paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
empirepb10 Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart parts shocker, timmy, ect
Marker Setup: 2006 silver/black Smart Parts ion pro with cp roller trigger, planet eclipse qev, halob w/ rip drive, 48/3000 pure enrgy tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Strengths: Fast, light, reliable, small, and of course its made by Smart Parts.
Weaknesses: Trigger, the stock trigger is kinda wobaly.
Review: This ion pro is awsome. It comes with a twister feedneck, freak jr, smart grips, s rail, and Smart Parts on/off. This gun can shoot fast ropes if you have the settings right. This gun is great for any player. The gun comes in either black/blue, black/green, or black/silver.
Conclusion: Get this gun!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulse_777 Saturday, March 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have an Impulse as well and this is much better
Marker Setup: green base imp w/ evil driver barrel,twister feedneck,halo b,system x asa,centerflag tank,eclipse magnetic blade trigger
Smart Parts ION with Max-Flo, 16 inch Progressive barrel, twister feedneck and a CP roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely get a new trigger
Strengths: Fast
Light
Cheap
Accurate
Weaknesses: Hard to disassemble
Review: I am actually writing a review on the IMF 3000 from actionvillage.com. when i received it i had to take it apart to put on my CP trigger. it took about 30 minutes, but that is oly because i didn't know what to do. The next day I went to play. I set it to PSP mode and it ripped! The regulator was not very good, the velocity was all over the place at first but evened out more later so i think it just needs to be broken in. The gun was very accurate even from across the field. I shot one guy through the crack in the snake from the other side of the field!
Conclusion: Overall this is a very good gun, I will give it a 9 just because it is hard to disassemble and the regulator.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 4th, 2006 at 9:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rune403186 Sunday, February 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra,tippman a5 and dragun the one
Marker Setup: freak barrel,blackheart board,qev ,ans roller trigger and virtue laser eye board,q-loader hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak barrel help alot
Strengths: Body,easy to clean and maintain
Weaknesses: Switch to turn on gun look cheap,Stock trigger plastic
Review: Out of the box gun fires smoothly,enjoyed it,i was surprise how accurate it isstock, a week later i decided to upgrade the marker to my own setup blackheart board and freak barrel help this baby to reach it's full potential,i used it last week and to my surprise i kept up with with my friend,performance is good stock,even better when modified,all in all i'm satisfied with this marker
Conclusion: If you buy this marker,make sure to get ready to spend the bucks,you would love it more after you do all the upgrades
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

torch12345 Tuesday, December 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra DX, WGP Super Stock
Marker Setup: black/blue 693 the freak barrel kit, a sp on/off valve, sp gripz and a feed neck, 47psi 3k, and a empire reloader sound activated.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well i would say the none..but if you want your ion to kick ass like a shocker. Then you should upgrade your board, blade trigger, bolt, better feedneck, halo b hopper, a cp on/off valve (or other on/off valve), a black heart board or the new pb vantage board (coming soon), Qev, and a 45k 68 psi. Remember its not necessary to do all these upgrades because the stock ion work good for me or better yet buy the smart parts ion pro on any a few stores..is very rare to find them.
Strengths: EVERYTHING!! this gun performs like a dm4 or a proto matrix or some times better.
Weaknesses: Seeing the light and changing modes of fire that's about it..
Review: This gun is basically a stock ion with an s rail, new feed, freak jr, and on off, and a new grip. This gun is great for mid to pro level players because it is quick, basic, simple, and not that complicated. If you like the ion spend the xtra 60 bucks and get a pro.

