paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / PMI X-Ray Mask / PMI X-Ray Mask / PMI X-Ray Mask

PMI X-Ray Mask Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount PMI

Buy PMI X-Ray Mask

Paintball Masks / Goggles

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


PMI X-Ray Mask
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 159
Average Rating: 7.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $30

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
This goggle is manufactured for PMI by JT USA. Mask features a visor and uses JT Elite lenses.
Product Availability 
The PMI X-Ray Mask is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
makave1i Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: In process of getting new setup.
Strengths: Looks good
Good fit when wearing a hat
comfortable
Weaknesses: maintenance
Review: Really, I don't think this mask fogs up that bad. However, taking this thing apart is very frustrating and hard. I took it apart last night for the first time to clean it and I still do not have it back together in one piece. The lens was a little tricky but I managed that part. But, the plastic pieces that have to connect to the goggle frame are VERY VERY hard to get in. I havn't got one in yet. I tried for at least an hour yesterday until my finger was about to fall off.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to anyone, just don't take this thing apart if you want it in one piece.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Victor Charlie Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Invision<MUCH better, JT Spectra< better, V Force's<better but my friends all have em and they seem to fog pretty easy dispite what everyone else says. They dont seem to have a thermal lense. But then again my friends could be morons who are fat and out of shape and breath too heavily.
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, N2, with more upgrades to come
Strengths: Cheap, protection, comes with thermal option
Weaknesses: comfort, degrees of vision, lnese removal
Review: This is pretty much the first paintball mask that I have owned. First off, it does its job...keeping your eyes in your head. The thermal lense has only fogged more than a little bit amount once in my experience with it and it was in extreme conditions (HOT, humid, rainy). Other than that the thermal lense is exceptional (its the same stuff you will find on pretty much every other mask out there). In the winter it is funny because I would purposely breathe heavily on the lense just to see it disapear in fractions of a second. My main gripe with he mask is that it does not fit comfortably. When you run with it, the damn thing slides around and I have almost lost mine a few times. To remedy this just get a baseball cap and wear it backwards. Since it is a cheaper mask they field of view is pretty small compared to the invisions and spectras (which have better peripheral) but thats not a big issue. Oh and another thing is the foam they use inside the mask...MAN IS THIS STUFF SCRATCHY! It eventually wears in but for a few weeks you will be cringing in pain because of this crap. WORD OF ADVICE: if you want extra protection from your mask slipping get another strap. The X Ray is compatiable with the cheaper JT lense (i forget the name sorry). I went out and bought a green strap for the JT lense and installed it and it helped a decent amount. It has three sticky stripes that run along the entire strap that aid in keeping the mask still. Just a thought.
Conclusion: Great mask for beginners as it comes cheap in many packages. Other than that i would not suggest that you buy it. Go for a few more bucks and get the a JT ProFlex with a spectra lense.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 1st, 2004 at 9:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lexxer Sunday, March 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
JT nForcer Thermal, DYE Invision, Proto Switch...
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom 98 With Flatline / Metal Shaft / Rocket Cock System / Double Trigger / RT (Responce Trigger) / 3x5 Zoom Scope / Empire Reloader / 20oz & 9oz Co2 Tanks.
Strengths: Lots Of Coverage.
Weaknesses: NOT THERMAL! PMI X-RAY (This isn't the JT nForcer or the nVader)
Review: First off, this mask is horrible. I bought it off a friend for 5$ because i needed a mask. This mask is good for beginers who don't plan on playing in winter or hot summer days. This mask is uncomfortable, because of the spongey covering around your eyes. Also lenses don't have enough visual range at all, hard to clean paint just smears, slips constantly. The only good thing I can say about this mask is the coverage around the head. Its just a piece of crap though, Thats why I got rid of it the same week I bought it.
Conclusion: For 10$ more you can get a thermal JT version of this mask which is WAY better than this piece of crap. Honestly, I suggest you save up for the Proto Switch Its the most confortable mask I have ever used, Then there is the DYE Invision which is also a very good mask. TRUST ME out of my 3 years of experience, PMI X-Ray goggles are the worst you could buy other than Brass Eagle.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 14th, 2004 at 6:16 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JaM3z... Friday, March 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
um none really
Marker Setup: SpyderTL+ with progressive barrle,M3 frame,CP drop,shocktech supa fly bolt,egg2,pure energy 68 cubic 3000 psi.
Strengths: look pretty cool, durable, and comfortable.
Weaknesses: um none really except they do fog up if u dont have thermal lenses.
Review: i got these goggles when i just started playing paintball. for 40 bucks its worth it. they look pretty cool and have a nice visor so the sun dont get in ur eyes. they do fog up if u dont have a thermal lense or a zero fog insert or spray. later on i got a yellow thermal lens and it works great. i put some dye stickers on the goggles and now they look so nice.
Conclusion: go buy them, for 40 bucks its worth it there strong and durable.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

