paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
XSVFORCE Tuesday, August 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing
Marker Setup: Smart parts Ion pro
Eggy with y board
virtue board
dye stickies
47/3000 tank
max flo
Freak junior kit with all american front and 4 inserts
rolling trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
tank is a must
Strengths: FAST (18 balls a second)
ACCURATE
GREAT PRICE
DIFFERENT MODES (ramp, automatic)
LOTS OF UPGRADES
Weaknesses: Gas hog

Wobbly trigger

Hard to clean
Review: This gun is amazing I went paintballin with the friends the other day and i ripped them to shreds. I was using ramp in the chrono and it was soo fast i couldnt believe it. This is an awseome deal and it was my first electronic gun. I also used automatic which was insane. The only problem i had was the air consomtion. This gun got about 600 shots before it went dry because my stock tank was to small. This gun is also very lightwieght and easy to manage. All in all great buy for anyone who doesnt want to spend 1000 dollars for a gun.
Conclusion: This is an awseome gun I recommend you to get it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dirty Drummer Wednesday, July 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98custom w/ CP 14" barrel
Marker Setup: Ion Pro
Halo B Hopper
Clamping feed neck
Freak Jr. Back w/ .689 insert
Mini-Drop w/ on/off valve
HPA 3,000psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo B Hopper
.689 insert for Freak Jr.
HPA 4,500psi tank
QEV
Strengths: Shoots 17bps
4 different firing modes
Light
Well built
Quiet
Tons of upgrades available
Weaknesses: Must use HPA
Hopper in middle of marker
Must open marker to adjust settings
Review: What do you get with the Pro that you don't get with the regular Ion?
The Pro has:
Freak Jr. Back and comes with a .693 insert (too big, get a different sized insert likea .689)
Mini-Drop with an on/off valve (this is also your saftey)
Clamping feedneck (to hold your hopper in place)
Colored Body Kit (I got black, go figure)

Pros:

Firing Modes
Its fun to fool around with the various firing modes but I leave mine on semi-auto for a few reasons.
1: it can only shoot the full 17bps on semi and rebound (with the other modes it drops to 10bps)
2: most fields don't allow anything but semi-auto.
Also note that the full-auto mode is not available in England.

Shooting
With a little tweaking of the Dwell and RoF this marker will shoot extemely consitently, especially if you buy the SP 360 QEV for it. Mine seems to use quite a bit of air so I wish I would've gotten the bigger 4,500psi tank as oppoesed to my 3,000psi tank. However I can still shot about 800 shots before I have to refill my tank. Accuracy is good and drop off is minimal once you have tweaked your Pro to the ideal settings.

They eyes are amazing on this thing. They see the ball so your marker only shoots when you have a ball that is ready, thus preventing chops and breaks. I haven't had a single break or chop. You can also tun them off if you don't want to use them. But why would you do that.

Feel of the Marker
The Ion Pro is also well balanced as I can hold it in the middle and it doesn't tilt one way or the other. It feels good to hold and I do not find myslef constantly moving it around trying to get a better grip on it as I did with my Tipmmann.

Cons: (depends on your type of play)

Hopper Location
What I didn't notice until I used the Pro for the first time is that the hopper sits right in the middle of the marker making it impossible to look directly down the barrel. This is good for keeping a low profile when looking around bunkers as you don't have anything sticking out that can get shot. But, if you play woodsball like I do, then you have to look at the side to see where your shots are going. But its not hard to get used to and I can still see where my balls are landing.

Making Adjustments
To make any adjusmetns to the Dwell, Rate of Fire or Firing Modes you have to open the side grips by unscrewing two screws. This makes the Ion Pro leagal for use in tournaments, as you cannot change settings on the fly. But as I stated above I keep mine set at semi-auto and you don't need to mess with the Dwell or Rof once you get the set.

Air and C02
You can use C02 but it is recomened that you use HPA due to the fact that any liquid C02 that enters you Ion can and will damage. It costs me $3 to fill my 3,000psi tank. As stated above I would get the biggest tank you can afford.

Conclusion: If you want something that can keep you from getting out gunned by the high priced markers the Ion Pro will do just that.

I am very pleased with this marker and would recomend it to anybody looking for great gun at a low price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, July 12th, 2006 at 3:50 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

jcat3386 Monday, January 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion
eblade cocker
eforce piranhas
jt
tippmans
Marker Setup: blue ion pro
45 4500 crossfire lp tank
halo on the way
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak insert kit
compressed air tank
fassst hopper
ohh yeah and alot of paintballs
Strengths: Accurate, fast, looks, light weight, price.
Weaknesses: nothing no problems yet and I even played in the rain
Review: This is s a great gun, i got it for christmas and I love it it is very fast. The first time I played with this gun I had to use a gravity feed hopper, saving up for halo b. I was still getting at least 6bps with a gravity feed hopper, this gun is very air efficient. I had my ion runing at 105psi and still out shot my freinds piranha it was going farther and more accurate(my freinds were afraid of getting hit by the ion at 180psi so they made me turn it down).
Conclusion: This gun is amazing, best gun there is for the price.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

BrutishOpus Sunday, January 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 Avant
ProStock Autocoker
DMC/DM5/DM6
Angel Speed
Marker Setup: E-99 Avant with a 16 inch Nightstick barrel, Shocktech Superfly bolt, Dye Sticky Grip

Ion Pro with rail and On/Off ASA, Freak Barrel, CP Blade Trigger, CP Reg, Halo B hopper and a 3000 PSI HPA Tank from Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Reg
Trigger (not a biggy, but would help)
feedneck
Strengths: VERY Accurate
Quite
Fast
Small/Compact
Weaknesses: Feedneck
Review: This is a very nice gun, I'm really shocked thats its only around $350, its a knockout marker!!!

