paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro / Smart Parts Ion Pro

Smart Parts Ion Pro Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Ion Pro

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Ion Pro
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 70
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $200

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Pro Additions:

Twister Locking Feed Neck (installed)
Smart Parts Grips (installed)
Shocker Style Mini Drop with Twist On/Off Valve (installed)
Freak Barrel with Jr. Tip and .693 Insert Freak Back (installed)

17 balls per second semi-auto rate of fire with 3 shot burst, full auto and our Rebound firing mode.
Break-beam Vision Anti-Chop System Reliable and durable, the eyes are mounted on a separate board for perfect alignment and not affected by paint or body color. Just clean and replace (in minutes).
A Featherweight Prizefighter At 2.2 pounds, the Ion is among the lightest high-end markers made, and it�s tube design imparts an ultra low profile.
Reliability The Ion was engineered to stand up to the demands of professional players. It will outlast what used to be considered high-end and won't break down the minute you get it home.
Improved Ball Detents Approximately 10 times the service life of current detents.
Great Efficiency Expect a reliable 1000-1400 shots from a 68ci, 4500psi bottle without any modifications
Body Kits A first for paintball. High-quality aluminum internals are protected by composite shells, allowing you to instantly change the color or look of your body. Tired of blue? Switch to red. Or black. Or yellow. And there are more body styles in the works...
Feed Tube with O-Ring Seals Fits a wider range of hoppers than most guns in this price range.
Tools 1/8" Allen wrench is all you need for primary disassembly--and it�s included, along with trigger and velocity adjustment wrenches and a handy parts kit.
Impulse Threads Take advantage of the barrels and feed tubes you may already have.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Ion Pro is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
ittalianstalion Thursday, November 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion, spyders.
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom pro, longbow barrel. egg 2, response trigger, ion pro Viewloader Vlocity, red and black ion max'd freak barrel flame drop rampage board
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger, freak inserts, new board
Strengths: Light
Quite
Fast!
Weaknesses: None that i can think of
Review: Smart parts is absolutely the greatest company ever. the ions are great guns and are very easy to maintain. the instruction manual could be a little clearer but this gun is light 2.2 pounds! it comes with a freak barrel the only thing you need is more inserts to be on the safe side. the trigger is a little wobbly but you can live with it until you really need a new one.
Conclusion: Ions and any smart part gun will definitely be a smart choice. the ions are fast light and what more do u need?

bassically its the blue color tournament paintball gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 21st, 2006 at 5:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bballer828 Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
bushmaster bko, no comparison the ion is so much lighter and more accurate.
Marker Setup: smart parts ion pro, virtue board, odyssey halo B, and i always shoot draxxus
Recommended
Upgrades:
trigger, its wobbly but you can still play with it. ok dont get me wrong the ion pro is hott but the virtue board blow my mind, try it out. u will see a difference
Strengths: Affordable, fast, light, accurate, upgradable lol
Weaknesses: Trigger, grips are hard to put on.
Review: ok im officially fully endorsing this gun and ive only had time to play like 3 times since i bought it. If you just wanna have fun and play u can buy this gun and hook up ur stuff and play no problem. the upgrades of the pro are well worth it.
Conclusion: Buy it. Its cool.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Terror~ Sunday, September 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Pilot, ACS Bolt, Evil Pipe Kit.
Marker Setup: Ion Pro, Warrior Ion Trigger, New designz Bolt, Blue Halo B, 68/4500 Crossfire HP tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
Strengths: Accuracy, Fast, Eyes, Light
Weaknesses: Not that easy to take apart
Review: I just got my 06 Ion Pro yesterday. After installing the new bolt and trigger (Which was a pain in the butt because the screws kept backing out and then it wouldnt fire, but some Lock tite did the trick) i went out and got some air today and some paintballs. Once i got home i loaded it up and let it rip. First off i tried rebound mode just to see what it could do. I was very impressed with how easily it shot through the hopper. The trigger felt great and it was just a constant stream at my target. Secondly i noticed how accurate it was. Almost every single ball was right over the other. There is pretty much no kick on this gun either, it is very easy to keep it on target. Out of the box the pro is exactly what i wanted. I am happy i chose this gun.
Conclusion: My final recommendation for this product is that its light, its fast enough, its pretty accurate and its very upgradeable. A very nice gun especially for the price. Im giving the ion "Pro" a ten because of the upgraded barrel and ASA. For the price nothing can compare to it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Rich e b Friday, August 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder xtra............ obvioulsy doesnt compare
Marker Setup: Stock :)
Strengths: Fast
Weaknesses: Look down under review! cuz this thing has a 15 word maximum- stupid
Review: Good gun, look at the "weaknesses" - obviously i'm writing this for ppl who want to get it, and so they'll know what to do when they get back 2 their house.

if im wrong about that then pm me- but i know im not :)