markmco Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Vforce Armor
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, Richochet AK, Smart parts teardrop, dye 3 sticky grip, Adjusted trigger pull,
4 inch drop forward.
Strengths: Good Fitting, Foam is OK, tight, doesnt come loose, Covers all of the face
Weaknesses: Pain in the ass to put in thermal lenses, cheap
Review: Ok These would be great goggles if their was one thing diffrent on them... THE THERMAL LENSES WERN'T SO HARD TO PUT ON. Ok when I got the thermal lenses(made by JT) I took the olds one out after I took them out two of the holder came off that held the frame in place. It took me 1 hour to get back on. Ive tried and treid and tried and tried and tried agian to put those thermal lenses on and they wont get on. The only place they wont fit are on the nose and the left parts is too long and the right side is too short. so it wont fit the mask. the piece on the nose that one go in is the whole where is it suppose to go in my breath goes through and goes on the outside and fogs it so it has to go in perfect. so it fogs and I am bringing my mask into the shop for them to fix. also in the middle of a game when I had the nose problem the lense just popped out i think it is a weak frame.

12/7 just got the mfixed!! nothing is wrong now i just had a lil pierce in the wrong place these are great goggles cover all of your hwead and fead great!
Conclusion: These are ok masks but if you get them get the thermal lenses right away and tell your shop person who you bought them from tell him to put the on or youll be screwed
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 7th, 2004 at 3:20 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pea Shooter Friday, January 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Scott USA Hotshot Mask
Marker Setup: -Tippman 98 Custom (black)
-Viewloader 200 rd. hopper
-12 oz. CO2 tank
Strengths: -Nice look
-Visor
-Extra neck protection
-Inexpensive
-Comfortable
Weaknesses: -Fogs easy
-A little itchy
-Sweaty
-Hard plastic (guaranteed ball break)
-Paint smears on lense
Review: Well, at $30, you pretty much get what you pay for: A cool-looking, durable mask with some flaws.

It's pretty cheap, so if your low on cash, then you should check this one out. It does come with a visor too, for those sunny days, and you can remove it if you don't like it. It also has pretty good neck protection, so you won't be worried about getting hit in the neck. The X-Ray is pretty comfy, but the foam inside does get a bit itchy sometimes, which can be irritating.

The main problem with this mask though, is that it tends to fog up quite easily. If you are playing on a hot day, or breathe heavily, then your mask will get fogged up often. It can also get sweaty if you play for an extended period of time.

The lens is hard though, so if a ball hits the lens, it's pretty much an automatic break. And what's worse, the paint smears on the lens when you try and clean it, but if you use a wet towel or something along the lines of that, it will clean off better.