Pro-

very quite, it sounds like a rush of air coming out of the barrel, no loud booms or muffled booms, its very quite, for anyone whos every shot a DM it sounds close to thats, maybe a little louder, but not by much

Very accurate, oh my gosh, everybody says its accurate, but Dang, its accurate with the stock barrel, but with the freak it it so sweet!!! I was easily picking off guys in the woods and the speedball field, its very accurate, on a scale from 1-10, 10 being a coker, I would give it a 8 or low 9

Its very small and compact, nothing stickes out so you can get really small in Speedball bunkers, and its light, so your arm wont get tired from carrying it around

cons-

Even though its a upgrade from the stock it wont fit a Halo B without some force, I'm getting a new one, but it will fit some hoppers, but the Evo and Halo wont fit without some grunts and force, but it will fit, but other feednecks work so much better


Upgrades-

I would recommend a new reg, the stock is o.k., but I was testing for drop off and stuff and after a long (really long) string of paintballs it did start to drop off, so for you back players, if you lane a while, you may want a new reg, but the stock reg is o.k., but aftermarket regs work really well and there is no drop off,

The trigger is very sensitive as it comes, but a aftermarket trigger will allow you to shoot faster alot easier, if you think the stock trigger is sensitive wait until you feel a aftermarket trigger, its butter smooth, just a recommendation, the stock trig is fine and its adjustable
Conclusion: I love this marker, very good marker, I am shocked at the price there selling it at, the Pro is the way to go, it comes with a freak barrel with a insert, ASA with On/off and a upgraded feedneck, but it still is king of shabby, I give it 9 due to the feedneck, but if it wasn't for that I would give it a 10, so my rating would be a 9/10
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Pbgear Sunday, May 23rd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Ion, virtue board, Halo hopper, 68/4500 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
Strengths: Performance for the price
Weaknesses: Trigger feels cheap, weak
Review: This is my main marker. It has not failed me at all. This thing is the best that the ion can be out from the factory. The barrel is very nice. It provides the accuracy and functionality that a player needs. This marker is perfect for the casual speedball player. If you just go out on occation then this is the marker that you want to have in your bag. It is priced right, regulators are great, its accurate, and easy to maintain.
Conclusion: Ions are excellent and this ion pro is even better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TitanMatt Monday, February 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
for me...none
Marker Setup: Stock Ion Pro
Empire loader
Pure Energy HPA
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you get the Ion Pro... little to none on the gun. A new trigger and A lighter bolt maybe.
Of course an air tank and a loader
Strengths: For the price...it is the best gun in the world!
Weaknesses: Air pressure is kind of high. Stock trigger sucks
Review: I play in tournaments and big field events and I have won several using this gun. I mean its definitely comparable to any high end marker our right now. It has a GREAT barrel, GREAT eyes, GREAT maintenance... I mean I can go on for a while. Sure the DM7s and 8s are better on paper but on the field when your looking across at me with my Ion. The same paint, the same speed, the same accuracy, and same rate of fire. Its the same gun.

If I could describe this marker in one sentence...
This gun has the specs to let you play with the big dogs and also have money still left in your wallet to take your girlfriend to dinner that Friday night.

I have never had anything go wrong with my gun. And im not exactly treating it like a newborn baby. Its had its fair share of abuse and rough handling. As I sit here and think about it, I cant think of a single time it has chopping in a game for me or let me down in any way. 30,000 paintballs through it and still counting with not a single ball break due to the marker or eyes!
Conclusion: 10 across the board simply because the price is so good for what you get on the gun.
I rate this Gun a 15 out of 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamMercury11 Tuesday, January 1st, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion w/ Sling, PMR, Spyder Pilot, Alien Independance, E-Tek, Shocker, Highly Upgraded(friends)DM4
Marker Setup: Dynasty Ion Pro(Couldn't find a thread for this one) Sling Blade Trigger, Upgraded VLocity Jr., SP's 4500 Carbon FIber Tank, SP Phase 3, Freak Barrel Kit, Blackheart Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
If yours comes with the stock 3000 Tank, upgrade
Decent Hopper(At least an egg)
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Semi Lightwieght, Small, Cool
Weaknesses: Possible Leak, Trigger, 10BPS Cap
Review: I love this marker. I play with a lot of people from Total Karnage, Fokai, and Pulse, so I know what I'm doing. They all love the marker(EGo/Shocker users) as do I. The All American stock barrel is basically a not-as-good Freak. It shoots as straight as you could want this marker to, and can keep you paint going straight to your target.

