paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
lpfanboy Monday, May 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
A-5 (decent but needs some upgrades to be worthy of this gun)
DM5 (Great Gun)
Marker Setup: Ion pro
virtue
halo b

Recommended
Upgrades:
Micro Max Flow
new trigger
Strengths: Awesome barrel, Eyes, On/Off ASA
Weaknesses: Trigger is a little fragile and the tip can break off
Review: First off, the ION is an amazing gun even when it was $300. Now that its $199.99, you can not beat it, or so I thought. With the original Ion, the feed neck is not a goodone, the barrel is not to good and no on/off. Smart Parts made a decisiom to make these and they could not have been better. They replaced the stupid feedneck with a clamping one, so you do not have to shave your hopper. The barrel is so much more accurate than the stock. Even the price on it shows how much better (stock:19.99-29.99, Freak Jr. 69.99-89.99). Plus the on/off asa. This thing enables you to leave your gun on, and shoot without and shots coming out. Its like its own saftey. Plus the gun hardly ever chops paint!!! Though the ASA is not the best, its still a good investment. Though I wish they put the micro max flow on it and a better trigger, this gun is the best low price gun on the market.
Conclusion: An amazing gun with all the upgrades that are needed to make this gun a tourny gun and it will never let you down
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Skyline_09 Saturday, April 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed
SP Impulse
Marker Setup: - Red Ion Pro
- Egg2 hopper
- Crossfire 68ci 4500psi
- Empire tank cover red
- CP short reg. red
- SP QEV
Recommended
Upgrades:
Feed neck, depends on if you mind the size or not. SP QEV
Strengths: Fast for price
Accurate
Reliable
Weaknesses: None
Review: Great gun. Shoots awesome out of box. At first, I thought it was messed up before I even used it, but I didn't know that the light was supposed to be flashing rapidly. It was on safe mode. Many upgrades are available. Make yours extremely custom and personalized. My friends fear me now.
Conclusion: Buy it if its what your looking for. Awesome gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, April 22nd, 2006 at 8:32 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Forsaken Friday, December 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman 98 Custom, Considering I play X-Ball the Ion blows it away.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better drop-down.
Strengths: Fast (17 bps)
Durable
Sleek
Accurate
Cheap
Weaknesses: Drop-Down
Feedneck
Review: I had bought this marker about a month ago from my local paintball shop for about $349.96. Being only $50 more than the stock Ion it is a very good deal. My ion came with a new drop-down that is very small so it doesnt even drop down very much, its more for looks. I did like the On/Off switch though which was very helpful, although some people dont need one.

The Jr. Freak barrel is a very nice barrel made by smart parts. Since it comes with a larger insert size it is very accurate. Deffinitly get other inserts over time and great your own stash, this way you will always have the most accuracy when playing with random paint from differant paintball courses.

The only problem I have with the gun is the feedneck. There are differant types of Ion Pro's so I will explain mine, its basically a twist clamp. Twisting it locks the hopper into place. It may be my hopper, but every so often my hopper will just fall off. I am writing this review because just today I was playing paintball in the woods behind my house in the snow. I was walking across a bridge made of wooden planks over a stream for safe crossing and my hopper just fell off. Right into the freezing cold water, thankfully not breaking my hopper. So beware of the twist feed! I would reccommend buying a clamp feed to insure your hopper does not fall off.
Conclusion: A very good high-end marker for only a little over $300. Cheap, Accurate and a good marker if used correctly.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

x2thapb Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
ICD B2K4
05 Piranha E-Force GTI
Marker Setup: 06 ION PRO red/black
Dye sticky 3 grip
comes with okay feedneck but doesnt fit a halo that well
CP regulator cobolt
comes with Freak which is nice
New Designs roller trigger, stock okay, but wobble and plastic
on/off smart parts ASA, GOOD
Pure energy 48/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
I bought a red/black body kit
New REG
Feedneck if you want it to fit a Halo
Trigger
Blackheart Board
Strengths: Accuracy
weight
air efficent
17 balls not that bad
comes with 2 piece barrel
Weaknesses: None yet...
Review: Overall I just got this gun, and its pretty nice for the price. I had the ICD B2K4 which def. was a faster bps, but i would trust this more. The body looks tight and few mods you can do. Its also pretty light and can rip okay. I have to say its an amazing gun to buy. SO BUY IT!
Conclusion: Nice price, light, upgrades, okay bps, comes with nice ups when you buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

omenballer Monday, February 6th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
there isnt very much that i havent shot...
Marker Setup: Evil MINION/hater boark/stiffi tip

Setup 2: SP shocker/ndz he kit, bolt guide, speedy 2 board, lots more

Setup 3: EVIL omen 2.0/too many ups
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck (this one still sucks!!)
barrel im not a fan of the freak
reg (stock has horrrrribblle drop off
board (this one is kinda slow)
body ( imo the "composite" body is ugly)
trigger
Strengths: Looks ok
better than normal ion
Weaknesses: Bad reg
tall feedneck
board a little on the slow side
Review: Allright, I was playin speedball at my frdz airball field. The guns there were my omen, a pimp, 2 05 speeds, lasoya timmy, and a few ion pros, and sum other guns. My friend let me borrow his ion pro for a while.

Let me start off by saying that the ion pro is better than the ion, but still failed to impress me. The feedneck was still bad. ive also never been a big fan of the freak barrel due to its somewhat fragile inserts. The regulator is the same reg on the stock ion and has noticeable dropoff when trying to shoot long ropes of paint (which was possibly misuse or lack of maitnenance on my frdz part.). Appearance wise the ion pro actually looks pretty good.

Overall the ion pro had lackluster performance. It just didnt impress me in many aspects.