Like I said before, you get what you pay for, and at $30 bucks, it's not too bad of a mask.
Conclusion: Good mask for the price, good for beginners. Get this if you are just starting out playing, then upgrade to a better mask later on.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bigwig Thursday, September 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Strengths: - Pretty cheap
- Solid
- Good mask for beginners
Weaknesses: - Low peripheral vision
- Paint gets in
- Fogs up like crazy
- Hard to take apart/clean
Review: Hey there.
I'll get right to the point. This mask fogs, at least for me ( I wear glasses). Not even anti-fog spray seems to work on it for some reason. In cold/humid weather it is almost impossible to play a real paintball game with this mask, so be warned. I also noticed that paint seems to like seeping into the vents and cracks of the mask, resulting in a very messy cleanup. This wouldn't be too bad if it was actually easy to clean it, but alas, it's not. Expect to lose a finger or two trying to get the lens out (it's that hard). You also don't really get that many degrees of vision as the lens is pretty small.
Of course, despite all this, the X-ray has some good qualities. It's cheap, and it comes in a lot of those starter sets which are ideal for those who are starting paintball for the first time. So if you're just starting and you see a cheap starter set with an X-ray mask included, I recommend that you buy it (it doesn't really matter early on). Since it's solid, it'll definitely last you long enough until you decide to upgrade.
Conclusion: It's one of the better, more solid beginner masks, and it comes in a lot of starter sets. Once you start getting more experienced at paintball though, you'll start realizing the mask's shortcomings more and more. Buy this mask with plans to upgrade later on.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 18th, 2003 at 2:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jef Friday, August 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
jt proflex
Marker Setup: 2k3 cocker
Strengths: -cheap
-good ear protection
-decent venting
Weaknesses: -band slips
-doesnt flex at all
Review: This is an excellent mask for new players. It does what its supposed to; keeps your eyes intact. It looks decent enough and it has good ear and throat protection
I suggest wearing a hat with it or it will slip off horribly
use it, learn the game, then buy something new.
I'll quote my local field-monkey "a paintball mask is like your underwear, your gonna want good ones, and used ones suck,"
Conclusion: great for the price, but you'll want something better as your game moves on
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

andoman25 Thursday, May 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tried out my brother's JT nForcer, it's basically the same thing, except that it has pods, which are annoying because you have to take them off to clean them.
Marker Setup: '99 F4 Illustrator, Dye Aluminum 12"
Strengths: -price
-good amount of protection
-looks good
-basically a JT mask, but cheaper
Weaknesses: -supposed to fog (mine's not thermal)
-uncomfortable
-i have to tighten the strap frequently
Review: I got this as part of my package when I bought my gun, and I still use it. It's a great deal for anyone who doesn't want to pay too much, but still wants a quality mask. Mine is a single lens, but it's never fogged up on me. I've seen thermal ones for like $25, so the price is right!!!

It does the job (it's basically a JT mask but has the PMI logo on the strap instead of "JT"); however, it's a bit uncomfortable. After a whole day on the field (7 or 8 hours) I felt like the skin was getting raw under my eyes where the foam goes. I also had to tighten the strap often, sometimes even while I was playing.

The mask looks cool, although obviously not as good as a JT-IZE system, Pro-Flex, or Dye Invision, etc. However, it's less than one half of the price if you find the right seller.
Conclusion: This mask has served me well, and I think it's best for recreational players. It seems kinda bulky, so I'm thinking of getting a better JT mask (maybe IZE or pro-flex) soon. However, like I've said, it does the job, and other than the comfort, which is a problem with most masks, it works great.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

beaverbuddy Saturday, May 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
v-force armor (not as comfy)
Marker Setup: piranha vbl, Spyder flash LCD, reloader. 20 oz
Strengths: it is *comfortable *cool(looking) *vents well *protects well *covers much of the face
Weaknesses: *foggs when its cold *kinda hard (cant bend very easily)
Review: I got this as my first mask, and it works very well. I still use it, and i have broken it in. Its really comfy now, and the lens doesnt scratch easily. I got mine for $35. a GREAT DEAL in paintball. Get it for sure if you are an aspiring noob in paintball, then later get a higher end mask.
Conclusion: It is an over all good mask. It is really nice, and i would reccommend it to anyone who likes paintball.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, October 26th, 2003 at 8:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media