paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
paintballa1000 Saturday, June 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VS3, spyder pilot
Marker Setup: ion pro
empire grips
carbon fiber trigger
evo 3 hopper
47 ci 3000 psi tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger
qev
Strengths: Fast
Cheap
Light
Weaknesses: Trigger
Accuracy
Review: Its a great gun. I was very happy with the performance, but it does shoot loops. If you have $280 and you are lookin for a good cheap gun you should buy an ion pro. The ion pro is about $50 more than a stock ion, but you need the upgrades the ion pro has to get it to shoot straight and accurate.
Conclusion: You should get this gun. With about $300-400 of upgrades it could keep up with a ego or other high end guns.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPARTAN148 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: sp ion pro
halo b/with rip drive
pure energy 45/68 tank
sp firebolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger,bolt,virtue,fast hopper
Strengths: Fast
Durable
Cheap
Accuracy
Light
Upgrades
Weaknesses: Trigger

Review: AWSOME, plain and simple. This is a GREAT gun. i love it. its fast right out of the box and with a few upgrades it can be just as fast as $1000-$2000 tourny guns. very durable. i fell very hard in the dirt in a attack/defend game and i was like oh !@#$ i just broke it, but exept for some dirt clogging the barrel and a few broken balls in the hopper it was fine. like i said awsome gun.
Conclusion: Get it you wont be disapionted with it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SouthernStyle Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion Pro, Orange Unicorn Bolt, Smartparts QEV, Virtue Borad, Custom Products Sling Blade Trigger. Smartparts Freak. 68/45 Nitro Duck xstream.
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV first, Regulator second.
Strengths: Comes with Qlock, Micro Drop w/ on/off, Freak barrel.
Weaknesses: Gas Hog
Review: I purchased this marker on a whim. After playing a scenario game and shooting someones I like it. People say that they are cheep and unreliable, there are some good things and bad things. I bought my Ion pro to save the agravation of buying a few upgrades. I took it home I didnt like the stock borad or the trigger. So I made a u-turn back to the pro shop. Picked up Orange unicorn bolt, Virture borad, and QEV. And a J&J Ceramic barrel since I was gonna use this mostly for woodsball. Took it home, after an hour of putting new upgrades in it. This thing RIPS. Unlimited on semi is all you need on the virture borad. There was more consistant shots with the QEV installed. Paintballs were right in line. So basicly a stock ion is ok for starting out. If your like me and are picky about your marker. Then buy the upgrades right up front. I also didnt have to buy another freak barrel for the kit I already had. Which was a plus. But i did by the J&J barrel simply because the Ion is super quiet with one. Its cheep and not bad as people make it out to be. Works fine on the speedball corse also. I get alot of people asking me whats inside. Its a great marker I dont care what anyone says, I have a 1000+ Alias and I like my Ion better cause its small and it rips minus the gas effecency. When you got all day air "Who Cares!!"
Conclusion: If you are thinking about spending 1000 plus on a marker consider that there are other options out there. I thought the Ion was a Piece of .... Untill I tryed one out. They rip right out of the box and even better with a few upgrades. I am happy I bought this for my scenario marker it gets the job done and its small, compact, and light weight.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ehass Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
06 Shocker
Bob long intimidator
Marker Setup: Ion pro
Black Heart
Freak jr
fire bolt
q lock
Viewloader tipod w/ x-board
48/45 ANS tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
new on/off
new bolt
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Good for the price
Weaknesses: Not as gas efficient as i would like (but fixable)
Review: Great for ther price and its easy to take apart. easliy upgraded. its accurate and good even if its stock. its light and is great for any level player. There are a lot around but their easy to custimaze to make yours seem different and you can take them practcly anywhere if somthing goes wrong
Conclusion: This is a great product and will satisfy the paintballer in you.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nizzle08 Thursday, May 10th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
pmr,victor,stock ion,vl,tetra
Marker Setup: virtue easy on, fbm trigger, halo b with a z and a rip, pmi 72/3000 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, 691 insert, virtue easy on button
Strengths: Barrel, on/off, q-lock, stock with body kit
Weaknesses: Stock trigger,hard to turn on
Review: This is a good second gun for you if you are looking for a new gun. comes with a lot stock that would cost more if you bought separate. easy to adjust stock trigger. i love the gun. get the gun if your not looking into anything too expensive but still want a decent gun. hope this helps
Conclusion: Buy this gun if your looking for something not too pricey and still want a good gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