EDIT: just got back from playin pball with all my frdz at the airball field. My friend with the ion pro was there. It still failed to impress me. since writing this review i have bought a shocker with a lot of ups and a 06 minion. Now compared to these guns, the ion is nothing. The shocker is about the only acceptable gun from sp. I like it. Saying that an ion can compete with 700-800 guns is retarded. I understand that most ion owners are noobs, so they think that there gun is very good, and it is for the money i guess. But once you get more experience with paintball and other high end guns, the ion just cant compete. I keep my current rating. Sorry if im makin any1 mad, but this is my honest review
Conclusion: It is a step up from the ion, but still not much better. For the same price you can get a far better gun than this. I would not recommend getting this gun. I give it a 3 because its light, and looks pretty good
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 12th, 2006 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
35 Comments - Add Comment

musicmixer10 Sunday, July 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon X, Tippmann 98C, PMR, Smart Parts Vibe
Marker Setup: 14" barrel, Tippmann Triumph SL200 Hopper, 72/3000 HPA tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger, 4500 psi tank
Strengths: Fast, light, easy to use, easy to clean
Weaknesses: Trigger is magnetic which makes you not walk the trigger as fast.
Review: The ion is a really good gun. a lot of people say that its a noob gun, but it isn't I tested it for woodsball a got one person out at the break and another from about 30-40 feet away. I was using I think a freak or freak jr. barrel. All in all, a great gun, minor upgrade with the trigger
Conclusion: Pretty good gun for someone who needs a cheap and fast gun. get it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mikskater33 Monday, February 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Proto Rail, Shocker NXT, Dm5
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Halo b W/ rip
PMI 88/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, qev, bolt, you know the basic ups an ion needs.
Strengths: Q-lock, Freak Jr., On/Off Rail
Weaknesses: trigger(its not that bad)
TINY amount of kick
Review: Ok so i was waiting for this thing to come in the mail and the day it was scheduled to come it didnt so i thought about jumping the UPS guy but i didnt. Ok the day it comes i bring it inside, and pull it out of the box. The thing looks great for an ion. So I air it up and put it on semi and start shooting it in my apt.(dryfiring). The semi wasnt bad. But it was really loud so i turned the dwell down to 30(this made it quieter). I put it on rebound and walk the trigger and say to myself that can't be right thats pretty slow. So i set the board to the highest ROF. Then i do it and its really fast for a stock board. The next day I go outside and shoot it and it's very fast and accurate. I would reccomend this gun to anyone who doesn't have enough money to go buy an expensive gun. Personally i would give it a 9/10.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this to rec. players and tournament players.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chris baker Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Not really any maybe a electra or a-5 but not really simular
Marker Setup: Ion pro
virtue board
virtue eyes
e-z on buttton
rake trigger
qev
view loader vlocity
draxxus 68/4500 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Faster hopper
virtue board if you play speed ball
new trigger
Strengths: Very fast
not very expensive
smartparts always makes reliable guns
not very hard to use
Weaknesses: There arent really any except for the way you have to take it apart
Review: This is a really good gun for the price, always reliable because it is made by smartparts very upgradable shoots fast out of the box make sure you dont use co2 or this gun is garbage dont buy new barrel the freak is very acurrate 17bps!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! stock
get faster hopper
Conclusion: Newbs dont get this gun as your first gun go with wgp or tippmann you dont need this much fire power wait till you get more experiance
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

SMARTPARTSJAKE Thursday, January 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
friends stock ion. spyder pilot(pretty horrible by the way)
Marker Setup: 2006 ion pro. evlution 3 hopper(23bps), 68/4500 tank. freak jr. barrel. mini drop/ on off valve.

* This ion is a little different than mine cuz mine came with a freak jr barrel and a clamping feedneck.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothin much. im thinkin about a virtue board and a new trigger down the line. thats all
Strengths: Accurate as a mother. accurate....acurate, 17 bps perfect amount of bps doesnt chop.
Weaknesses: Nothing at all
Review: This is an awesome gun shoots perfectlyy straight and fast like i said. awesome on air efficientcy also. i dont know about anyone else but i feel a whole lot more confident with this gun than my old ass imagine( yea it sucked). overall i havent used many guns but this is definately the best







o yea and its accurate
Conclusion: I recommend this gun for sure. for anyone gettin better at paintball needs this gun. best gun for the best price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rye425 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Not similar but others used: Spyder Xtra and Sonix
Marker Setup: Smart Parts - Ion Pro

# Q-Lock Feed Tube
# S-Rail & Twist On/Off Valve
# 14" Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert

# Virtue Ion Board
# Membrane Switch (Black) & Adapter
# EzOn Button (Clear/Black)
# Laser Eye Board (Red)

# Pure Energy Carbon Tanks
# 68/4500
# 45/4500
# 68/3000
Recommended
Upgrades:
Replace the stock board, I went with a Virtue since it had one of the better reviews. Not only was it highly rated, but I wanted a board where I did not have to take the grips off the gun to switch modes and settings. It does have tourney lock as well.
Strengths: * Reliable, no chopping
* Low cost (high end marker!)
* Very durable, simple design
* Accurate
* FAST
Weaknesses: * Leaky out of the box
Review: Key features why to buy this marker from smart parts:

* Reliable, will not chop (at least I have never)
* Low cost for a high end marker
* Very durable and simple design
* Accurate
* FAST (out of the box too but with a virtue board omg out of there!)


The only weakness that I have is that the marker is a little leakey out of the box. To fix that I took the whole gun apart and teflon taped every thread possible. Don't worry the gun has a very simple setup so theres no way to mess anything up!
Conclusion: For a primary marker or even a backup this gun is excellente!

Worth every single penny, even the old gross ones that are turning green and slimy you know what I mean.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media