Here's the actual marker review though.

- Despite what a chunk of the paintball comunity is saying right now, the ion is a decent marker, especually this one. Of course, an eight hundred marker is much better, but for three through four hundred marker, what's the actual arguement? The marker is cheap enough for a low budget person, or a monthly friend get-together player. I mean, for about three hundred dollars, you are getting a competitive marker that has some of the features of the top of the line markers.
- The Regulator that comes on this marker is pretty nice too. The max-flo micro is a small, sweet looking, good regulator. With an on-off valve, and all the stuff you would expect from any other reg out there, you get it your money's worth, with the kit.

I've played with mine four times, and I have shot about seven or eight cases of paint through it. I normally play with my friends DM4, but now that I have this, there is no need. My marker can basically keep up with my friends Ego, in which he has very heavily upgraded. He has actually complimented it under a few occasions, which is no joke. Of course, I would love a shocker or an angel, but for the money I spent on my Dynasty Ion Pro, I can't whine, or argue anything.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to anyone who is newer to the sport, and is low on money. For only a little more than a stock ion, you get a nicely upgraded one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 1st, 2008 at 8:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Nj x Pb Monday, December 31st, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Rental Tippmanns- Don't even compare
Friend's Pirhana- Does't even come close
This is my first true marker
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Pro with:
Red Trinity Sick Body
Smart Parts 14" Freak Jr. Barrel
Hybrid Contract Killer Grips
Smart Parts Q-Lock Feedneck
Smart Parts Roll Blade Trigger
Virtue Easy-On
Virtue QEV
Virtue Break Beam Eyes- Red
Dye Throttle 45ci/4500psi HPA Tank
ViewLoader VLocity Jr. Loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
The only I would reccomend for my marker is a new bolt and/or new board since mine is pretty much upgraded

But if you have a stock Ion Pro I would recommend a new trigger, new feedneck, QEV, More inserts for the Freak Barrel, and possibly a new board
Strengths: Cheap for the performance
Light
Very Fast
Very Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Caps on Firing Modes ( new board can fix this )
Sometimes Leaky Bottom line
Review: I got my Ion pro for Christmas and I couldn't wait to try it out, so I plugged in my HPA tank and put my Hopper on, and went outside for a little test. I poured in some paint and started shooting and I noticed that this thing RIPS!!!! This thing shot ropes of paint very fast and was very accurate and ran through 180 balls in no time!!! Then I went to the local paintball field with my friends and my Ion Pro easily kept up with/exceeded the competition. I only had a few minor problems with it plus the paint we were using was very fragile and was completely horrible. My new Ion Pro was very stylish and had great performance. My marker is also very durable since I played with it in the woods a couple of times it got dirt in it and every thing. I really like my Ion Pro
Conclusion: This marker is totally worth the price and is very upgradeable. I strongly recommend that you get this marker!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbman_1623 Friday, July 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder electra w/eye-not as good, but the closest match
Marker Setup: Ion-red
freak jr
q-lock feedneck
on/off mini drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
A .689 freak insert (comes with .693 which is way too big.)
Strengths: Fast
Light
Quiet
Accurate
Weaknesses: Trigger is a little wobbly and not that easy to walk.
Insert is too big.
Review: I had an electra before this gun and it was not as good as I hoped it would be. I would definately not recommend it over the ion pro. They both cost the same amount and the ion pro is better in every asset. The only problem I have had with the ion is the hose leaked once, and you just have to push it in and pull it out a little to fix it. This thing can shoot ropes and put them all in the spot you want them. I would definately recommend this over the regular ion, since it comes with some very important upgrades that you would eventually end up buying which are worth over $100 combined.
Conclusion: At only $55 over the regular ion with a body kit, the ion pro is an outstanding deal for anyone wanting a cheaper gun that can hang with just about any other gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 8th, 2007 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DSDM Monday, July 2nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
this is my first EP marker

PMI G3 Electonic
2K4 EVO
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
88 CI 45K Crossfire tank
Max Flo Micro
Smart parts Freak Jr Barrel
New designz QEV
clamping feed neck
Egg II loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt
QEV
Strengths: Ready to go right out of the box; Upgradable; Not expensive, Reliable.
Weaknesses: It is an airhog out of the box
Review: A light weight, fully upgradable marker, 4 different firing modes, that is ready to run right out of the box.

It does not cost too much to get into which is why there are a lot of them out there.

It has a full line of aftermarket parts (In fact you can build one completly out of aftermarket parts) which makes it nice for the tinkerer out there.

This marker is great for those who are upgrading from their 29.95 dollar Wal*Mart marker or for those who are mecanically inclined as their first marker.

It does what it is suppose to do very nicely.
Conclusion: for someone who is getting into the sport or someone who is serious on a budget, you get a lot of bang for your buck and you can make it unique to you over time. A definate buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media