c0bra56 Wednesday, April 18th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder electra o5 acs w/ rocking trigger
perhania
Marker Setup: freak jr. tip and back/ .693 insert
asa
s-rail
smart grip
q-lock
cp rack trigger
stock board
evo 2
pure energy 72ci 3000psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak insert kit
new trigger
qev
bolt
board not needed, but can if wanted
Strengths: Fast
Accurete
Light
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Takes time to take apart
Review: If you want a gun that is not extremely expensive, but at the same time get great performance, you found the right gun, this gun is so light, fast, and accurate that you wont need to buy another gun, make sure you dont use old paint in it, that also goes for any other gun you have, it just breaks in the barrel, the dwell is a little hard to figure out, only because it differs from ion to ion
Conclusion: Want a gun to keep up with the best, you found it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hiddenkiller Saturday, March 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: ion pro-red
68/45 crossfire hp
virtue
viewloader vlocity
qev
techt l6 bolt
cp rake trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
virtue
new bolt
qev
Strengths: Fast
Light
Efficient
No kick
Weaknesses: Trigger
Disassembly takes long time
Review: I have used this gun for about 5 months ,since then i had few problems like the stock board. It shoots about 15-17 bps,get a virtue board lets you shot 20+ bps.Also the trigger sucks. I hate the stock trigger its not metal. I have not chopped paint , the eyes are very good. The barrel is the best, but a new insert is better (a smaller insert is good). A fast hopper is a must. A empire b2 is the best for a ion or a vlocity.Do get a lp tank for the gun a hp is too much pressure (a crossfire lp tank is the only tank you should you buy for this gun and any other high end markers).
Conclusion: The best for the money, needs some small upgrades but still the best
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

scorpions Thursday, January 25th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
i used a tippmann before......................................................
..... sucks compared to Ion's
Marker Setup: i have an ion pro witha new trigger on it,
Recommended
Upgrades:
new trigger stock version is good but u can always do better.
Strengths: Great in speedball and i had a lot of fun using it
Weaknesses: With Ion's you have to use a nitrogen tank and those can be expensive
Review: Great for a new team and teams for young gun tournaments. got complimented the first time i played with it. easy to roll the trigger to. i dont think of any other gun in the price range that i would rather have. this gun will blow a spyder,tippmann,viewloader, and a diaBLOW away.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you want a new gun that shoots faster i love mine and you will love yours!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Z07 Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
my friends ions
Marker Setup: ion
stiffi 16inch barrel
cp on/off with micro razor drop
virtue laser eye system
cp short regulator
cp sling trigger
smart parts ion firebolt
smart parts qlock feedneck
Evolution 3
nitro duck x-stream 70ci 4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
all the things that I got, all work great and is a very fast ion the fastest ive ever shot
Strengths: Lite 2.5 pounds with barrel
Accuate
Fast
Doesnt hog air
Weaknesses: None
Review: My uped ion is fast, accuate, and very lite the litest ion ive held. I recomend the ion to anyone who loves to play and is also good for tourtament play too. If you purchase and ion the fisrt thing you should do to upgarde it is get a new feedneck and then an on/off. At my local paintball store the owner and a guy who works there both told me tha my ion was just as good as a Etek ego because of all the upgrades. Also CP makes great stuff especially for the ion. CP's the best. I havent seen an ion like mine yet. The uped ion is agreat gun to buy.
Conclusion: The upped ion is good because it can be made really fast with the right upgrades. It is also a great overall gun and thats why I give it a 10!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 8:02 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

spyderman153 Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Wrath
Piranah Evo
Evil Omen
DM5 (way better)
Marker Setup: Smartparts Ion Pro - Silver
New Designz Roller Trigger
Virtue QEV
Halo B w/Rip
72/3000 Pure Energy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger
Freak inserts
Regulator (if you want to spend the money)
Bolt + Qev (L6 is my preference)
Electronic Loader
Strengths: Speed
Durability
Accuracy
Upgrades from stock ion
Weaknesses: Air Effeciency
Reg is ok, could be better
Review: When I first was looking for a gun, i was deciding between a Smartparts ion, a Spyder ACS Electra,and a Diablo Wrath. A afriend recomended the ion so i started to look at one. I thought it was okay until i saw the ion pro. Even though it was 300$ it had a freak and a on/off and stuff, i thought it was worth the money.

Strengths:

Board: Overall, it is a nice board. It has semi and ramping (rebound according to smart parts) It also has three shot burst and full auto which are pointless necessities. It has a decent max rof capped at 17bp with adjustable dwell, rof, and a cycle mode. The eyes are good and have never made a problem for me. Just make sure you take propper care of them.

Overall Speed: With the board, the gun also has a good cycling speed. If you are planing to get a new board, make sure to get a qev to up the cycling rate.

Barrel: If you already didnt know, the Freak barrel that comes with a pro s much much better than the stock barrel. Even with the .693 insert that comes with it, it still shoots a whole lot better than the stock.

Feed Neck:(Q-lock) A huge upgrade from the stock and a whole lot lower. Your hopper isnt 80 miles in the air anymore. Once you clamp your hopper in it will not budge. You may need to sand your hopper in certain cases which is what i had to do with my halo b.

On/Off: Enables you to keep your tank on the gun, saves a little bit of air and just makes your gun easyier to operate.

Weaknesses

Air Hog: Definetly not a timmy when it comes to air. Without a bolt, qev ect. i got about
3 hoppers full before i had to go fill my tank. Since i have such a crappy tank, you would probably get more with a 68/4500 like most people w/ions have.

Trigger: If you take the magnet out on the stock one, it will improve your speed but it will void the warranty you have on your gun. When I bought my New Designz roller trigger, it was much more adjustible and improved my rof. I have seen a kids stock ion trigger shot off (literaly, broken off) during a tourney.

Regulator: decient but a aftermarket reg will increase your accuracy and consistancy.
Conclusion: Gets this if yous gots the dough. Recomended above the stock ion. the extra 100$ will save you money if you plan on upgrading your gun. It is a great price for the quality product that you get. Overall, good gun for everyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media