*** this is supposed to be in the weakness area above, too many words tho*** this is why i wrote this review! when you buy your ion, its "stock" at 250 psi- the gun shouldnt be at 250 psi, you'll blow the solenoid,
so be careful, read the manual and turn that velocity down sonnnnn
Conclusion: Buy it
Because its cheap
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

stfunewb Tuesday, August 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmman 98, Diablo Wrath LTD, Brass Eagle Avenger ( First gun ), Piranna E- Force
Marker Setup: Ion pro
Egg Hopper
Pure Energy N2 air system
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger is pretty much a must. But that's cheap.
If you really wanna get into the game and compete a new board would be good..
Strengths: Cheap, Light, Fast, Looks
Weaknesses: Stock trigger
Review: Well, I just received my Ion Pro in the mail yesterday. And since then I've fallen in love with it.. I paid 300$ for it at SakWorldPaintball.com. Got it ahead of time. I opened the box and the only thing I am mad about is there is a small scratch on the barrell. But as long as it works good I'm happy. The first thing I did is what I do with all my guns when I first get them. I took the gun apart and looked at how it works... How to clean it. Ect... It was kind of nerve wracking when you first open it up but if you follow the manual you will be just fine. The manual is very good and full of information. I put it together again and put my air into it. The new drop forward on/ off valve is very nice and handy. I put 500 rounds through it and was very pleased. The only bad thing is that my egg was having a hard time keeping up. But the eyes work perfect and I didn't chop one ball. The trigger needs some adjustments and even then I reccomend you get a new one. Other than that I am very pleased with this gun. I totally reccomend it.
Conclusion: Get this gun. GREAT value!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPion5 Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Toxic Impulse
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion Pro
SP low pro feed
NDZ Bolt
NDZ QEV
NDZ roller trigger
NDZ detents
Virtue eyes (green)
Virtue on/off replacement
N2o

Tippmann A5
E-grip
Flatline Barrel
Expansion Chamber
Drop Forward
Recommended
Upgrades:
QEV, Board, eyes, Trigger, Bolt
Strengths: Comes with some upgrades you don't get with the ION
Weaknesses: Crappy looking plastic body
Review: For the price its worth it. you can spend half the money that an angel costs and shoot just as well with less problems. I love my ION and other ION owners love them as well. People that hate them are Angel and Cocker owners, just because they wasted way to much money and they have to take their guns in every week to have them re-timed.
Conclusion: You can't beat it for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbdawgfan Saturday, July 22nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A loaded blue impulse -- The Ion is lighter, way easier trigger pull, looks better, more upgradeable, and can be faster w/ any kind of aftermarket board.
A loaded A-5--- ion is way way better.
piranha ext pro........dont even joke about comparing those two. the ion duh
Marker Setup: Red '06 SmartParts Ion
Black SmartParts Q-Lock Feedneck
Black SmartParts Freak Back
Dust Red SmartParts 14'' Freak Front(not the all-american front)
SmartParts Freak Boremaster Insert Kit
Dust Red SmartParts Dovetail and on/off ASA
Black HALO B w/ Rip Drive
Pure Energy 68/4500 N2 Tank (for all guns)
Black/Grey Empire Bottle Glove

***Backup Gun****
Blue SmartParts Vision Impulse
Cricket Board
Blue/Black Max-Flo Regulator(Not vertical reg)
Blue Clamping no-rise Feedneck
SP Magnetic Blade Trigger
SP Tapeworm
12" Blue SP Progressive
SP Tank On/Off Valve.

***BACKUPBACKUP GUN***
PMI Piranha Ext Pro
Recommended
Upgrades:
Scenario Dreams T-Board or Virtue Board(they both do the same thing pretty much, but the virtue cost a lot more), Freak insert kit, new trigger, and new body if u want it.
Strengths: Light
Fast
Easy Trigger Pull
Looks Good
Accurate
Extremely Upgradeable
Inexpensive
Weaknesses: None that i can think of.
Review: This gun is awesome, but i would recommend getting the newer one. The Ion Pro II. Its an 06. This gun weighs almost as little as a shocker but not quite that light, but it is very light. The Ion is the most upgradeable gun out there by far. The Freak makes it accurate but you need to get an insert kit for the best accuracy possible. A Scenario Dreams Ion T-Board or an Ion Virtue Board is the main upgrade you will need for this. Then you'll be able to ramp up to 30 bps!!! with an ion!!! I can't really think of anything bad about this gun.
Conclusion: This is a great product, but if you get one, get the newest one. it comes with a newer Freak and a Q-Lock. Get it. They're only about $300-350. It depends on where you get it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

