easy to do) and clean the sliding contacts with ELECTRICAL CLEANER (nothing else will work!) Problem solved!

Trigger switch - Here is another boo-boo. The switch they use is full of dielectric grease, designed for high current usage. We don't have high current here, so the switch becomes a big resistor after about 10,000 pulls. The result is that all of the sudden the gun will start firing and/or you can turn the gun on, but you can't change menus (this happens when the trigger is "held"). The solution is to take apart the switch and use the same cleaner as mentioned above. By the way, apparently there were a bunch of ELCD triggers that left the factory WITHOUT the pins that hold the trigger switch assembly in place. You will want these, or the trigger will move freely. You can use small roll pins or similar. Problem solved!

The frame is not machined well. Mine had deep grooves and scratches which were annodized.
Conclusion: If you are a nut and want full auto and a wicked trigger pull, this is probably the toy for you. BE WARNED! You will need a 12v Revolution or Evolution to attempt to keep up with the rate of fire possible with this product!

If you are buying a gun along with the ELCD, don't.. the cost of a Shutter + ELCD exceeds what the EM1 costs.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Big-T Monday, April 2nd, 2001
Strengths: OH the humanity! This thing transformed my Bob Long Millennium into a super marker! Sucker shoots so fast and NO MO finger fatigue. VERY easy to setup, VERY easy to adjust the sear for perfect timing. Comes with a NiMH batter so no memory when charging. Of course it drains down in between playing so it's not really an issue most of the time. Grip is comfortable, but a bit fat. No problem for me though I have big hands. VERY easy trigger adjustment...mine has about 1/32 or a hair more to fire. I think the price is pretty reasonable too.
Weaknesses: You rate of fire increases and so does the amount of paint you use :).

Seriously though
1. NO ON OFF SWITCH to completely disconnect it from the batter. Not that big a deal really but it would be nice and there are times you want to test fire and you can't because the battery drains in a day or so.
2. NO A/C CHARGER...as cheap as they are it wouldn't have cost BOOH YAAH a couple bucks more to provide one. The car charger is useless IMNBHO
3. CRAPPY DOUBLE TRIGGER - total hype and totally in the way. Single triggers are much faster and...well I guess that's why they are coming out with single trigger versions. I for one took a hacksaw to mine and had my single trigger in about a minute. http://albums.photopoint.com/j/View?u=1009566&a=11863002&p=42833120&Sequence=0&res=high check out this photo of my Mill with the single trigger. I had to cut the trigger guard because it interfered with a comfortable grip but it was just as easy to remove and cut.
4. NO SAFETY...well no physical one. It wouldn't be any trouble to mill a button to keep the trigger from being fired. Takes too much thought to remember to turn the thing back on :)...ok for me it does..I still like a physical safety.
Conclusion: If you have a Spyder, Piranha or other marker you are in love with and don't wish to part just add BOOH YAAH and you'll love it even more. It gets alot of "ooohs and ahhhs" at the field too.

With some improvements and modifications to the original design it would be perfect. Let's hope
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media