Conclusion: I would recommend you guys to get this gun.. its really easy to take a part, and the performance is really good and so far i have not found any problems with this gun. except me not knowing how to turn it on..ROFLMAO!! im a nub i know but yeah this gun is really good..THIS GUN IS THE BOMB!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

seanrquinn Sunday, December 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
uh... spider pilot acs? i own a tlx with an eframe
Marker Setup: SP Ion, Freak jr,inline maxflo, 47/3000 hpa Ricochet ak (soon to be haloB)
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV, Trigger (everyone says so...)
Strengths: Freak jr.; maxflo!!!!!!; comes with a tank
Weaknesses: Um... use good paint?
Review: ok, i am reviewing a package deal that i got at actionvillage caled the Ion imf 3000 so im not sure if its the same as a pro. The package i got came with an ion with a maxflo on it. The freak jr and a 47/3000 tank. I used this gun the day i got it (yesterday) and it rocked! The field i played at were selling this crap paint (we didnt know) and GAP ok paint. Upon using the crap paint, i was constantly having balls misfed in my feedneck (will be fixed with force feed halo B!) but that is kind of a ball malfunction, because my eyes wouldnt shoot when they got jammed! i love those air saving eyes! My friend was using a 45/45 tank on a pilot acs, and i was refilling every time he was! this maxflo was great! and at the chrono i got 255, 255, 255, 256, 257 which was incredible! i love this maxflo, and im kind of protective of this gun because it seems too good to be true, and someone is going to take it! but i know thats not true, but it is awesome!

EDIT After owning this gun for several Months (alright, two!) I have come to the conclusion that this is an incredible deal. I have people asking me why i have a maxflo on it when i could have bought another ion, stuff like that. With a new .689 insert the barrel shoots ball on top of ball. Not much more to say. I am getting a Tboard, a QEV, and a new trigger, but thats cuz im a frontman and need speed. Hope this helps you buy the ion!
Conclusion: a great package deal, and for 400 it is well worth it (610-620 value!) yes i did the math on that (to convince parents to buiy 4 my bday) and im happy they bought it! the link for where is got it is: http://www.actionvillage.com/is-bin/INTERSHOP.enfinity/eCS/S
tore/en/-/USD/DisplayProductInformation-Start;sid=cBX8G3weV8
f8Dz-NYDs8s3a4eGSYQZGlhig=?ProductID=rtTAqArbjNMAAAEHVlcPTGx
W hope you like it! (copy paste that lol)
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 2nd, 2006 at 6:56 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment

pbfreak555 Thursday, February 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder pilot, pilot acs, tippmann 98 custom. don't even come close in comparison. ion easily beats them.
Marker Setup: ion pro
cp flame drop forward
cp asa on/off
q lock feed neck
12" two piece all american barrel
cp rake trigger
kila magnetic detents
smart parts firebolt
new designz qev
virtue board
DXS pulse loader
68 cu pure energy tank with cp nipple and dye cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, qev, drop forward, fast hopper
Strengths: Speed
Consistency
Light
Accuracy
Price
Quiet
Weaknesses: Trigger
Have to be careful when disassembling
Review: When I got this gun I was very excited. I went home and gased it up and I first tried dry firing it and it sounded and felt very nice. I threw on my pulse and loaded it with paint and fired a whole box of a month old bonus balls through my gun. It didnt break a single ball and the gun kept a descent consistency when shooting. The gun comes stock with a freak jr. barrel and is pretty accurate. I would recommend an all-american but it's my opinion. The gun is very fast (capped at 17 bps) and the eyes work very well. I used this gun in my tourny and it worked very well. I didnt have 1 problem with it. this gun is very upgradeable. and easily competes with $700+ guns. its very fun to customize. I would recommend that you use sleek gun grease. Lube the bolt every week or so. I didn't like the stock trigger at all. It felt and looked cheap and it was super wobbly i would recommend a rake trigger if you're wanting a new trigger. When a took apart the gun it looked fairly simple. But be sure when your putting it back together that no wires are pinched or unplugged because it will happen if you become careless. also dont' use CO2 for this gun because it messes it up. use compressed air for best performance and better consistency.
Conclusion: If you dont think you're a beginner anymore then think about getting this gun. It wont let you down.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 15th, 2007 at 5:55 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dysfunctnlretar Tuesday, February 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot
Regular Ion
PMI Pirahna E Force
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Pro
CP Rake Trigger
Freak Inserts
Halo B with Victory Board
PMI 68/4500
Rhino Cover
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger-Stock just sucks, as with every gun
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Light
Quiet
Weaknesses: Caps On ROF
Review: I purchased this gun for 269 and I think I got a good deal on it. The gun is great, its fast and since it comes with a freak barrel its pretty accurate. Out of the box you might want to get a new trigger (the CP one works awesome) and perhaps another insert for the barrel because the one provided is pretty big (693). Its pretty light which makes it really easy to manuver and I liked the fact that I didnt have to purchase a new feedneck, the stock one hold my halo prefectly. The on/off is pretty useful but Im using a PMI 68 tank and its a little bulky so a better drop would help balance the thing out. Its a great gun for the money. like I said, I only got it for 269 (new) and it has many upgrades that could save you money if you were to try and upgrade a normal ion. It comes with the on/off drop, body kitz, grips, freak barrel, and clamping feedneck.
Conclusion: Excellent deal for the money. I spent 25 bucks on a CP trigger and thats the only upgrade you really need, this gun is awesome. I play almost every week and I have nothing to complain about because this gun matches up to other high end guns. if your looking for a great deal and a decent gun the pro is the way to go. I give it a ten for its performance according to its price. It no angel or timmy but its good. Buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TwoStepN41 Saturday, January 20th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dynasty Ion, spyders, tippmans, and a mongooose
Marker Setup: Freak barrel
clamp feedneck
on off adapter
halo tsa backman
Recommended
Upgrades:
none so far
Strengths: So accurate and fast
Weaknesses: A little bit louder than some ions but not noticable unless you know em well
Review: Amazing i read reviews on this and bought it. And i will write a review later on i shot about 500 balls. It is so accurate it was 30 degrees outside and none chopped and they did not drop. It is very quiet it shoots fast and is at a great price!
Conclusion: Buy it!! i love it getting this was better than christmas!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crossfire1221 Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i've tested almost all of the high end markers
Marker Setup: q lock feed neck
freak barrel 14 inch .693 insert
on/off, just like the shocker bottomlines
red body kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
the feedneck
the trigger, its not that bad of a trigger though, a little wobbly
easy-on if the power button bothers you
everything else is good though
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Weight
Price
Weaknesses: -Air efficency GAS HOG
-be careful when you take it apart
Review: I am impressed with this marker, i no ions are very popular ... but if you are loooking for a gun that can be upgraded and not get owned by the people with DM6's and shockers at where you play paintball, without paying 1,000+ ... i would go with this gun

-The accuracy is impressive on this marker, ball on ball shots ... no curves, dips, or anything. Also, the first shot that you shoot, does not go two feet ahead of you like some other markers, not that big of a deal though

-The air efficency of this marker isnt that bad ... i got atleast 5 rounds without having to fill up my tank (45/45)

-The speed of this marker is INCREDIBLE ... to be honest with you, i did not expect this marker to be that good, but it is really quick

-The only thing i would upgrade on this marker is the feedneck ... which i actually already did, i have a q lock

-Board is fine, virtue would be the fastest, thats obvious ... but the t-board in this marker does get pretty fast ... just run yur tanks through it, break it in
Conclusion: This marker has it all speed, accuracy, and the maintence is easy

The only thing you should be careful about is the dissasembly
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 14th, 2006 at 7:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballer6202 Saturday, September 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 with e grip
Marker Setup: Trilogy Pro Sf
Egg Loader
CORE Universal Drop Forward
PMI Pure Energy Fixed N2 Tank - 72ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Well Im a Big Fan of big Drop Forwards
Strengths: Comes with a freak barrel I love the stock trigger
Weaknesses: None I have found
Review: My brother has a smart parts ion pro we usally go into my back yard and play around me using my trilogy. One day i decided to try his pro i LOVED it i still like the trilogy better but i wouldnt mingd having the ion as a backup gun great for the price and very air efficent. Great gun for price and i also think this gun desrves more then a nie at lest a 9.4 really a good gun
Conclusion: Buy it wont be sad
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media