theled26 Thursday, July 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder compact P (my first baby)
spyder TL with upgrades
A-5 w/ RT LP sys longbow barrel and drop forward
Marker Setup: Ion pro
cp sling trigger
techt L6 bolt
Halo B
Lapco snapshot .689/dye UL .692
orange detents
crossfire 68/3000
SP quick release neck feed
CP Reg
Recommended
Upgrades:
once your learn the stock trig, get a new one, upgrade to a barrel, UL's are pretty decent, longbows and snappys are the best. If you cant fire 17 BPS, no real need for a new board. get detents either orange or kila's. Halo or Eggo for hopper. I got the reg becasue im a low pressure freak, thats also why i got the Techt L6 bolt-lighest most efficeient on gas. but in all honesty i played through 2.5 cases of paint with stock ion and i was really impressed not one ball chopped or downed gun.
Strengths: ROF(with new trig)
Simplicty
upgrades
Weaknesses: The stock parts are not gas efficient
Review: solid elec marker. you can get thrown into a competitve speedball match and actually compete with the ion. the upgrades are for more serious tourny players and who know what they are doing. if your a guy ust starting out play with the ion and get to know its stock parts, then upgrade once you have the cash and experince. The accuracy is decent with the UL but the rof in most cases can make up for it. It comes with a .693 freak but i never used it...not really a fan. maintence and customibility are also strong factors that make the ion pro a solid marker
Conclusion: I got it as a trade and am very pleased. nice thing about the ion and most elec guns is that u can take it in the woods, scenario, or speed ball, but somtimes with guns like a5, or 98's you are limited to the type of games you can play. Smart parts makes solid products as long as there is paintball there will be smart parts. the more advanced players should check out the nerve.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 21st, 2006 at 7:54 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Dragoon915 Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder e99 Avant
spyder imagine
05 shocker
Marker Setup: Blue 06 Ion Pro
68/45 crossfire tank
blue/black jr freak
black q lock feedneck
smart parts blue on/off
blue s rail
Blue Empire reloader b
Recommended
Upgrades:
Deffinatly need compressed air
Electric hopper (Empire reloader B works great)
Strengths: Quite, fast ,jr freak ,on/off ,srail ,qlock ,very light
Weaknesses: Trigger is hard to walk at first but you get use to it
Review: So i bought the gun at my local pro shop at a clearnace sale. 260$. WOW i just had to get it.
they were all out of the color i wanted so i orderd it. It finally came 5 days later. I took it out of the box and wow this thing looked insane. i couldnt wait to air it up. I came home went threw the instructions figured out how to work the settings and everything. I then screwed my tank in and did some dry fire. Wow this thing was quite even with no paint in it. That day i went down to hollywood sports and decided to test it out.

Trigger- Not the best trigger. The first game i went out with it it was very hard to walk. But after a couple games you kinda figure out wahts the best way to walk fast with it. It isnt the best trigger but it is only the stock figger.

Feddneck- the feedneck on the 06 ion pro is excellent. it is the q lock clamping feedneck. the feedneck is very easy to use and you dont have to use a allen wrench like some are. the feedneck makes thee marker very low profile wich is very important. it also fits the Empire reloader B and the Halo B perfectly. Those are the ones ive tried.

Barrel- Well it comes with the jr freak barrel and deppending on wich color it matchs ur marker. Ok i just tried the gun out yesterday night. the marker was so quite and was very accurate. Recommened getting a kit so u could match ur paintball size for best accuracey.

Marker Body- very light 2.2lbs. It felt like a feather compared to my spyder. The manual isnt that specific but still is not hard to understand. If you dont understand anything like how to adjust the firing modes just go to iononers.com and look for forums or videos and those realy help expessually if ur a dumb a** like myself. Also the marker gets alot of attention from the ladies. there is no kick to this gun u cant even tell if u are firing if you dont look. It shoots very far and very accurate.

eyes- wow the eyes are flawless. they didnt let me break a paintball at all the whole day. the eyes are break beam so they are an excellent addition to add to the gun.


Conclusion: If you are looking to upgrade from your old piece of c**p and you want a high end gun for cheap this is very good.i got my ion pro for 260 and i am so glad i bought it. Useing this marker uped my game and now i am able to keep up with the guys with those 1000 dollar guns. I recommend this gun to beginners and advanced players. also this is a excellent back up gun for those of you who are on teams.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, July 2nd, 2006 at 2:26 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JGuitar033 Friday, June 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
my ion
Marker Setup: ION
White Body kit
Virtue Board
Virtue Eyes (Green)
Virtue Membrane Kit
Freak Kit
Shocktech clamping feed neck
Egg w/ y board
68/4500 Crossfire tank w/ empire cover

More to come

98 Custom
Empire twister barrel
Stock
co2 tanks (12's)
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger (if you want)
Strengths: It already comes with upgrades
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is my friends gun and i tested his ion before i got mine and i was impressed with all the upgrades it came with. He got it for his birthday and he let me and some other friends try it out and i was impressed by the speed. We were shooting it in hias back yard until he ran out of N2. The ion pro is just a ion with a few upgrades.......i chose the stock so i could do what i want with my ion and plus i didnt have the extra money and action village didnt have them............it is all up to you and if you chose the ion pro you will save money but if you chose the stock ion you can do pretty much what you what with it.........
Conclusion: If you have the extra money or if you like the upgrades already put on it then get it
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 3rd, 2006 at 10:31 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media